Skip to main content

Full text of "History : the city of Harvey, 1890-1962"

See other formats



Digitized  by  the  Internet  Archive 

in  2012  with  funding  from 

University  of  Illinois  Urbana-Champaign 





RVEYJLLINOIS     HISTORY     1890-1962 








"*»•  WTO**  SURVEy 




Compiled  in  the  Year  1962  after  painstaking  effort  by 
certain  community  pioneers  who  delved  into  dusty  official 
documents  and  deep  into  their  own  memories  to  peretuate 
for  the  generations  of  the  future  the  city  of  their  forebears. 

Published  by  the  First  National  Bank  in  Harvey  as  a  public 
service  on  the  occasion  of  its  25th  anniversary  as  the  city's 
only  banking  institution. 

opyright   1962     First  National  Bank  in  Harvey  Printed  in  the  U.S.A. 



It  is  with  true  pride  in  the  City  of  Harvey  that  we  have  undertaken 
through  this  document  to  preserve  for  our  citizens  of  the  future  the 
historical  details  of  its  early  days,  that  they  may  remain  enlightened 
always  of  the  great  heritage  that  is  theirs. 

It  is  especially  appropriate  that  this  history  of  our  city  has  been 
undertaken  in  the  year  1962  while  there  yet  remains  with  us  a  seg- 
ment of  the  pioneer  population  whose  memories  and  personal  docu- 
ments provide  the  background  material  from  which  this  history  is 

Needless  to  say,  that  as  time  passes  the  ranks  of  these  sturdy 
pioneers  will  gradually  thin  and,  were  this  documentary  not  under- 
taken, the  city's  history  might  well  pass  with  them. 

This  institution  on  the  occasion  of  its  25th  anniversary  feels  it  is 
especially  appropriate  to  have  played  a  part  in  recording  for  posterity 
what  it  has  reason  to  believe  is  a  factual  document  that  will  preserve 
for  all  time  the  milestones  passed  by  this  city  and  its  sturdy  residents 
while  emerging  from  a  hamlet  to  what  has  been  aptly  described  as  the 
greatest,  most  progressive  little  industrial  city  in  the  State  of  Illinois. 

So,  it  is  with  pride  and  a  deep  sense  of  obligation  to  the  City  of 
Harvey  and  those  who  have  contributed  to  its  greatness  that  we 
present  this  document. 

BANK      IN      HARVEY 




Tkis  History  is 


Dedicated  .  .  . 

Without  his  inspiration,  without  his  remarkable  memory,  without  his  en- 
thusiasm this  document  would  go  unwritten. 

A  dedicated  resident  of  the  community,  the  passing  years  merely  accentu- 
ate his  dedication  to  his  fellowman. 

Through  five  decades  Walter  Haines  has  demonstrated  an  unbounded  en- 
thusiasm for  his  adopted  community,  his  adopted  state,  and  his  adopted  country. 

His  great  desire  to  be  of  service  to  his  neighbor  is  best  exemplified  in  his 
long  record  of  public  service. 

Since  1911,  when  he  was  a  youth  of  24,  Walter  Haines  has  served  un- 
irokenly  in  public  office,  a  true  and  practical  indication  of  the  high  esteem  in 
'hich  he  is  held  by  his  fellowman. 

It  is  especially  significant,  as  this  history  is  being  written,  that  Walter 
riaines  is  observing  his  50th  anniversary  as  a  public  servant. 

Over  the  years  known  as  Harvey's  "unofficial  historian,"  it  is  hoped  that 
■vith  the  publication  of  this  book  his  prior  stature  be  abandoned  and  that 
e  be  recorded  for  all  time  as  Harvey's  "official  historian." 

It  can  be  said  with  truth  that  his  home  community  became  a  great  com- 
nunity  largely  because  of  the  unselfish  devotion  of  Walter  Haines. 



Born  on  October  27,  1887,  in  Somersetshire,  England,  the  son  of  Joseph 
and  Mary  Ann  Haines. 

Arrived  in  the  United  States  at  the  age  of  three  when  his  parents  settled 
in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania. 

Moved  to  Harvey  March  1,  1892,  after  a  short  period  in  Dolton.  Learned 
the  machinist  trade  at  Whiting  Corp.  from  1903  to  1907  and  from  1908  to  1921 
served  as  engineer  and  superintendent  of  the  Pope  Beet  Sugar  Works  in  River- 

Conducted  a  building  contractor  business  from  1908  to  1929. 

Married  to  the  former  Theresa  A.  Fritsch  on  October  18,  1922. 

Began  political  career  as  an  alderman  under  Harvey's  original  form  of  gov- 
ernment when  he  was  elected  at  the  age  of  23  to  fill  an  unexpired  term  of  his 

Elected  in  1912  as  a  City  of  Harvey  commissioner  when  this  new  type  of 
government  was  instituted  and  served  for  eight  years. 

After  four  year  absence  from  the  city  council,  was  elected  again  in  1924, 
four  years  later  sustaining  the  only  political  defeat  of  his  career. 

Elected  as  collector  of  Thornton  Township  in  1932  and  re-elected  each 
fourth  year  since.  Currently  serving  his  eighth  consecutive  term,  a  record  of 
public  service  unparalleled  in  Thornton  Township  history. 

Elected  in  1912  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  education  of  Grade  School 
District  152  and  served  for  15  consecutive  years. 

Elected  in  1941  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  directors  of  the  First  National 
Bank  in  Harvey,  he  has  served  continuously  in  that  capacity  for  21  years. 

Elected  in  1934  as  a  member  of  the  Thornton  Township  High  School 
District  205  Board  of  Education  and  served  for  15  years. 

In  addition,  served  from  1907  to  1911  as  captain  of  the  Fifth  Ward  Volun- 
teer Fire  Department. 

Helped  organize  the  Thornton  Township  Clean  Streams  committee  and  for 
his  efforts  in  the  crusade  to  restore  the  Calumet  River  to  its  original  state,  he 
was  cited  by  the  Harvey  Chamber  of  Commerce  in  1931. 

A  lifelong  member  of  the  Republican  party,  he  served  as  an  alternate 
delegate  to  the  Republican  National  Convention  in  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania, 
in  1940  and  again  in  1948. 

As  a  member  of  the  St.  Clements  Episcopal  church  in  Harvey,  he  was 
chairman  of  the  building  committee  under  whose  direction  the  edifice  at  153rd 
Street  and  Loomis  Avenue  was  erected  in  1922. 


It  is  with  a  deep  sense  of  humility  that  this  difficult  but  pleasant  task  is 

nfronted.  As  a  native  Harveyite  it  has  been  a  constant  source  of  pleasure 

know  personally  and  affectionately  throughout  the  past  53  years  many  of 

ose  who  assisted  in  gathering  material  for  this  publication  —  and  the  many 

hose    paths  were  crossed  over  this  long  span  of  time  but  who  have  passed  on. 

The  task  is  approached  with  some  degree  of  apprehension  and  with  the 
lowledge  there  will  be  incidents  of  history  lost  for  all  time.  There  will  be 
her  historical  phases  that  will  go  unrecorded  because  there  is  a  lack  of  verifi- 
tion  occasioned  by  faded  memories  and  of  official  documentation. 

It  will  be  the  purpose  of  the  editor  to  mingle  historical  facts  with  those 
tmorous  incidents  which  provide  not  only  the  factual  side  of  the  community's 
velopment,  but  the  behind-history  incidents  that  contribute  so  richly  to  com- 
inity  culture  and  development. 

To  those  of  our  pioneers  who  yet  survive  there  will  be  "important"  material 
litted,  but  it  is  to  be  hoped  that  these  old  friends  take,  as  the  editor  must, 
overall  view  of  the  community,  highlighting  that  which  is  of  historical  im- 
irtance,  that  which  indicates  community  growth,  and  that  which  can  be 
•nestly  recorded  as  the  milestones  of  history.  While  fiction  is  desirable  it 
ist,  of  necessity,  be  separated  from  fact;  yet  each  must  be  accorded  its  pro- 
pionate value. 

Alec  C.  Kerr 



Chairman  Frank  P.  Cowing, 
left,  and  George  F.  Thies,  right, 
are  the  only  remaining  mem- 
bers of  the  founding  board  of 

Walter  Haines 

Harold  B.   Isaac 

R.   B.  Van   Haaften 

Albert  W.   Hecht 

Henry  C.  Waldschmidt 

Dr.   C.   E.  Simon 



R.   B.   Van  Haaften,  President 

George  F.  Thies 

Glenn  W.  Swanson 

Donald    G.    King 
Vice-President   and   Cashier 

J.  Merton  West 
Assistant  Vice-President 

William  R.  Bruin 
Assistant  Cashier 

Jesse  H.  Black 
Assistant  Cashier 

Gertrude  Hartkoorn 
Assistant  Cashier 


Frank    P.    Cowing,    Chairman-Counsel 

George  F.  Thies 

R.  B.  Van  Haaften 

Harold  B.  Isaac 

Dr.  Clarence  E.  Simon 

Albert  W.  Hecht 

Henry  C.  Waldschmidt 

Walter  Haines 


Despite  the  fact  that  it  was  the  biggest  community  in  the  area,  the  most 
important  industrially,  the  seat  of  the  township  educational  system  and  mer- 
chandising center  of  considerable  stature,  the  City  of  Harvey  was  without  a 
banking  institution  for  more  than  five  years,  1932  until  1937. 

Once  the  site  of  two  banks,  the  First  National  of  Harvey  and  the  Bank 
of  Harvey,  a  state-chartered  institution,  the  community  found  itself  without 
this  facility  in  1932  when  the  tenacles  of  the  Great  Depression,  which  began 
in  October  1929,  had  spread  throughout  the  nation,  encompassing  the  bank- 
ing business. 

Thus  Harvey  businessmen  and  residents  were  forced  elsewhere  to  conduct 
their  banking  transactions  —  many  to  South  Holland,  others  to  Homewood  and 
Blue  Island. 

The  First  National  Bank  in  Harvey  of  today  actually  had  its  birth  in  Home- 
wood  and  was  the  result  of  considerable  personal  effort  on  the  part  of  Frank 
P.  Cowing,  a  Homewood  attorney  whose  family  was  widely  known  in  the 
area  and  who  for  many  years  has  had  a  prominent  role  in  both  the  legal  and 
real  estate  professions,  politics  and  banking. 

Although  he  is  a  lifelong  resident  of  Homewood,  Mr.  Cowing  has  had 
more  than  an  ordinary  association  with  the  community  life  of  Harvey. 

First,  he  was  graduated  from  Thornton  Township  high  school  before 
winning  a  bachelor's  degree  at  Michigan  State  university.  Serving  for  a  num- 
ber of  years  as  superintendent  of  an  industrial  school  in  North  Dakota,  he 
later  finished  the  requirements  for  a  Juris  Doctor  degree  at  the  Chicago-Kent 
College  of  Law.  He  is  associated  with  his  son,  Frank  Jr.,  in  the  practice  of  law 
in  Homewood.  His  organizational  talents  are  indicated  by  the  fact  that  he 
guided  the  organization  of  a  number  of  co-operative  marketing  associations 
and  the  first  Federal  Farm  Loan  associations  under  the  Federal  Land  Bank  of 
St.  Paul,  Minnesota. 

He  is  a  former  member  of  the  board  of  education  of  Thornton  Township 
high  school  and  a  former  president  and  charter  member  of  the  Homewood 
Rotary  club. 

Since  the  formation  of  the  First  National  Bank  in  Harvey  he  has  served  on 
its  board  of  directors  and  as  its  counsel.  He  has  the  unique  record,  which  he 
shares  with  George  F.  Thies,  of  having  served  the  institution,  first  in  Home- 
wood  then  Harvey,  for  37  consecutive  years.  Upon  the  death  of  George  H. 
Gibson,  Mr.  Cowing  was  named  chairman  of  the  board,  in  which  capacity  he 
has  since  served.  He  and  Mr.  Thies  are  the  only  original  officers  and  directors 
of  the  bank  active  in  1962. 

He  was  one  of  a  group,  which  included  his  father,  James  A.,  who  founded 
on  January  10,  1925,  the  Cook  County  Trust  and  Savings  Bank  of  Homewood. 
Included  in  the  founding  group  were  such  prominent  personalities  as  George 
F.  Thies,  Henry  F.  Thies,  Dr.  William  Doepp,  Arthur  E.  Schultz,  J.  C.  Howe, 
and  William  F.  Warning. 

Officers  and  original  employees  of  the  Homewood  institution  were:  James 
A.  Cowing,  president;  George  F.  Thies,  cashier,  and  Herbert  A.  Fedderson, 
assistant  cashier. 

The  history  of  the  Homewood  Trust  is  recorded  here  because  it  actually 
was  the  predecessor  of  today's  First  National  Bank  in  Harvey. 

It  was  a  small  institution  serving  a  small  community,  but  it  proved  its 
solidity  during  the  depression  years  of  the  early  1930's  when  bank  closings 
were  the  rule  rather  than  the  exception. 


Early  records  reveal  that  the  Homewood  Trust  "is  justifiably  proud  of  the 
act  that  at  no  time  during  those  trying  years  were  withdrawals  of  accounts 
;ubject  to  notice,"  a  most  unusual  and  commendable  state  of  condition. 

The  records  further  reveal  that  "at  no  time  was  any  portion  of  its  deposits 
Tozen."  After  the  two-week  national  moratorium,  beginning  on  March  3,  1933, 
during  which  every  bank  in  the  nation  was  closed  for  investigation  purposes, 
he  Homewood  Bank  resumed  "business  as  usual." 

Three  years  later,  at  the  instigation  of  Frank  P.  Cowing,  consideration  was 
»iven  toward  moving  the  institution  to  "bankless"  Harvey,  a  bigger  com- 
munity which  gave  promise  of  permitting  greater  opportunity  for  expansion 
)f  the  bank. 

Several  problems  arose,  most  important  being  that  in  order  to  transfer, 
he  status  of  the  bank  had  to  be  changed  from  a  state  to  a  nationally  chartered 
nstitution.  This  required,  of  course,  the  unanimous  consent  of  the  stockholders. 

It  was  with  determination  that  Frank  P.  Cowing  assumed  the  responsibility 
)f  obtaining  this  consent,  a  project  that  consumed  much  time  and  necessitated 
nuch  travel. 

Mr.  Cowing's  search  completed,  the  transfer  from  state  to  national  status 
vas  consummated  on  January  29,  1937,  when  the  institution  was  formally 
lamed  the  Cook  County  National  Bank  of  Homewood. 

Meantime,  Mr.  Cowing's  search  also  included  gaining  the  interest  of 
prominent  and  responsible  residents  of  Harvey  in  the  transfer  of  the  institution, 
-lis  success  was  indicated  in  the  personnel  of  the  new  board  of  directors  of 
he  Homewood  bank,  which  included  William  R.  Brandt,  George  H.  Gibson, 
Dr.  B.  T.  Stevenson,  Grant  Summerville  and  Henry  Waldschmidt,  all  of  Harvey. 

Directors  from  other  communities  were  William  J.  Claussen,  Mr.  Cowing, 
Dr.  William  Doepp,  Albert  W.  Hecht,  William  Nietfeld,  George  F.  Thies, 
^enry  F.  Thies  and  John  H.  Thies. 

Officers  elected  were:  Henry  F.  Thies.  president;  Dr.  William  Doepp  and 
Dr.  B.  T.  Stevenson,  vice  presidents;  George  F.  Thies,  cashier;  Herbert  A. 
"edderson,  assistant  cashier,  and  George  F.  Gibson,  chairman  of  the  board  of 

The  organizational  details  completed,  decision  was  reached  to  move  the 
nstitution  to  Harvey  on  February  8,  1937  and  it  was  named  The  National 
Sank  of  Harvey.  The  building  at  174  East  154th  Street,  home  of  the  old  Bank 
>f  Harvey,  was  purchased  and  doors  were  opened  for  business  on  March  8. 
\t  a  formal  dedication  on  March  13,  residents  of  Harvey  and  the  area  were 
nvited  to  view  the  new  facility. 

One  year  after  it  began  operations  the  institution's  statement  of  condition 
howed  an  increase  in  deposits  from  $621,262  to  $1,132,788.  Thereafter,  con- 
istent  growth,  indicating  wide  public  acceptance,  has  been  experienced  and 
n  its  last  statement  on  June  30,  1962  deposits  had  leaped  to  $20,322,205. 

Upon  the  death  of  Henry  F.  Thies  in  1941,  his  brother,  George,  was  named 
o  the  position  of  executive  vice  president.  John  Hoffman  was  named  president 
nd  for  the  subsequent  seven  years  he  guided  the  bank  through  an  impressive 
>eriod  of  growth.  He  also  became  closely  associated  with  the  civic  growth  of 
he  city  and  contributed  much  to  campaigns  which  culminated  in  the  forma- 
ion  of  Harvey  Memorial  Young  Men's  Christian  Association,  an  improved 
treet  lighting  system  in  the  residential  areas,  and  administration  of  the  Louis 
toudreau  scholarship  fund. 

During  Mr.  Hoffman's  term  assets  grew  from  $4,315,806  to  $10,900,472. 

From  its  founding,  the  institution  has  been  gifted  with  exceptional  leader- 
hip,    and    when    Richard    B.    Van    Haaften    assumed    the    vacancy    left    by 

the  death  of  Mr.  Hoffman  on  July  1,  1950  the  growth  of  the  institution  was 
not  merely  maintained,  but  accelerated.  Named  executive  vice  president  upon 
his  arrival  here  from  South  Haven,  Michigan,  he  later  was  elevated  to  the  presi- 
dency and  he  continues  during  this  year  of  1962  to  serve  in  that  capacity. 

It  was  under  the  supervision  of  Mr.  Van  Haaften  that  the  bank's  assets 
increased  to  over  $24,000,000,  and  he  was  the  directing  influence  in  a  vast 
expansion  of  the  bank's  facilities,  needed  to  serve  its  rapidly  increasing  clientele. 

Since  his  arrival  Mr.  Van  Haaften  has  made  himself  conspicuous  on  the 
community  level  and  few  fund  drives  or  civic  betterment  campaigns  are  con- 
ducted without  his  assistance  and  counsel. 

A  native  of  Michigan,  he  attended  Kalamazoo  college  and  the  University 
of  Michigan  where  he  majored  in  Business  Administration.  He  entered  the 
banking  field  in  1921  and  it  became  his  life's  work.  He  attended  the  American 
Institute  of  Banking  and  became  a  vice  president  of  the  Michigan  Banking 

Prior  to  coming  to  Harvey  he  was  executive  vice  president  of  the  Bank  of 
South  Haven,  a  position  that  he  held  from  1930  through  1950.  In  that  com- 
munity he  became  closely  affiliated  with  civic  life  and  he  served  as  president  of 
the  Community  hospital,  the  Chamber  of  Commerce,  the  Kiwanis  Club,  the 
Salvation  Army  and  of  the  American  Red  Cross,  which  he  also  headed  as 
county  chairman. 

In  Harvey  his  civic  activities  continued.  He  was  named  chairman  of  the 
Building  Committee  of  Harvey  Memorial  Y.M.C.A.  and  is  still  a  member  of 
its  board  of  directors.  He  has  also  been  a  member  of  the  Executive  Committee 
of  the  Chicago  Y.M.C.A.  for  a  number  of  years. 

A  past  president  of  the  Southern  Cook  County  Bankers  Association  he  has 
also  been  a  member  of  the  Council  of  Administration  of  the  Illinois  Bankers 

For  many  years  he  was  treasurer  of  the  American  Cancer  Society  and  he 
has  taken  an  active  part  in  the  work  of  the  Harvey  Association  of  Commerce 
and  Industry  in  which  he  has  held  the  offices  of  president,  treasurer,  and  mem- 
ber of  the  board  of  directors,  the  Taxation  and  Street  Lighting  committees. 

On  October  1,  1958,  the  name  of  the  institution  was  legally  changed  to  the 
First  National  Bank  in  Harvey  and  in  the  following  month,  both  the  new  name 
and  the  new  enlarged  and  modernized  building  were  presented  to  the  citizenry 
at  a  formal  open  house,  with  several  thousand  persons  in  attendance. 

There  have  been  a  number  of  changes  in  the  'board  of  directors  throughout 
the  years.  Elected  to  membership  on  the  board  of  directors  at  various  times 
have  been:  Walter  Haines,  1942;  Henry  J.  Van  Der  Giessen,  1946;  Harold  B. 
Isaac,  1947,  and  Dr.  Clarence  E.  Simon,  1960,  who  was  named  to  fill  an  un- 
expired term  upon  the  death  of  Mr.  Van  Der  Giessen  in  that  year. 

Frank  P.  Cowing  was  elected  to  succeed  George  H.  Gibson  as  chairman 
of  the  board  of  directors  upon  the  latter's  death  in  1955  and  continues  to 
function  in  that  capacity. 

The  present  board  consists  of  the  following  members  in  addition  to  Chair- 
man Cowing:  Walter  Haines,  Albert  W.  Hecht,  Henry  C.  Waldschmidt,  Harold 
B.  Isaac,  Dr.  Clarence  E.  Simon,  R.  B.  Van  Haaften  and  George  F.  Thies. 

So,  also,  have  there  been  some  changes  in  the  bank's  executive  personnel. 
Becoming  a  member  of  the  staff  in  1941,  Glenn  W.  Swanson  presently  holds 
the  office  of  vice  president  and  serves  as  secretary  for  the  board  of  directors. 
Donald  G.  King,  whose  period  of  service  extends  from  1944,  holds  the  office 
of  vice  president  and  cashier;  J.  Merton  West,  employed  since  1958,  is  assist- 
ant vice  president;  Gertrude  Hartkoorn,  an  employee  since  1941,  is  an  assistant 


;ashier,  as  are  William  R.  Bruin,  whose  employment  began  in  1955  and  Jesse 
H.  Black,  on  the  staff  since  1953. 

As  demands  for  banking  service  multiplied  over  the  years  the  need  for 
more  personnel  developed  and  another  example  of  the  remarkable  growth  in 
:he  First  National  Bank  is  the  increase  from  the  six  employees  of  1937  to  the 
sixty  of  1962.  For  their  convenience,  a  coffee  shop  and  lounges  have  been 
Drovided  on  the  second  floor  for  use  during  rest  and  lunch  periods. 

Property  adjacent  to  the  bank  was  purchased  and  a  complete  expansion  and 
-emodeling  program  inaugurated.  A  wing  to  serve  the  public  more  efficiently 
was  added  to  the  property  at  the  east.  The  second  floor  of  the  structure,  previ- 
Dusly  leased  out  as  professional  suites,  was  transformed  into  a  "working  area," 
:he  staff  greatly  augmented  and  the  latest  in  electronic  banking  machines  in- 
stalled to  afford  more  accurate,  convenient  and  speedier  customer  service. 

A  number  of  employees  with  long  records  of  service  have  made  substantial 
personal  contributions  to  the  growth  of  the  institution  and  now  fulfill  important 
assignments  in  the  bank's  operations. 

Included  are:  Mamie  Kostok.  a  part-time  teller,  whose  association  started 
3n  February  1,  1942;  Mrs.  Olive  Conger,  a  teller,  whose  employment  started 
Dn  September  1,  1942;  Mrs.  Marie  Worcester,  part-time  analysis  clerk,  whose 
service  dates  back  to  November  28,   1944. 

Other  veteran  employees  are  Elsa  Swanson,  commercial  teller,  February  19, 
1945;  Mrs.  Genelle  Laken,  general  bookkeeper,  September  16,  1947;  Mrs. 
Phyllis  Weaver,  savings  teller,  July  10,  1949;  Mrs.  Patricia  Brown,  commercial 
bookkeeper,  January  8,  1950. 

Employees  with  long  periods  of  service  and  holding  responsible  positions 
n  the  institution  are:  Mrs.  Verna  Wojcik,  secretary  to  the  president,  whose 
employment  began  December  15,  1944;  Mrs.  Constance  Howell,  new  accounts 
:lerk.  employed  since  September   10,   1957. 

It  can  be  said  with  authority  that  the  First  National  Bank  in  Harvey  is  the 
:ity's  "major  intersection."  Those  from  each  community  segment,  business, 
ndustrial  and  civic,  cross  paths  in  the  spacious  lobby  of  this  home  institution. 



Walter  Haines,  Chairman 

Alec  C.  Kerr,  Vice  Chairman  James  A.   Mann,  Secretary 

Glenn  W.  Swanson,  Treasurer 

John  Hock 
Foss  P.  Miller 
Paul  Miller 
Eugene  Silveri 
Henry  Stein 
O.  Fred  Umbaugh 
Guy  Howland 
Mary  Howland 
Hazel  Wegener 
Robert  Bentley 

Arthur  E.  Turngren 
Adelaide  Childs 
Winnifred  Seidel 
L.  R.  Holler,  Jr. 
Cedric  Casler 
Verne  V.  Vedder 
Elmer  G.  Kich 
Roe  Mallstrom 
Mrs.  T.  H.  Kaldenberg 



*  *  * 





With  the  foregoing  as  background,  it  is  well  now  to  dig  from  the  archives 
the  details  that,  aside  from  being  fundamental,  indicate  the  growth  in  stature  of 
the  community. 

It  should  be  repeated  that  community  growth  and  solidity  must  be  con- 
structed on  a  tested  recipe  and  such  a  recipe  is  based  on  two  fundamental  in- 
gredients —  people  and  government.  The  flavor  is  enhanced,  indeed,  by  the 
addition  of  the  herbs  of  economics,  education  and  religion.  No  community 
can  bid  for  perpetuity  without  the  blending  of  these  ingredients. 

Thus,  if  one  is  to  assume  that  the  history  of  the  City  of  Harvey  is  worthy 
of  heritage  so  it  must  be  a  history  of  which  those  who  helped  write  it  can  be 

It  will  be  the  purpose  in  succeeding  pages  to  record,  for  those  of  the  future 
who  are  to  assume  the  responsibility  of  citizenship,  at  least  some  of  the  factors 
which  represent  their  inheritance.  Obviously,  events  recorded  chronologically 
defy  the  best  editorial  effort,  but  as  nearly  as  possible  this  method  of  approach 
will   be   observed. 

As  mentioned  before,  people  and  government  make  communities  and  it  is 
fitting  that  they  be  dealt  with  individually. 


The  history  of  the  founding  of  Harvey  before  it  assumed  that  name  in  1890 
is  somewhat  vague,  and  what  is  available  was  contained  briefly  in  an  introduc- 
tion to  a  supplement  published  by  the  Harvey  Tribune-Citizen  of  1902. 

However,  this  seemingly  insignificant  part  of  the  supplement  now  assumes 
tremendous  importance  as  it  is  the  only  material  available  which  sets  forth  the 
actual  founding  of  South  Lawn,  as  the  community  was  known  before  the 
advent  of  Turlington  W.  Harvey  and,  incidentally,  what  is  known  today  as  the 
City  of  Harvey. 

In  the  1850's  according  to  authentic  documents  recorded  at  the  turn  of 
the  century,  the  Illinois  Central  was  granted  by  the  Illinois  legislature  each 
alternate  section  of  land  along  its  proposed  route.  Included  in  this  was  "section 
eight,"  the  south  portion  of  which  was  sold  to  one  C.  C.  C.  P.  Holden  of  Ken- 
tucky in  1865. 

In  two  transactions  Holden  sold  on  May  9,  1871,  and  on  August  2,  1872, 
his  interest  to  a  syndicate  composed  of  Samuel  Delamater,  John  K.  Rowley, 
Joshua  P.  Young,  Seth  Waddens,  Josephus  Collett,  and  Joseph  E.  Young. 

The  syndicate  inaugurated  the  first  formal  action  of  creating  a  community 
by  dividing  the  plot  of  1700  acres  into  blocks  and  recording  the  entire  plot  of 

This,  the  Tribune-Citizen  records,  was  the  first  "boom"  given  the  site  of 
Harvey.  A  small  map  and  brochure  constituted  the  community's  first  adver- 
tisement, offering  "large  lots  and  gardens  for  $100  with  free  transportation  to 
and  from  Chicago  for  a  year  to  those  who  actually  became  settlers." 

John  Gay  must  be  credited  with  being  the  first  settler.  How  old  he  was, 
where  he  came  from,  the  size  of  his  family,  his  education,  his  hopes,  his 
achievements,  his  ambitions,  must  be  forever  lost  in  the  uncertainty  of  time, 
but  it  is  important  that  he  received  a  deed  to  two  lots  on  October  1,  1874. 

For  at  least  two  years  he  lived  a  lonely  life,  without  neighbors,  but  there 


was  no  lack  of  activity.  A  contractor  by  profession  he  is  credited  with  having 
laid  out  several  streets,  planted  trees,  and,  equally  important,  to  have  engi- 
neered the  grading  of  the  Grand  Trunk  railway  from  Thornton  through 
South  Lawn. 

John  Gay  was  to  be  host,  some  five  years  later,  to  South  Lawn's  first  in- 
dustry, and  this  may  have  been  the  inspiration  needed  to  attract  other  industry 
forming  the  basis  for  the  modern  boast  that  Harvey  is  Illinois'  "biggest  little 
industrial  city." 

Nonetheless,  in  1880  Harvey  L.  Hopkins  built  the  Hopkins  Mower  Works, 
and  in  that  same  year  in  obvious  anticipation  of  a  population  "boom,"  a  hotel 
was  constructed  "near  the  railroad  crossing."  Whether  this  hotel  entertained 
guests,  how  many,  and  what  kind,  is  another  of  the  details  of  Harvey  history 
that  must  go  unrecorded. 

During  the  subsequent  decade,  members  of  the  syndicate  which  originally 
invested  in  South  Lawn  pursued  their  respective  interests  and  as  a  result  new 
owners  of  the  land  cropped  up.  So  it  was  that  A.  G.  Spaulding  obtained  from 
one  of  the  syndicate  some  500  acres  west  of  what  is  now  Ashland  Avenue  for 
an  undisclosed  sum.  Spaulding,  in  a  fit  of  self  perpetuation,  sought  to  create 
a  community  named  for  himself  and  the  extent  of  his  success  can  only  be 
measured  by  the  fact  that  no  part  of  the  community  ever  became,  legally, 

It  is  significant  that  one  of  the  few  residents  of  South  Lawn  in  1889  was 
William  H.  Pease,  his  name  becoming  important  only  because  he  was  later  to 
serve  as  postmaster  after  the  community  adopted  the  name  of  Harvey.  Other 
residents  at  the  time  were  George  Stiles,  John  DeGraff,  and  James  B.  Wilson, 
whose  fate  is  also  lost  for  the  archives. 

At  this  point,  in  November  1889,  Turlington  W.  Harvey,  whose  name 
today  graces  this  community,  was  to  cast  his  influence.  Ere  1890  had  passed 
he  made  substantial  purchases  of  property  and  in  June,  1890,  he  conveyed  to 
the  newly-formed  Harvey  Land  Association  all  the  land  he  had  purchased.  By 
1891  the  association  had  acquired  the  property  that  was  later  to  form  the 
foundation  for  the  future  Harvey.  It  is  legend  that  the  village  assumed  the 
name  of  Harvey,  and  it  was  under  that  name  that  Harvey  came  into  official 
being  in  May,  1891. 

However,  it  should  be  recorded  that  the  name  Harvey  was,  more  or  less, 
a  compromise.  Turlington  Harvey  preferred  the  name  "Turlington,"  but  Will- 
iam H.  Pease,  who  had  succeeded  John  Gay  as  postmaster,  suggested  "Harvey" 
as  a  combination  of  Turlington  W.  Harvey  and  Harvey  L.  Hopkins,  who  had 
founded  the  community's  first  industry.  Although  Mr.  Harvey  was  reluctant 
about  the  compromise,  Postmaster  Pease  settled  the  issue  by  registering  the 
name  with  the  United  States  Postoffice  department. 

And  so  it  was  that  Harvey  came  into  being  with  the  bustling  city  of  today 
bearing  small  resemblance  to  the  tiny  hamlet  which  was  its  ancestor.  The 
active  manufacturing  community  of  the  1960's  has  evolved  from  the  com- 
bined efforts  of  government,  industry,  schools,  churches,  civic  and  fraternal 
organizations  and  innumerable  individuals  whose  devotion  provided  the  moral 
background  from  which  ideal  communal  life  must  emanate. 

Turlington  W.  Harvey,  the  community's  first  major  influence,  was  a  Chi- 
cago lumber  merchant  and  described  in  ancient  documents  as  a  "capitalist," 
which  could  lead  to  the  assumption  that  his  interest  was  more  financial  than 

Nonetheless,  he  is  credited  with  being  the  genius  which  transformed  an  un- 
broken  prairie,   without   streets,   sidewalks,   water,   sewers,   factories,   schools, 


churches  or  homes  into  a  community  whose  growth  to  5000  population  within 
a  three-year  period  earned  it  the  sobriquet  "The  Magic  City"  and  thus  it  be- 
came known  from  coast  to  coast. 

Under  the  guiding  hand  and  ambitions  of  Turlington  W.  Harvey  frame 
and  masonry  houses  ejected  themselves  from  the  soil  as  mushrooms.  Ribbons 
of  cement  sidewalks  replaced  the  dirt  paths,  a  business  area  belched  forth  as 
paved  streets  replaced  wagon  tracks.  Water  and  sewer  lines  were  laid  forming 
the  foundation  for  what  eventually  became  the  modern,  efficient  facilities  of 

But  the  material  improvement  did  not  exceed  in  pace  the  tangibles  of  com- 
munity morality  —  and  as  people  arrived  they  brought  with  them  the  human 
desire  for  religion  and  education.  Neither  suffered  in  the  explosive  develop- 
ment that  was  to  follow. 

The  fact  that  today  taverns  dot  the  Harvey  business  scene  might  lead  to 

i  some  surnrise  that  the  city  was  founded  as  a  "temperance"  settlement  and  it 

was  on  this  basis  that  the  Harvey  Land  Association,  first  major  real  estate 

promoter,  was  able  to  consummate  many  sales  as  people  from  throughout 

the  world  converged  on  Chicago  for  the  Columbian  Exposition  in  1893. 

The  seriousness  with  which  the  founders  viewed  their  city  of  the  future  as 
i  one  of  abstainers  is  demonstrated  by  the  fact  that  original  deeds  to  property 
contained  an  "iron-clad"  clause  which  provided  for  forfeiture  of  any  property 
used  as  a  saloon,  or  if  liquor  were  sold  on  the  premises,  or  if  those  premises 
were  used  for  immoral  or  gambling  purposes.  The  clause,  which  undisputably 
:  led  to  the  sale  of  much  property,  contained  the  rather  startling  (and  which 
through  subsequent  years  proved  to  be  useless)  clause: 

"If  the  purchaser  (taken  out  of  context)  uses  any  part  of  the 
property  for  the  purpose  of  permitting  any  intoxicating  drink  to  be 
manufactured,  sold  or  given  away  upon  said  premises,  or  permits 
gambling  to  be  carried  on  thereon,  or  creates  any  house  or  other 
place  of  lewd  and  immoral  practice  thereupon,  he,  his  heirs,  execu- 
tors, administrators  and  his  assigns  shall  be  divested  of  the  entire 
estate  and  it  shall  revert  to  the  party  of  the  first  part." 

That  the  stipulations  were  both  fallacious  and  unenforceable  was  proved 
]  through  the  years.  Although  history  does  not  reveal  the  first  violator  of  the 
i  deed's  provisions,  the  violators  mounted  through  the  years.  Lack  of  enforce- 
i  ment  of  the  original  regulations,  changes  in  the  community's  general  character, 
plus  public  apathy  —  or  demand  —  are  the  factors  which  reduced  to  ignonim- 
ity  the  very  scruples  upon  which  the  community  was  founded  and  had  actually 
)  accounted  for  the  early  real  estate  activity. 

It  should  be  recorded  here  that  the  "Temperance  town"  of  yesteryear  is 
now  the  home  of  41  establishments  where  intoxicating  beverages  are  dispensed. 
I  It  should  be  recorded  also  that  the  terms  of  the  original  deed,  which  stipulated 
[that  this  could  not  be  the  scene  of  houses  of  "ill  repute"  has  been  scrupu- 
lously observed.   Throughout  the  many   succeeding  years  Harvey  has  main- 
tained the  enviable  reputation  of  being  a  morally  attractive  community.  There 
is   not   in   the   record   any   entries  that   would   indicate   the   city   is   populated 
by  anything  but  law-abiding  citizens.  As  these  words  are  recorded  there  is  no 
[official  evidence  that  lewd  or  immoral  establishments  have  ever  been  allowed 
ito  establish  or  flourish. 



It  can  be  stated  with  little  fear  of  contradiction  that  the  real  estate  sales 
program  of  the  early  1890's  was  a  most  effective  one  which  captured  the 
imagination  of  investors  of  more  than  minor  significance. 

Among  the  stockholders  of  the  Harvey  Land  Association  besides  the  officers 
and  directors,  are  the  following  well-known  institutions  and  persons:  Northfield 
(Mass.)  Institute  (founded  by  Mr.  D.  L.  Moody),  Ira  D.  Sankey  and  Lucius 
N.  Bigelow;  Dr.  John  E.  Owens,  the  well-known  physician  and  surgeon  of 
Chicago;  S.  A.  Kent,  a  prominent  Chicago  capitalist;  Henry  B.  Stone,  presi- 
dent of  the  Chicago  Telephone  Company  and  former  vice  president  of  the 
C.B.  &  Q.  railroad;  George  M.  Bogue,  manager  of  the  Grant  Locomotive 
Works  real  estate  branch;  J.  C.  Welling,  treasurer  of  the  Illinois  Central 
railroad;  Charles  W.  Deering  of  the  Deering  Manufacturing  Company;  H.  H. 
Hitchcock,  assistant  cashier  of  the  Metropolitan  National  Bank;  Judge  Richard 
S.  Tuthill,  and  many  others. 

The  first  excursion  and  sale  of  lots  took  place  August  16,  1890.  The  enter- 
prise was  duly  advertised;  its  fundamental  principles  were  clearly  enunciated 
and  the  public  was  given  an  opportunity  to  invest.  The  result  far  exceeded  the 
most  optimistic  anticipations.  It  would  seem  as  if  people  in  every  part  of  the 
United  States  had  been  waiting  to  put  their  money  in  a  town  of  which,  in  fact, 
they  had  only  just  heard;  and  not  only  buy  lots,  but  make  their  homes  there. 

So  it  was  that  the  foundation  was  poured  for  a  thriving  community. 

But  what  of  life? 

What  of  people? 

What  was  there  about  a  flat,  uninteresting  terrain,  without  physical  beauty, 
without  many  of  the  natural  attributes  to  be  found  elsewhere  in  the  nation  that 
would  attract  people?  Why  would  one  settle  here?  Why  would  one  remain? 

Historically,  Harvey  has  little  of  the  dramatic  background  possessed  by 
many  other  communities.  It  lacks  the  color  of  Indian  raids.  It  was  not  a  way 
station  for  the  wagon  trains  on  their  treks  west.  No  pony  express  rider  is  ever 
known  to  have  changed  mounts  here.  Harvey  played  no  part  in  the  Civil  War. 

Those  are  the  exciting  events  of  a  past  of  which  this  community  is  devoid. 

But  Harvey  is  not  without  background.  It  is  not  without  tradition.  Its 
major  historical  importance  lies  in  the  development  of  its  culture. 

The  story  is  concerned  mainly  with  that  sturdy  stock  of  yesteryear  who 
sought  a  home,  a  job,  a  place  to  rear  its  children.  It  concerns  people,  neighbor- 
ly people  devoted  of  family,  rich  in  pride  and  love  of  country. 

From  nations  in  Europe,  from  scattered  points  in  America  these  working 
people  gathered,  seeking  to  establish  a  home.  Many  of  those  who  came  died 
here.  Their  offspring  still  live  here,  and  thus  the  Harvey  of  today  is  a  result  of 
the  insatiable  desire  of  those  who  now  belong  to  the  ancestral  past. 

William  D.  Rogers 

City's  First  Salesman, 

He  came  here  and  stayed 

Perhaps   no   person   is   more  qualified   than   the   late 
William  D.  Rogers  to  discuss  the  founding  and  early 



1           Mj; 

'  ■'-  HhLJI  4MM 



development  of  the  city.  He  was  one  of  several  sales- 
men employed  by  the  Harvey  Land  Association  to 
greet  World's  Fair  visitors  as  they  arrived  here  by 
Illinois  Central  suburban  train  to  view  this  marvel  of 
the  prairie  where  immorality  was  not  to  be  tolerated. 
Therefore,  his  recollections  assume  a  degree  of  histor- 
ical importance  which  can  be  equalled,  probably,  by 
no  other  individual. 


In  my  introduction  to  the  duties  of  an  employee  of  the  Harvey  Land 
Association  in  early  1890  I  found  that  a  salesman  was  assigned  to  every  train 
leaving  Chicago  after  9  o'clock  in  the  morning.  It  was  my  duty  to  appear 
at  the  office,  819  Rookery  Building,  and  any  customers  appearing  in  time  to 
go  on  the  train  leaving  Chicago  at  9:20  a.m.  were  my  customers.  Before  many 
days  had  elapsed  I  became  acquainted  with  a  man  who  had  previously  bought 
two  lots  in  Harvey,  the  lots  being  23  and  24  in  Block  71,  50  feet  on  Center 
Ave.,  by  171  feet  on  154th  St.,  for  which  he  had  paid  a  purchase  price  of 

The  purchaser  was  John  Chisholm  of  Marinette,  Wis.  As  he  had  never 
seen  the  property,  having  bought  it  from  a  plat,  it  was  my  privilege  and  duty 
to  show  him  his  purchase.  He  soon  began  to  make  inquiries  of  the  other  local 
real  estate  agents  as  to  the  price  and  value  of  this  property  and  was  soon  sur- 
ounded  by  W.  S.  Chatfield,  George  Utley,  Sam  Daniels  and  many  others,  and 
after  spending  the  balance  of  the  day  in  Harvey,  he  returned  to  Chicago.  In 
about  60  days  his  lots  were  sold  for  $3300.00 

At  that  time  the  Craver,  Steele  and  Austin  Company  was  employing  about 
450  men  and  the  buildings  for  the  Buda  Company  were  under  construction 
and  were  occupied  by  the  company  as  soon  as  they  were  completed.  On  May 
1,  1893,  the  Craver,  Steele  &  Austin  Company  made  a  shipment  of  a  train- 
load  of  harvesting  machinery  to  New  York  to  be  shipped  from  there  to  the 
Argentine  Republic. 

Wm.  H.   Harrison,    15735    Myrtle   Ave.,   who   came   to   Harvey   with   this 


company  from  Grinnell,  Iowa,  was  sent  to  South  America  to  supervise  the 
setting  up  of  this  harvesting  machinery. 

One  of  the  industries  acquired  by  the  Harvey  Land  Association  in  1892 
was  the  Bellaire  Stamping  Company  which  was  situated  in  the  five-acre  block 
on  the  north  side  of  the  Grand  Trunk  tracks,  now  occupied  by  the  Ingalls- 
Shepard  Company.  The  Bellaire  Stamping  Company  manufactured  enameled 
cooking  utensils  and  had  a  large  office  force  and  employed  many  skilled 

The  Harvey  Transit  Company,  promoted  and  financed  by  the  Harvey  Land 
Association,  owned  the  Harvey  Water  Works,  constructed  the  power  house 
in  its  present  location  in  West  Harvey,  installed  the  necessary  machinery  to 
furnish  Harvey  with  electric  lights,  and  also  operated  the  first  street  car  line 
in  Harvey  which  furnished  transportation  for  the  employees  of  the  Bellaire 
Stamping  Company. 

The  street  car  line  was  in  operation  for  several  years  and  electric  cars  ran 
on  Columbia  Ave.,  now  Broadway,  from  154th  St.  to  156th  St.,  west  on  156th 
St.  to  Marshfield,  thence  north  to  151st  St.,  west  on  151st  Ct.  to  Page  Ave., 
north  on  Page  to  147th  St.  The  line  was  never  self-supporting  and  when  its 
financial  support  was  withdrawn  it  was  discontinued. 

In  1892  the  promoters  of  a  subdivision  which  they  had  named  Phoenix 
Park,  believing  it  would  improve  the  sale  of  their  property,  made  negotiations 
for  a  World's  Fair  Masonic  Hotel  which  was  constructed  on  Block  C,  which 
was  that  block  of  property  now  vacant,  west  of  the  block  upon  which  the 
Perfection  Gear  Company  is  now  located.  The  contract  was  let  and  the  build- 
ing which  was  a  three-story  frame,  had  a  pretentious  front  facing  south  on 
152nd  St. 

When  it  was  nearly  completed  it  suddenly  took  fire  and  burned  completely. 
The  Harvey  firemen  worked  valiantly  to  save  this  property,  but  some  people 
in  Harvey  today  will  remember  that  this  building  burned  for  several  hours  and 
the  Illinois  Central  trains  were  impeded  on  account  of  the  intense  heat  from 
it.  The  promoters  had  not  succeeded  in  consummating  an  expected  loan  and 
the  building  being  uninsured  was  an  entire  loss  to  the  creditors. 

The  initial  steps  for  sewers  on  Turlington  Ave.  had  to  be  taken  and  the 
necessary  drainage  for  the  Whittier  school  building  which  was  located  on  the 
northeast  corner  of  153rd  St.  and  Turlington  Ave  provided.  It  was  an  eight 
room,  rockfaced  stone  building  and  was  completed  in  1892  costing  about 


Located  in  the  great  plains  of  Midwestern  United  States  Harvey  was 
ideally  fitted  for  the  industrial  city  that  it  became.  However,  natural  beauty 
was  not  a  part  of  its  topography  —  no  mountains,  valleys,  snow-capped  peaks. 

It  was  blessed,  nevertheless,  with  one  lovely  physical  asset  —  the  Calumet 

When  Walter  Thomas  Mills  subdivided  what  is  commonly  known  as  North 
Harvey,  he  called  it  "Academy  addition  to  Harvey,"  and  uppermost  in  his 
plans  for  attracting  buyers  was  the  Calumet  River  whose  source  was  in  Black 
Oak,  Indiana. 

This  was  truly  a  place  of  beauty,  a  swiftly  moving  stream  of  clear,  un- 
polluted water,  bordered  with  plant  life  and  trees  of  many  varieties.  Its  waters 


emanated  from  the  Deep  River  which  flowed  into  the  Calumet  at  a  point  east 
of  Gary,  Indiana. 

Well  stocked  with  fish,  it  was  an  attraction  for  people  from  a  wide  area, 
and  weekends  found  scores  of  boats  plying  its  waters,  some  there  for  the 
pleasure  of  boating,  others  testing  their  luck  at  the  end  of  a  fishing  pole.  Still 
others  sat  in  shady  spots  along  the  river  banks,  picknicking  and  taking  occa- 
sional dips  into  the  clear  water.  Many  boat  houses  dotted  the  south  bank  and 
boat  rentals  formed  a  lucrative  business.  From  the  Illinois  Central  railroad 
bridge  to  the  old  Haines  home  some  one  mile  west,  there  were  numerous  boat 
piers,  one  of  the  outstanding  having  been  operated  by  the  Cadmus  family 
whose  home  still  stands  at  409  Calumet  Boulevard. 

The  river  was  a  haven  for  the  younger  set  and  many  came  from  surround- 
ing communities  to  launch  canoes  and  take  their  "dates"  for  a  paddle  down 
the  river. 

In  winter  the  river  was  an  equally  attractive  rendezvous  and  ice  skating 
was  a  most  popular  sport.  Naturally,  there  were  skaters  who  outshone  others 
and  old-timers  recall  that  two  of  the  most  proficient  were  Bill  Ferguson  of 
North  Harvey  and  Elmer  Hill  of  Harvey,  both  noted  as  "figure"  skaters.  The 
Verhoeven  girls,  whose  family  home  was  on  the  north  bank  of  the  river  just 
west  of  the  147th  Street  bridge,  were  also  acclaimed  as  able  skaters  and  on 
many  occasions  they  were  hostesses  at  gala  parties  for  their  fellow  students  at 
the  high  school  and  friends  from  the  Ascension  church. 

The  waters  of  the  Calumet  were  put  to  another  more  practical  use  and 
each  winter  John  Beck,  operator  of  a  Harvey  coal  yard  at  152nd  Street  and 
Columbia  Avenue,  arranged  to  have  ice  cut  into  blocks  which  were  stored  in 
a  huge  ice  house  on  the  site  now  occupied  by  the  Degenhart  Millwork  Compa- 
ny at  the  Grand  Trunk  tracks  and  Main  Street.  In  the  summer  the  ice  was 
delivered  to  the  city's  housewives  and  it  is  legend  that  the  ice  was  of  such  purity 
"it  could  be  used  in  iced  tea." 

The  river's  great  period  as  a  playground  for  the  residents  was  destined  for 
extinction  with  the  construction  of  Burns'  ditch  east  of  Gary,  Indiana  which 
was  to  divert  the  flow  of  Deep  River  from  the  Calumet  and  deliver  the  water 
straight  to  Lake  Michigan. 

In  the  late  1920's  Albert  M.  Lambert,  Sr.  waged  a  vigorous  but  futile 
campaign  in  the  columns  of  his  Harvey  Tribune  in  an  attempt  to  prevent  the 
diversion  of  the  Calumet  waters,  but  an  apathetic  citizenry,  either  uninterested 
or  because  of  ignorance,  did  not  provide  sufficient  moral  support  for  the 
Lambert  crusade. 

Mr.  Lambert  sought  through  numerous  editorials  to  arouse  townsmen, 
pointing  out  that  diversion  doomed  the  city's  only  real  physical  asset.  The 
failure  of  this  gallant  fight  resulted  in  the  death  of  the  stream  as  a  family  at- 
traction and  it  serves  today  as  a  mere  drainage  ditch,  polluted  and  unfit  for 
the  use  for  which  nature  intended  it. 

Today,  the  Calumet  river  continues  to  wind  through  the  South  Cook 
county  suburbs  but  it  is  a  mere  ghost  of  its  former  greatness.  It  is  a  lazy 
stream,  shallow  during  dry  periods  but  somewhat  of  a  raging  torrent  during 
times  of  excessive  rainfall  when  in  many  places  it  overflows  its  banks,  flooding 
adjacent  areas  and  some  residences. 

Although  it  has  made  efforts  through  the  years  to  restore  the  river  to  its 
former  greatness,  the  Calumet  Clean  Stream  committee's  campaign  has  not 
been  productive,  its  recommendations  being  lost  in  a  maze  of  political  red  tape. 

As  these  words  are  being  recorded  there  are  surveys  being  undertaken  by 
th   United   States   Corps   of   Army   Engineers   directed   toward   widening    and 


deepening  the  channel  of  the  Calumet,  to  facilitate  the  flow  of  its  waters,  but 
these  efforts  are  being  made  not  so  much  to  restore  the  river's  original  beauty, 
but  to  prevent  it  from  overflowing  its  banks  during  flood  periods.  Whether 
anything  beneficial  will  result  from  these  surveys  is  impossible  to  determine 
at  the  present. 


No  history  of  the  city  would  be  complete  without  recording  the  exploits  of 
Prince  and  Duke,  a  pair  of  sturdy  horses  who  brought  fame  and  fortune  to  the 
Harvey  Fire  Department. 

Beautiful  dapple  grays,  they  were  acquired  by  the  city  in  1897  or  1898 
during  the  administration  of  Jonathan  Matthews  when  the  first  fire  department 
was  formed  under  Chief  John  Ott.  Other  members  of  the  department  were 
Chick  Davidson,  George  Greiner,  Lou  Madory,  Emil  Dayton  and  Claude 
Roeder.  Only  Mr.  Madory  survives  and  he  continues  to  reside  at  15235 
Center  Avenue. 

It  was  Mayor  Matthews  who  approved  the  purchase  of  a  team  of  horses  to 
pull  the  city's  fire  wagon  and  it  was  Frank  Stevenson,  a  drayman,  who  was 
selected  to  make  the  purchase. 

Having  alerted  the  Chicago  Stock  Yards  that  he  was  looking  for  a  suitable 
team,  it  was  shortly  thereafter  that  the  somewhat  "short-legged"  dapple  grays 
were  obtained  for  $400. 

Training  of  the  team  was  assigned  to  Chief  Ott  and  Davidson  and  each 
night  at  the  sound  of  the  fire  gong,  Prince  and  Duke  would  emerge  from  their 
stalls,  take  their  places  in  front  of  the  fire  wagon  and  be  hitched  by  Lou 
Madory  and  Emil  Dayton.  Crowds  were  present  each  night  to  watch  the 



Prince  and  Duke  got  their  first  taste  of  competition  in  1902  at  Calumet 
Grove,  on  the  banks  of  the  Calumet  River  near  Blue  Island  where  a  tourna- 
ment drew  teams  from  East  St.  Louis,  Gibson  City,  Peru,  Mendota,  Evanston 
and  many  other  Illinois  communities. 

The  setting  was  a  temporary  fire  station  and  a  half  mile  course  over  which 
the  entrants  ran  in  a  race  against  time.  After  races  against  Blue  Island  and 
Evanston  the  Harvey  team  was  disqualified  on  a  technicality,  but  the  protests 
of  Chief  John  Ott  and  his  firemen  were  so  vehement  that  the  judges  decided 
to  re-run  the  race  against  Evanston  the  following  day. 

"John  Ott's  Cows,"  as  the  Harvey  team  came  to  be  known,  were  ready, 
jumped  off  to  a  half  length  lead  and  maintained  it  until  the  finish. 

With  the  victory  came  a  cash  prize  of  $285  and  when  Prince  and  Duke 
were  driven  into  town  they  were  the  recipients  of  one  of  the  greatest  welcomes 
ever  produced  by  the  citizenry. 

The  glorious  days  of  Prince  and  Duke  ended  about  1908  or  1909  when 
they  were  slowed  down  by  age  and  replaced  by  a  team  of  bays.  They  were 
turned  over  to  the  Street  department  and  Jim  Powers  and  George  Houser. 
They  continued,  however,  to  be  treated  as  champions  and  were  never  over- 
worked or  abused.  Yet,  pulling  a  garbage  wagon  seemed  to  be  an  inglorious 
end  for  such  worthy  champions  and  eventually  they  were  turned  over  to  a 
farmer  in  Glenwood  where  they  spent  their  remaining  years  in  comparative 

This  was  a  royal  team,  indeed. 


Although  the  bicycle  has  retained  its  place  in  the  favor  of  the  community's 
and  indeed,  the  nation's  younger  set,  this  vehicle  at  one  time  constituted  a  major 
form   of  transportation. 

Before  automation,  the  automobile  and  other  of  the  modern  methods  of 
conveyance,  the  bicycle  was  indispensable.  It  had  more  than  a  practical  value, 
being  the  medium  that  furnished  a  pioneer  population  with  a  form  of  compe- 
tition and  entertainment,  unexcelled  by  anything  with  the  possible  exception 
of  the  races  engaged  in  by  the  old  horse-drawn  equipment  of  area  fire  depart- 

It  is  Walter  Haines  again  who  remembers  the  important  place  the  bicycle  held 
in  the  lives  of  early  Harveyites. 

"At  the  turn  of  the  century,"  he  recalls,  "the  village  board  let  a  contract 
to  Joseph  Bloodgood,  early  contractor  and  one-time  police  magistrate,  to  pave 
or  gravel  the  east-west  streets  north  of  147th  Street  as  far  as  Halsted  Street. 
This  included  Clinton,  Jefferson,  Desplaines,  Union  Avenues,  Calumet  Boule- 
vard and  147th  Street. 

"These  streets  were  soon  to  become  the  scene  of  some  of  the  community's 
most  stirring  and  interesting  contests  —  the  bicycle  races. 

"Using  Flewelling's  corner  (147th  and  Halsted  Streets)  as  the  starting 
point,  outstanding  riders  competed  over  courses  of  five  and  ten  miles,  for 
prizes  donated  by  local  merchants. 

"From  that  point  they  pedaled  east  to  Clinton,  north  to  Calumet  Boule- 
vard, west  to  Halsted  Street  and  .back  to  the  starting  point,  a  distance  of  one 
and  a  quarter  miles.  The  five-mile  race  required  of  course,  four  trips  around 
the  course,  and  the  ten-mile  event  double  that  number." 


Mr.  Haines  credits  Bill  Ferguson,  who  became  known  as  one  of  the  area's 
outstanding  all-around  athletes,  with  being  Harvey's  finest  cyclist  and  a  con- 
sistent winner  in  the  races. 

Ferguson's  prowess  became  widely  recognized  and  he  was  a  regular  entry 
in  Midwestern  race  competitions.  Whether  he  was  a  winner  or  not  goes  un- 
recorded, but  he  was  often  at  the  starting  line  in  marathon  races  in  Chicago. 
The  races,  twenty  miles  in  length,  were  usually  held  on  July  4th,  beginning  on 
Michigan  Avenue  in  Chicago's  Loop  and  ending  at  the  Florence  Hotel  in 
Pullman,  an  establishment  erected  by  George  Pullman  of  railroad  car  fame. 

There  were  others  besides  Ferguson  who  ranked  as  outstanding  riders, 
however,  and  listed  as  having  more  than  ordinary  ability  are:  John  Barnings, 
Roy  Babcock,  Charles  Ellingsworth,  Phillip  Haines,  Lee  Flanders,  George 
Woodward,  Charles  Ferguson,  Arthur  Haines,  Ira  Hague,  Chance  and  Everett 
Onyon,  Harry  Brashares,  Everett  Isaacs,  Tony  Barnings,  Bill  Phillips,  Grant 
Summerville,  Henry  Becker,  Roy  and  Kenneth  Beers,  Walter  Stevens  and 
Richard  Schoof. 

"The  last  race  of  record,"  Mr.  Haines  recalls,  "was  in  1904." 








THE    HOWLAND    BUILDING    IN    THE    EARLY    1900'S.    IT    IS    STILL    OCCUPIED    BY    THE    OLIVER 


By  the  Late  SAM  BARKWILL 

(As  Written  in   1940) 

I  was  born  on  a  farm  3  miles  north  of  Goodwin,  S.D.,  on  May  23,  1883.  I 
came  to  Harvey  from  Leeds,  N.D.  with  my  parents,  arriving  here  at  10  o'clock 
in  the  evening  of  December  8,  1893. 

Harvey  at  that  time  was  famous  for  two  things.  It  was  known  far  and  wide 
for  its  mud  roads  and  board  walks  and  also  as  a  strictly  prohibition  town. 

Park  Avenue  at  that  early  date  was  a  macadam  road  from  155th  Street  to 
153rd  Street  with  a  flagstone  curb.  I  recall  tripping  over  that  curb  into  a  puddle 
of  muddy  water  before  I  reached  the  sidewalk  after  getting  off  the  train. 

There  were  also  a  few  blocks  of  macadam  road  on  155th  Street  from  Park 
Avenue  west.  The  balance  of  the  streets  were  paved  with  good  old  Harvey  mud. 

The  business  section  was  located  on  Park  Avenue  (now  Broadway)  and 
154th  Street  to  Center  Avenue  and  so  in  memory  I  take  a  tour  of  Harvey  as 
it  used  to  be. 

McGilvray  had  a  hardware  store  where  the  bus  depot  is  now.  The  Moose 
building  was  there  as  a  three-store  building  with  W.  E.  Kerr,  undertaker,  and 
Mrs.  Hill,  millinery,  as  tenants.  The  Harvey  Hotel  was  the  Millison  Hotel.  Doc 
Healy's  Drug  Store  and  Low's  Pool  Hall  were  two  of  the  tenants. 

From  Columbia  Avenue  to  Center  Avenue  the  following  buildings  are 
standing,  occupied  by  the  Home  Liquor  Store,  then  Howland  Dry  Goods,  the 
D.  H.  Hilbish  Hardware  Store,  then  J.  W.  Oliver's  Drug  Store.  The  rest  were 
one-story  frame  buildings  to  the  alley,  one  occupied  by  Osser  and  Ewing,  tailors; 
Henry  Becker's  shoe  repair  shop,  all  replaced  by  the  Eagle  Store.  Jackson's 
Drug  Store  was  a  frame  building  which  is  still  there,  used  at  one  time  by  the 
Salvation  Army  and  the  home  of  our  first  moving  picture  show  operated  by 
Mr.  Weeks,  general  admission  five  cents. 

The  Thompson  block  replaced  one  story  frame  buildings. 

Next  came  the  Devoe  Shoe  Store  on  the  main  floor  with  Judge  Devoe's 
court  room  in  the  basement,  which  reminds  me  that  the  Harvey  jail  at  that  time 
was  a  small  red  building,  built  of  2  x  6's  nailed  together  flat  for  extra  strength. 
It  was  located  in  the  alley  where  the  Safeway  garage  is  today. 

The  next  building,  the  present  R.  &  S.  Shoe  Store,  was  occupied  by  E.  E. 
Craver,  Grocery  and  Bakery.  The  current  Bastar's  Jewelry  Store  was  then  a 
two-story  frame  building,  occupied  by  C.  S.  Armington,  plumber. 

The  corner  building  was  occupied  then  by  W.  L.  A.  Wiedemann,  ice  cream 
parlor  and  school  supplies,  and  later  by  the  post  office. 

The  Walton  block  housed  John  Eichelberger,  shoes  and  clothing,  with  Wal- 
ton's Photo  Studio  upstairs.  Across  the  corner  in  the  Stevenson  block  were  Dan 
Rivers'  wallpaper  and  paint  store,  downstiars,  and  G.  A.  and  B.  T.  Stevenson, 
doctor  and  dentist,  upstairs. 

Traveling  east  on  the  south  side  of  154th  Street,  the  next  half  block  had 
one  building  occupied  in  1940  by  the  Thornton  Relief  office.  Swift's  Dry  Goods 
store  was  in  this  building. 

Merry-go-rounds  and  three-ring  circuses  were  staged  on  the  vacant  lot  now 
occupied  by  Oliver's,  the  Harvey  News  Agency  and  the  Bank  of  Harvey.  An 
old  two-story  frame  building  used  for  a  tin  shop  by  William  Green  was  where 
the  Harvey  Federal  is  now  located. 

The  city  offices  were  on  the  top  floor  of  a  two-story  frame  building,  oc- 
cupied later  by  the  Dixie  Dairy  Co.  The  only  negro  in  Harvey  at  that  time  had 
a  barber  shop  on  the  first  floor.  Later  the  building  was  occupied  by  the  tin 


shop  of  Billy  Green  whose  home  on  Center  Avenue  was   dismantled   a   few 
years  ago.  The  ground  is  used  for  a  parking  lot  now. 

Returning  to  154th  Street,  east  of  the  alley  the  buildings  from  the  Harvey 
Federal  building  to  Broadway  were  all  there  except  the  Edgar  building.  The 
corner  was  occupied  by  the  Bank  of  Harvey,  Beebee  had  a  hand  laundry  in 
the  basement  of  the  next  building  west.  Dr.  Braley  pulled  teeth  on  the  main 
floor.  Miller  Cleaners,  a  barber  shop  and  liquor  store  are  in  the  building  now. 
Pearson's  Barber  Shop,  with  Matt  Dawson  in  charge,  was  next  door.  Dr.  Alva 
Craver's  dental  parlor  was  above. 

On  the  corner  of  Broadway  and  154th  Street  was  a  wooden  tower  topped 
b\   the  fire  bell  which  now  is  a  cupola  of  the  city  hall. 

West  of  Center  Avenue  on  154th  Street  to  Turlington  Avenue  the  south 
side  had  one  building,  the  home  of  "Ma  and  Pa  Gaston,"  a  family  nationally 
known  because  of  their  daughter  Lucy,  who  was  the  leader  of  the  Anti- 
Cigarette  League,  and  because  "Pa"  was  the  tallest  man  and  had  the  largest 
pair  of  feet  of  any  man  in  these  parts  at  that  time.  This  building  was  torn 
down  a  few  weeks  ago. 

Across  the  street  on  the  corner  of  Turlington  was  H.  H.  Mynard's  real 
estate  office  housed  in  a  small  frame  building. 

Braley  and  Bosworth's  grocery  was  in  the  building  at  151  East  154th  Street. 
147  East  154th  Street  now  occupied  by  Hattie  Geiman's  store,  and  153  East 
154th  Street  by  Putnam's  store,  were  other  old  buildings  in  this  half  block. 
These  were  all  frame  buildings  and  are  still  there  with  a  new  dress  on  the 

In  the  next  block  from  Turlington  Avenue  to  Lexington  was  one  building, 
the  stucco  front  across  the  ten-cent  store.  The  first  tenant  was  the  Salvation 
Army,  followed  by  the  Holmes  flour  and  feed  store. 

From  Lexington  to  Loomis,  the  Baptist  church  on  the  corner  and  all  the 
dwelling  houses  west,  including  the  Buehler  Bakery,  are  the  same  as  of  47 
years  ago.  The  corner  now  occupied  by  the  Western  Tire  Company  was  a 
vacant  lot. 

West  of  Loomis  Avenue,  at  that  early  date,  was  out  in  the  country.  Homes 
were  few  and  far  between.  You  could  see  open  country  beyond  Western  Avenue. 

Some  of  the  oldtime  stores  and  factories  of  Harvey  47  years  ago  not  men- 
tioned in  this  story  are  those  given  below. 

H.  B.  Veerhusen  flour  and  feed  store,  located  in  a  barn  at  the  rear  of 
15234  Main  Street,  sold  out  to  W.  B.  Thompson  who  moved  to  the  corner  of 
Columbia  Avenue  and  153th  Street  and  established  what  was  later  known  as 
the  "Busy  Corner." 

Coffey  C.  Davidson's  livery  barn  was  east  of  the  alley  off  Columbia  Ave- 
nue on  153rd  Street,  now  the  city  yard.  Across  the  street  was  Vincent's  black- 
smith shop.  Both  of  these  old-timers  have  been  torn  down. 

At  the  corner  of  Columbia  Avenue  and  152nd  Street  was  the  John  Beck 
Coal  yard,  now  occupied  by  dwelling  houses. 

The  Wasau  Lumber  Company  was  located  where  the  Buda  employment 
office  and  main  entrance  is.  This  firm  moved  to  South  Holland  and  is  active- 
ly doing  business  there. 

Part  of  the  buildings  of  the  Enterprise  Foundry  and  the  Harvey  Boiler 
Works  at  Halsted  and  156th  Street  are  standing  and  are  in  the  Whiting  Foun- 
dry today. 

The  Harvey  car  shops  which  were  filled  with  old  World's  Fair  Cars,  used 
by  the  I.  C.  R.R.,  and  dismantled  there,  are  a  part  of  the  Austin  plant  which 
is  now  vacant. 


The  Bellair  Stamping  Works,  which  stood  where  Ingalls-Shepard  is  now, 
burned  down  and  was  relocated  in  Terre  Haute,  Indiana. 

The  C.  F.  Craver  Harvester  Company  at  the  east  end  of  155th  Street  and 
Commercial  Avenue  was  torn  down  several  years  ago.  It  is  now  a  part  of  the 
Bliss  and  Laughlin  Company's  vacant  ground. 

The  Buda  Company  at  the  east  end  of  154th  Street  had  three  buildings 
when  it  located  here  and  they  are  still  a  part  of  Harvey's  largest  factory. 

A.  D.  Heindel's  grocery  was  located  at  15412  Columbia  Avenue.  E.  N. 
Flewelling's  grocery  and  meat  market  was  at  15324  Columbia  Avenue  and 
later  moved  into  his  own  building  on  the  southeast  corner  of  Columbia  Avenue 
and    154th  Street. 

The  Arthur  Werner  furniture  store  was  located  at  15205  Center  Avenue. 
J.  Ellis'  newstand  was  located  on  Columbia  Avenue  in  the  153rd  block.  Bloom 
and  Veerhusen's  grocery  and  meat  store  was  at  15317  Columbia  Avenue.  Rior- 
dan's  hardware  store  was  at  15319  Columbia  Avenue.  John  Andrew's  meat 
market  was  at  15339  Center  Avenue.  The  T.  C.  Martin  Grocery  Store  was  at 
179  East  153rd  Street  and  the  family  home  was  on  the  corner.  The  store  is 
being  remodeled  at  the  present  time  into  a  small  apartment  building. 


The  three-story  Harvey  Land  Association  building,  one  of  Harvey's  oldest 
landmarks,  at  15432  Park  Avenue,  was  used  at  that  time  for  offices  on  the 
main  floor,  lodge  rooms  on  the  second  and  public  hall  on  the  third.  A  great 
number  of  home  talent  plays  and  traveling  shows  were  held  at  this  hall  in  the 
early  days. 

At  15420  Park  Avenue  was  the  famous  Goddard  Restaurant,  run  by  the 
genial  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Goddard.  The  building  was  dismantled  about  three  years 
ago   (1937). 

The  schools  in  Harvey,  the  Holmes  school  at  Finch  Avenue  and  157th 
Street  (this  part  of  Harvey  was  known  as  "Michigan"  in  the  early  days),  the 


Bryant  school  in  North  Harvey  in  the  triangular  piece  of  ground  facing  147th 
Street  and  bounded  on  the  east  by  Vincennes  Drive  (this  was  one  of  the  oldest 
buildings  in  Harvey  and  was  first  used  as  a  boys'  academy).  It  was  torn  down 
after  the  modern  Bryant  school  was  built.  The  Whittier  school  at  Turlington 
Avenue  and  153rd  Street  was  an  eight  room  building,  which  also  contained  the 
high  school.  This  building  burned  down  about  33  years  ago  and  George  Fair- 
child  acquired  the  red  sandstone  blocks  of  which  the  building  was  constructed 
and  built  his  home  on  the  corner  across  the  street.  These  sandstone  blocks 
were  manufactured  in  a  factory  in  West  Harvey  near  the  Ingalls-Shepard  plant. 

The  Amanda  Smith  orphan  home  and  school  for  colored  children,  located 
on  147th  Street  east  of  Halsted,  was  one  of  Harvey's  early  institutions. 

What  is  now  the  Arlington  Hotel  at  Broadway  and  155th  Street  was  the 
Bellaire  House,  located  somewhere  near  Page  Avenue  and  147th  Street. 

Harvey  in  the  early  days  had  an  electric  street  car  line  which  discontinued 
service  sometime  in  1893  because  a  young  cyclone  hit  the  car  barn  and  wrecked 
it  and  the  cars.  Profits  were  not  large  enough  to  replace  the  damages  and  in 
order  to  hold  the  franchise,  the  company  bought  a  horse  car  and  horses. 
Service  continued  until  a  Chicago  company  bought  it  and  built  a  line  from 
Harvey  to  63rd  Street  and  South  Park  Avenue,  Chicago.  This  was  also 
another  novelty  because  the  cars  were  operated  on  storage  batteries.  Later  the 
line  was  taken  over  by  the  Kankakee  Interurban.  Operation  of  the  line  was  dis- 
continued in  1927. 


Written  in  1940  on  the  occasion 
of   the    city's    50th    Anniversary 

(By  Fred  A.   Braley,  Pasadena,  Calif.) 

We  moved  to  Harvey  in  March,  1893,  that  famous  old  World's  Fair  year. 
We  built  our  home  at  131  East  155th  Street  when  about  the  only  houses  in  the 
neighborhood  on  that  street  were  those  of  the  McFarlanes,  the  Trevertons,  the 
Penwardens  and  Dr.  Keifer.  The  old  Methodist  church  was  there,  now  the  Odd 
Fellows  Hall. 

As  I  remember  it  after  these  years,  there  also  was  the  Oliver  home  and  that 
of  Earl  Lennox,  which  was  between  Loomis  and  Myrtle  Avenue. 

In  1894  G.  F.  Bosworth  and  I  opened  a  grocery  store  near  the  corner  of 
Center  Avenue  and  154th  Street.  Later  we  moved  to  153  East  154th  Street, 
having  bought  out  George  Putt,  one  of  the  first  grocery  stores  in  Harvey. 

At  that  time  the  only  paved  street  in  Harvey  was  155th  from  Park  to  Ash- 
land Avenue.  Sidewalks  were  all  made  of  two-inch  planks.  They  were  con- 
sidered very  good.  The  main  sewer  was  made  of  three-inch  plank  which  was 
later  replaced  with  a  good  brick  sewer. 

The  drainage  ditch  ran  between  the  Illinois  Central  depot  and  the  railroad. 
Around   1905  the  drainage  ditch  was  dug. 



As  Recalled  by  Horace  Holmes 

In  the  spring  of  1892  I  was  living  with  my  parents  and  sisters  on  a  farm 
near  Amity,  Missouri.  It  was  on  a  Sunday  afternoon  after  we  had  returned 
home  from  church  and  Sunday  School  and  were  reading  the  papers  we  re- 
ceived there  that  my  sister  exclaimed,  "Father,  here  is  a  new  town,  a  temper- 
ance town  near  Chicago.  Let  us  go  there  —  we  will  have  better  opportunities." 

That  was  the  beginning.  We  talked  of  little  else  until  my  father  and  sister 
came  to  Harvey  the  following  September,  while  I  remained  at  home  with  my 
mother  to  look  after  the  farm.  Father  soon  wrote  to  sell  the  farm  and  come 
as  soon  as  possible.  Although  only  15  years  of  age  I  harvested  the  crops,  sold 
everything  and  landed  in  Harvey  with  my  mother  the  day  after  Christmas,  1892. 

Walter  Thomas  Mills  had  his  World's  Fair  hotel  nearly  completed  and  was 
serving  a  turkey  dinner  that  evening.  My  father  took  us  there  and  what  a 
dinner  and  gathering.  There  were  families  from  many  states,  fine  friendly 
folk  attracted  here  from  far  and  near  because  it  was  to  be  a  temperance  town, 
with  factories  where  men  could  earn  good  wages  and  where  their  children 
could  grow  up  surrounded  by  the  best  influences.  So  there  gathered  here  a 
sturdy  people  who  were  ready  and  willing  to  work,  that  Harvey  might  have 
good  schools,  churches  and  factories.  That  is  why  Harvey  is  known  today  for 
its  excellent  school  system  and  many  churches. 

I  remember  well  that  first  winter  in  Harvey.  Professor  F.  L.  Miller  was 
superintendent  of  schools  and  led  a  large  choir  in  the  Methodist  Church  which 
was  holding  services  in  what  is  now  the  Odd  Fellows  Hall. 

There  were  no  theatres  or  picture  shows  to  go  to  but  I  believe  we  had  more 
real  enjoyable  times  than  folks  have  today.  There  were  dinners  and  social 
gatherings  at  the  churches  where  we  played  the  old  games,  old  and  young 
joining  in.  People  had  time  to  visit  their  neighbors,  enjoying  many  evenings 
in  that  manner. 

It  was  a  busy  town  with  houses  and  stores  being  erected  and  men  busy 
laying  wood  sidewalks  along  muddy  streets.  Everyone  worked  six  days  a  week 
and  went  to  church  on  Sunday  both  morning  and  evening. 

When  school  closed  in  June,  1893,  I  secured  work  in  a  small  store  owned 
by  a  Mr.  Stratton  who  sold  butter  and  eggs.  I  received  50  cents  per  day,  $3.00  a 
week,  a  lot  of  money  then  for  a  boy  of  16.  That  fall  Mr.  Stratton  rented  the 
first  floor  of  what  is  now  the  Hercules  building  on  154th  Street  and  added 
flour,  feed,  hay  and  grain.  I  continued  working  for  Mr.  Stratton  on  Saturdays 
and  evenings  while  attending  school. 

By  the  summer  of  1896  Harvey  began  to  feel  the  pinch  of  the  depression, 
men  were  out  of  work  and  business  was  poor.  Mr.  Stratton  sold  out  to  his 
competitor,  W.  B.  Thompson,  whose  store  was  at  153rd  Street  and  Broadway. 
My  father  and  I  immediately  thereafter  opened  a  flour  and  feed  store  under 
the  name  of  Holmes  and  Son  in  the  building  vacated  by  Mr.  Stratton.  I 
worked  and  continued  in  high  school  which  was  held  on  the  second  floor  of  j 
the  Whittier  school  building  at  the  corner  of  Turlington  Avenue  and  153rd 
Street.  Professor  J.  E.  Cable  was  principal  and  Professor  F.  L.  Miller  taught 
some  classes.  The  entire  high  school  had  their  seats  in  one  large  room  and  the! 
day  began  by  either  Professor  Miller  or  Professor  Cable  reading  a  passage  of  I 
Scripture  and  giving  a  short  talk  to  the  school. 

One  of  Professor  Cable's  favorite  texts  was  "He  that  controlleth  his  spirit 
is  greater  than  he  that  taketh  a  city."  He  would  then  enlarge  on  the  advantage: 
to  one  to  always  hold  one's  self  in  control.  We  young  folk  often  joked  about 


these  talks  but  I  was  sure  thev  helped  manv  others  as  they  helped  me. 

Through  my  business  with  the  Bank  of  Harvey,  I  became  acquainted  with 
W.  H.  Miller  who  had  organized  the  bank  early  in  1891.  One  day  after  I  had 
graduated  from  high  school  Mr.  Miller  asked  me  if  I  would  like  to  learn  the 
banking  business.  So  it  was  on  August  7,  1898,  I  started  as  a  clerk  in  the  bank 
and  in  about  two  years  was  elected  assistant  cashier,  which  position  I  held 
until  I  had  completed  the  organization  of  the  First  National  Bank  of  Dolton, 
which  was  opened  on  May  20,  1907.  In  this  year  also  the  First  National  Bank 
of  Harvey  was  organized  by  W.  L.  A.  Wiedemann  and  his  cousin,  David 

Some  business  men  and  people  thought  Mr.  Miller  hard  to  approach  but 
those  who  really  knew  him  valued  his  advice  and  counsel. 

Mr.  Miller  took  an  active  part  in  organizing  Thornton  Township  High 
School  which  graduated  its  first  class  in  1899.  It  was  his  farsightedness  and 
tenacity  of  purpose  which  located  the  high  school  on  its  present  site,  instead 
of  placing  it  on  a  few  lots. 

Also  in  the  early  days  of  Harvey  it  was  Mr.  Miller  who  called  together 
some  of  the  business  men  and  insisted  that  Harvey  should  take  advantage  of 
the  offer  made  by  Andrew  Carnegie  to  give  a  library  to  the  towns  that  would 
vote  a  one  mill  tax  for  the  maintainence  of  one.  Harvey  got  the  library  and 
Mr.  Miller  was  president  of  the  first  library  board. 

The  years  at  the  beginning  of  this  century  were  active  and  exciting  years  in 
Harvey.  The  cold  winter  night  on  which  the  large  factory  known  as  the  Bell- 
aire  Stamping  Works  burned  will  ever  be  remembered  by  those  who  were 
there.  This  was  a  severe  blow  for  Harvey  but  soon  thereafter  the  Ingalls-Shep- 
ard  plant  was  located  on  that  site.  Another  never-to-be-forgotten  event  was  the 
burning  of  the  Whittier  school  building  at  the  northeast  corner  of  Turlington 
Avenue  and  153rd  Street.  W.  D.  Rogers  was  then  president  of  the  school  board 
and  I  was  its  secretary. 

We  set  to  work  immediately  to  build  a  new  and  much  larger  school  building, 
the  present  Whittier.  There  were  many  board  sessions  which  lasted  far  into 
the  night  *and  many  hot  discussions. 

Here  I  wish  to  pay  tribute  to  the  loyal  and  farsighted  work  performed  on 
those  early  school  boards  by  Charles  F.  Craver,  Dr.  G.  A.  Stevenson,  W.  D. 
Rogers  and  James  Pettigrew,  each  of  whom  served  several  years  as  president  of 
the  board  of  education  for  District  152,  and  to  such  capable  women  as  Mrs. 
Myra  Dunning,  Mrs.  G.  A.  Mahon,  Mrs.  F.  A.  Osgood  and  Mrs.  L.  K.  Hins- 

In  some  respects  I  believe  Harvey  suffered  more  from  the  depression  which 
ran  its  course  from  1893  to  1900  than  it  did  in  the  last  depression,  1929.  During 
hese  trying  years  the  price  of  real  estate  declined  in  many  instances  50  per 
:ent  and  many  Harvey  people  lost  their  homes.  Many  more  lost  faith  in  Har- 
vey and  moved  elsewhere.  There  were,  however,  some  who  believed  in  Harvey 
ind  benefited  thereby. 

Noteable  among  these  were  W.  B.  Thompson,  F.  G.  Howland,  Dr.  G.  A. 
Stevenson,  W.  H.  Miller  and  H.  H.  Mynard.  I  recall  a  remark  Mr.  Mynard 
nade  when  about  1900  he  called  at  the  bank  and  asked  Mr.  Miller  for  a  $1200 
oan  on  a  Center  Avenue  house  which  he  could  buy  for  $2500.  He  said,  "I 
lave  confidence  in  Harvey.  Any  city  situated  as  Harvey  is  —  with  good 
ransportation  facilities  near  a  great  city,  is  sure  to  grow.  Its  growth  may  be 
lelayed  but  you  can't  stop  it." 

Mr.  Miller  made  the  loan  requested  by  Mr.  Mynard  and  many  others 
vhich  helped  Harvey  to  grow  again. 


PETER  BECK     .     .     .     AND 

Having  been  founded  as  a  temperance  community,  it  was  natural  that 
Harvey  would  attract  people  with  rigid  standards  of  human  conduct,  people 
with  deep  religious  convictions  seeking  a  home  where  they  could  share  their 
philosophies  with  their  neighbors. 

And  it  was  for  this  reason  that  John  Beck,  a  coal  merchant  in  the  small 
hamlet  of  Braidwood  near  Joliet,  moved  his  family  to  Harvey. 

His  son,  Peter,  who  was  to  become  one  of  the  city's  leading  merchants 
over  many  years,  recalled  before  his  death,  that  his  father  "was  attracted  by  an 
advertisement  to  the  effect  that  a  coal  dealer  was  wanted  in  a  new  and  rapidly 
growing  temperance  suburb  of  Chicago." 

It  appears  that  the  senior  Beck  was  fascinated  by  the  fact  that  the  deeds 
to  Harvey  property  contained  the  "prohibition"  clause,  and  so  in  April,  1891, 
he  moved  his  family  here. 

Much  of  the  "color"  of  the  community's  early  years  is  available  because 
of  the  prolific  pen  and  remarkable  memory  of  Peter  Beck. 

"Quite  a  sight  met  our  eyes,"  he  recalled  in  a  story  written  for  the  Harvey 
Tribune  on  the  occasion  of  the  city's  fiftieth  anniversary  in  1940. 

"There  were  no  trees,  only  a  long  stretch  of  open  prairie,  but  elm  and  cotton- 
wood  saplings  six  or  eight  feet  high  had  been  planted  row  after  row. 

"The  sound  of  hammer  and  saw  was  heard  everywhere.  Miles  of  wooden 
sidewalks  were  being  laid.  A  temporary  box  sewer  had  been  laid  in  Center 
Avenue  to  the  Calumet  river  which,  two  years  later,  was  followed  by  a  brick 
sewer  seven  feet  in  diameter  from  the  Grand  Trunk  tracks  north.  A  few  cross 
sewers  were  being  laid  and  artesian  wells  had  been  bored  and  a  water  system 
was  being  installed.  A  50-volt  electric  lighting  system  was  also  being  con- 
structed and  this  was  later  to  furnish  power  for  a  street  car  line  that  operated 
only  as  far  as  West  Harvey. 

"Work  was  nearing  completion  on  the  Union  Church  at  155th  Street  and 
Lexington  Avenue.  The  church,  inspired  by  Turlington  W.  Harvey,  never 
achieved  the  purpose  for  which  it  was  intended  and  it  was  later  sold  to  the 
Methodist  group  in  the  community  after  having  been  used  as  a  school." 

The  building  is  still  standing  and  serves  as  headquarters  for  the  Odd  Fel- 
lows Lodge. 

Although  Turlington  W.  Harvey's  dream  of  a  truly  union  church  fell  short 
of  attainment  it  did,  however,  accomplish  something  in  this  direction  before 
its  disposal  to  other  interests. 

"'I  recall,"  Peter  Beck  relates  in  his  memoirs,  "that  Mr.  Harvey  believed  in 
mixing  religion  with  business  and  on  occasions  brought  to  the  town  such 
people  as  R.  A.  Torrey,  a  nationally-renowned  evangelist;  Ira  B.  Sankey,  an 
equally  famous  gospel  singer;  and  Susan  B.  Anthony  of  woman's  suffrage 

Mr.  Beck  recalled  that  "because  Harvey  was  the  only  temperance  town  in 
the  nation,  because  of  its  highly  religious  character  (all  businesses  were  closed 
on  Sundays  and  meals  could  be  obtained  only  in  private  homes,  or  at  the 
Harvey  House,  a  three-story  frame  building  located  just  north  of  the  Grand 
Trunk  tracks  and  east  of  the  Illinois  Central  tracks  on  Morgan  Street)  it 
brought  to  the  community  a  peculiar  and  diversified  lot  of  'believers.'  " 

Perhaps  the  most  famous  of  early  Harvey's  zealously  religious  families  was 
the  Gastons,  several  members  of  this  family  later  attaining  international  promi- 


Alexander  H.  Gaston  was  a  huge  man,  six  feet,  six  inches  tall  and  with 
enormous  feet.  He  walked  with  an  ungainly  gait  and  on  the  community's 
wooden  sidewalks  "one  could  recognize  his  steps  more  than  a  block  away." 

Mrs.  Gaston  has  been  described  as  a  "lovely,  old-fashioned  woman." 

The  introduction  by  Peter  Beck  of  the  Gaston  family  serves  as  a  prelude 
to  a  more  detailed  family  history  compiled  in  1940  by  Edward  Page  Gaston, 
then  of  Washington,  D.C. 

Edward  was  to  share  considerable  international  fame  with  his  crusading 
sister,  Lucy,  a  militant  foe  of  whiskey  and  cigarettes,  who  carried  her  crusades 
the  length  and  breadth  of  the  nation. 

Alexander,  head  of  the  Gaston  clan,  was  the  "Johnny  Appleseed"  of  the 
town.  From  his  early  boyhood  days  in  Ohio,  Alexander  was  a  horticulturist  at 
heart  and  he  "was  always  planting  seeds  or  seedlings,"  an  avocation  he  pur- 
sued upon  his  arrival  here. 

Mr.  Gaston  introduced  to  the  community  the  "fruitful  Russian  mulberry" 
which  he  extolled  as  good  food  for  both  human  beings  and  birds."  The  com- 
munity's large  cottonwood  population  is  also  the  result  of  introduction  by  him. 

But  it  was  Lucy  Page  Gaston  who  was  to  make  the  family  name  nationally 
prominent.  A  reform  worker,  she  fought  the  use  of  whiskey  and  tobacco  with 
equal  vigor. 

In  his  memoirs,  Edward  Gaston  makes  what  is,  so  far  as  is  known,  the 
only  reference  to  the  early  appearance  of  whiskey  in  the  temperance  town 
of  Harvey. 

"When  Turlington  Harvey  founded  our  enterprising  Chicago  suburb,  he 
put  a  prohibitory  clause  in  the  title  deeds,  but  the  always  arrogant  brewing 
and  whiskey  interests  determined  to  break  down  such  a  dangerous  precedent 
by  planting  a  saloon  in  the  town,"  he  chronicled. 

In  support  of  the  militant  Lucy,  a  Kenneth  Beers,  publisher  of  the  city's 
fledgling  newspaper,  the  Harvey  Citizen,  carried  on  an  editorial  campaign  in 
support  of  her  swashbuckling  efforts  to  rid  the  town  of  the  saloon  menace. 

"Led  by  my  sister,"  Edward  records,  "a  band  of  determined  Harvey  resi- 
dents thereupon  instituted  a  long  line  of  prohibitory  test  cases  in  the  Cook 
County  courts  which  attracted  nationwide  attention  to  Harvey  as  the  'little 
ewe  lamb  of  prohibition.'  " 

Credited  also  with  having  stood  valiantly  beside  Lucy  in  the  campaign 
were  Miss  Jennie  Farley,  Rev.  Milford  Lyon,  a  Congregational  minister,  Peter 
Beck,  Alfred  Miller  and  Arthur  Holman. 

Defeated  in  her  crusade  against  the  use  of  whiskey,  Lucy  turned  her  efforts 
toward  combatting  the  use  of  cigarettes  on  a  national  scale.  She  did  much 
local  work  in  this  direction  and  it  is  recalled  by  many  that  upon  signing  a 
pledge  to  refrain  from  using  cigarettes,  they  were  rewarded  with  a  lapel  but- 
ton, red  with  the  letters  "ACL"  emblazoned  on  a  white  shield.  She  coined  the 
nationally  known  name  of  "coffin  nails"  for  cigarettes. 

Miss  Gaston  pursued  a  most  fruitful  life,  one  filled  with  excitement  and 
replete  with  honors.  She  was  once  named  as  a  possible  United  States  presi- 
dential candidate.  She  cast  such  a  wide  influence  that  some  of  the  states  passed 
anti-cigarette  laws  —  testimony  to  the  effectiveness  of  her  lobbying  and  educa- 
tional work  in  the  field. 

In  recalling  her  death  in  Chicago  in  August,  1924,  at  the  age  of  65,  her 
respectful  brother  noted  that  she  lived  by  the  axiom,  "No  good  cause  is  ever 
lost  until  it  is  given  up." 

"Lucy  Page  Gaston  was  greater  than  anything  she  ever  accomplished," 
Edward  said  in  final  tribute. 


Edward  Gaston  himself  attained  international  prominence,  also  as  a  re- 

Alexander  Gaston  joined  the  Prohibition  Party  upon  its  organization  in 
Chicago  in  1869  and  made  frequent  speeches  in  its  behalf.  Mrs.  Gaston  was 
active. in  the  Women's  Christian  Temperance  Union  which  survived  in  Harvey 
for  many  years,  although  today  it  can  be  safely  recorded  the  membership 
roster  contains  names  only  of  the  deceased.  At  best,  the  organization,  if  it  yet 
exists,  is  inactive. 

Edward  Gaston  took  up  the  cudgel  of  prohibition  even  while  his  parents 
were  still  active  in  the  movement  and  in  1909,  while  living  in  London,  England, 
as  European  manager  for  the  Funk  and  Wagnall  Publishing  House  of  New 
York,  he  became  the  founder  of  the  World  Prohibition  Federation  which  con- 
tinues to  operate  effectively  throughout  the  world.  Its  purpose  is  to  end  the 
use  of  alcohol,  opiates  and  other  forms  of  narcotics. 

Edward  also  recorded  in  his  memoirs  of  1940  that  he  was  "national  com- 
mander of  the  Patriot  Guard  of  America  from  the  Washington,  D.C.  head- 
quarters of  which  a  constant  stream  of  propaganda  is  issued  against  gambling 
and  immorality." 

"My  people,"  Edward  concludes,  "have  tried  to  leave  the  world  a  little 
better  from  having  past  this  way,  and  the  family  association  with  Harvey  has 
always  been  one  of  special  satisfaction  to  me." 


Although  Harvey  is  a  closely-knit  community  today,  certain  areas  during 
the  early  days  had  individual  designations.  North  Harvey  and  West  Harvey 
were  almost  separate  entities,  North  Harvey  at  one  stage  of  history  having  its 
own  government. 

Similarly,  the  east  side  of  the  community  was  "A  town  unto  itself"  and  be- 
cause most  of  the  settlers  east  of  the  Illinois  Central  Railroad  migrated  from 
the  State  of  Michigan,  that  was  the  name  given  to  the  area. 

One  of  the  first  families  that  settled  in  "Michigan"  was  the  Hulings,  and 
the  early  days  of  the  city's  eastern  section  was  recalled  some  years  ago  by  Mrs. 
C.  A.   Huling: 

Mr.  Huling  ordered  lumber  from  the  John  Shilling  yards  in  South  Holland 
to  start  the  new  home,  but  found  the  mud  was  too  deep  to  have  it  hauled. 
He  decided  to  return  to  our  home  near  Grand  Rapids,  Michigan  until  the 
roads  dried  up  enough  to  be  navigable.  When  the  house  was  roofed  and  en- 
closed our  two  small  boys  and  I  arrived  here. 

There  were  sidewalks  only  on  one  side  of  most  of  the  streets,  except  154th 
and  155th  Streets.  People  living  on  the  east  side  of  the  streets,  which  were  the 
ones  without  walks,  had  to  lay  boards  down  to  cross  over.  These  were  soon 
buried  in  mud,  especially  in  the  fall  and  winter,  and  had  to  be  replaced  often. 

There  were  shade  trees  only  along  a  few  streets.  I  remember  that  in  the 
summer  the  hot  west  wind  came  over  the  prairie,  parching  lawns  and  gardens. 

Our  wells  were  mostly  surface  water.  For  drinking  water  we  went  to  a  farm 
at  159th  and  Halsted  Streets,  about  six  blocks  away,  carrying  it  back.  Deeper 
wells  were  dug  later  and  finally  the  city  water  came. 

Later  we  had  plenty  of  water  in  the  way  of  floods.  There  was  a  deep  ditch 
on  the  west  side  of  the  Illinois  Central  at  157th  Street  and  the  station.  When 
this  ditch  overflowed  in  the  first  flood  we  had  to  cross  it  on  a  bridge.  This 


flood  was  in  the  World's  Fair  year  of  1893.  That  year  a  boy  was  drowned 

The  Methodist  people  rented  the  second  floor  of  the  French  Hotel,  at  the 
:orner  of  Columbia  Avenue  (now  Broadway)  and  154th  Street.  Rufus  Ricker, 
vho  came  here  with  the  Craver  Steel  and  Austin  Company  and  was  a  brother- 
n-law  of  Mr.  Craver,  was  the  first  Sunday  school  superintendent. 

Mr.  Haines  was  one  of  the  first  grocery  men  on  154th  Street.  James 
Smith,  a  young  boy,  rode  his  pony  over  to  the  east  side  and  took  our  orders, 
^ater  Frank  Gratton,  now  living  on  Turlington  Avenue,  came  every  morning 
or  orders  which  were  delivered  that  afternoon. 

The  memorable  flood  came  on  June  2,  1902.  Some  of  the  larger  boys 
owed  a  boat  in  the  streets  at  Columbia  and  Center  Avenues.  Many  of  the 
vooden  sidewalks  floated  away  as  did  everything  else  that  was  loose. 

Teachers  who  could  not  wade  to  their  school  buildings  were  obliged  to 
lire  a  hack  from  L.  Davidson's  livery. 

Many  people  will  remember  the  fringed  top  yellow  painted  surrey  with 
ts  two  lively  horses  driven  by  W.  D.  Rogers  of  the  Harvey  Land  Association. 

My  husband  helped  in  erecting  the  Bliss  and  Laughlin  factory  in  1891  and 
vas  its  first  engineer.  The  factory  was  the  third  in  the  United  States  to  turn 
»ut  steel  shafting. 


No  history  of  the  City  of  Harvey  would  be  complete  without  recounting 
he  five  serious  floods  which  have  occurred  over  the  past  62  years,  floods 
/hich  cumulatively  created  damage  running  into  millions  of  dollars.  Yet,  Har- 
ey's  staunch  population  took  each  in  stride,  accepted  personal  losses,  and  as 
tie  floods  faded  into  memory  was  able  to  recall  with  considerable  humor,  the 
ghter  sides  of  the  tragedies. 

There  is,  of  course,  a  variance  of  opinions  as  to  the  city's  most  disastrous 
loods.  Those  who  formed  the  early  population  recall,  with  nostalgia,  the 
avages  of  the  floods  of  1892  and  1902  yet,  despite  their  seriousness,  these 
loods  pale  in  comparison  with  those  of  the  modern  days  in  terms  of  damage 
reated  and  monetary  loss. 

It  must  be  remembered  first,  that  the  number  of  residents,  and  therefore 
le  number  of  residences,  industries  and  business  establishments,  were  much 
*wer  in  number  and,  comparatively  speaking,  the  losses  can  hardly  be  measured 
gainst  those  of  the  floods  of  1947,  1954  and  1957,  in  spite  of  the  fact  that 
le  waters  which  descended  upon  the  city  may  have  been  equal  or  even  greater 
l  intensity  in  the  earlier  innundations. 

Professor  F.  L.  Miller,  Harvey's  first  educator,  is  authority  for  the  details 
f  the  floods  of  1892  and  1902  and  upon  the  occasion  of  the  city's  Golden 
ibilee  in  1940  he  described  the  reaction  to  the  first  "official"  flood. 

"I  well  remember  the  unpaved  streets  and  the  wooden  sidewalks  —  and  the 
jiin.  Upon  arriving  home  from  downtown  it  took  several  minutes  to  clean  one's 
loots.  The  rain  in  1892  lasted  26  days  in  the  month  of  May  and  27  days  in  the 
lonth  of  June.  Not  just  light  showers.  It  poured.  I  well  remember  on  the  last 
ay  of  the  session  at  the  academy  (where  Mr.  Miller  was  the  principal)  men 
onned  high  boots  and  splashed  through  the  water  on  the  two-plank  sidewalk 
litween  154th  and  147th  Streets." 

Mr.  Miller's  short  account  of  that  flood  appears  to  be  the  only  one  avail- 
pie  but  details  are  less  sketchy  about  its  successor  ten  years  later,  in   1902 


154TH   STREET   DURING   FLOOD   OF    1902 

when  the  population  had  increased  considerably.  There  were  more  victims  anal 
therefore,  more  witnesses. 

However,  it  is  again  Mr.  Miller  who  provides  some  enlightenment  on  th< 
1902  flood. 

"That  was  some  flood,"  the  educator  recalled. 

"We  stood  in  the  middle  of  154th  Street  and  saw  the  water  coming  in  fron] 
the  west  and  southwest  (the  exact  course  of  the  succeeding  floods).  Thj 
water  invasion  continued  until  it  became  necessary  to  employ  boats  to  do  tin 
family  shopping.  People  were  marooned  in  their  houses  for  days." 

Mr.  Miller  describes  conditions  following  the  recession  of  the  waters. 

"Behold,"  he  exclaimed,  "when  the  water  was  gone  so  were  the  woodei: 
sidewalks,  but  this  may  have  been  a  blessing  in  disguise  for  it  heralded  tbl 
era  of  concrete  sidewalks  and  paved  streets." 

Another  unknown  historian  gives  an  even  more  vivid  description  of  condij 

"The  worst  flood  the  city  ever  experienced  was  on  June  2,  1902  at  whicl 
time  all  the  businesshouses  on  154th  Street  were  flooded  with  eighteen  inchd 
of  water  on  the  first  floor  and  all  the  factories  east  of  the  Illinois  Central  railj 
road  were  forced  to  close  down  because  water  rendered  the  power  plant] 

"At  that  time  we  had  an  open  creek  that  ran  from  159th  Street  paralk! 
with  the  Illinois  Central  railroad  to  the  Little  Calumet  River.  Small  ditches  soutj 
of  159th  Street  on  each  side  of  Park  Avenue  to  Hazel  Crest  and  Homewooj 
provided  some  drainage. 

"A  ditch  running  southeast  along  159th  Street  into  Markham  drained  thai 


The  question  then,  as  it  has  been  throughout  the  years,  was  how  to  stem 
the  onslaught  of  water  descending  on  the  city  from  the  south  and  west. 

The  experiences  of  1892  and  1902  led  to  the  foundation  in  1905  and  1906 
of  the  Calumet  Union  Drainage  District  with  William  E.  Kerr,  then  mayor  of 
the  city,  and  A.  R.  Burkdoll,  publisher  of  the  Tribune  Citizen  newspaper,  play- 
ing major  roles. 

The  system  consisted  of  two  major  ditches,  one  known  as  the  161st  Street 
ditch  which  ran  along  the  city's  south  boundary  from  the  west  and  then  east 
to  the  Calumet  river  at  a  point  in  South  Holland.  The  second  ditch  ran  straight 
down  Robey  Street  to  the  Calumet  river.  The  theory  was  that  ditch  number  one 
could  handle  the  flow  of  water  from  the  south  and  that  on  Robey  the  water 
from  the  west. 

It  was  believed  that  this  would  alleviate  the  problem  of  the  community 
which,  at  the  time,  had  a  single  sewer  line  running  down  Center  Avenue  from 
155th  Street  to  the  Calumet  River. 

Strangely  enough,  there  is  no  record  of  flood  conditions  from  1902  until 
1947,  a  period  of  45  years,  but  from  1947  to  1957  the  city  experienced  a  series 
of  four  floods  that  rank  as  disasters  of  more  than  average  seriousness. 

Property  damage  was  tremendous  but,  as  in  the  early  days,  the  residents 
took  their  losses  and  discomfiture  stoically  and  upon  the  secession  of  the  rains 
set  about  the  grim  task  of  cleaning  up. 

Because  the  lack  of  previous  experience  by  a  vast  majority  of  the  populace 
the  flood  of  1947  struck  viciously  and  although  resultant  property  damage  was 
estimated  at  $977,400,  the  actual  loss  might  well  have  exceeded  $1,000,000. 

"In  the  memory  of  persons  now  considered  pioneer  residents,"  The  Harvey 
Tribune  of  April  10,  1947  reported,  "this  city  has  never  undergone  a  like  situ- 
ation. Those  who  went  to  bed  on  Friday  night  hoping  for  a  good  pre-Easter 
shopping  day  on  the  morrow,  awoke  to  find  it  impossible  to  get  farther  away 
from  the  living  room  than  the  front  porch." 

Only  the  northern  area  of  the  community  escaped  innundation  because  the 
Grand  Trunk  tracks  served  as  a  dam  that  blocked  the  invasion. 

"At  times,"  the  Tribune  recorded,  "159th  Street  was  a  raging  torrent  and  in 
the  viaduct  at  the  intersection  of  Park  Avenue  the  water  reached  depths  of 
an  estimated  eight  feet. 

Business  houses  suffered  losses  impossible  to  accurately  gauge.  Despite 
frantic  efforts  to  stem  the  "tidal  wave"  by  employing  sand  bag  barriers  the 
Abater  continued  to  mount  and  in  many  cases  first  floor  salesrooms  were  under 

Easter,  needless  to  say,  was  spoiled  and  the  situation  caused  many  local 
:hurches  to  hold  services  the  following  Sunday. 

The  Calumet  River,  usually  a  quiet,  meandering  stream,  became  a  raging 
orrent,  overflowing  its  banks  in  many  areas.  Water  rose  to  within  inches  of 
bridges  crossing  the  stream  at  all  points  in  the  area. 

City  police  and  firemen  played  heroic  roles  and  successfully  removed 
itranded  townspeople  from  homes  in  the  southwest  area.  Forty  firemen  and 
wenty-seven  policemen  were  on  24-hour  duty. 

By  Tuesday  morning  the  sewer  system  had  been  relieved  of  the  strain  and 
nost  basements  had  drained.  Left  in  the  wake  of  the  water,  however,  were 
.ludge-filled  basements,  more  than  three  inches  deep  in  many  places,  and  the 
■eal  clean-up  work  began.  Authorities  estimated  that  more  than  six  inches  of 
•ain  had  fallen  in  a  24-hour  period. 

The  rains  were  to  pay  a  return  visit  just  16  days  more  than  a  year  later,  on 
Vfarch  19,  1948,  although  the  intensity  of  the  downpour  was  considerably  less, 


an  estimated  two  and  a  quarter  inches,  and  the  damage  amounted  only  to 
$  1 39,000,  small  compared  with  that  of  the  year  prior. 

However,  this  served  as  an  important  era  in  the  continuing  fight  against 
floods  and  it  set  the  stage  for  an  improvement  in  the  city's  antiquated  sewer 
system.  Citizens  joined  the  city  council  in  a  cooperative  effort  to  effect  a 
remedy  and  from  this  evolved  a  complete  rehabilitation  of  the  system. 

Before  this  was  to  be  achieved  another  disaster  struck  the  city  over  a  three- 
day  period  from  October  9  through   11   in   1954. 

This  proved  to  be  the  greatest  disaster  of  all  time  for  the  City  of  Harvey, 
damage  totaling  an  estimated  $1,038,190.  The  source  of  this  city's  trouble  re- 
mained the  same  —  drainage  from  a  huge  area  to  the  city's  south  and  south- 

"Although  many  in  Harvey  felt  the  effects  as  early  as  Saturday  night  during 
the  torrential  rains,  it  wasn't  until  Sunday  morning  when  the  water  rolled  re- 
lentlessly in  from  neighboring  communities  and  the  161st  Street  and  Robey 
Avenue  ditches  overflowed  that  the  city  felt  the  full  brunt  of  the  invasion,"  the 
Harvey  Tribune  of  the  day  recorded. 

The  water  reached  its  high  point  on  Monday  morning  and  it  wasn't  until 
late  in  the  afternoon  that  a  recession  became  noticeable. 

In  many  residences  the  water  poured  through  first  floor  windows.  Water  in 
many  residential  areas  measured  three  feet  in  depth. 

Although  the  damage  created  was  the  worst  ever,  it  could  have  been  con- 
siderably greater  except  for  a  citizenry  that  had  learned  what  to  do  from 
previous  experiences.  Many  were  able  to  save  electrical  appliances  and  other 
valuable  household  facilities  by  moving  them  from  the  basement. 

The  community's  business  area  was  a  shambles,"  the  Tribune  reported, 
"and  the  frantic  efforts  of  the  merchants,  fi^htinq  against  time  to  salvage  their 
merchandise,  began  late  Saturday  night.  Employees  summoned  from  their 
homes  donned  boots  and  overalls  to  remove  stocks  to  safety  on  upper  levels." 

Sump  pumps  were  placed  in  operation  and  labored  continuously  for  two  full 
days.  Yet,  through  all  the  tragedy,  the  same  stoicism  was  displayed  by  the 
people.  Boats,  some  powered  by  outboard  motors,  were  a  common  scene  in 
some  areas. 

Studies,  meanwhile,  had  continued  on  the  rehabilitation  of  the  city  sewer 
system  and  while  the  October  flood  was  still  fresh  in  the  memory  of  everyone, 
the  city  council  under  the  administration  of  Mayor  Arthur  E.  Turngren,  called 
an  election  on  issuing  $1,500,000  in  general  obligation  bonds  and  $675,000  in 
sewer  revenue  bonds  to  cover  the  cost  of  installation. 

The  people  decided,  at  an  election  held  on  November  2,  1948,  that  the 
proeram  was  worthy,  and  approved  the  huge  expenditure  by  a  vote  of  4,712 
to  2,719. 

Contracts  were  let  to  two  contractors  on  April  12,  1955  and  work  began 
on  the  $2,175,000  project  on  August  22,   1955. 

Although  the  rejuvenation  of  the  system  was  city-wide,  the  more  important 
element  of  the  project  was  the  installation  of  two  major  sewer  lines  into  which 
the  myriad  of  lateral  lines  fed.  One  of  these,  a  90-inch  main  serves  the  east 
portion  of  the  community,  and  another,  78  inches  in  diameter,  serves  the 
west  side. 

It  was  emphasized  by  engineers  that,  despite  the  fervent  hopes  of  the 
people,  this  program  would  not  completely  eliminate  the  flooding  problem.  It 
was  only  a  partial  solution,  that  would  be  of  considerable  help  in  alleviating 
the  extent  of  damage  from  floods,  but  was  not  a  final  remedy. 

The   predictions   of   these    authorities   was    somewhat   vindicated   in    1957 


when  the  community  was  to  suffer  its  fourth  flood  in  a  decade. 

That  the  new  sewer  system  did  what  could  be  expected  of  it  was  the 
opinion  of  experts  following  the  torrential  rains  on  July  13,  1957,  yet  there 
was  considerable  damage  and,  in  a  sense,  even  more  tragedy  in  this  instance 
than  in  the  three  previous  floods  of  the  period. 

Eight  inches  of  rain  fell  upon  the  area  in  a  six-hour  period,  but  in  spite  of 
the  severity  of  the  downpour,  damage  was  insignificant  compared  with  the 
1954  flood,  or  that  in  1947.  The  city's  southwest  residential  area  was  the  most 
seriously  affected  from  the  damage  standpoint  and  the  business  area  was  almost 
untouched.  It  was  generally  conceded  that  the  new  sewers  had  performed 

Perhaps  the  most  tragic  note  in  the  disaster,  was  the  need  to  evacuate  a 
number  of  patients  from  Ingalls  Memorial  hospital  which,  incidentally,  was 
undergoing  a  major  expansion  program  at  the  time. 

The  hospital's  power  failed  and  in  the  interest  of  patient  safety  what 
amounted  to  a  mass  evacuation  was  undertaken.  Patients  were  transferred  to 
other  area  institutions,  particularly  St.  Francis  hospital  in  Blue  Island  and  St. 
James  in  Chicago  Heights. 

Many  volunteered  their  assistance.  The  South  Suburban  Safeway  Lines 
provided  a  number  of  busses,  the  Allis-Chalmers  Manufacturing  Company  of- 
fered the  use  of  as  many  trucks  as  were  needed.  Ambulance  services  provided 
the  same  assistance  and  the  Illinois  Bell  Telephone  Company  threw  its  entire 
resources  into  the  task  of  restoring  telephone  service  to  handle  the  thousands  of 
calls  from  patients'  relatives.  A  total  of  138  patients  were  removed  from  the 

The  year  1957  and  the  installation  of  the  new  sewer  system  did  not  mark 
the  conclusion  of  the  city's  fight  against  the  periodic  invasion  of  flood  waters, 
and  a  Flood  Control  committee  was  formed,  its  membership  including  John 
Bardwick.  Jr.,  as  chairman,  Alan  Eron,  John  Tilton,  Burton  Evans,  James 
Cushing,  Allen  J.  Hamilton  and  A.  Myron  Lambert. 

-  United  States  Congressman  William  E.  McVey  was  enlisted  in  the  campaign 
and  his  constant  pressure  in  Washington,  D.C.  resulted  in  an  appropriation  of 
$24,000  for  a  study  of  the  ditches  in  the  Calumet  Union  Drainage  District,  by 
the  Corps  of  Engineers  of  the  United  States  Army. 

The  opinion  of  the  day  was  that  much  of  Harvey's  problem  would  be 
solved  were  the  161st  Street  and  Robey  Street  ditches  re-opened.  (The  open 
ditches  had  been  eliminated  during  the  depression  of  the  early  1930's,  being 
replaced  by  cement  drain  tile  to  provide  work  for  the  unemployed.) 

Although  the  city  had  been  assured  the  cooperation  of  other  agencies  that 
would  be  involved  in  such  a  project  (The  State  of  Illinois,  the  County  of  Cook, 
the  Calumet  Union  Drainage  District,  Thornton  Township,  and  the  Village  of 
Hazelcrest)  there  was  and  still  is  an  objector,  the  Villaee  of  South  Holland.  The 
latter  village  reasoned  that  any  heavier  flow  of  water  from  the  City  of  Harvey 
through  the  drainage  ditch  on  161st  Street  would  contribute  heavily  to  intensi- 
fying the  problem  at  the  Calumet  River  within  the  village  limits. 

Efforts  currently  are  being  expended  in  the  direction  of  getting  Federal 
assistance  in  a  program  for  widening  and  deepening  of  the  Calumet  River 

In  the  year  of  1962  little  progress  had  been  made  in  this  direction  although 
the  current  United  States  Representative,  Edward  J.  Derwinski  of  South 
Holland,  is  actively  seeking  to  get  funds  into  the  national  budget  for  such  a 

The  result  will  form  part  of  the  history  of  the  future. 



The  mere  fact  that  Harvey  was  originally  regarded  as  a  "boom"  town,  was 
the  direct  cause  in  later  years  of  a  serious  situation  which,  fortunately,  wa; 
rectified  in  time  to  permit  a  normal  expansion  of  the  community's  population 

The  problem  came  in  the  form  of  "dead  land,"  property  upon  which  nc 
taxes  had  been  paid  over  a  great  period  of  years  and  upon  which,  of  course 
no  homes  could  be  erected  because  of  the  impossibility  of  securing  clear  title. 

It  will  be  recalled  that  in  the  early  1890's  the  Academy  Addition  in  Nortr 
Harvey  was  planned  and  established  by  Walter  Thomas  Mills,  At  the  same 
time  the  area  known  as  West  Harvey  was  planned  and  developed  by  A.  G 

People  from  throughout  the  world  were  the  buyers  and  North  and  Wesi 
Harvey  both  enjoyed  normal  growth  until  about  1900  when  on  New  Year'; 
Eve  the  factory  known  as  the  Bellaire  Stamping  Works  burned  to  the  ground 
People  were  thrown  out  of  work. 

This  catastrophe  was  followed  by  a  nationwide  financial  panic,  said  to  have 
been  one  of  the  worst  in  United  States  history,  and  there  was  little  work  foi 

The  situation  marked  the  beginning  of  Harvey's  delinquent  property  prob- 
lem. From  that  point  no  taxes  were  paid  on  thousands  of  lots  here  and  the 
properties  remained  on  the  tax  books  for  many  years. 

A  man,  whose  name  might  best  remain  anonymous,  saw  the  possibilities  oi 
a  real  estate  "kill"  and  bought  choice  bits  of  property,  paying  taxes  of  aboui 
$5.00  per  year  for  three  years.  That  gave  him  an  equity  of  about  $15  pei 
lot  and  he  received  from  Cook  County  a  tax  deed.  He  then  recorded  that  deec 
against  the  property  and  paid  no  further  taxes. 

In  later  years  when  people  wanted  to  redeem  or  claim  their  properties,  z 
large  fee  would  be  charged  them  by  the  holder  of  the  tax  deed.  In  many  cases 
those  seeking  redemption  felt  the  property  was  not  worth  the  price. 

North  and  West  Harvey  had  a  very  small  building  program  for  over  fifty 
years  until  about  ten  years  ago  when  the  Harvey  city  council  advertised  and 
sold  delinquent  special  assessments  against  several  thousand  lots.  Tax  fore] 
closure  suits  for  delinquent  general  taxes  were  also  published  and  sold  ac- 
cording to  law. 

A  group  of  businessmen  under  the  leadership  of  John  Bardwick,  Jr.,  orga- 
nized in  1953  for  the  purpose  of  purchasing  certain  delinquent  special  assess- 
ment bonds.  The  objective  was  to  keep  control  of  local  properties  in  local  hands. 
It  required  an  investment  of  $280,000. 

Redemption  suits  followed  by  court  order  to  clear  the  title  on  all  delinquenl 
taxes  which  required  a  long  legal  procedure.  The  building  program  in  the  City 
of  Harvey  was  at  an  absolute  standstill  until  these  lots  were  put  on  the  market 
and  the  subsequent  growth  of  the  City  reflects  the  wisdom  of  the  businessmen 

An  examination  of  the  tax  records  from  1950  when  these  lots  were  still  in 
the  tax  delinquent  stage,  until  today  when  many  thousands  of  these  previously 
tax  delinquent  lots  are  back  on  the  tax  rolls,  reveals  the  significance  of  the 
efforts  of  the  Harvey  businessmen  who  risked  personal  funds  to  provide  a  basis 
for  the  residential  expansion  of  the  community.  Today  there  are  few  such  tax- 
burdened  properties  in  existence. 

Income  for  tax-supported  agencies  shows  a  tremendous  gain  over  the  years 
preceding  1953  and  this  could  only  have  been  accomplished  by  the  succeeding^ 
building  program. 


THE    GREAT    DEPRESSION    OF    THE    1930's 

The  days  and  years  following  the  crash  of  the  stock  market  in  October, 
1929  were  dark,  both  locally  and  nationally.  Harvey,  being  an  industrial  com- 
munity, suffered  deeply  during  the  trying  period. 

However,  it  was  not  until  Monday,  January  11,  1932  that  the  full  impact 
of  the  depression  was  felt  —  that  was  the  day  that  both  of  its  banking  institu- 
tions, the  First  National  Bank  of  Harvey  and  the  state-chartered  Bank  of 
Harvey,  closed  doors  that  never  were  to  be  re-opened. 

The  momentous  decisions  of  both  boards  of  directors  were  made  reluctantly 
and  simultaneously  and  were  the  direct  result  of  a  "run"  during  which  more 
than  a  quarter  million  dollars  were  withdrawn  following  bank  closings  in  Ham- 
mond, Indiana  and  Chicago  Heights,  Illinois. 

The  Bank  of  Harvey  was  closed  by  State  Auditor  Oscar  Nelson  at  the  re- 
quest of  the  directors  and  a  bank  examiner  from  the  office  of  the  United 
States  Comptroller  of  Currency  was  placed  in  charge  of  the  First  National  after 
a  similar  request  from  its  board. 

Reason  for  the  closings  was  announced  as  not  lack  of  ability  to  meet  reason- 
able requests  for  currency  withdrawals,  but  rather  to  conserve  the  assets  of 
the  institutions  for  the  protection  of  the  remaining  depositors.  Each  closed  with 
more  than  $75,000  cash  on  hand,  and  of  course,  other  assets  which  were  not 
readily  convertible  into  cash. 

On  a  single  day,  prior  to  its  closing,  the  First  National  met  demands  for 
withdrawals  totaling  $40,000,  forcing  the  institution  to  invoke  the  time  demand 
plan.  Public  fear  created  by  bank  runs  at  many  outside  locations  merely  ac- 
centuated the  concern  of  the  depositors  and  added  to  the  heavy  demand  for 
savings.  The  situation  forced  the  Bank  of  Harvey  to  adopt  the  same  time  de- 
mand as  its  sister  institution.  Had  the  banks  been  able  to  withstand  the  on- 
slaught caused  by  public  hysteria,  "the  storm  might  have  been  weathered,"  The 
Harvey  Tribune  of  that  day  reported. 

One  of  the  warmer  aspects  of  the  tragedy  was  the  confidence  of  a  large 
segment  of  the  population  in  the  executive  departments  of  the  banks,  this  confi- 
dence reaching  a  point  where  at  a  mass  meeting  in  the  Harvey  theatre  on  Janu- 
ary 12,  1933  a  huge  crowd  tendered  a  "rising  vote  of  thanks"  to  the  banks' 
officers,  including  Dr.  G.  A.  Stevenson,  president  of  the  Bank  of  Harvey,  and 
Fred  G.  Hudson,  executive  officer  of  the  First  National. 

"There  is  dollar  for  dollar  in  each  bank"  it  was  announced  to  the  crowd. 
The  sole  criticism  voiced  was  the  rather  complimentary  one  that  "the  officers 
were  too  careful." 

Not  only  townsmen  but  top  level  industrial  and  business  representatives 
rallied  to  the  cause  and  pledged  unswerving  support  for  any  feasible  plan  to 
restore  banking  facilities  to  the  community. 

During  the  trying  period  the  banks  paid  to  depositors  more  than  a  million 
dollars  yet,  collectively,  they  possessed  more  than  $1,350,000  in  assets  when 
their  doors  were  closed. 

Among  the  leading  citizens  who  pledged  their  support  to  any  plan  that 
would  rectify  the  situation  were  Mayor  Frank  Bruggemann,  Horace  Holmes, 
E.  D.  Mock,  Carl  Madory,  James  T.  Wilkes,  William  E.  McVey,  William  L. 
Voss,  General  Thomas  S.  Hammond,  Samuel  M.  Havens,  James  Scully,  A.  M. 
Lambert,  Sr.,  Charles  H.  Applegate,  Jr.,  William  L.  Staton,  Reverend  Phillip 
Furlong,  Thomas  Stobbs,  Walter  Haines,  Henry  Waldschmidt,  Dr.  W.  H.  Tup- 
per,  George  F.  Sutton,  Einar  Bloom,  Reverend  Frank  Anderson. 

Despite  this  display  of  unity  and  support,  the  First  National  Bank  went 


Typical  scene  during  depression  of  the  early  1930's 

into  the  hands  of  receivers  on  February  2,  1932,  after  government  auditors 
had  completed  their  work.  Named  receiver,  by  the  Comptroller  of  the  Currency 
in  Washington,  D.C.,  was  Harry  E.  Hallenbeck. 

A  month  later  almost  to  the  day,  on  March  1,  1932  R.  A.  Pascoe,  treasurer 
of  the  Whiting  Corporation  and  widely  known  here,  was  appointed  receiver 
for  the  Bank  of  Harvey.  The  reason  given  for  his  appointment  was  "to  keep  ex-; 
penditures  of  liquidation  to  a  minimum." 

How  devastating  was  the  effect  of  the  depression  was  demonstrated  in 
other  avenues  of  community  life.  The  Harvey  Tribune  of  the  day  reported 
that  Thornton  Township  tax  collections  in  1932  for  the  year  prior  were  only 
one  half  of  those  billed.  Collection,  it  was  reported,  totaled  $555,000  against  a 
billing  of  $1,100,152. 

In  Harvey  only  25  per  cent  of  the  $588,251  taxes  billed  was  collected. 
Financial  chaos  resulted,  echoing  throughout  every  facet  of  community  life, 
both   private  and  public. 

Gravely,  the  city  council  met  and  made  the  only  decision  possible  —  to  re-i 
trench,  to  pare  expenses  by  cutting  the  wages  of  its  employees  from  twenty  to 
twenty-five  per  cent,  to  reduce  its  annual  budget  of  $100,000  to  a  more 
realistic  sum  in  view  of  the  curtailed  income.  Layoffs  followed,  the  city  clerk's* 
staff  was  forced  to  alternate  in  taking  payless  vacations  of  two  weeks  duration. 
Economy  was  the  order  of  the  day. 

A  depleted  treasury  made  it  impossible  to  meet  wage  demands,  but  city 
services  had  to  be  continued.  Paper  scrip  became  the  wage  medium,  and  those 
who  received  it  in  lieu  of  cash  were  forced  to  peddle  it  where  they  could.  Some 
merchants  accepted  it  for  a  time  —  until  they  too  had  all  scrip  and  no  money. 

City  employees  stood  before  the  city  hall  at  license  time,  seeking  to  trade, 


their  scrip  to  the  purchaser  for  cash,  this  scrip  being  accepted  by  the  city  in 
lieu  of  cash. 

The  program  of  economy  went  so  far  as  to  force  the  council  to  economize 
on  the  electric  current  which  supplied  the  street  lighting  system.  Bulbs  were 
reduced  in  candlepower  and  street  illumination  was  curtailed  —  light  being 
provided  only  from  dusk  until   1  A.M. 

The  "dive  of  the  dollar"  is  probably  best  explained  by  the  Harvey  Tribune 
advertisements  of  the  day  —  Boneless  Rolled  Rib  Roast,  14  cents  per  pound; 
Sugar  Cured  Hams,  11  cents  per  pound;  T-Bone  Steaks,  19  cents  per  pound. 
As  this  history  is  recorded  these  same  items  sell  for  98  cents,  60  cents  and 
$1.05  per  pound,  respectively. 

Every  strata  of  community  life  felt  the  effects,  the  schools  being  a  similarly 
shattered  victim. 

Here  the  need  for  retrenchment  became  equally  important.  In  March  1932 
boards  of  education,  at  the  point  of  dismay  but  helpless,  could  find  no  money 
in  sight  to  pay  their  teachers.  The  immediate  obstacle  was  hurdled  when  the 
Austin  Company,  of  which  William  G.  Morse  was  an  executive  officer,  bought 
the  school  districts'  tax  anticipation  warrants  in  an  undisclosed  amount.  The 
situation  became  more  critical  as  months  passed  and  the  schools,  like  the  city 
itself,  were  forced  to  the  use  of  scrip  instead  of  money.  Needless  to  say,  every 
other  educational  expense  was  reduced  to  a  minimum. 

During  the  1931-32  school  year  the  board  of  education  was  forced  to  re- 
duce its  budget  from  $125,000  to  $90,000,  salaries  being  reduced  from  10  to 
20  per  cent.  In  October  of  1932  the  board  reluctantly  announced  that  it  had  no 
funds  with  which  to  pay  the  teachers  and  an  appeal  was  issued  to  the  public  to 
buy  tax  anticipation  warrants.  With  the  proceeds  of  the  sale  the  district  was 
able  to  pay  its  teachers  for  a  time  with  half  cash  and  half  of  the  warrants,  but 
even  this  method  finally  reached  a  saturation  point  and  the  board  found  itself 
$20,000  short. 

Efforts  were  made  to  interest  the  public  in  buying  up  more  of  the  warrants 
and  subsequently  $12,500  was  raised  by  this  means.  Schools  were  able  to  stay 
open  until  the  Christmas  holidays  in  1932.  With  $400,000  in  tax  money  due, 
the  board  found  it  impossible  to  carry  on  and  it  was  announced  that  the 
schools  would  be  closed  on  December  23rd.  They  remained  closed  until 
January  30,    1933. 

The  same  problems  faced  the  Thornton  Township  high  school  district  and 
in  June,  1933,  the  board  of  education  approved  reducing  the  school  term  from 
10  to  nine  months. 

Every  phase  of  community  life  was  affected  by  the  gradual  decline  in 
business  and  the  suffering  which  followed  was  particularly  acute  in  Harvey, 
whose  population  depended  on  the  constant  operation  of  its  industries. 

Each  month  saw  a  decline  in  employment  and  in  early  1932  it  became 
necessary  to  find  some  means  to  provide  relief  for  the  needy.  A  Harvey  Relief 
organization  was  formed  and  funds  for  its  operation  sought  from  industry,  pro- 
fessional people,  businessmen  and  others  whose  personal  funds  had  not  been 
seriously  depleted. 

As  demands  for  assistance  increased,  the  difficulty  in  raising  relief  funds 
became  more  pronounced  and  it  became  necessary  to  trim  relief  allotments. 

In  January  1932  the  relief  organization  had  received  1,300  applications  for 
assistance  and  it  was  announced  that  780  families  in  the  immediate  area  were 
receiving  relief.  At  the  peak  of  the  depression  this  number  was  to  mount  to 
more  than  one  half  of  the  population.  It  was  estimated  that  two-thirds  of  the 
people  were  without  work. 


The  first  optimistic  notes  were  struck  in  late  1932  when  it  was  announced 
by  the  receiver  that  the  Bank  of  Harvey  had  resources  of  $1,019,994  with  only 
$734,965  due  creditors.  At  Christmas  the  two  closed  banks  were  able  to  release 
$150,000  in  dividends. 

In  July  1933,  the  Harvey  Tribune  reported  "Better  Times  Heralded  at 
Factories,"  and  it  was  from  this  point  that  a  gradual  improvement  in  general 
conditions  was  to  be  observed. 

Industrial  leaders  were  unanimously  optimistic  and  declared  the  "long  four 
year  slump  here  is  ended."  The  Whiting  Corporation  reported  orders  "not 
large  but  more  numerous"  and  announced  it  had  called  its  draftsmen  back  to 

The  Austin  Company  reported  "operations  pretty  good  with  lots  of  orders 
in  sight." 

Bliss  and  Laughlin,  Inc.  declared  "Orders  diversified,  working  force  sub- 
stantially increased,  the  pickup  since  May  is  sound  and  all  former  employees 
working  full  time." 

Management  at  the  Ingalls-Shepard  division  of  the  Wyman-Gordon  Com- 
pany said  it  was  "well  satisfied  with  business"  and  the  Allied  Steel  Castings 
added  the  comment  that  "business  is  pretty  good." 

In  August,  1933,  an  important  announcement  said  that  Perfection  Gear 
Company,  a  Chicago  firm,  was  leasing  the  factory  of  the  bankrupt  S.  Ward 
Hamilton  Company  and  that  it  would  move  into  the  plant  in  October.  The 
news  that  many  Harvey  people  would  be  employed  by  the  company  served 
as  a  stimulant  to  local  optimism. 

In  September,  1933  it  was  announced  that  relief  cases  had  dropped  more 
than  50  per  cent,  and  the  community  appeared  to  have  fought  its  way  back  to 



"The  government  is  the  strongest 
of  which  every  man  feels  himself 
a  part " 

Thomas  Jefferson 




Even  the  earliest  documents  fail  to  include  in  detail  the  early  history  of 
larvey  government  and  it  is  again  the  memoirs  of  William  D.  Rogers  which 
urnish  the  only  details. 

Even  the  Rogers  legacy  fails  in  specifics,  but  he  has  recorded  that  the  first 
lection  was  held  in  Harvey  on  April   12,   1890  on  the  proposition  of  whether 
rhe  community  was  to  be  incorporated  as  a  village.  Apparently,  the  proposition 

A  year  of  historical  vacuum  follows,  but  Mr.  Rogers  picks  up  the  story  on 
une  II,  1891  when  Peter  B.  Lamb  was  elected  the  first  village  president  of 

Total  number  of  votes  cast  at  that  election  was  148,  the  small  number  being 
i  ccounted  for  by  the  fact  that  most  residents  were  actually  ineligible  to  vote 
•ecause  of  their  recent  arrival.  The  law  then,  as  now,  required  that  to  vote  one 
must  have  been  in  the  State  of  Illinois  for  one  year,  in  Cook  County  90  days, 
nd  in  the  precinct  30  days.  The  law  disqualified,  perhaps,  a  greater  portion  of 
[he  population. 

Elected  with  President  Lamb  as  Harvey's  first  board  of  trustees  were: 
ijeorge  L.  Wilcox,  Fred  J.  Greiner,  George  W.  Stiles,  John  W.  Kerr,  Charles  E. 
toward,  and  Fred  J.  Colly. 

First  official  meeting  of  the  community's  first  governmental  body  was  held 
•n  Thursday  evening,  June  18,  1891. 


Harvey  continued  to  function  as  a  village  until  April  15,  1895  when  by  a 
vote  of  256  for  and  175  against,  its  status  was  changed  to  that  of  a  city. 
In  the  first  election  as  a  city  and  in  an  election  which  followed  on  May 
25,  1895,  Jonathan  Mathews  was  named  mayor.  The  first  members  of  the 
board  of  trustees  serving  with  Mayor  Mathews  were:  Charles  H.  Applegate, 
C.  W.  Ranger,  John  DeGraff,  J.  G.  Hutton,  J.  B.  Kirk,  David  Resser,  F.  W. 
Reeser,  F.  W.  Kissell  and  C.  A.  Dean. 

Succeeding  mayors  and  trustees  who  served  the  city  until  the  next  govern- 
mental change  was  effected  in  1912,  when  on  April  16,  the  commission  form 
of  government  was  approved  at  referendum  by  a  vote  of  872  for  and  499 
against,  were: 

June   18,    1891  April  24,   1892 

Peter  B.  Lamb,  President 
Geo.  L.  Wilcox  Chas.  E.  Howard 

Geo.  Stiles  F.  J.  Colbey 

J.  W.  Kerr  Fred  Greiner 

April  25,    1892  April   30,    1893 

Thomas  McFarlane,  President 
F.  S.  Benthy  Jacob  Ott 

F.  E.  Smith  B.  D.  King 

A.  L.  Hott  G.  W.  Vance 

May   1,   1893  June  2,   1894 

Peter  B.  Lamb,  President 


W.  H.  Garner  Alfred  C.  Coover 

A.  L.  Hott  Geo.  W.  Vance 

Michael  Hanley  Henry  M.  Scott 

May   1,    1894  June  2,   1895 

H.  C.  Riordan,  President 


Clark  W.  Ranger  Geo.  W.  Vance 

W.  B.  Thompson  W.  H.  Gardner 

Michael  Hanley  Henry  M.  Scott 

The  following  men  held  office  as  Mayor  and  Council  members  of  the 
City  of  Harvey: 

June  3,   1895  April  30,   1896 

Jonothan  Mathews,   Mayor 
C.  H.  Applegate  J.  B.  Kirk 

C.  W.  Ranger  David  Reeser 

John  DeGraff  F.  W.  Kissell 

J.  G.  Hutton  C.  A.  Dean 

May   1,    1896  April   30,    1897 

Jonothan  Mathews,   Mayor 



Harry  D.  Sweeney  A.  Wait 

C.  W.  Ranger  W.  M.  Jones 

J.  G.  Hutton  J.  B.  Kirk 

C.  A.  Dean  John  DeGraff 

May   1,    1897           April  30,   1898 
Clark  W.  Ranger,  Mayor 

Allen  G.  Pierce  E.  H.  Winternute 

A.  Wait  R.  H.  Foot 

D.  L.  Williams  W.  M.  Jones 
Harry  D.  Sweeney  C.  H.  West 

May   1,    1898  April  30,    1899 

Clark  W.  Ranger,  Mayor 

Geo.  J.  Monckton  E.  N.  Flewelling 

John  A.  Swett  D.  McCluskey 

Allen  G.  Pierce  E.  H.  Winternute 

D.  T.  Williams  C.  H.  West 

May   1,   1899            April  30,   1900 
F.  A.  Braley,  Mayor 

Frederick  Geiss  Geo.  S.  Freeman 

D.  T.  Williams  George  Salkeld 

Geo.  J.  Monckton  E.  N.  Flewelling 

T.  D.  McCluskey  John  A.  Swett 

May   1,   1900  April  30,  1901 

F.  A.  Braley,  Mayor 

Geo.  J.  Monckton  E.  N.  Flewelling 

John  A.  Swett  A.  B.  Merritt 

Frederick  Geiss  Geo.  S.  Freeman 

Geo.  Salkeld  David  T.  Williams 

On  July  2,  1900  a  5th  Ward  was  created  —  Aldermen  elected  were 
William  Felgman  and  Joseph  C.  Carter. 

May   1,   1901            Aug.  31,   1901 
F.  G.  Howland,  Mayor 

J.  W.  Bennett  William  Stein 

D.  T.  Williams  T.  Talbot 

Joseph  Carter  E.  N.  Flewelling 

Geo.  J.  Monckton  A.  B.  Merritt 

William  Felgman  John  A.  Swett 

F.  G.  Howland,  Mayor,  resigned  Sept.  2,  1901.  J.  W.  Bennett,  Alder- 
man, resigned  in  November,  1901.  Joseph  Carter,  Alderman,  resigned  in 
November   1901. 


Sept.  2,   1901            Nov.  22,   1902 
E.  N.  Flewelling,  Mayor 

William  Stein  D.  T.  Williams 

T.  Talbot  E.  N.  Flewelling 

G.  J.  Monckton  A.  B.  Merritt 

Wm.  Felgman  John  A.  Swett 

Nov.   23,    1901  April  30,   1902 

E.  N.  Flewelling,  Mayor 
G.  E.  Tompkins  Caleb  A.  Rank 

G.  J.  Monckton  William  Stein 

John  A.  Swett  D.  T.  Wliliams 

A.  B.  Merritt  T.  Talbot 

William  Felgman 

May   1,   1902           April  30,   1903 

E.  N.  Flewelling,   Mayor 


G.  J.  Monckton  F.  E.  Stevenson 

E.  T.  Osgood  F.  W.  Dragula 
O.  F.  Tucker  G.  E.  Tompkins 
William  Stein  D.  T.  Williams 
T.  Talbot  Caleb  A.  Rank 

May   1,   1903           April  21,   1904 
C.  W.  Ranger,  Mayor 

Geo.  L.  Holler  W.  G.  Eddy 

A.  W.  Campbell  J.  H.  McKee 

C.  W.  Stevens  Geo.  J.  Monckton 

F.  E.  Stevenson  E.  T.  Osgood 

F.  W.  Dragula  Orvin  T.  Tucker 

C.  W.  Ranger,  Mayor,  resigned  Aug.  29,  1904. 

April  21,   1904           April  30,   1904 
W.  G.  Eddy,  Acting  Mayor 

Geo.  L.  Holler  W.  G.  Eddy 

A.  W.  Campbell  J.  H.  McKee 

C.  W.  Stevens  Geo.  J.  Monckton 

F.  E.  Stevenson  E.  T.  Osgood 

F.  W.  Dragula  Orvin  F.  Tucker 

May  4,    1904  Aug.   31,   1904 

W.  G.  Eddy,  Acting  Mayor 

L.  Shepard  F.  E.  Stevenson 

E.  T.  Osgood  F.  W.  Dragula 

Ervin  Cranson  Geo.  L.  Holler 

A.  W.  Campbell  J.  H.  McKee 

C.  W.  Stevens  W.  G.  Eddy 


Sept.    1,    1904  April  30,    1905 

A.  W.  Campbell,   Mayor 
L.  Shepard  F.  E.  Stevenson 

E.  T.  Osgood  F.  W.  Dragula 

Ervin  Cranson  Geo.  L.  Holler 

J.  H.  McKee  G.  W.  Stevens 

W.  G.  Eddy 

May   1, 

1905            April   30 
W.  E.  Kerr,   Mayor 

,    1906 

W.  H.  Hutton 

Anton  Werner 

J.  C.  Lawrence 

David  B.  Reeser 

Fulton  Cassler 

E.  T.  Osgood 

F.  E.  Stevenson 

Ervin  Cranson 

L.  Shepard 

F.  W.  Dragula 

E.  T.  Osgood  resigned  as  Alderman 

July  3,  1905. 

May   1, 

1906            April   30 
W.  E.  Kerr,  Mayor 

,   1907 

H.  D.  Sweeney 

F.  E.  Stevenson 

James  Powers 

F.  W.  Dragula 

Henry  C.  Hart 

W.  H.  Hutton 

Anton  Werner 

J.  C.  Lawrence 

David  B.  Reeser 

F.  L.  Cassler 

May   1, 

1907            April  30 

,   1908 


N.  Flewelling,  Mayc 


H.  W.  Carpenter 

Geo.  J.  Monckton 

J.  C.  Lawrence 

Chas.  W.  Batt 

C.  H.  Bloodgood 

Harry  Sweeney 

F.  W.  Stevenson 

James  Powers 

Fred  W.  Dragula 

Henry  C.  Hart 

May   1 

,   1908            July  6, 



N.  Flewelling,  Mayor 


H.  D.  Sweeney 

John  G.  Dale 

James  Powers 

J.  D.  McLarty 

Nelson  Martin 

H.  W.  Carpenter 

G.  J.  Monckton 

J.  C.  Lawrence 

C.  W.  Batt 

C.  H.  Bloodgood 

July  6, 

1908            April   30, 
W.  E.  Kerr,  Mayor 


H.  D.  Sweeney 

John  G.  Dale 

James  Powers 

J.  D.  McLarty 

Nelson   Martin 

H.  W.  Carpenter 

G.  J.  Monckton 

J.  C.  Lawrence 

C.  W.  Batt 

C.  H.  Bloodgood 


May   1, 

1909           April  30, 



.  M. 

Adams,  Mayor 

W.  L.  Egleston 

Geo.  Sidel 

A.  M.  Parish 

Willis  A.  Bangs 

Jos.  Haines 

H.  D.  Sweeney 

John  G.  Dale 

James  Powers 

J.  D.  Mc  Larty 

Nelson  Martin 

J.  D.  McLarty, 

Alderman,  resigned 

Feb.  21,  1910. 

May   1, 

1910           April  30: 

,   1911 


:.  m. 

Adams,  Mayor 

C.  E.  Lyons 

J.  C.  Ellis 

James  Pettigrew 

Chas.  W.  Batt 

C.  E.  Swan 

Willis  L.  Egleston 

A.  M.  Parish 

Geo.  Sidel 

Willis  A.  Bangs 

Joseph  Haines 

May   1, 

1911            April  30 

,   1912 



.  Adams,  Mayor 

G.  J.  Monckton 

A.  M.  Parish 

F.  W.  Dragula 

Joseph  Haines 

W.  L.  Egleston 

C.  E.  Lyons 

C  J.  Ellis 

James  Pettigrew 

C.  W.  Batt 

C.  E.  Swan 

Joseph  Haines,  Alderman,  resigned  March  18,  1912. 

May  1,   1912           April  30,   1913 
E.  M.  Adams,  Mayor 

C.  E.  Lyons  H.  C.  Ellis 

Jas.  Pettigrew  Emil  M.  Datham 

R.  C.  Schreiber  Walter  Haines 

W.  L.  Egleston  G.  J.  Monckton 

A.  M.  Parish  F.  W.  Dragula 


When  the  electorate  approved  changing  the  type  of  government  from  the 
mayor-alderman  form  to  that  of  a  mayor  and  four  councilmen  on  April  16, 
1912,  it  subsequently  bestowed  the  honor  of  heading  that  type  of  government 
on  George  H.  Gibson. 

That  he  was  equal  to  the  responsibility  is  demonstrated  by  the  numerous 
improvements  in  the  phsyical  aspects  of  the  community  made  during  his  ad- 

It  is  important  to  note  that  Mr.  Gibson  won  the  distinction  of  being  the 
first  mayor  in  the  State  of  Illinois  to  function  under  the  commission  form  of 
government  inasmuch  as  Harvey  was  the  first  city  to  adopt  the  infant  system. 


Generally  regarded  as  an  "experiment"  it  eventually  vindicated  itself  under 
the  expert  guidance  of  George  Gibson  and  history  records  that  "the  system 
is  now  an  established  fact,  that  the  'Harvey  Way'  stands  out  pre-eminently  as 
an  example  to  other  cities." 

That  the  system  is  successful  is  indicated  by  the  scores  of.  cities  which,  since 
1912,  have  adopted  similar  systems. 

The  form  of  government  was  to  remain  unquestioned  until  1958,  during 
the  administration  of  Arthur  E.  Turngren,  when  a  segment  of  the  population 
sought  a  return  to  the  aldermanic  form,  the  same  type  of  government  that 
existed  when  the  city  was  founded. 

There  appeared  to  be  considerable  basis  for  the  arguments  propounded  by 
the  advocates  of  the  change,  that  the  various  areas  of  the  community  were  as- 
sured of  more  localized  representation  with  aldermen  representing  each  of  14 
wards,  just  as  in  the  early  days. 

Petitions  by  the  advocates  of  the  change,  having  been  properly  filed  with 
the  city  council,  an  election  was  held  on  November  4,  1958.  The  commission 
form  of  government  survived,  however,  being  retained  on  a  vote  of  4323  to 

George  H.  Gibson  served  first  a  two  year  term  from  May  1,  1913  to  April 
30,  1915,  then  was  re-elected  to  a  full  four-year  term  from  May  1,  1915  to 
April  30,   1919. 

Serving  with  him  as  commissioners  of  city  departments  were:  (1913-1915) 
H.  W.  Carpenter,  Frank  Isenberger,  Walter  Haines  and  George  A.  Mahan: 
(1915-1919)  H.  W.  Carpenter,  George  A.  Mahan,  Walter  Haines  and  Albert 
G.  Foster. 

It  is  significant  to  note  that  while  there  was  considerable  turnover  in  the 
makeup  of  the  councils  of  early  years,  that  turnover  has  not  been  so  marked  in 
the  years  since.  Although  49  years  have  passed  since  the  commission  form  of 
government  was  adopted,  the  city  has  been  served  by  only  five  mayors.  Matt 
Stobbs  served  two  terms;  Frank  W.  Bruggemann,  four  terms;  Charles  H.  Apple- 
gate,  a  portion  of  Mayor  Bruggeman's  term  upon  his  death  in  January,  1942; 
Arthur  E.  Turngren,  four  terms;  and  William  B.  Kane,  incumbent  mayor  who 
took  office  on  May  1,  1959. 

After  Mr.  Gibson,  the  mayors,  the  lengths  of  their  terms  and  the  men  who 
comprised  their  respective  councils  are  as  follows: 

May   1,   1919  April  30,    1923 

Matt  Stobbs,  Mayor 


J.  Clyde  Ellis  Harry  G.  Foltz 

Geo.  A.  Mahan  Bert  Timmons 

May   1,   1923  April  30,   1927 

Matt  Stobbs,  Mayor 


Harry  G.  Foltz  Fred  Fowler 

Walter  Haines  William  L.  Voss 

May   1,   1927  April   30,   1931 

Frank  W.  Bruggemann,   Mayor 


Edward  Anderson  James  A.  Bates 

J.  Clyde  Ellis  Ray  T.  Spencer 


May   1,   1931  April  30,   1935 

Frank  W.  Bruggemann,  Mayor 
Einar  B.  Bloom  Everett  J.  Harris 

J.  W.  Chapman  William  L.  Voss 

May   1,   1935  April  30,   1939 

Frank  W.  Bruggemann,  Mayor 
Arthur  E.  Turngren  George  Fisher 

Norman  C.  Gallett  Chas.  H.  Applegate 

May   1,   1939  Jan.    10,   1942 

Frank  W.  Bruggemann,  Mayor 
Chas.  H.  Applegate,  Jr.  Arthur  E.  Turngren 

Norman  C.  Gallett  Einar  B.  Bloom 

Jan.    10,   1942  April  30,   1943 

Charles  H.  Applegate,  Jr.,  Acting  Mayor 
Arthur  E.  Turngren  Norman  C.  Gallett 

Einar  B.  Bloom 

May   i,   1943  April  30,   1951 

Arthur  E.  Turngren,  Mayor 
William  E.  Powers  Einar  B.  Bloom 

Norman  C.  Gallett  Burton  Evans 

May   1,   1951  April  30,   1955 

Arthur  E.  Turngren,  Mayor 
George  D.  Gilley  Einar  B.  Bloom 

Wm.  A.  McLaren  Burton  Evans 

May  1,   1955  April  30,   1955 

Arthur  E.  Turngren,  Mayor 
Arthur  E.  Christian  George  D.  Gilley 

William  A.  McLaren  Harold  Wetmore 

May   1,   1959  April  30,   1963 

William  B.  Kane,  Mayor 
George  Dennis  William  B.  Schau 

John  Abraham  Harold  Wetmore 



Under  the  commission  form  of  government  the  mayor  is  president  of  the 
council  and  presides  at  its  meetings.  He  supervises  all  departments  and  reports 
to  the  council  for  its  action  on  all  matters  requiring  attention  in  any  department. 
The  commissioner,  accounts  and  finance,  is  vice-president  of  the  council  and  in 
case  of  a  vacancy  in  the  office  of  mayor  or  the  absence  or  inability  of  the 
mayor  performs  the  duties  of  mayor.  The  council  and  its  members  possess  all 
executive,  administrative  and  legislative  powers.  These  powers  are  distributed 
among  the  following  departments: 

1.  Department  of  Public  Affairs 

2.  Department  of  Accounts  and  Finance 

3.  Department  of  Public  Health  and  Safety 

4.  Department  of  Streets  and   Public   Improvements 

5.  Department  of  Public  Property 

Members  of  the  council  are  elected  at  large  (not  wards)  for  four-year 
terms.  They  must  be  qualified  electors  of  the  city;  have  resided  here  at  least 
one  year  prior  to  their  election;  and  must  not  have  been  defaulters  to  the  city, 
nor  have  been  convicted  of  crime  in  the  Illinois  courts.  The  salary  of  the 
council  members  is  $900  per  year;  $1,200  per  year  for  the  mayor.  The  mayor 
also  receives  a  salary  of  $900  per  year  as  liquor  commissioner  and  each  council 
member  $600  per  year  as  member  of  the  Board  of  Local  Improvements.  In  ad- 
dition to  the  mayor  and  council,  the  office  of  police  magistrate  is  elective. 

The  council  appoints  the  city  clerk,  city  treasurer,  corporation  counsel, 
health  officer,  city  engineer,  chief  of  police,  fire  chief,  superintendent  of 
streets  and  water  departments,  building  inspector  and  electrical  and  plumbing 

The  Board  of  Local  Improvements  has  the  power  to  levy  special  assessments 
or  special  taxes  for  local  improvement. 

The  mayor  and  council  name  a  firm  of  accountants  for  the  annual  audit,  the 
Civil  Service  Commission,  a  Board  of  Zoning,  Library  Board  and  Planning 

The  city  clerk,  under  the  supervision  of  the  city  council,  prepares  the  an- 
nual budget  which  is  approved  by  the  city  council  as  a  whole;  no  one  member 
of  the  council  is  the  budget  making  authority. 

A  number  of  governmental  bodies  other  than  the  city  regulate  various 
aspects  of  community  life.  The  Harvey  Park  district  operates  independently  as 
do  the  separately  elected  school  boards.  Harvey  also  lies  in  two  townships, 
Thornton  and  Bremen,  which  regulate  other  phases  of  civic  activities.  For  in- 
stance, general  welfare  assistance  is  largely  administered  by  the  townships  as 
well  as  tax  assessments  and  collection,  and  the  construction  and  maintenance 
of  certain  roads.  The  county  government  also  has  powers  in  the  conduct  of 
elections,  tax  assessment  and  collection,  public  welfare,  courts,  and  certain 
health  and  zoning  regulations.  School  districts  operate  under  the  general  super- 
vision of  the  county  superintendent  of  schools.  The  South  Cook  County 
Mosquito  Abatement  District,  and  Suburban  Tuberculosis  District  provide 
services  for  which  Harvey  people  pay  a  property  tax. 

The  State  of  Illinois  actually  prescribes  what  we  may  or  may  not  do  as  a 
city  and  the  maximum  tax  that  may  be  levied  for  specific  governmental  pur- 
poses. In  addition,  the  state  enters  into  the  areas  of  public  health  and  welfare 
and  highways,  and  it  exercises  some  further  authority  over  schools. 


Sources  of  municipal  revenue  include  the  property  tax,  sales  tax,  business 
licenses,  fines,  and  vehicle  tax. 

In  connection  with  municipal  indebtedness,  the  issuance  of  general  obliga- 
tion bonds  must  be  submitted  to  the  voters.  The  city  debt  limit  is  two  and  one- 
half  per  cent  of  the  last  known  assessed  valuation.  This  limitation  does  not  ap- 
ply to  certain  public  improvements.  Revenue  bonds  may  be  issued  without 
submission  to  voters;  the  latter  are  payable  from  receipts  of  public  enterprises. 
School  district  debt  limit  is  five  per  cent  of  assessed  valuation.  State  law  pro- 
vides that  the  electors  may  petition  for  a  change  in  the  form  of  local  govern- 
ment subject  to  approval  by  a  majority  of  the  voters. 

As  regards  governmental  personnel,  administration,  most  state,  county  and 
local  employees  are  under  civil  service  law  which  sets  forth  job  qualifications, 
methods  of  hiring  and  dismissal,  and  promotion  requirements.  However,  there 
are  some  positions  which  do  not  have  civil  service  protection  and  are  on  a 
patronage  basis. 

An  essential  of  a  good  personnel  system  is  an  adequate  classification  pro- 
gram which  includes  desirable  recruiting  standards,  a  pay  plan  based  upon 
merit  and  ability,  and  good  employee  relations. 





Between  1891  and  1894  the  city  was  served  by  a  constabulary  but  city 
archives  do  not  reveal  who  held  these  positions.  From  that  point  to  the  present 
the  following  have  served  as  chiefs  of  police: 

Ralph   Lane   1894-1895 

M.  G.  Alexander  1895-  1897 

James  Bates  1897-1907 

John  Stout   1907-  1911 

George  Whyler    1911  -  1919 

James  Tomlinson  1919-  1921 

George   Swanson   1921  -  1927 

Everett  Harris   1927-1929 

George   Swanson   1929-  1939 

Albert  Roll  1939-  1951 

Matt    Romer    1951  -  (present  chief) 


Frank  Bartle  1891  -  1892 

John    Ott    1892-1916 

Adam  Bouk  1916-  1918 

Jacob  Fletcher  1918-1923 

John  Hough  1923-1927 


Charles  Madsen  1934-1943 

Fred  Hoffman  1943-1947 

Carl  Stanger  1947-1955 

Edward  Mulder  1955  -  (present 



Daniel  Reamer    1891  -  1892 

George  E.  Stowe  1892-1892 

Frederic  Hebard   1892-  1893 

George  E.  Stowe  1893-  1894 

Charles  P.  Huey 1894-  1895 

Frank  Stobbs  1895-  1903 

Thomas  C.  Stobbs  1903  -  1907 

Frederic  R.  De Young  1907-1919 

Louis  H.   Geiman  1919-1921 

Thomas  C.  Stobbs  1921  -  1927 

Frank  E.  Foster  1927-  1931 

John  T.  Whitehead  1931-1935 

Harry  A.  Lambert  1935-  1938 

William  F.  Donahue  1938-1939 

Harry  A  Lambert  1939-1943 

Herbert  C.  Berggren  1943  -  1959 

Edwin  A.  McGowan  1959- 


Samuel  A.  Harris  1896-1900 

Joseph  C.  Bloodgood  1900-1908 

Jesse  D.  Coale  1908-  1912 

James  A.  Bates  1912-1919 

Henry  I.   Heckler  1919-1927 

Charles  H.  Applegate  1927-1931 

Joseph  S.  Flaherty  1931  -  1939 

Herbert  C.  Berggren  1939-1943 

William  B.  Kane  1943-1947 

Neil  E.  VanderVeen  1947-1951 

William  B.  Kane  1951  -  1959 

Harry  A.  Lambert  1959-  1962 

Ronald  A.  Crane  1962- 


C.  T.  McKee  1891-1892 

D.  H.  McGilvray  1892-  1894 

F.  W.  Gage  1894-1896 

A.  G.  Coover  1896-1901 

R.  E.  Colerick  1901  -  1913 

J.  A.  Alten  1913  .  1927 

F.  C.  Norton  1927-1951 

Bertha  A  Genovese  July  to  September,  1951 

Robert  K.  Bentley  1 95 1  to  present 


Public  Library,  Harvey,  Jll. 



Harvey's  first  library  was  founded  in  1898  with  the  formation  of  the  Harvey 
Library  Association,  a  subscription  organization  whose  members  paid  dues  of 
[5  cents  a  year  for  the  privilege  of  borrowing  books. 

Fo'unders  were  Prof.  F.  L.  Miller,  Miss  Georgia  Mynard,  Mrs.  C.  J.  McKee 
nd  Miss  Myrtle  Lister. 

Iln  February,  1903,  the  city  council  established  a  library  and  reading  room 
y  ordinance  and  appointed  a  board  of  directors  consisting  of  Prof.  Miller, 
ilex  Dennison,  W.  H.  Miller,  J.  C.  Bloodgood,  Dr.  G.  A.  Stevenson,  O.  J. 
ads  and  R.  E.  Colerick. 

The  board  eventually  contacted  Andrew  Carnegie,  a  Scottish  philanthropist 
ho  had  subsidized  hundreds  of  libraries  throughout  the  world  from  his 
ibulous  fortune. 

One  of  the  Carnegie  requests  was  that  the  city  provide  a  site  and  this  the 
Dard  did,  acquiring  the  property  at  155th  Street  and  Turlington  Avenue  where 
lie  library  still  stands.  Mr.  Carnegie  approved  a  bequest  of  $12,500  after  the 

ity  had  acquired  the  site,  cost  of  which  was  underwritten  by  voluntary  sub- 
.riptions  and  by  an  allotment  from  the  city. 

Contract  for  construction  of  the  building  was  let  on  July  17,  1905  for 
1,672.  Mr.  Carnegie  promptly  increased  his  grant  to  $13,500  to  help  meet 
nforeseen  construction  costs.  The  structure  was  dedicated  in  May,  1906  with 
lore  than  2,500  volumes  lining  its  shelves. 

President  of  the  board  at  that  time  was  Dr.  G.  A.  Stevenson  and  its  mem- 
;rs  included  the  Messers.  Eddy,  Daniels,  DeYoung,  Werner,  Rundle,  Thomp- 
»n  and  Burkdoll.  The  librarian  was  Edith  E.  Schmelzel.  Although  he  had  re- 
'ed  from  the  board,  Prof.  Miller  maintained  an  active  interest  in  the  library's 
aeration  and  helped  increase  its  services  over  the  next  25  years. 


Like  other  public  institutions,  the  library  had  its  trying  moments  during  the 
Depression  of  the  1930's,  but  it  stayed  alive,  eventually  recovered  and  then 
moved  steadily  forward. 

There  are  several  interesting  sidelights  in  the  library's  history,  one  of  these 
in  1911  when  the  board  decreed  "that  all  books  which  have  been  in  homes  where 
there  are  contagious  diseases  must  be  returned  to  the  library  for  burning  and 
families  having  them  must  provide  replacements." 

In  1931,  under  the  leadership  of  Mrs.  Ethel  Zimmerman,  the  board  of 
directors  established  a  children's  library  and  since  there  has  been  a  remarkable 
growth  in  the  use  of  library  facilities  by  the  younger  generation. 

Many  leading  residents  contributed  their  talents  toward  building  a  success- 
ful library  operation.  These  include,  beside  the  founding  group,  Frank  Trott, 
Mrs.  Wilbur  Day  and  Mrs.  James  Scully. 

As  librarian,  Miss  Schmelzel  has  been  succeeded  by  Estella  Ellis,  Mrs.  Sam 
Daniels,  Marcia  Broek,  Mrs.  Williams  and  Mrs.  Hazel  Wegener,  the  present 

The  growth  of  the  library  in  terms  of  both  usage  and  books  has  been  im- 
pressive. From  its  original  2,500  volumes  in  1906  the  library  now  possesses 
50,000.  Access  through  the  local  library  to  the  limitless  resources  of  the  Illinois 
State  Library  is  also  available.  A  mobile  service  is  provided  for  patients  at 
Ingalls  Memorial  hospital. 

In  addition  to  Harvey  residents  who  use  the  facilities  there  are  more  than 
800  non-residents  who  take  advantage  of  them.  The  annual  circulation  of 
books  today  is  in  excess  of  150,000,  an  average  per  citizen  of  4.5  books  an- 
nually, far  above  the  national  figure. 

The  library  has  had  many  benefactors  during  the  years,  the  most  important 
being  the  Harvey  Woman's  Club,  the  Harvey  Junior  Woman's  Club,  the 
American  Legion  and  the  American  Legion  Auxiliary. 


In  another  chapter  is  recorded  the  details  of  the  founding  of  the  Harvey 
park  system  during  the  administration  of  George  H.  Gibson. 

From  that  point  until  1946  when  a  Harvey  Park  District  was  formed  by 
affirmation  of  the  voters,  the  affairs  of  the  park  system  were  administered  by 
the  city  council. 

Establishment  of  the  district  necessitated  the  election  of  a  Board  of  Com- 
missioners and  William  Hayes  was  the  president  of  the  first  board.  Members 
were  Charles  Boese,  Joseph  Marek,  Norman  Broderick  and  Bert  Krogh. 

Mr.  Marek  and  Mr.  Krogh  are  still  members  of  that  board. 

Upon  the  resignation  of  Mr.  Hayes  as  president  in  1952  Charles  Boese  was; 
elected  to  the  presidency  and  continued  to  serve  until  1962  when  he  resigned 
and  moved  from  the  city.  Mrs.  Freda  Sweet,  who  succeeded  Norman  Broderick 
on  the  board,  currently  serves  as  president. 

Other  present  day  board  members  are  Mrs.  Genevieve  Cherry,  elected  in 
1959,  and  Les  Duncan,  who  was  appointed  a  member  upon  the  resignation  of 
Mr.  Boese. 

Some  idea  of  the  growth  of  the  district  is  indicated  in  its  expanded  holdings. 
Although  its  original  jurisdiction  was  only  over  Harmon  Park  at  149th  Street 
and  Broadway,  it  now  administers  the  affairs  of  17  neighborhood  parks  located 
in  every  area  of  the  city. 

The  district  has  traditionally  operated  on  a  minimum  budget.  That  for  th£ 
current  year  adopted  in  September,  1962,  is  $60,500. 





Although  Harvey's  early  officials  had  done  much  for  their  community  (and 
historical  evidence  of  their  accomplishments  will  be  found  elsewhere  in  this 
dcoument)  the  modern  city  as  it  is  known  today  began  to  take  definite  form 
immediately  after  the  adoption  of  the  commission  form  of  government.  And  it 
was  George  H.  Gibson  and  his  dedicated  council  members  who  laid  much  of 
the  foundation  upon  which  the  city's  future  was  erected. 

The  achievements  are  legion  and  include  such  improvements  as  the  in- 
stallation of  a  new  fire  alarm  system,  the  motorizing  of  the  fire  department 
and  remodeling  of  the  city  hall. 

The  Gibson  administration  was  successful  in  equalizing  the  price  of  gas  to 
conform  with  the  heat  units  of  the  same  commodity.  It  fought  what  was  con- 
sidered an  unwarranted  increase  demanded  by  the  Harvey  Light  and  Water 
Company,  charging  violation  of  contract.  A  successful  campaign  for  lower 
electric  light  rates  was  staged  and  although  a  similar  campaign,  with  the  goal 
of  having  a  viaduct  constructed  at  Halsted  Street  and  the  Indiana  Harbor  Belt 
Railroad  to  relieve  congestion  caused  by  switching  locomotives,  was  staged, 
this  represented  an  unattained  objective.  The  same  situation  exists  today. 

A  Park  Committee,  the  forebear  of  the  present  Harvey  Park  Board,  was 
named  by  Mayor  Gibson  and  its  efforts  resulted  in  the  acquisition  of  a  square 
block,  site  of  today's  Harmon  Park,  bounded  by  Broadway  and  Main  Streets 
and  148th  and  149th  Streets.  The  site,  records  reveal,  was  obtained  without 
cost  to  the  city,  except  for  improvements. 

All  of  the  city's  alleys  were  widened  as  were  many  of  the  city  streets.  Halsted 
Street  and  Park  Avenue  were  transformed  from  unimproved  to  cement 
thoroughfares.  The  groundwork  was  laid  also  for  widening  147th  Street,  a 
project  accomplished  several  years  later. 

Fourteen  blocks  of  sewers  were  installed  and  plans  formulated  for  more. 

An  ordinance  was  passed  and  contracts  let  for  the  elevation  of  the  Illinois 
Central  tracks  from  the  Grand  Trunk  railroad  south  to  the  city  limits  and 
extending  into  the  railroad's  Markham  Yards  north  of  Homewood. 

Mayor  Gibson's  administration  is  credited  with  having  successfully  pre- 
served attractive  railroad  fare  rates  although  carriers  were  increasing  these 
rates  to  neighboring  communities.  It  is  credited  also  with  having  preserved  at- 
tractive telephone   rates. 

Biographers  cite  Mr.  Gibson  as  "having  dedicated"  the  name  of  Harvey 
upon  the  records  of  war  fame  in  Washington,  DC.  Because  of  his  ceaseless 
efforts  the  city  became  famed  as  the  250  per  cent  city  (because  of  its  oversub- 
scribing the  purchase  of  Liberty  Bonds)  during  the  first  great  World  War. 
Hartford,  Connecticut  is  reported  as  the  only  other  city  in  America  with  a 
record  that  approached  that  of  Harvey. 

The  memoirs  of  Mr.  Gibson  provide  much  material  concerning  the  city's 
development  and  contain  the  details  which  led  to  the  adoption  of  the  commis- 
sion form  of  government  under  which  he  was  to  serve  as  the  first  mayor. 

Mr.  Gibson,  however,  takes  little  personal  credit  for  the  change.  Rather,  he 


credited  the  Hon.  Frederic  R.  De Young,  who  still  ranks  as  Harvey's  greatest 
contribution  to  the  profession  of  law. 

It  was  Mr.  De  Young,  Mr.  Gibson  related,  who  as  a  member  of  the  House 
of  Representatives  of  the  State  of  Illinois,  introduced  and  successfully  pursued 
until  adopted,  a  law  permitting  communities  to  adopt  the  new  form  of  govern- 
ment that  had  its  birth  in  Galveston,  Texas. 

"The  commission  form  of  government,"  Mr.  Gibson  noted,  "was  discussed 
nationally  following  the  terrible  Galveston  flood  and  designed  to  accomplish  the 
rebirth  of  that  city.  Ordinary  political  processes  were  unadaptable.  The  move- 
ment spread,  found  favor,  and  the  commission  form  of  government  was 
adopted  by  many  progressive  communities." 

It  was  during  the  Gibson  administration,  too,  that  the  ground  work  was 
laid  for  the  multi-million  dollar  water  system  owned  by  the  Harvey  of  today. 

Mr.  Gibson  recalled  that  "existing  law  bound  the  City  of  Chicago  to  furnish 
water  at  the  city  limits  to  outlying  territory  immediately  adjacent  to  it. 

"In  the  case  of  Harvey  some  three  miles  stretched  between  its  limits  and 
that  of  Chicago.  We  were  not  in  the  'immediately  adjacent  class.'  Harvey, 
however,  applied  and  it  was  once  again  that  our  good  friend,  city  attorney  and 
state  representative,  Frederic  R.  DeYoung,  who  came  to  the  rescue  of  his 

The  Hon.  Mr.  DeYoung  was  able  to  secure  the  legislation  needed  to  force 
Chicago  to  furnish  water  to  communities  not  only  adjacent  but  contiguous  to  it, 
and  at  the  same  prices  as  were  charged  the  customers  in  that  city. 

"Mains  were  laid  immediately,  Harvey  was  connected  to  the  City  of  Chi- 
cago's water  system  and  the  most  potent  threat  of  water  famine  here  was  ended. 
And  just  in  time,  for  the  artesian  wells  that  had  been  supplying  the  water  were 
rapidly  nearing  the  point  of  exhaustion.  At  the  same  time,  there  was  a  noticeable 
upgrading  in  the  quality  of  the  water  because  of  the  chemical  treatment  it  re- 
ceived at  the  water  cribs  in  Lake  Michigan." 

Mr.  Gibson  also  provides  for  this  history  detailed  information  concerning 
the  establishment  of  a  park  system. 

"Harvey  was  without  the  vestige  of  a  park,  and  again  it  was  Frederic  De- 
Young  who  came  to  the  rescue. 

Harvey's  north  side  real  estate  was  burdened  with  large  numbers  of  public 
improvement  bonds  which  had  been  issued  for  payment  on  wooden  sidewalks, 
long  since  decayed  or  floated  away.  Many  of  the  bonds  were  in  default,  a  great 
hindrance  to  the  free  interchange  of  real  estate  in  the  city. 

"An  unidentified  holder  of  a  large  parcel  of  blighted  property  and  Frederic 
DeYoung  entered  into  an  arrangement  whereby  in  consideration  of  the  release 
of  liability  occasioned  by  the  defaulted  bonds,  and  the  vacation  of  a  part  of  a 
street  (149th)  the  owner  deeded  over  the  property  to  the  city  free  of  charge." 
As  has  been  heretofore  stated,  this  is  the  site  of  what  is  now  Harmon  Park. 

Although  Mr.  Gibson  would  have  named  the  park  after  his  friend  and  the 
city  benefactor,  Frederic  R.  DeYoung,  this  was  not  to  be.  It  became  known  as 
Harmon  Park  after  the  city  had  been  awarded  a  $2000  prize  in  1924  by  the 
Harmon  Foundation  as  the  "best  community  in  which  to  raise  a  family."  In 
gratitude  for  the  gift,  the  city  named  its  park  in  his  honor. 


(1919-  1927) 
A  brief  return  to  the  administration  of  George  H.  Gibson  is  necessary  as 


background  for  the  events  which  led  to  the  election  of  Matthew  Stobbs  and  a 
complete  new  city  council  in  1919. 

It  will  be  recalled  that  Mr.  Gibson  assumed  office  in  1915  and  before  the 
next  election  in  1919  the  nation  had  become  involved  in  World  War  I.  This 
conflict  resulted  in  many  necessary  public  works  retrenchments.  An  edict  by 
President  Woodrow  Wilson  was  scrupulously  observed  by  Mayor  Gibson  and 
a  halt  was  called  to  local  public  improvements  of  all  kinds  in  cooperation  with 
the  all-out  war  effort.  Proposed  street,  sewer  and  water  extension  projects 
were  among  those  which  were  halted  while  efforts  were  diverted  to  selling 
War  Bonds. 

It  is  ironic,  indeed,  that  this  display  of  patriotism  was  what  led,  in  1919,  to 
the  ousting  of  the  Gibson  administration  and  the  emergence  of  a  new  council 
led  by   Matthew  Stobbs. 

The  plot  to  upset  the  Gibson  council  was  hatched  one  month  before  the 
filing  period  in  the  Schultz  and  Stobbs  cigar  store. 

Walter  Haines,  who  was  to  go  down  in  defeat  with  the  Gibson  council,  in- 
sists that  details  of  the  coup  were  planned  by  the  cigar  store  proprietors,  Matt 
Stobbs  and  August  Schultz,  Joe  Bloodgood,  George  Woodward,  Fred  Fowler, 
Harry  Foltz  and  Lonnie  Kraay.  Strategy  called  for  attacking  the  Gibson  group 
as  a  "Do  nothing  council,"  an  attack  which  left  the  latter  helpless  in  view  of  its 
adherence  to  the  government's  demand  for  financial  austerity. 

A  ticket  was  formed  consisting  of  Matt  Stobbs  for  mayor  and  Harry  G. 
Foltz,  George  Mahan,  Bert  Timmons  and  Joseph  Clyde  Ellis  for  commissioners. 
Actually,  the  group  was  interested  mainly  in  creating  a  contest  and  held  little 
hope  of  defeating  the  popular  Mr.  Gibson.  Mahan,  a  member  of  the  Gibson 
council,  bolted  the  incumbents  after  receiving  a  letter  from  Mayor  Gibson 
suggesting  he  retire  from  public  life  because  of  his  age.  He  used  the  contents 
of  the  letter  strategically  as  campaign  material  —  and  it  proved  a  wise  political 
move  because  Mahan  topped  the  voting  for  the  victorious  Stobbs  combine. 

What^was  accomplished  by  the  Stobbs  regime  in  its  first  term  from  1919  to 
1923  has  not  been  documented,  but  he  was  re-elected  for  another  term,  as 
were  two  of  his  councilmen,  Fred  Fowler  and  Harry  Foltz.  Walter  Haines 
returned  to  the  council  after  a  four-year  absence  and  William  L.  Voss,  Sr.  was 
elected  as  the  fourth  commissioner. 

The  lack  of  public  improvements  over  a  long  period  led  to  a  public  clamor 
for  paved  streets,  more  adequate  sewers,  and  water  line  extensions. 

The  council  acceded,  the  first  sizeable  improvement  being  the  paving  of 
157th  Street  from  Commercial  Avenue  to  Halsted  Street,  and  all  those  streets 
running  south  from  157th  Street  to  159th  Street  from  Commercial  to  Halsted. 
Sewer  improvements  and  water  extensions  and  street  paving  were  effected 
on  Ashland  and  Marshfield  Avenues  from  Spaulding  Avenue  to  154th  Street. 

Next  came  paving,  water  and  sewer  improvements  in  West  Harvey  and  in 
North  Harvey,  all  of  the  work  petitioned  for  by  the  residents  who,  it  is  said, 
*vere  happy  until  the  receipt  of  the  special  assessment  tax  bills. 

An  extension  to  bring  water  from  Chicago  to  Harvey  was  installed  and  the 
:ity's  first  water  reservoir  constructed,  a  reservoir  which  is  in  use  today. 

Another  community  improvement  during  the  Stobbs  administration  was 
he  construction  of  the  swimming  pool  at  149th  Street  and  Broadway  at  a 
:ost  of  $17,000. 

The  Stobbs  administration  had  its  troubles,  however,  and  at  a  meeting  on 
Vlay  17.  1926,  a  petition  containing  more  than  1,500  signatures  was  presented 
o  the  city  clerk,  John  Alten,  asking  the  recall  of  Mayor  Stobbs  and  Com- 
nissioners  Foltz,  Fowler,  Haines  and  Voss. 


The  petition,  originated  by  R.  O.  Livers,  John  Dzeidzina,  Julius  R.  Meyer 
and  I.  Z.  Hague,  asked  that  the  books  of  account  of  the  City  of  Harvey  be  made 
available  to  auditors  for  the  purpose  of  audit. 

This  forced  the  council  to  appear  in  Superior  court  but,  through  the  efforts 
of  Thomas  Stobbs  who  served  as  counsel  for  the  group,  the  suit  was  dismissed 
by  Judge  Barnes  on  the  premise  that  the  petition  was  not  properly  drawn  and 
contained  fraudulent  signatures.  The  hearing  lasted  30  minutes. 

However,  this  merely  intensified  the  anger  of  the  citizenry  and  numerous 
meetings  rallying  around  the  slogan  "throw  the  rascals  out"  led  to  one  of  the 
most  heated  election  campaigns  in  Harvey  history. 

Commissioner  Haines  recalls  that  he  and  the  other  members  of  the  Stobbs 
administration  staged  a  tremendous  parade  about  two  weeks  prior  to  the  elec- 
tion. Hundreds  of  paraders  marched  through  every  area  of  the  community  leav- 
ing the  sponsors  with  what  were  to  become  false  hopes  for  success. 

When  the  votes  had  been  counted  the  "Clean  Sweep"  ticket  organized  by 
Frank  W.  Bruggemann  had  accomplished  its  objective  and  "threw  the  rascals 

"The  Four  Horsemen,"  as  the  Stobbs  council  came  to  be  known,  not  too 
affectionately,  had  taken  their  "last  ride". 


(1927-  1943) 

One  of  the  most  colorful  of  Harvey's  mayors  and  a  personality  whose 
political  influence  was  widely  acknowledged  was  Frank  W.  Bruggemann,  elected 
first  on  the  "Clean  Sweep"  ticket  in  April,  1927,  and  re-elected  in  1931,  1935 
and   1939. 

His  last  term  was  interrupted,  however,  by  his  death  on  January  11,  1942 
and  the  then  Commissioner  of  Finance,  Charles  H.  Applegate,  Jr.,  was  named 
by  the  city  council  to  fill  the  vacancy. 

Mr.  Bruggemann  was  mayor  during  what  was  perhaps  the  most  trying 
period  in  the  city's  history,  the  Depression  of  the  early  1930's,  when  Harvey, 
an  industrial  community,  was  severely  affected. 

Unemployment  was  high,  tax  collections  were  low  and  the  local  government 
suffered  immeasurably  because  of  the  lack  of  income.  The  normal  government 
services  were  necessarily  curtailed,  some  eliminated  entirely.  City  employees, 
in  lieu  of  cash  were  required  to  accept  scrip,  the  monetary  value  of  which  was 
limited  and  as  a  medium  of  exchange  it  was  next  to  valueless.  Later,  these 
public  servants  received  portions  of  their  stipends  in  the  form  of  tax  anticipa- 
tion warrants.  Both  of  these  exchange  mediums  represented  city  obligations  that 
had  to  be  redeemed  at  a  later  date.  The  practice  of  using  scrip  was  eventually 
ruled  illegal  by  a  Federal  court. 

Frank  Bruggemann  was  born  in  Chicago  on  October  27,  1892,  came  to 
Harvey  in  1912  and  died  here  on  January  1 1,  1942. 

From  his  arrival  here  until  his  death  he  played  an  active  role  in  civic  life. 
He  and  Pearl  Kerr  Vedder,  the  daughter  of  William  E.  Kerr,  one  of  the  city's 
most  prominent  citizens,  a  mayor  in  the  early  years  and  Harvey's  first  under- 
taker, were  married  in  October,  1915.  Upon  the  death  of  Mr.  Kerr  he  carried 
on  the  W.  E.  Kerr  funeral  business. 

It  was  the  Bruggemann  forces  which  conducted  probably  the  "hottest" 
political  campaign  in  the  city's  history.  With  Joseph  Clyde  Ellis,  James  A. 
Bates,  Edward  Anderson  and  Ray  T.  Spencer  he  formed  the  "Clean  Sweep" 


ticket,  and  the  election  proved  the  name  was  no  misnomer,  every  member  of 
the  Matt  Stobbs  administration  being  swept  out  of  office. 

So,  too,  were  those  holding  appointive  positions  eliminated.  The  city  hall 
lad  an  entirely  new  look  with  Fred  Cj.  Hudson  as  treasurer,  Frank  E.  Foster 
.is  attorney,  Paul  Robinson  as  engineer,  Everett  Harris  as  chief  of  police,  and 
Frank  C.   Norton  as  clerk. 

After  an  uneventful  four-year  term  in  the  course  of  which  the  depression 
lad  set  in.  Frank  Bruggemann  was  again  elected  mayor.  New  members  of  the 
:ouncil  were  Einar  Bloom,  Everett  Harris,  Joseph  W.  Chapman  and  William 
L.   Voss,  Sr. 

With  the  depression  at  its  height  a  program  of  public  improvements  be- 
:ame  impossible  until  Franklin  Delano  Roosevelt,  president  of  the  United 
States,  asked  that  local  works  projects  be  set  up  to  provide  work  for  the  un- 
employed which  were  increasing  in  alarming  numbers.  Under  the  plan  the 
Federal  government  was  to  contribute  a  large  portion  of  the  money  and  the 
nunicipalities  the  balance. 

This  formed  the  background  for  the  inauguration  of  a  project  which  be- 
:ame  the  subject  of  much  controversy  in  the  years  to  follow. 

Years  before,  the  Calumet  Union  Drainage  Ditch  had  been  created  to 
.tern  the  flow  of  water  from  areas  southwest  of  Harvey  which,  on  occasion, 
nnundated  the  city.  A  deep,  open  ditch  was  dug  along  161st  Street  west  to 
*obey  Avenue  where  another  ditch  was  dug  which  ran  directly  north  to  the 
Zalumet  river. 

A  plan  was  devised  to  place  huge  tile  in  the  open  ditches  and  cover  it  with 
;arth.  Mayor  Bruggemann,  Commissioner  William  Voss,  Sr.  and  Walter 
•iaines  met  with  District  Congressman  Edward  J.  Kelly  at  Forest  Park  and  the 
:ongressman  subsequently  presented  the  plan  to  the  government  authorities, 
-larvey's  project  was  approved  by  the  Works  Progress  Administration  which 
upervised  similar  projects  throughout  the  nation. 

The  Whiting  Corporation  foundry  was  closed  at  the  time  and  arrangements 
vere  made  to  use  it  for  casting  the  huge  tile  that  were  needed.  Men  were 
provided  with  jobs  there  and  others  set  to  cleaning  the  ditches  to  prepare 
or  the  laying  of  the  tile. 

The  first  roadblock  encountered  as  the  work  progressed  came  when  several 
mndred  men  were  sent  from  Chicago  to  engage  in  the  local  work.  It  was  Mayor 
Jruggemann  and  Commissioner  Voss  who  protested  violently  on  the  basis  that 
he  jobs  here  should  be  filled  by  local  people.  They  won  their  point  and  the 
Thicagoans  were  withdrawn. 

Under  terms  of  the  project  the  city  was  to  furnish  certain  tools  and  equip- 
nent  and  when  possible  these  were  bought  from  local  merchants. 

Legend  has  it  that  several  persons  prominent  in  the  Bruggemann  cam- 
paigns were  incensed  when  they  failed  to  receive  appointments  to  various 
public  positions  and  banded  together  to  cause  the  administration  considerable 

Inferring  that  there  was  some  dishonesty  in  the  purchasing  negotiations,  the 
|  roup  appealed  to  the  United  States  government  and  Federal  agents  were  sent 
here  to  investigate  the  purchases  of  wheelbarrows,  shovels,  and  much  other 
quipment  being  used  on  the  job.  The  plot  blew  up  when  documents  were  pro- 
duced to  show  the  purchases  had  been  made  locally  at  near  the  merchants'  cost 
nd  that  the  transactions  were  legal. 

At  any  rate,  the  project  took  about  a  year  to  complete,  although  the  WPA 
/orkers  were  required  to  vacate  the  Whiting  foundry  when  the  company  re- 
amed its  operations. 


Despite  the  allegations  of  his  enemies,  Frank  Bruggemann  was  extremely 
popular.  His  efforts  to  keep  the  local  banks  open  during  the  depression  runs 
and  his  efforts  to  keep  the  city  on  a  sound  financial  basis  by  rigid  economies 
were,  perhaps,  not  completely  successful  and  there  was  much  suffering. 

However,  as  the  depression  ran  its  course  and  as  conditions  became  gradu- 
ally better  local  projects  were  resumed  on  a  limited  scale.  Additional  streets 
were  paved  and  both  the  sewer  and  water  systems  were  extended. 

The  confidence  of  the  people  in  Mayor  Bruggemann  was  expressed  once 
again  at  the  polls  when  he  was  re-elected  for  a  third  term  in  1935  when  his 
council  was  composed  of  Arthur  E.  Turngren,  Charles  Applegate,  Jr.,  Norman 
T.  Gallett  and  George  P.  Fisher.  Once  again  in  1939  he  was  re-elected,  his 
regime  ending  with  his  death  on  January    11,    1942. 

It  was  during  the  Bruggemann  administration  that  the  purchase  of  the 
Piazza  building  on  Broadway  was  consummated  in  1936.  Bought  for  $20,000 
it  proved  to  be  a  wise  investment.  For  many  years  and  until  it  was  destroyed  by 
fire,  it  housed  the  city  fire  department.  The  upstairs  area  was  rented,  first  to  the 
Magic  Chef  (American  Stove  Co.)  Club  and  then  the  Harvey  Moose  lodge  at 
a  rental  fee  of  $225  per  month.  The  rent  was  applied  on  the  purchase  price  and 
it  became  unnecessary  to  ask  for  approval  of  a  bond  issue  or  make  the  payment 
from  current  city  funds. 

The  wisdom  of  the  investment  was  vindicated  following  the  disastrous  fire 
on  January  9,  1958  which  gutted  the  building.  The  city  received  an  $85,000 
settlement  from  the  insurance  company  and  the  money  was  placed  in  a  special 
account  for  the  erection  of  a  new  station  at  a  later  date,  a  project  that  was 
begun  during  the  administration  of  Arthur  E.  Turngren. 

Perhaps  it  should  be  recalled  that  Frank  Bruggemann  was  involved  in  the 
closest  election  in  the  city's  history.  It  was  in  1935  when  Einar  B.  Bloom,  a 
member  of  the  city  council  challenged  for  the  mayoralty  and  in  the  April  elec- 
tion he  lost  to  his  opponent  by  the  small  margin  of  59  votes  —  3,464  to  3,405. 
The  closeness  of  the  election  led  to  many  theories  on  how  it  was  won:  However, 
despite  stories  of  "shenanigans"  in  the  voting  in  one  west  side  precinct,  the 
threat  of  a  Bloom  recount  never  materialized  and  the  verdict  stood. 

Actually,  his  winning  the  mayorship  was  not  Mr.  Bruggemann's  political 
baptism.  He  had  served  as  the  city's  treasurer  from  1923  until  1927  when  he 
was  first  elected  mayor.  On  the  state  level  he  served  as  president  of  the  Illinois 
Municipal  League  in  1937. 


(1943-  1959) 

Arthur  E.  Turngren's  length  of  public  service  is  exceeded  by  no  other  indi- 
vidual in  Harvey's  history,  twenty-four  years  overall,  eight  years  a  Commis- 
sioner of  Public  Health  and  Safety,  and  sixteen  years  as  mayor. 

Mr.  Turngren  was  to  serve  during  this  long  tenure  a  community  victimized! 
by  the  depression  of  the  early  1930's,  and  the  revival  of  that  community  during! 
the  succeeding  years  of  his  service. 

He  was  a  witness  to  a  community  suffering  from  unemployment,  from  lowi 
tax  collections,  from  inability  to  meet  its  financial  obligations  to  city  workers.! 
Yet,  he  was  to  witness  also  the  rebirth  of  the  community  and  he  played  anj 
important  part  in  its  rehabilitation  and  its  restoration  to  a  thriving  city  during! 
his  sixteen  years  at  the  helm  of  its  government. 

As  an  active  and  dedicated  member  of  the  city  council  he  participated  in 


he  negotiations  during  the  administration  of  Frank  W.  Bruggemann  that  re- 
sulted in  the  purchase  of  the  Piazza  building  at  15315  Broadway  for  the  in- 
iignificant  sum  of  $20,01)0,  and  it  was  during  Mr.  Turngren's  term  as  mayor 
hat  the  debt  on  the  building,  bought  at  a  fraction  of  its  construction  cost,  was 
iquidated  and  permitted  removal  of  the  city  fire  department  from  inadequate 
quarters  in  the  city  hall. 

The  building  was  to  serve  well  the  purpose  for  which  it  was  purchased 
jntil  January  9,  1958  when  it  was  swept  by  one  of  the  most  sensational  fires 
n  the  city's  history.  The  fire  resulted  from  an  explosion  in  an  adjoining  build- 
ng  which  housed  an  automotive  garage  and  salesroom  and  it  spread  with  such 
»reat  rapidity  that  even  with  the  help  of  fire  departments  from  a  number  of 
adjacent  villages,  it  was  gutted.  This  forced  the  removal  of  the  fire  department 
:o  temporary  quarters  in  the  Thorsen  garage  building  at  15426  Broadway. 
Certain  fire-fighting  equipment  was  also  moved  to  a  new  fire  station  constructed 
during  the  Turngren  administration  at  147th  Street  and  Vincennes  Road. 

The  second  floor  of  the  structure,  rented  to  the  Harvey  Moose  lodge,  was 
:ompletely  destroyed  and  the  structure  reduced  to  a  badly-damaged  one-story 
building.  There  was,  however,  no  loss  in  equipment  suffered  because  of  the 
prompt  action  by  both  regular  and  volunteer  members  of  the  fire  department. 

Plans  were  immediately  set  in  motion  to  acquire  a  new  centrally-located 
lite  for  the  department,  with  George  E.  Gilley,  Commissioner  of  Public  Health 
ind  Safety,  heading  the  official  committee  entrusted  with  the  responsibility. 

After  an  adjustment  of  the  loss  by  the  company  holding  the  insurance,  the 
:ity  received  $85,000  as  a  settlement  and  the  fund  was  placed  into  a  special 
iccount  to  be  used  only  for  the  erection  of  a  new  fire  station. 

Immediately  the  council  went  into  negotiations  which  resulted  in  the  pur- 
:hase  of  a  plot  of  ground  at  the  southwest  corner  of  156th  Street  and  Center 
\venue  on  May  27,  1958  for  $13,500. 

Plans  were  drawn  and  specifications  set  for  a  new  structure  by  E.  Layton 
"lanagan,  a  Harvey  Architect.  A  contract  was  let  on  November  19,  1958  to 
he  Degenhart  Construction  Company  for  the  construction  of  the  building  at  a 
>rice  of  $127,406,  this  to  be  paid  for  from  the  insurance  on  the  fire  loss,  plus 
:ity  receipts  from  the  state  sales  tax  from  which  the  city  had  begun  to  receive 
ncome  in  August,  1955. 

The  proceeds  from  the  sales  tax  had  come  to  be  an  important  source  of 
:ity  income  and  had  been  used  to  liquidate  outstanding  tax  anticipation  war- 
ants  and  to  reduce  levies  normally  assessed  against  real  estate. 

Before  the  conclusion  of  the  Turngren  administration  the  building  was 
learly  complete,  only  some  interior  work  and  landscaping  remaining  to  be  done. 

A  decision  was  made  to  convert  the  burned-out  fire  station  of  Broadway 
o  a  police  station.  Engineering  studies  indicated  the  building,  despite  its  condi- 
lion  after  the  fire,  was  structurally  sound,  and  a  big  clean-up  job  followed. 
)ebris  was  removed,  a  new  roof  and  front  built.  The  building,  however,  was 
tot  completed  and  occupied  until  a  later  date. 

Plans  were  inaugurated  to  purchase  the  property  south  of  the  building  for 
»ff-street  parking,  but  the  plans  never  materialized  and  eventually  it  was 
•ought  by  the  South  Suburban  Safeway  Lines,  Incorporated,  and  a  bus  garage 
rected  in   1961. 

Perhaps  the  greatest  achievement  of  the  Turngren  administration  was  the 
xtension  of  the  antiquated  sewer  system,  a  project  approved  by  the  voters. 
)etails  of  the  project  are  recorded  in  a  preceding  portion  of  this  volume  under 
he  heading  "The  Great  Floods  of  History." 


(1959-  ) 

Born  in  Chicago  on  December  31,  1912,  William  B.  Kane,  the  present 
mayor  of  the  City  of  Harvey,  was  brought  here  by  his  parents  in  1923  and  the 
greater  part  of  his  schooling  was  received  in  the  local  public  schools. 

A  lawyer,  he  became  interested  in  politics  even  before  his  graduation  in 
1948  from  the  DePaul  University  School  of  Law,  where  he  attended  evening, 

While  attending  college  he  was  active  in  municipal  affairs  and  served  as  a 
member  of  the  Harvey  Zoning  Board  of  Appeals  and  the  Harvey  Planning 

A  member  of  the  Democratic  party  during  his  first  years  in  politics,  Kane 
later  became  affiliated  with  the  Republican  party  and  today,  besides  being  the 
mayor  of  Harvey,  he  serves  as  the  Republican  Committeeman  of  Thornton 

His  first  elective  office  was  that  of  police  magistrate  in  Harvey  to  which 
he  was  elected  in  1943.  Defeated  by  a  small  margin  for  the  office  in  1947,  by 
Neil  Van  Der  Veen,  he  came  back  and  won  the  office  once  more  in  1951. 

Mr.  Kane  was  elected  to  the  board  of  education  of  Thornton  Township! 
High  School  District  205  in  1950.  In  1953  he  was  named  president,  succeed-i 
ing  Edwin  Waterman,  who  retired.  It  was  during  Mr.  Kane's  term  as  president 
that  the  new  $6,000,000  Thornridge  High  School  in  Dolton  was  erected. 

He  resigned  his  school  board  presidency  and  membership  when  he  decidedi 
to  seek  the  mayoralty  of  the  city  in  1958  in  a  contest  against  Arthur  E. 

The  campaign  leading  up  to  the  election  on  April  7,  1959  was  intensej 
and  resulted  in  one  of  the  closest  elections  in  the  city's  history.  The  results  fromi 
the  last  precinct  to  report  settled  the  issue  and  Kane  was  announced  as  the) 
victor  by  a  margin  of  109  votes,  the  count  being  4,459  to  4,360. 

The  Turngren  forces  carried  their  fight  to  the  Chicago  Board  of  Election 
Commissioners  which  supervised  all  local  elections  and  at  a  dramatic  recount 
in  the  Chicago  city  hall  on  April  17  the  final  count  was  determined  to  be 
4,443  to  4,319  with  Kane's  official  margin  124  votes. 

Promising  fiscal  responsiblity  the  Kane  administration  during  the  first  year 
compiled  a  surplus  of  $90,949.  A  change  in  procedure  called  for  an  investment 
program  which  saw  city  funds  converted  into  short  term  government  bonds. 

Considerable  city  equipment  was  replaced,  or  modernized.  Vehicle  license 
laws  were  revised  to  increase  revenue  from  this  source,  stricter  enforcement  of 
business  license  laws  was  accomplished  and  the  Building  Department  fee  col- 
lection system  was  more  closely  supervised. 

Several  projects  instituted  during  the  Turngren  administration  were  brought 
to  completion  during  the  early  months  of  the  Kane  regime.  These  included  the 
new  fire  station  at  156th  Street  and  Center  Avenue  which  replaced  the  station 
burned  out  in  a  fire  in  January,  1958. 

The  station  contains  the  most  modern  equipment  known  in  the  fire  fighting 
and  prevention  field. 

The  Police  department  has  also  been  housed  in  new  headquarters  which  were 
occupied  by  the  Fire  department  prior  to  the  fire  which  gutted  the  building  on 

This  project  was  also  inaugurated  during  the  Turngren  administration  but] 
not  completed  until  funds  were  made  available  after  the  Kane  administration! 
took  over.  It  is  now  a  completely  modern  building,  fully  equipped  with  a  new! 


cell  block,  office  files  and  furniture,  offices,  interrogation  room,  officers' 
locker  rooms,  a  new  heating  plant  and  everything  needed  for  a  smoothly 
functioning  department. 

Other  accomplishments  of  the  administration  include  the  adoption  of  new 
food  handling  laws  and  a  new  law  regulating  the  operation  of  taxicabs. 

The  city's  water  supply  has  been  greatly  augmented  during  the  present  ad- 
ministration and  although  the  population  has  grown  steadily  the  increased  de- 
mand for  water  has  been  met.  This  was  accomplished  by  the  installation  of  a 
24-inch  main  across  the  Calumet  river  which  greatly  improves  the  local  supply. 

Other  water  department  improvements  include  a  new  emergency  power 
generator  which  takes  over  when  the  current  from  normal  sources  fails  and  a 
new  vacuum  breaker  pump  which  eliminates  vacuums  and  head  pressures. 

Considerable  improvement  has  also  been  effected  in  the  Street  department 
which  is  as  completely  automated  as  possible.  Both  equipment  and  personnel 
have  been  augmented  to  improve  service,  to  the  public.  The  new  garbage 
packers  have  been  added  to  the  department  fleet,  as  has  an  eductor  unit  for 
cleaning  catch  basins. 

Every  service  offered  by  the  Street  department  has  been  improved,  includ- 
ing ice  control  and  snow  removal. 

Formerly  housed  in  crowded  quarters  on  153rd  Street,  the  Street  depart- 
ment now  occupies  a  well-constructed  brick  building  at  152nd  and  Wood 
Streets  which  the  city  purchased  from  the  local  Veterans  of  Foreign  Wars  post 
for  $50,000. 

In  view  of  the  fact  that  the  153rd  Street  building  was  sold  to  the  South 
Suburban  Safeway  Lines  for  use  as  a  garage  for  the  sum  of  $36,500  the  pur- 
chase of  the  VFW  building  appeared  to  be  a  worthwhile  transaction. 

The  present  council  also  negotiated  for  the  sale  for  $80,000  of  the  city- 
owned  parking  lot  at  the  northeast  corner  of  153rd  Street  and  Turlington 
Avenue  and  the  site  now  contains  an  imposing  colonial-type  structure  occupied 
by  the  Atlantic  and  Pacific  Tea  Company. 

The  annexation  of  an  area  in  the  southern  portion  of  the  Village  of  Phoenix 
was  consummated  during  the  present  administration. 

Among  other  improvements  effected  during  the  past  three  years  was  the 
installation  of  a  public  comfort  station  in  the  city  hall. 

Despite  an  impressive  list  of  civic  improvements,  the  Kane  administration 
has  had  its  trying  moments.  Perhaps  the  greatest  crisis  it  has  faced  was  occa- 
sioned by  the  proposed  purchase  in  1962  of  the  Harvey  Federal  Savings  and 
Loan  Association  building  at  182  East  154th  Street  as  a  replacement  for  the 
now  antiquated  city  hall. 

Although  it  was  generally  conceded  that  the  need  for  a  new  city  hall  ex- 
isted sentiment  as  to  the  proposed  purchase  was  varied.  Many  thought  the  price 
attractive,  others  did  not.  Many  were  apprehensive  over  what  they  regarded  as 
the  "speed"  with  which  the  negotiations  were  to  be  completed. 

A  Citizens'  committee  appointed  by  Mayor  Kane  recommended  its  purchase, 
but  a  segment  of  the  population  was  adamant  in  its  opposition  with  the  result 
that  the  time  limit  for  its  purchase  passed  without  action  by  the  council  which 
was  itself  divided  on  the  proposition. 

A  minor  crisis  developed  late  this  year  concerning  the  replacement  of  Police 
Magistrate  Harry  A.  Lambert  who  died  before  the  expiration  of  his  term.  In 
two  separate  actions  the  council  first  approved  petitioning  the  Cook  County 
Judge  to  appoint  an  acting  magistrate  and  then  submitted  a  request  to  the 
Cook  County  Board  of  Commissioners  to  fill  the  vacancy.  The  situation  pro- 
duced differences  of  opinion  among  the  council   members  but  it  was  finally 


resolved  with  the  appointment  of  a  Harvey  attorney,  Ronald  Crane,  by  the 
Cook  County  board.  Crane's  term  will  conclude  simultaneously  with  those  oi 
the  city  council  members  in  the  election  of  April,  1963. 



'Next  in  importance  to  freedom 
and  justice  is  popular  education, 
without  which  neither  freedom 
nor  justice   can   be  permanently 


James  A.  Garfield 




"If  it  is  true  that  the  character  and  culture  of  a  community  may  be  judged 
by  its  schools,  the  people  of  Harvey  must  be  acknowledged  to  be  in  the  front 
rank,  of  progressive  American  citizenship,'1  an  unknown  writer  said  many  years 

And  that  statement  is  even  more  applicable  in  the  year  1962  than  it  was 
when  the  above  words  were  penned  in  1900. 

When  Harvey  was  founded  but  one  small  school  known  as  the  "White 
School  House"  stood  within  its  boundaries.  It  had  been  erected  in  1883  on  the 
east  side  of  what  is  now  Morgan  Street  between  151st  and  152nd  Streets. 

The  building  and  one  teacher  staff  was  sufficient  to  meet  the  educational 
needs  of  the  hamlet  until  the  year  of  1891-1892  when  the  enrollment  leaped 
spectacularly  to  655  pupils.  The  community  was  faced  with  a  grave  problem. 

It  was  then  that  Frank  L.  Miller  was  hired  to  reorganize  the  entire  educa- 
tional system. 

Mr.  Miller  had  arrived  in  Harvey  to  assume  the  superintendency  of  a  two- 
story  frame  school  building  at  147th  Street  and  Vincennes  Road.  This  was  a 
private  academy  founded  by  Water  Thomas  Mills,  a  developer  of  the  Academy 
addition  to  Harvey's  north  side.  The  Academy  existed  only  for  a  short  time, 
being  supplanted  by  Harvey  high  school. 

But  it  was  Mr.  Miller  who  actually  became  the  "father"  of  the  Harvey 
grade  school  system. 

"I  well  remember,"  Mr.  Miller  wrote  in  1940,  "when  I  was  re-organizing 
the  school  system  in  the  Fall  of  1892.  The  year  before  the  schools  were  under 
a  board  of  directors  but  the  population  of  the  district  having  reached  1,000,  it 
was  entitled  to  a  board  of  education  which  was  elected  in  April  of  that  year. 
At  the  opening  of  the  school  year,  owing  to  the  great  influx  of  people,  it  was 
found  necessary  to  postpone  the  election  for  a  week  so  that  registration  of 
pupils  and  their  assignment  to  various  store  buildings  in  different  parts  of  the 
district  might  be  made." 

Thus  the  stage  was  set  for  the  formation  of  a  Harvey  school  district  and 
history  indicates  the  first  board  of  education  ever  elected  consisted  of  the  fol- 
lowing citizens:  C.  F.  Craver,  president;  Mrs.  J.  B.  Ellis,  Mrs.  George  B. 
Mahan,  Mrs.  G.  V.  Anderson,  Rufus  Ricker,  J.  A.  Prout  and  O.  W.  Stone, 
members  of  the  board.  J.  F.  Seabright  was  elected  secretary  and,  of  course, 
Mr.  Miller,  superintendent. 

The  first  year  of  the  reorganized  school  system  was  hectic,  indeed.  The 
"White  School  House"  housed  the  seventh  and  eighth  grades,  which  were 
taught  by  a  Miss  Margaret  Cloney.  The  sixth  grade  was  established  in  the 
basement  of  the  old  Union  Church  building  at  155th  Street  and  Lexington 
Avenue,  now  the  Odd  Fellows  home.  Other  grades  were  placed  in  empty  store 
buildings  stretching  from  159th  to  147th  Streets.  In  some  rooms  a  teacher 
taught  as  many  as  three  or  four  grades. 

But  this  was  only  a  temporary  arrangement  and  in  1893  the  district  began 
to  take  definite  form  with  the  construction  of  the  old  Whittier  school  at  153rd 
Street  and  Turlington  Avenue.  This  structure  served  not  only  as  a  grade  but  as 
the  Harvey  high  school  which  was  abandoned  in  1898  with  the  formation  of 
the  Thornton  Township  high  school  district.  However,  three  high  school  classes 
—  1896,  1897  and  1898  were  graduated  from  the  Harvey  High  School. 

The  original  faculty  consisted  of  the  following:  J.  E.  Cable,  principal  of 
the  high  school;  Belle  S.  Porter,  assistant  principal;  Margaret  Cloney,  eighth 
grade;  Elida  M.  Stannard,  seventh  grade;  Mame  Headworth,  sixth  grade;  Phoebe 


J.  Cary,  fifth  grade;  Isabel  Lees,  fourth  grade;  Delia  M.  Farley,  third  grade; 
Francis  M.  Davis,  second  grade;  Georgia  Mynard  and  Alice  J.  Porter,  first 

The  Whittier  school  served  its  purpose  until  September  1,  1906  when  it  was 
destroyed  by  fire  —  just  a  week  before  the  opening  of  the  school  term. 

Because  of  the  small  site  of  the  school,  the  board  of  education  bought  for 
$6,000.00  a  location  for  a  new  school  at  the  corner  of  152nd  Street  and 
Loomis  Avenue,  site  of  the  Whittier  school  of  today.  The  structure  was  erected 
at  a  cost  of  $35,000.00. 

Professor  Miller  recalled  in  later  years  that  some  residents  declared  the 
board  of  education  "crazy  to  put  the  building  so  far  out  in  the  prairie." 

As  the  need  for  additional  school  facilities  continued  to  mount,  it  became 
necessary  to  place  additional  buildings  in  the  district. 

Various  historians  are  at  odds  as  to  the  establishment  of  the  Bryant  school. 
One  records  that  the  building  which  housed  Walter  Mills'  private  academy  was 
bought  in  1894.  Another  says  that  a  plot  of  ground  was  bought  at  147th  Street 
and  Vincennes  Road  and  a  building  erected  at  a  cost  of  $20,000.00. 

Steps  were  also  taken  during  1894  for  the  establishment  of  a  school  on  the 
east  side  of  the  community,  in  that  area  which  had  come  to  be  known  as 
"Michigan"  because  of  the  large  numbers  of  residents  there  from  that  state. 

The  site  chosen  was  at  158th  Street  and  Finch  Avenue  and  upon  it  rose 
a  two  room  frame  building  first  called  the  Prout  school  after  a  member  of  the 
board  of  education,  but  later  named  Holmes.  The  building  served  its  purpose 
until  the  1950's  when  it  was  abandoned  upon  the  erection  of  a  new,  modern 
structure  elsewhere  in  the  district. 

Early  in  1895,  in  order  to  satisfy  the  increasing  demand  for  school  facili- 
ties, necessary  steps  were  taken  to  erect  a  four-room  brick  structure  at  157th 
Street  and  Lexington  Avenue  at  a  cost  of  $8,000.00.  This  was  to  become 
known  as  the  Lowell  school  —  later  to  be  renamed  Lowell-Longfellow  when 
the  site  was  increased  in  size  and  another  building  constructed. 

In  his  memoirs,  William  D.  Rogers,  who  was  to  become  president  of  the 
board  of  education  in  1902,  recalls  some  of  the  educational  difficulties  the 
booming  population  created. 

"Nearly  all  of  the  property  in  the  school  district  was  unimproved.  The  as- 
sessed valuation  being  low,  the  income  from  taxes  was  very  uncertain  and  the 
bonds  which  were  issued  in  order  to  get  the  funds  with  which  to  erect  school 
bulidings  constituted  an  obligation  the  interest  on  which  absorbed  a  large  por- 
tion of  the  revenue." 

However,  Mr.  Rogers  added,  the  Whittier  building  with  its  eight  rooms,  and 
the  Holmes  (formerly  the  Prout)  building  of  two  rooms,  the  four  rooms  in  the 
Bryant  school,  together  with  other  rooms  which  were  rented  for  school  pur- 
poses, constituted  the  school  properties  for  the  first  10  years  of  the  school 

In  1904  necessary  steps  were  taken  once  more  to  add  to  the  school  facilities 
and,  under  the  presidency  of  Mr.  Rogers,  a  new  four-room  building  named  the 
Cary  was  erected  on  the  site  of  the  original  Whittier  school  at  153rd  Street  and 
Turlington  Avenue. 

Two  years  later,  in  1906,  growing  pains  continued  to  plague  the  board  of 
education  and  an  effort  to  alleviate  the  trying  situation  was  made  by  enlarging 
the  Bryant  school  to  make  it  an  eight-room  building. 

But  the  board's  troubles  were  not  over,  for  just  before  the  opening  of 
school  in  September,  1906,  a  fire  which  destroyed  the  Whittier  school,  necessi- 
tated the  transfer  of  its  students  to  the  Bryant  with  the  result  that  the  building 


was  filled  to  capacity.  Other  students  were  quartered  in  temporary  schools  in 
the  Methodist  and  Presbyterian  churches. 

A  year  later  the  new  Whittier  school,  to  be  pronounced  by  authorities  as 
the  "best  eight-room  school  in  Cook  County",  was  completed  and  ready  for 
occupancy.  Funds  for  the  project  were  available  from  the  insurance  on  the 
burned-out  building. 

There  are  some  interesting  sidelights  to  the  early  history  of  the  Harvey 
school  system,  these  including  the  salaries  of  the  teaching  staff  during  the 
early  years. 

One  historical  entry  says  "F.  L.  Miller  was  re-elected  superintendent  for 
the  comign  year  at  a  salary  of  $135  per  month,"  It  adds  that  the  eighth  grade 
teachers  received  $65  per  month;  and  the  balance  of  the  faculty,  whatever 
grade  taught,  was  paid  at  the  rate  of  $50  per  month.  Substitute  teachers  were 
paid  at  the  rate  of  $1.50  per  day. 

Included  in  the  voluminous  rules  which  governed  both  faculty  and  students 
there  were  many  of    unusual  interest.  For  example: 

"Pupils  are  not  allowed  to  do  the  following:  carry  firearms  or  other  weapons, 
use  tobacco  or  chewing  gum  in  or  about  the  school  building;  injure,  mark  or 
deface  any  part  of  building  or  furniture  and  shall  pay  in  full  for  such  damage; 
write  or  use  any  obscene  or  profane  language  or  make  unnecessary  noises; 
jump  on  passing  vehicles,  throw  snowballs  or  missiles  of  any  kind  on  premises; 
play  truant;  be  habitually  absent  or  tardy,  be  disrespectful,  disobedient  or  in- 
subordinate; enter  building  with  muddy  feet." 

Teacher  obligations  included;  "Devoting  themselves  diligently  to  their  pro- 
fession by  reading  educational  periodicals,  by  conferences  with  other  teachers, 
attending  teachers'  meetings  and  in  every  way  possible  endeavor  to  prepare 
themselves  for  the  discharge  of  their  duties;  to  care  for  the  moral  welfare  of 
their  students;  to  give  careful  attention  to  ventilation  and  temperature  of 
room;  to  observe  the  habits  of  their  pupils  to  fit  them  for  citizenship  by  teach- 
ing lessons  of  patriotism,  honesty  and  temperance." 

Early  documents  also  record  the  spectacular  growth  of  the  student  popula- 
tion and  the  increase  in  faculty.  Starting  in  1891  with  "one  teacher  and  few 
pupils"  the  student  body  had  increased  to  1,100  and  the  teaching  staff  to  23 
by  1903.  The  school  population  thereafter  remained  somewhat  stable  and  in 
the  subsequent  16  years  the  student  body  had  grown  only  to  1,275  and  the 
teaching  staff  to  30. 

This  stability  was  evident  for  many  years  and  it  was  not  until  the  mid- 
1950's  that  the  community  began  again  to  outgrow  its  school  facilities.  This  was 
occasioned  because  of  the  upsurge  in  children  of  school  age  following  the 
conclusion  of  World  War  II. 

Discussion  of  the  seriousness  of  the  problem  had  its  beginning  in  Novem- 
ber, 1951  when  the  board  concluded  that  the  tremendous  increase  in  residential 
building  and  the  anticipated  growth  in  school  populations  necessitated  action 
in  the  immediate  future. 

An  exhaustive  survey  of  existing  facilities,  curriculum  needs  to  conform 
with  modern  standards  of  education,  school  population,  finance  and  programs 
of  the  future,  was  undertaken. 

In  the  course  of  its  deliberations,  the  board  of  education  sought  assistance 
and  counsel  from  its  administrative  staff,  educational  figures  in  other  com- 
munities, architects,  nationally-recognized  school  experts.  Upon  completion  of 
its  survey  it  was  presented  to  an  advisory  board  of  some  50  members  selected 
from   the   community   at   large   and  consisting   of  representatives  of  industry, 


business  and  labor,  as  well  as  the  community's  civic  organizations,  parent- 
teacher  groups,  city  officials  and  real  estate  men. 

"The  purpose  of  all  this  effort,"  James  T.  Wilkes,  then  president  of  the 
board  of  education  said  at  the  time,  "is  to  formulate  a  plan  which  will  relieve 
present  crowded  conditions  and  provide  adequate  facilities  and  effective  cur- 
riculums  in  future  years  at  the  lowest  possible  cost  to  the  taxpayer." 

Among  major  problems  which  faced  the  board  were:  the  inadequacy  of  the 
antiquated  Holmes  school,  overcrowded  classrooms  at  the  Bryant  and  Lowell- 
Longfellow  schools,  the  condition  of  sanitary  facilities  at  the  Whittier  school 
and  the  ever-increasing  demand  by  the  public  for  kindergarten  training.  The  in- 
creased vehicular  traffic  and  the  resultant  increased  danger  to  school  children 
was  another  major  factor. 

The  findings  resulted  in  an  intensive  study  in  which  both  the  citizen's 
council  and  the  board  of  education  shared. 

Serious  discussion  in  a  series  of  meetings  and  a  tour  of  existing  facilities 
culminated  many  months  later  in  the  drafting  of  an  expansion  program  and, 
subsequently,  agreement  that  the  proposition  should  be  submitted  to  the  voters. 

Thus,  on  November  7,  1953,  residents  in  Grade  School  District  152  went 
to  the  polls  and  overwhelmingly  approved  by  a  vote  of  1,789  to  234,  a  margin 
of  almost  eight  to  one,  the  expansion  program.  It  was  the  biggest  school  elec- 
tion in  terms  of  votes  cast  in  the  history  of  the  district. 

In  general,  the  voters  granted  the  board  of  education  permission  to  obtain 
sites  for  four  schools  in  remote  portions  of  the  district,  neighborhood  type 
structures  enrolling  kindergarten  children  through  the  sixth  grade,  constructing 
kindergarten  and  administration  facilities  at  the  Whittier  school,  installing 
kindergarten  programs  at  the  Lowell  and  Bryant  schools,  and  remodeling  sani- 
tary facilities  at  the  Whittier  school. 

Accordingly,  in  August,  1954,  contracts  were  let  for  the  construction  of 
four  new  buildings,  later  to  be  named:  (1)  Sandburg  school,  145th  and 
Myrtle,  cost  $327,813;  (2)  Field  school,  147th  and  Wallace  Avenue,  cost 
$337,486;  (3)  Emerson  school,  158th  Street  and  Page  Avenue,  cost  $325,258; 
(4)  new  Holmes  school,  160th  Street  and  Carse  Avenue,  cost  $326,500. 

The  improvement  phase  of  the  project  followed  at  a  later  date. 

Although  considerable  effort  was  expended  in  trying  to  have  the  four  new 
buildings  complete  in  time  for  the  opening  of  the  school  term  in  September, 
1955,  construction  difficulties  made  this  impossible  and  at  the  time  only  two 
of  the  schools,  the  Emerson  and  the  Field,  were  ready  to  accept  students.  It  is 
significant  also  that  the  beginning  of  the  new  term  also  heralded  the  start  of 
kindergarten  classes  in  the  district  for  the  first  time  in  history. 

While  the  building  program  progressed,  the  year  1954  also  marked  the 
passing  of  an  old  school  landmark,  the  Holmes  school,  which  had  been  aban- 
doned and  the  children  assigned  to  the  Lowell  school.  Wreckers  removed  the 
last  vestiges  of  the  oldest  school  building  in  the  community  during  the  same 

Growing  pains  being  a  common  ailment  in  school  districts  it  was  natural 
that  with  an  expanding  community  a  need  was  felt  once  more  for  additional 
classroom  space,  and  again  an  education-conscious  electorate  approved  an  ex- 
pansion program  on  December  14,  1957.  In  this  instance,  expending  of  $875,- 
000  was  authorized  for:  (1)  construction  of  an  addition  to  the  Bryant  school 
at  147th  and  Main  Streets;  (2)  the  construction  of  a  new  school,  later  named 
the  Riley,  at  160th  and  Wood  Streets;  (3)  the  replacement  of  the  seriously  de- 
teriorated Lowell  school. 


The  three  propositions  presented  were  approved  by  a  total  vote  of  2,461  - 
691,  a  margin  of  more  than  three  and  a  half  to  one. 

The  Riley  school  and  the  new  Lowell  building  were  ready  to  receive  pupils 
in  September,  1959,  their  openings  having  been  preceded  during  the  previous 
winter  by  the  addition  at  the  Bryant  school. 

The  Grade  School  District  152  facilities  also  include  two  recent  additions 
to  existing  schools,  one  at  the  Sandburg  in  September,  1961,  and  the  other 
presently  proposed  for  the  Riley  school  and  expected  to  be  completed  by  Sep- 
tember, 1963.  It  should  be  pointed  out  here  that  these  two  improvements  were 
accomplished  without  the  necessity  of  the  board  of  education  asking  for  voter 
approval  of  the  needed  expenditure.  Both  were  built  from  funds  currently  in 
the  district's  building  fund. 

So  from  a  meager  beginning  of  one  small  building,  few  students  and  a 
single  teacher,  the  Grade  School  District  152  system  has  grown  into  an  opera- 
tion of  eight  institutions  located  strategically  throughout  the  district,  housing 
2,894  children  and  requiring  the  services  of  115  teachers,  including  principals 
at  each  institution,  not  to  mention  large  secretarial  and  custodial  staffs. 


F.  L.  Miller  May  5,  1896  to  June  30,  1932 

E.  E.  Bratcher  July   1,   1932  to  June  30,   1935 

C.  C.  Thompson  July  1,   1935  to  June  30,   1950 

Lee  M.  Morris  July   1,   1950  to  the  present 


James   Pettigrew  1896-1898  Carl   Madory  1932-1933 

A.  W.  Campbell  1898-1899  Jesse  D.  Coale  1933-1944 

G.  A.  Stevenson  1900-1902  Wm.  A.  Herrick  1944-1945 

W.  D.  Rogers  1902-1911  Dr.  H.  C.  Drummond     1945-1952 

Edward  Anderson  1911-1914  James  T.  Wilkes  1952-1958 

Thomas  C.  Stobbs  1914-1926  Dr.  Geo.  B.  Madory  ....1958-1959 

Lester  J.  Morrison  1926-1928  Dr.  H.  Vance  Phillips    1959-1960 

David  J.  Hughes  1928-1932  James  A.  Haines  1960-1963 


In  June,  1900,  a  noted  colored  evangelist,  Amanda  Smith,  purchased  a 
well-appointed  brick  building  at  147th  Street  and  Jefferson  Avenue  in  North 

Born  in  slavery  she  became  conscious  early  in  life  of  the  plight  of  the 
needs  of  uncared  for  colored  children.  Her  school,  she  felt,  was  a  partial 
answer  to  the  problem. 

Financed  by  public  contributions,  from  the  profits  of  a  small  newspaper 
she  published,  and  from  the  sale  of  her  autobiography,  the  school  cared  for  at 
least  thirty  pupils  each  year,  all  of  them  trained  to  lead  useful  lives.  The  food 
was  frugal,  though  substantial,  much  of  the  vegetables  being  grown  on  a  vacant 
lot  to  the  east  of  the  school  with  the  pupils  tilling  the  soil,  planting  the  seeds 
and  caring  for  the  crops. 

As  Mrs.  Smith  grew  older  she  found  the  pace  of  her  evangelistic  work,  plus 


that  of  caring  for  the  orphans  too  great  for  her  to  match  and  she  was  required 
to  turn  the  education  of  the  children  over  to  another  teacher  whose  name  has 
been  lost.  Older  youngsters  became  students  at  the  Bryant  school. 

In  1918,  an  early  evening  fire  swept  away  the  home  and  despite  the  best 
efforts  of  the  Harvey  Fire  Department,  two  of  the  twenty-two  children  asleep 
on  the  second  floor  died  of  suffocation  from  the  smoke.  Others,  all  ranging  in 
age  from  three  to  nine  years,  were  removed  to  safety.  Historians  recall  the 
valiant  efforts  of  Dr.  Thomas  Noble,  Dr.  G.  A.  Stevenson  and  Dr.  Morse,  who 
worked  throughout  the  night  to  revive  the  victims.  Neighbors  also  assisted  and 
took  many  of  the  children  into  their  homes  for  temporary  refuge. 

The  home  was  never  rebuilt  and  the  surviving  children  were  sent  to  other 
orphanages.  One  of  the  students,  a  James  Marshall,  continued  to  live  in  the 
community  and  at  one  time  was  employed  by  the  Oliver  Drug  Store  as  a 


Records  of  the  formation  of  this  school  district  are  either  missing  or  vague 
and  the  only  reference  as  to  its  beginning  is  found  in  a  terse  statement  by  an 
unknown  pioneer  that  "in  1902  D.  W.  Gamble  was  the  principal  in  District 
147  which  had  a  four-room  and  two  one-room  schools." 

However,  in  the  school  archives  there  is  a  note  that  Francis  Thompson 
was  principal  in  1901. 

This  district  is  not  so  closely  associated  with  Harvey  history  as  either  Grade 
School  District  152  or  Thornton  Township  High  School  District  205.  Actual- 
ly only  one  of  four  schools,  the  Washington,  is  located  within  the  city  limits. 
The  McKinley  and  Lincoln  schools  are  in  Dixmoor  and  the  Garfield  in 
Blue  Island. 

It  should  suffice,  therefore,  to  record  that  superintendents  who  have  served 
the  district  through  the  years  were:  Francis  Thompson  (1901),  D.  W.  Gamble 
(1902-1906),  Louis  A.  Pringle  (1906-1943),  Elmer  G.  Kich  (1943-1961), 
Bert  Williams  (1961-  ). 

Principals  who  have  served  the  Washington  school  are:  James  Rickhoff 
(1940-1943),  George  Lieb  (1945-1948),  George  Lehner  (1948-1952),  and 
Stanley  J.  Sieman  (1952  to  the  present). 

Because  of  his  years  of  service  to  the  district,  special  mention  should  be 
tendered  Elmer  G.  Kich,  a  former  Harvey  resident,  who  retired  from  the  educa- 
tional field  after  having  served  the  district  for  35  years,  from  1926  to  1961. 

Prior  to  his  promotion  to  district  superintendent  in  1943,  Mr.  Kich  was 
employed  as  the  assistant  principal  at  the  McKinley  school  from  1926  to  1928 
and  as  principal  from  1928  to  1942. 

The  membership  of  the  first  board  of  education  in  1900  consisted  of:  E. 
J.  Walthers,  president,  and  Thomas  W.  Smith,  George  Weseloh,  Henry  Rust, 
George  Salkeld,  Fred  Heintz  and  John  Ruess. 

The  original  Washington  school  at  154th  Street  and  Lincoln  Avenue,  a 
building  that  served  Harvey's  pupils  on  the  far  west  side,  was  constructed  in 
1896.  It  was  abandoned  in  1928  when  the  new  Washington  School  was  built  at 
153rd  Street  and  Lincoln  Avenue.  The  old  school  was  subsequently  demolished 
and  the  property  later  sold  at  auction. 

Since  its  erection,  the  Washington  School  has  been  enlarged.  In  1952  six 
classrooms  were  added,  and  again  in  1958  five  classrooms  were  added. 

The  original  Lincoln-McKinley  school,  which  serves  some  Harvey  residents, 


was  erected  in  1897.  Destroyed  by  fire  in  1922,  it  was  replaced  by  a  new 
brick  structure.  Additions  have  been  made  to  the  building,  seven  classrooms  in 
1949  and  six  classrooms  in  1954. 

The  present  board  of  education  consists  of  Fred  Clavio,  president,  Lloyd 
M.  Dutell,  Roy  L.  Evans,  Robert  R.  Frederick,  Kenneth  R.  Matthies,  Sr., 
Arthur  S.  Sorensen  and  Carl  Sholeen. 


Harvey  once  had  a  high  school  all  of  its  own,  but  it  was  short  lived.  As  a 
matter  of  fact,  founded  in  1892,  it  ceased  to  exist  in  1898  with  the  formation 
of  Thornton  Township  High  School  District  205. 

When  it  became  evident  that  the  Harvey  High  school  would  develop  far 
beyond  the  capacity  of  the  financial  resources  of  the  community  it  was 
Prof.  F.  L.  Miller,  superintendent  of  the  grade  school  district,  who  suggested 
the  organization  of  a  high  school  district.  It  was  discussed  for  a  year  before 
any  concrete  steps  were  taken.  The  proposition  was  submitted  to  the  township 
voters  and  despite  considerable  opposition,  the  proposition  carried  and  the 
township  high  school  district  became  a  reality.  Named  to  its  board  of  educa- 
tion were  W.  H.  Miller,  a  banker;  J.  A.  Lawson,  a  mechanic;  F.  C.  Howland 
and  F.  A.  Braley,  merchants,  and  J.  C.  Howe,  a  farmer. 

A  school  site,  one  block  square  in  size,  was  bought  and  upon  it  rose  a 
three-story  building  made  of  '"granite  and  terra  cotta  with  tile  roof".  It  is  the 
center  building  of  the  group  which  now  constitute  Thornton  Township  high 

Early  documents  say  it  had  "every  device  for  the  comfort  and  convenience 
of  students  and  teachers  known  in  modern  school  architecture."  Dedication  of 
the  $100,000  structure  was  held  on  May  25,  1900. 


Beginning  with  just  four  teachers  the  school  in  1903  employed  seven. 

The  first  change  in  administration  came  in  1908  when  Professor  Cable  re- 
signed and  his  position  was  assumed  by  Lewis  W.  Smith.  This  same  year  four 
new  members  were  elected  to  the  school  board.  Included  were  Dr.  T.  A. 
Noble  who  was  to  serve  for  many  years;  W.  H.  Pease,  J.  H.  McKee  and  L.  A. 

Although  it  was  generally  believed  that  the  original  building  would  serve 
the  students  adequately  for  many  years  it  became  evident  that  the  building  was 
soon  to  become  too  small.  Within  a  decade  the  enrollment  had  more  than 
doubled  to  255  students  and  the  class  of  1909  graduated  28  students. 

Certain  departments  needed  additional  space  to  continue  their  effective 
work  and  the  demand  for  a  more  comprehensive  curriculum  became  wide- 

To  meet  this  situation  the  board  of  education  submitted  a  bond  issue  of 
$140,000,  small  by  today's  standards  but  great  by  those  of  the  time.  Although 
it  was  defeated  by  the  voters  in  February,  1910,  it  was  approved  when  re- 
submitted in  August  of  the  same  year.  South  and  north  wings  to  the  original 
building  were  dedicated  in  the  Spring  of  1912. 

Lewis  W.  Smith  continued  as  principal  until  1919  when  William  E.  McVey, 
who  was  to  have  a  long  and  illustrious  career  at  the  high  school,  was  named 
principal.  He  served  until  1926  as  principal  when  the  board  of  education 
changed  his  title  to  the  more  august  one  of  superintendent.  Mr.  McVey  con- 
tinued to  serve  until  his  resignation  in  August,  1947.  It  is  worthy  of  note  that 
once  he  retired  from  the  educational  field,  Dr.  McVey  was  to  serve  the  Fourth 
Congressional  District  as  a  member  of  the  United  States  House  of  Representa- 
tives, a  position  he  held  until  his  death.  A  more  detailed  story  of  Dr.  McVey's 
career  will  be  found  elsewhere  in  this  volume. 

Many  educational  innovations  were  introduced  during  Dr.  McVey's  super- 
intendency.  The  student  population  had  grown  from  416  in  1920  to  1,390  in 

A  proponent  of  the  junior  college  movement,  it  was  Dr.  McVey  who  intro- 
duced the  idea  to  the  board  of  education  and  it  became  a  part  of  the  township 
educational  system  in  1927.  The  first  graduation  class  in  1929  numbered  47. 
It  has  served  the  purpose  for  which  it  was  intended,  to  prepare  its  students  for 
the  third  and  fourth  years  of  college  at  a  cost  within  the  reach  of  all  parents. 

During  the  1930's  the  school  continued  to  experience  a  steady  increase  in 
enrollment,  as  a  matter  of  fact  the  student  body  numbered  2,919  in  1940,  and 
the  existing  facilities  were  strained  in  an  effort  to  maintain  the  quality  of 

By  1934  the  original  buildings  had  become  so  crowded  that  it  became 
necessary  to  install  a  two-shift  program,  with  half  of  the  student  body  attend- 
ing morning  classes  and  the  others  in  the  afternoon. 

In  1936  another  addition  was  begun.  It  included  new  classrooms,  two 
study  halls,  a  theater,  a  music  department  with  soundproof  studios  and  a  new 
and  larger  cafeteria. 

The  addition  made  possible  the  return  to  a  single  schedule,  but  in  less  than 
10  years  a  rapidly  increasing  student  enrollment  made  necessary  still  another 
addition  and  in  November,  1948,  eight  business  department  classrooms  with 
modern  business  training  facilities  made  their  debut. 

Although  the  building  program  for  academic  purposes  developed  at  inter- 
vals, adequate  provisions  for  physical  education  had  not  been  provided. 

The  old  Buda  gym  at  149th  Street  and  Center  Avenue  became  high  school 


district  property.  Beginning  in  1926  boys'  gym  classes  were  transferred  from  the 
old  building  and  all  indoor  athletic  contests  were  held  there.  In  1927  a  pool 
for  use  by  both  boy  and  girl  students  was  installed,  but  even  these  facilities 
failed  to  meet  the  ever-growing  demand.  This  set  the  stage  for  the  erection  of 
the  fine  physical  education  plant  of  today,  although  it  was  not  until  1950  that 
the  new  building  became  a  reality. 

In  1958  the  mathematics  and  social  studies  departments,  together  with  the 
administrative  and  counselors'  offices,  were  moved  from  their  old  locations 
into  the  new  two-floor  wing  in  the  southwest  corner  of  the  campus.  This  wing 
had  been  completed  as  one  phase  of  a  $6,800,000  bond  issue  which  also  saw 
the  erection  of  a  new  township  high  school,  Thornridge,  in  Dolton,  placed 
there  to  accommodate  the  students  that  came  into  the  township  in  the  tremen- 
dous residential  building  boom  of  the  decade  ending  in  1959. 

Details  of  the  new  high  school  are  not  recorded  here  because  of  its  loca- 
tion outside  the  City  of  Harvey. 

It  is  significant  to  note  that  as  this  history  is  being  written  another  bond 
issue  for  $4,500,000  submitted  to  the  township  voters,  this  for  addi- 
tions to  both  the  Thornton  and  Thornridge  structures,  was  approved  on 
October  27,   1962. 

In  its  more  than  60  years  of  history  Thornton  Township  high  school  has 
had  remarkably  few  superintendents.  Upon  Mr.  McVey's  resignation  in  1947 
Dr.  Clifford  Maddox  served  as  acting  superintendent  for  the  1947-48  school 
year  with  Joseph  B.  Stephens  serving  as  his  assistant.  Dr.  A.  V.  Lockhart 
served  from  August,  1948  to  January,  1950  when  he  resigned  because  of  ill 
health.  Mr.  Stephens  also  served  as  his  assistant  and  then  became  acting 
superintendent  until  September  of  the  same  year. 

Theodore  R.  Birkhead  became  superintendent  on  August  30,  1950,  and 
served  until  1952  when  he  was  succeeded  by  Dr.  Ernest  M.  Hanson.  Because  of 
illness  Dr.  Hanson  resigned  the  position  in  March,  1957,  but  he  remains  today 
as  a  member  of  the  administrative  staff.  James  L.  Beck  served  from  March  to 
July  1957  when  Dr.  J.  D.  Logsdon,  the  present  superintendent,  took  over  the 

Throughout  the  years  many  members  of  the  faculty  have  built  up  impressive 
records  and  the  list  of  those  who  have  served  for  25  years  and  more  is  long, 

It  is  fitting  here,  that  those  who  have  compiled  30  years  or  more  of  service 
to  the  school  should  be  recognized.  Dean  of  all  teachers  in  terms  of  years  of 
service  was  O.  Fred  Umbaugh  who  taught  for  46  years  before  his  retirement  in 
1960.  Mae  M.  Sexauer  served  43  years  before  her  retirement  in  1961.  Guy 
Phillips  had  a  record  of  38  years  before  he  retired  in  1961  and  James  L.  Beck 
retired  in  June,  1960  after  being  on  the  staff  for  41  years.  Another  veteran  be- 
fore his  retirement  in  1958  was  Arthur  C.  Brookley,  a  teacher  for  42  years. 

Still  a  member  of  the  faculty  after  having  served  37  years  is  William  C. 
Fowler.  Lawrence  Britton  taught  for  36  years  before  he  retired  in  1960  and 
Joseph  B.  Stephens  served  for  35  years  prior  to  his  death  in  1959. 

Leona  H.  Benson  had  a  record  of  34  years  on  the  staff  before  she  retired  in 
1955,  as  did  Grace  Holton  before  her  death  in  1961.  His  retirement  in  1956 
ended  33  years  as  a  Thornton  teacher  for  Daniel  P.  Van  Etten. 

Teachers  with  30  years  of  service  who  retired  or  died  while  faculty  mem- 
bers were:  Don  C.  Allen,  Mildren  Anderson,  Vera  Crites,  Dr.  Minna  Jewell, 
Jacob  L.  Zimmerman,  Eva  L.  Lieber.  Mr.  Allen  and  Miss  Lieber  died,  the  others 
are  retired.  Since  his  retirement  Mr.  Zimmerman  has  died. 




















There  are  a  number  of  teachers  still  on  the  faculty  who  have  long  records 
of  service.  Included  are:  Clarence  C.  Stegmeier  (35),  Elmer  C.  Ohlert  (34), 
Marie  H.  Wallace  (32),  Dorothea  Thiel  (33),  Gilbert  R.  Valbert  (34),  Flor- 
ence Waterman  (33),  Celeste  Noel  (32),  Thielen  B.  Huddlestun  and  Wilma  V. 
Reed  (31),  Florence  Wunderlich  (33). 

The  following  statistics  reveal  the  growth  of  the  township  high  school  over 
the  years. 

Students  Faculty 

1895    66 

1898    96 

1900   129 

1910   266 

1920   416 

1930  1390 

1940  2919 

1950  3400 

1959  4262* 

1960  2923 

1961  3135 

1962  3509 

*  Occupation  of  Thornridge  high  school  in  Dolton  began  at  the  second 
semester  when  1023  students  were  transferred.  A  portion  of  the  faculty 
also  transferred.  Since  then  the  student  body  at  Thornridge  has  numbered 
1,560  in  1960,  1,920  in  1961,  and  2,220  in  1962. 
Indicative  of  the  physical  growth  of  the  township  high  school  district  facili- 
ties are  the  bond  issues  that  have  been  approved  through  the  years.  They  are 
as  follows: 

1898  —  About  $120,000  for  the  original  three-story  building. 

1910  —  $140,000  for  an  auditorium  and  a  cafeteria. 

1925  —  $345,000  for  vocational  shops,  home  economics  and  art  rooms, 

swimming  pool  and  heating  plant. 
1936  —  $300,000  for  a  northwest  wing  housing  science  classrooms  and 

1947  — $1,500,000,  of  which  $1,350,000  was  for  new  gymnasium  and 
swimming  pool,   the  balance  for  a  business  department,   addi- 
tional cafeteria  area  and  a  new  music  department. 

1956  —  $400,000  for  purchase  of  Thornridge  high  school  site  in  Dolton. 

1957  —  $6,800,000  to  build  Thornridge,  to  add  a  southwest  wing  of 

classroom  and  administrative  offices  at  Thornton,  and  $600,000 
to  build  a  vocational  training  building  on  Main  Street. 
1962  —  $4,500,000  for  classroom  additions  at  Thornridge  high,  improve- 
ment and  construction  of  girl's  physical  educational  facilities  at 
Thornton  and  enlarging  of  Thornton  auditorium. 

Finally,  the  growth  of  the  schools  is  indicated  in  terms  of  money  expended 
for  their  operation.  Operating  budgets  prior  to  1929  were  unobtainable.  There- 
after they  are: 

1929  —  $344,500  1959  —  $4,803,433 

1939  —  $241,019  1962  —  $4,615,541 

Many  of  the  township's  outstanding  citizens  have,  as  members  of  the  board 

of  education,  determined  the  policies  of  the  school  and  many  gave  of  their 

efforts  over  long  periods  of  years.  In  1898  the  board  consisted  of:  W.  H.  Miller, 


president,  and  members  F.  G.  Howland,  F.  A.  Braley,  J.  C.  Howe,  James  A. 

W.  H.  Miller  was  still  president  in  1908  but  new  members  were  W.  H. 
Pease,  J.  H.  McKee,  Dr.  T.  A.  Noble,  L.  A.  Dolton.  Dr.  Noble  assumed  the 
presidency  of  the  board  in  1912.  E.  A.  Adams  was  named  a  board  member. 
A.  H.  McDougall  and  George  Gibson  were  elected  in  1913. 

Dr.  T.  A.  Noble  became  president  in  1919  and  members  were  Charles  E. 
Waterman,  A.  H.  McDougall,  G.  H.  Gibson,  W.  G.  Morse.  This  board  func- 
tioned until  1927  when  E.  P.  Dickey  replaced  W.  G.  Morse.  Dr.  Noble  died 
in  1927  and  Charles  E.  Waterman  became  the  president.  W.  R.  Brandt  was 
named  to  fill  the  vacancy  that  was  created.  This  board  functioned  until  1934 
when  George  P.  Fisher  replaced  E.  P.  Dickey. 

In  1935  Harry  A.  Malone  succeeded  Charles  Waterman  on  the  board, 
Herbert  S.  Dickinson  was  elected  to  succeed  William  R.  Brandt,  and  A.  H. 
MacDougall  was  named  president. 

Charles  E.  Waterman  and  William  R.  Brandt  returned  to  the  board  in  1938, 
replacing  Harry  A.  Malone  and  Herbert  S.  Dickinson,  Walter  Haines  was 
elected  to  the  board  in   1939  when  George  P.  Fisher  retired. 

Charles  E.  Waterman  died  December  28,  1940,  and  in  April,  1941,  Edwin 
Waterman  and  Frank  P.  Cowing  were  named  to  the  board  replacing  Mr.  Water- 
man and  William  Brandt. 

G.  H.  Gibson  was  elected  president  in  1944  and  functioned  with  the  same 
board  until  1950  when  William  B.  Kane  succeeded  Frank  P.  Cowing  as  a 

When  Walter  Haines  and  George  H.  Gibson  retired  in  1951  they  were 
succeeded  by  George  H.  Meyer  and  Dr.  Clarence  Simon.  In  1952  the  board 
was  increased  to  seven  members.  During  the  year  A.  H.  MacDougall  retired. 
Named  to  the  board  then  were  Henry  J.  Van  Der  Giessen,  George  E.  Gilley 
and  Fred  T.  Ehlert. 

When  Edwin  Waterman  retired  as  president  in  1953  William  B.  Kane  was 
named  president  and  Henry  Vandenberg  was  elected.  The  board  remained  the 
same  until  1955  when  Herbert  G.  Greiner  and  Dr.  Frederick  Weiss  replaced 
George  E.  Gilley  and  Henry  Van  Der  Giessen,  who  retired. 

In  1958  William  B.  Kane  resigned  and  he  was  succeeded  in  the  presidency 
by  Fred  T.  Ehlert  who  died  in  1961.  The  presidency  then  was  assumed  by 
Henry  Vandenberg.  Membership  of  the  board  then  consisted  of  Mr.  Ehlert,  Mr. 
Vandenberg,  Herbert  Greiner,  Harold  J.  Gouwens,  Robert  H.  Reese,  Mrs. 
Robert  C.  Pebworth  and  Louis  Boudreau,  who  was  named  to  fill  the  Kane 

The  present  board  consists  of  President  Henry  Vandenberg,  Louis  Boud- 
reau, Harold  J.  Gouwens,  Herbert  G.  Greiner,  James  T.  Ozment,  Mrs.  Robert 
Pebworth  and  Robert  H.  Reese.  Mr.  Ozment  had  been  appointed  a  board 
member  upon  the  death  of  Mr.  Ehlert.  Burton  Evans  serves  as  the  board's 
counsel,  J.  A.  Peterson  as  the  business  manager,  Howard  Doster  as  superin- 
tendent of  buildings  and  grounds,  Dr.  Ernest  M.  Hanson  as  director  of  research. 

August  F.  Waldschmidt  has  served  as  the  Thornton  Township  treasurer  con- 
tinuously since  his  appointment  by  the  Thornton  Township  Board  of  School 
Trustees  in  1934. 


As  Ascension   parish   grew   the   necessity   for  a   school   where   a   Christian 


education  could  be  provided  for  Catholic  children  became  increasingly  acute 
and  it  was  during  the  summer  of  1913  that  Father  McCarthy  visited  the 
Mother  House  of  the  Sisters  of  St.  Dominic  in  Adrian,  Michigan,  with  the 
objective  of  getting  teachers  to  staff  a  parish  school. 

His  request  was  granted  by  Mother  Camilla  of  the  Order,  who  assigned 
four  nuns  to  provide  the  instruction. 

On  August  21,  1913  Sister  Ida,  assigned  as  the  superior,  arrived  in  the  city 
with  Sister  Constance,  Sister  De  Paul  and  Sister  Winifred  and  took  possession 
of  the  now  demolished  little  residence  on  Vine  Avenue  for  use  as  a  convent. 
During  the  next  month  detailed  plans  were  made  for  the  opening  of  the  school 
which  was  to  become  known  as  the  Columbus.  The  school  was  opened  in  the 
building  on  153rd  Street  just  to  the  rear  of  the  church,  later  to  be  transformed 
into  a  convent. 

Several  years  after  the  school  had  been  established,  the  sisters  were  moved 
into  the  school  building  where  they  occupied  quarters  on  the  second  floor.  The 
first  and  third  floors  were  utilized  for  classrooms. 

A  parish  historian  points  out  that  "during  these  years  the  sisters  had  varied 
experiences,  with  numerous  school  activities  being  conducted  above  and  below 
the  convent." 

Although  classes  were  small  durnig  the  first  few  years  of  the  school,  a 
steady  growth  was  experienced  and  each  year  saw  the  enrollment  increase.  It 
is  significant  to  note  here  that  the  first  graduating  class  in  1914  consisted  of  six 
members,  Frances  Cochrane,  Bessie  Simons,  Theodore  Walenga,  Arthur  Klein, 
Benjamin  and  Dorothy  Gibson. 

The  constant  growth  in  student  population  soon  posed  a  space  problem  and 
wheels  were  set  in  motion  for  the  erection  of  a  new  school  building.  The 
cornerstone  for  what  was  to  be  called  Ascension  school,  was  laid  in  1926  and  in 
early  1927  the  school  welcomed  its  first  pupils.  Its  first  graduation  class 
numbered  25  students. 

Each  of  the  pastors  of  the  church  took  an  active  interest  in  the  affairs  of 
the  school  but  the  Rev.  Edward  Holloway  was  credited  with  having  opened  up 
many  new  avenues  of  activity  for  the  students.  He  arranged  for  their  participa- 
tion in  religious  exercises,  for  the  establishment  of  a  kindergarten  which  he 
founded  in  1943.  Thirty  youngsters  constituted  the  first  kindergarten  class,  al- 
though the  grade  school  had  shown  great  growth  requiring  the  increase  in  the 
teaching  staff  to  eight  sisters. 

For  many  years,  Ascension  had  the  only  kindergarten  in  the  community. 

Sister  Ida,  whose  dedicated  effort  got  the  fledgling  school  away  to  an  im- 
pressive start,  and  her  companions,  have  since  died,  but  their  inspiring  tradition 
of  service  to  the  students  has  been  carried  on  effectively  by  a  succession  of  out- 
standing educators,  including  Sister  Rose  Vincent,  Sister  Marcella,  Sister  An- 
thony, Sister  Florence,  Sister  Regina  Grace,  Sister  Madeline,  Sister  Louise 
Cecile,  the  present  superior. 

Largely  through  the  inspiration  of  Father  Holloway,  not  only  students  at 
Ascension,  but  other  Catholic  children  attending  the  public  schools  have  been 
provided  with  effective  religious  educations,  classes  for  the  latter  being  held 
on  Saturday  and  Sunday  mornings. 

The  quality  of  education  offered  Catholic  children  in  the  community  has 
been  maintained  by  the  present  pastor,  the  Rev.  James  E.  Shevlin  and  gradu- 
ates of  Ascension  are  to  be  found  in  numbers  in  the  honor  groups  not  only  at 
Catholic  high  schools,  but  at  Thornton  Township  High  School. 



"In  every  rank,  or  great  or 
small,  'Tis  industry  that 
supports  us  all." 

John  Gay 




The  most  important  contribution  to  the  well-being  of  any  community  is  its 
industry  and  where  industry  is  a  major  tax  contributor  a  community  is  usually 
found  to  have  excellent  schools  and  an  equally  excellent  business  climate.  This 
is  most  true  in  Harvey  where  industry  is  a  monetary  giant  when  its  importance 
to  every  facet  of  community  life  is  considered. 

According  to  the  latest  figures  available,  those  for  1959,  combined  employ- 
ment of  the  city's  industrial  interests  totaled  almost  8,000,  and  split  among  this 
army  of  workers  was  a  vast  payroll  of  more  than  $47,000,000. 

In  a  "Salute  to  Industry"  in  1960,  the  Harvey  Association  of  Commerce  and 
Industry  said:  "The  high  employment  of  today  which  is  earning  this  money  is 
reflected  in  Harvey  in  the  ways  of  high  home  building,  increased  business 
activity  and  better  living  conditions." 

Retail  sales  here  are  in  direct  proportion  to  the  amount  of  industrial 
activitv  and  it  is  important  to  record  that  such  sales  amounted  to  more  than 
$50,000,000  in  1959. 

Of  great  importance  are  the  industrial  contributions  to  the  public  welfare 
in  the  form  of  taxes  and  in  the  year  1959  these  taxes  amounted  to  $1,176,000. 
The  combined  total  of  tax  monies  received  from  every  other  tax  source  was 
about  $1,184,000.  From  these  figures  it  is  apparent  that  a  50  per  cent  share  of 
the  entire  tax  bill  is  borne  by  the  city's  industrial  interests. 

When  one  considers  the  excellent  school  system  which  Harvey  people  en- 
joy he  must  consider  the  major  role  played  by  industry  in  making  possible  this 
fine  system.  Almost  75  per  cent  of  taxes  collected  are  received  by  the  schools, 
with  other  shares  going  to  a  number  of  taxing  bodies,  including  the  city  gov- 

Historical  sketches  of  Harvey's  industries,  both  old  and  new,  are  recorded 
on  the  subsequent  pages. 


Forerunners  of  the  Harvey  Association  of  Commerce  and  Industry  were 
the  Harvey  Chamber  of  Commerce  which  was  organized  in  1905  and  survived 
until  1922;  the  Harvey  Businessman's  Association  formed  in  1935  at  the  con- 
clusion of  the  depression. 

In  1940  the  name  of  the  Businessmen's  association  was  changed  and  its 
membership  became  members  of  the  Harvey  Association  of  Commerce,  a 
name  to  be  changed  again  to  the  Harvey  Association  of  Commerce  and  In- 
dustry in  1955. 

Businessmen  and  representatives  of  industry  comprise  the  association  mem- 
bership and,  because  of  their  deep  interest  in  the  welfare  of  the  community  as 
a  retail  center  and  as  a  community  with  an  adequate  labor  force,  they  have 
been  able  to  contribute  much  to  the  growth  of  the  city. 

Their  suggestions  to  the  city  government  over  the  years  have  resulted  in 
many  civic  improvements  and  the  two  bodies,  government  and  the  association, 
have  worked  in  close  cooperation  toward  making  the  city  one  of  the  finest  in 
the  south  suburban  area,  one  in  which  the  citizens,  business  and  industry  work 
toward  a  common  goal. 


The  association  has  enjoyed  the  benefits  of  excellent  leadership  as  is  evi- 
denced by  the  following  men  who  have  served  as  presidents: 

Benjamin  Sachs  ...7.7...  1940  Nelson  DeFord  1951 

John  Bardwick,  Jr 1941  Clyde  W.  Byers  1952 

John  Bardwick,  Jr 1942  L.  B.  Powell  1953 

Paul  W.   Soenksen   1943  L.  B.  Powell  1954 

W.   H.   Hammer  1944  Harry  Krogh  1955 

W.   H.  Hammer  1945  Harry  Krogh  1956 

Henry  C.  Piel  1946  Herbert  C.  Nielsen  1957 

Henry  C.  Piel  1947  Glen  Barger  1958 

William  D.  O'Hara  1948  Louis  B.  Gross  1959 

William  D.  O'Hara  1949  Dwain  D.  Marsh  1960 

Nelson  DeFord  1950  Dr.  H.  Vance  Phillips  1961-62 


Founded  in  1911  as  the  Harvey  Building  and  Loan  Association,  the  Harvey 
Federal  Savings  and  Loan  Assocaition  has  become  increasingly  important  on  the 
local  financial  horizon  over  the  succeeding  51   years. 

It  should  be  noted  that  the  association  had  assets  of  less  than  $3,000  at  its 
founding.  Today  those  assets  have  reached  the  astronomical  total  of 

Since  its  founding  the  association  has  had  a  two-fold  purpose  to  which  it 
has  rigidly  adhered  —  promoting  community  thrift  and  home  ownership. 

Despite  changing  times,  high  and  low  economic  periods,  no  investor  has 
suffered  monetary  loss  from  his  investment.  Funds  which  have  flowed  into  the 
association  from  investors  have  been  wisely  channeled  toward  the  objective  of 
its  founders  —  home  ownership,  and  Harvey  Federal  Savings  mortgage  loans 
have  in  great  measure  contributed  to  Harvey's  present  stature  as  a  community 
of  home  owners. 

Originally,  the  association  was  set  up  most  inconspicuously,  in  the  real 
estate  office  of  a  Harvey  pioneer,  A.  W.  Campbell,  who  became  the  secretary. 
From  that  point  it  enjoyed  a  healthy  and  consistent  growth.  Savings  accounts 
grew,  mortgage  loans  increased  under  strong  management  and  direction.  It  is 
noteworthy  that  the  association  has  never  failed  to  pay  a  dividend  to  its  inves- 
tors during  its  51  years  of  existence. 

In  1934  the  association  received  a  charter  from  the  Federal  government, 
the  action  being  taken  to  provide  insurance  of  the  accounts  of  investors  by  the 
Federal  Savings  and  Loan  Insurance  Corporation,  an  agency  of  the  United 
States  government.  Under  this  arrangement  the  association  is  under  federal 
supervision  and  examination.  In  addition,  the  new  charter  helped  simplify  the 
operations  of  the  institution  and  provided  modern  principles  of  operation. 

The  present  executive  officer  in  the  association,  John  Bardwick,  Jr.,  presi- 
dent, began  his  association  with  the  institution  in  1924  when  it  was  still  housed 
in  the  small  Campbell  office  at  15407  Broadway.  In  1929  Mr.  Bardwick  was 
elected  to  the  board  of  directors  and  one  year  later  he  assumed  complete  charge 
of  the  association  operation. 

In  1934,  because  of  his  knowledge  of  building  and  loan  work,  he  was  called 
to  Washington,  D.C.,  to  serve  as  federal  representative  for  the  Federal  Home 


Loan  Bank  in  Illinois.  He  served  until  the  spring  of  1935  when  he  resigned  and 
returned  to  active  management  of  the  Harvey  association. 

However,  the  following  year  he  took  a  leave  of  absence  to  accept  the  posi- 
tion of  vice  president  of  the  Federal  Home  Loan  Bank  in  Chicago,  serving  the 
states  of  Illinois  and  Wisconsin.  Subsequently  he  was  elected  also  as  treasurer. 
Despite  these  pressing  duties  he  actively  served  the  Harvey  association,  con- 
tinued as  a  member  of  its  board  of  directors  and  devoted  much  of  his  free  time 
to  its  affairs. 

Early  in  1939  he  resigned  from  the  Chicago  institution  and  returned  to  take 
active  charge  of  the  Harvey  association.  That  fall  he  was  elected  president  and 
he  has  served  continuously  in  that  capacity  since. 

In  the  interim,  the  association  moved  from  its  comparatively  humble 
quarters  on  Broadway  to  15407  Center  Avenue,  and  it  was  at  this  location 
that  it  survived  the  depression,  despite  the  fact  that  many  investors  were  forced 
to  convert  savings  accounts  into  cash  for  daily  living  expenses.  The  association 
was  not  only  able  to  handle  all  such  requests  but  continued  to  pay  its  annual 
dividend,  a  unique  accomplishment  for  the  times,  indeed. 

By  1940  shareholders  numbered  1,647,  the  institution  had  767  real  estate 
loans  and  assets  had  reached  $2,619,117.  Twenty-two  years  later,  in  1962, 
those  assets  have  grown  to  $35,556,326. 

The  association  has  always  had  the  benefit  of  a  fine  directorship  with 
qualified  leadership.  During  the  years  since  1940  the  following  have  served 
as  chairmen  of  the  board  of  directors:  H.  S.  Dickinson,  January  15,  1940,  to 
March,  1940;  Dr.  A.  R.  Anderson,  March  1940  to  January  1945;  George  F. 
Sutton,  January  15,  1945  to  his  death  in  October,  1945;  Harry  W.  Vinke,  who 
finished  Mr.  Sutton's  term  and  then  was  elected  chairman  in  January,  1946, 
serving  until  January  1950;  A.  Myron  Lambert,  January,  1955  to  January 
1959;  Guy  T.  Avery,  January  1959  to  the  present. 

Current  officers  are:  John  Bardwick,  Jr.,  president;  W.  H.  Hammer,  vice 
president;  Raymond  L.  Jenkins,  vice  president  and  secretary;  Thomas  Bard- 
wick, vice  president;  William  H.  Metz,  assistant  vice  president;  Martin  L. 
Chadwick,  treasurer. 

Members  of  the  board  of  directors  are:  Guy  T.  Avery,  Owen  J.  Higgins, 
Dr.  A.  R.  Anderson,  John  Bardwick,  Jr.,  John  P.  Buck,  Jack  A.  Handley,  Harry 
N.  Krogh,  A.  Myron  Lambert,  Foss  P.  Miller,  Paul  W.  Soenksen,  Harry  W. 
Vinke,  and  Robert  E.  Zell. 


The  history  of  Whiting  Corporation  is,  in  large  part,  the  story  of  its  founder, 
J.  H.  Whiting,  who  until  his  death  in  1935,  had  been  for  over  50  years  the 
active  head  and  guiding  hand  of  the  company. 

As  a  young  man,  Mr.  Whiting  secured  employment  with  the  Car  Wheel 
Foundry  in  Detroit.  Often  he  told  his  co-workers  that  he  would  do  most  of 
his  clerical  work  at  night  so  that  he  would  have  more  time  to  spend  in  the 
foundry  by  day  and  thus  learn  the  car  wheel  business.  Learn  it  he  did,  and 
eventually  he  became  superintendent  and  part-owner  of  the  shop. 

At  that  time,  it  was  the  custom  for  foundries  to  build  their  own  machinery, 
including  the  cupola  furnace  for  melting  iron.  Some  of  it  was  very  crude.  Mr. 
Whiting  decided  to  try  his  hand  at  building  cupolas,  using  the  improved  con- 
struction which  he  had  developed  and  patented.  With  the  aid  of  a  few  friends, 
a  small  company  was  organized  under  the  name  of  Detroit  Foundry  Equipment 


Company;  and  in  1884,  the  manufacture  of  Whiting  cupolas  was  under  way. 

Attracted  to  Chicago  as  the  business  center  of  the  Midwest  by  the  World's 
Fair  of  1893,  Mr.  Whiting  decided  in  1894  to  leave  Detroit  and  settle  at 
Harvey,  at  the  same  time  changing  the  name  of  his  company  to  the  Whiting 
Foundry  Equipment  Company.  This  name  was  used  until  1920  when  the 
name  was  changed  to  Whiting  Corporation. 

These  early  years  were  full  of  struggle.  The  country  was  suffering  the  ef- 
fects of  a  depression.  But  somehow  the  company  managed  to  survive  and  gradu- 
ally got  on  its  feet,  keeping  out  of  debt  and  plowing  earnings  back  into  the 
business.  Additional  ground  was  purchased  and  new  buildings  and  machinery 
provided,  until  today  the  plant  nouses  ample  facilities  for  the  manufacture 
of  many  different  kinds  of  heavy  machinery  and  industrial  equipment. 

The  Whiting  cupola  is  still  the  standard  iron  melter  in  America.  Approxi- 
mately 6,000  cupolas  have  been  built,  about  80  per  cent  of  the  gray  iron  melted 
in  the  United  States  today  is  melted  in  Whiting  cupolas.  Other  products  of 
Whiting's  Metallurgical  Equipment  Division  include  the  Hydro-Arc  electric 
furnace,  some  200  different  types  of  ladles  plus  air  furnaces,  annealing  ovens, 
mechanical  charging  devices,  and  a  number  of  smaller  items  too  numerous  to 
mention  here. 

Whiting  entered  the  material  handling  field  in  these  early  years  through 
the  request  of  a  regular  foundry  customer  who  was  in  need  of  an  overhead 
crane.  This  first  Whiting  crane  was  constructed  outdoors  on  wooden  horses 
and  skidded  on  to  a  rail  car  for  shipment.  From  making  cranes  for  foundries 
to  making  cranes  for  other  plants  was  a  short  step.  Today  the  Crane  Division 
accounts  for  a  substantial  share,  in  terms  of  volume,  of  Whiting's  output. 

Whiting  was  the  first  to  market  a  crane  completely  equipped  with  roller 
bearings  and  herringbone  gears  and  other  refinements  which  insure  smooth, 
effective,  overhead  handling  at  lowest  possible  cost.  As  one  of  the  major  crane 
builders  in  this  country,  Whiting  serves  an  ever  increasing  circle  of  industries, 
including  railroad  shops,  power  plants,  automotive  factories,  plate  glass  plants, 
paper  mills,  steel  mills,  and  numerous  others.  The  first  250-ton  capacity  crane 
for  handling  locomotives  was  designed  and  built  at  Harvey. 

Whiting's  Transportation  Division  has  pioneered  in  a  number  of  products  for 
safe  and  economical  repair  of  locomotives  and  cars.  Among  these  products  are 
the  drop  table,  the  rep  track  jack  and  the  transfer  table,  as  well  as  special 
trucks  and  turntables  for  railroad  service  and  automatic  car  washing  systems. 

In  1922,  Whiting  purchased  the  Swenson  Evaporator  Company,  a  manu- 
facturer of  equipment  for  the  chemical  processing  industry.  This  division  still 
operates  under  the  name  of  Swenson.  Through  extensive  research  and  de- 
velopment work,  the  Swenson  division  has  been  able  to  introduce  a  number  of 
new  and  improved  designs.  In  addition  to  manufacturing  evaporators,  Swenson 
also  makes  crystallizers,  spray  dryers,  and  a  whole  line  of  products  for  the  pulp 
and  paper  industry. 

Whiting's  reputation  as  a  manufacturer  of  diversified  products  was  strength- 
ened in  the  early  '40's  with  the  acquisition  of  the  Hydro-Arc  electric  furnace. 
In  1948,  Whiting  broadened  its  material  handling  line  by  purchasing  the 
Spencer  &  Morris  Company,  a  manufacturer  of  monorail  equipment.  This 
product  is  now  marketed  under  the  trademark  of  Trambeam. 

With  introduction  in  1950  of  the  Trackmobile,  a  highly  versatile  rail  car 
mover  which  operates  on  either  road  or  rail,  Whiting  provided  industry  with 
one  of  the  most  useful  handling  units  ever  developed. 

The  latest  step  in  Whiting's  continued  efforts  to  broaden  its  product  line 


is  the  introduction  of  Pressuregrip  equipment,  a  material  handling  device  which 
utilizes  the  principle  of  atmospheric  pressure  in  handling  such  materials  as  steel 
plate,  glass,  aluminum,  and  a  host  of  other  items. 

At  its  Harvey  facility  today.  Whiting  utilizes  21  acres  of  ground  with 
buildings  providing  404,351  square  feet  of  floor  space.  The  company  employs 
about  1,050  persons  at  the  Harvey  plant  and  also  operates  manufacturing  fa- 
cilities at  Gadsden,  Alabama,  and  Welland,  Ontario,  Canada.  Whiting's  market- 
ing sphere  is  international  in  scope.  The  company  maintains  an  export  sales  of- 
fice in  New  York. 

The  current  officers  of  Whiting  Corporation  are  T.  L.  Hammond,  Chair- 
man of  the  Board;  J.  A.  Handley,  President;  G.  E.  Seavoy,  Vice  President  - 
Marketing;  Walter  Hebble,  Vice  President  -  Operations;  W.  A.  Morey,  Vice 
President  -  Engineering;  J.  Clyde  Thomas,  Treasurer  and  Secretary;  and  Dan 
Polderman,  Jr.,  Vice  President  and  Director  of  Foreign  Sales. 


Although  one  of  the  city's  youngest  firms,  Maremont  Automotive  Products, 
Inc.  ranks  as  one  of  its  most  important  industries  of  today.  Indeed,  the  company 
is  one  of  the  most  important  in  the  automotive  field  in  the  United  States. 

Maremont  entered  the  automobile  muffler  replacement  field  in  1939  and 
upon  the  conclusion  of  World  War  II  bought  the  site  of  the  old  Austin  Manu- 
facturing Company  —  19  acres  of  land  and  approximately  270,000  square  feet 
of  building  on  155th  Street  just  east  of  the  Illinois  Central  railroad.  In  this 
plant  the  firm  consolidated  its  entire  exhaust  system  parts  operation  and  since 
has  become  a  leader  in  the  field. 

The  mufflers  involve  several  stamping,  bonding  and  other  processes  —  one 
a  special  alloy-coating  of  aluminum,  cadmium,  lead  and  zinc  applied  to  the 
inside  and  outside  of  the  muffler  shells.  Maremont  research  resulted  in  the 
development  of  a  corrosion-resistant  coating  for  the  product. 

The  company  employs  more  than  600  in  its  Harvey  plant  with  a  weekly 
payroll  exceeding  $75,000. 

The  company  also  operates  a  plant  in  Cicero  where  mufflers  and  brake 
shoes  are  manufactured.  It  has  other  facilities  at  strategic  locations  throughout 
the  United  States. 

Currently  underway  at  the  Harvey  factory  is  the  construction  of  an  addi- 
tional building  which  will  add  substantially  to  the  warehousing  and  manufactur- 
ing space  occupied  by  the  company.  It  is  significant  to  note  that  even  now,  be- 
fore the  facility  is  completed,  more  than  400,000  mufflers  and  more  than 
500.000  tailpipes  are  stocked  to  service  the  company's  nationwide  network  of 
dealers  and  distributors. 

The  new  building  is  scheduled  for  completion  and  occupancy  this  year. 


History  of  this  short-lived  factory  in  the  city  is  abbreviated.  Located  on 
147th  Street  just  east  of  the  Ingalls  Shepard  plant,  it  is  worthy  of  mention  be- 
cause the  firm  manufactured  an  automobile  that  for  a  time  took  the  nation 
by  storm. 

It  made  news  because  it  was  equipped  with  generator  and  automatic  starter 
and  other  innovations  in  the  automotive  field. 


First  mention  of  the  firm  was  made  in  the  Harvey  Tribune  of  August  21, 
1914  which  recorded  that  Woods-Mobilette  was  holding  its  first  annual  stock- 
holders' meeting  at  which  2,200  stockholders  or  their  proxies  were  represented. 

At  that  time  it  was  reported  business  was  so  good  that  the  plant  was  work- 
ing both  day  and  night  and  was  producing  about  1,000  cars  each  month. 

However,  the  demand  for  the  automobile  diminished  steadily  and  the  firm 
closed  its  doors,  although  the  date  of  that  decision  has  not  been  recorded. 

It  is  noted  that  as  late  as  1940  one  of  these  Harvey-built  cars  was  in  pos- 
session of  a  Joliet  auto  dealer  and  was  still  in  running  condition. 


Having  burned  out  in  Chicago  in  1898,  the  Austin  Manufacturing  Company 
moved  to  Harvey  in  the  following  year  and  for  a  long  period  following  was 
one  of  the  city's  major  industries,  manufacturing  a  wide  line  of  road  grading 

The  company  remained  in  business  here  until  1939  after  it  had  merged  with 
the  Western  Wheel  Company  of  Aurora  the  year  prior.  All  facilities  and  many 
employees  were  moved  to  Aurora,  Illinois. 

The  local  plant,  one  of  the  city's  largest,  was  taken  over  during  World  War 
II  by  the  Ammunition  Container  Corporation,  a  branch  of  the  American  Can 
Company.  A  temporary  factory  manufacturing  war  materials  for  the  United 
States  government,  it  was  abandoned  by  the  parent  company  shortly  after 
hostilities  had  ceased. 

In  1945  it  was  bought  by  the  Maremont  Automotive  Products,  Inc. 


Although  the  William  E.  Dee  Company  was  founded  in  1855,  the  date  of 
its  founding  in  Harvey  is  unrecorded. 

The  plant  it  occupied  here  has,  however,  an  interesting  history.  It  was  the 
site  first  of  the  Chicago  Motor  Vehicle  Company,  later  the  Harvey  Motor 
Truck  Works,  and  it  was  in  Harvey  that  the  former  company  manufactured 
the  first  motor  truck  ever  built  in  the  United  States. 

The  significance  of  the  motor  truck  industry  as  it  is  known  today,  was 
hardly  conceivable  when  the  Harvey  firm  exhibited  its  product  at  the  first  auto- 
mobile show  ever  held  in  the  nation,  although  in  what  year  this  exhibition  was 
held  also  is  unrecorded. 

The  William  E.  Dee  Company  eventually  ceased  its  foundry  operations  al- 
though the  name  is  still  contained  in  the  Harvey  business  field.  Its  activities 
today  are  restricted  to  the  sale  of  sewer  tile  and  kindred  products.  The  firm  is 
located  at  the  corner  of  150th  Street  and  Center  Avenue. 


The  Fahralloy  Company  was  founded  by  Dr.  F.  A.  Fahrenwald,  an  inventor 
whose  patents  were  widely  used  in  the  industry,  in  1933  and,  despite  the  de- 
pression, the  company  expanded  because  of  the  demand  for  its  products. 

Four  years  following  its  founding  the  firm  found  it  necessary  to  expand 
and  came  to  Harvey  in  1937  after  purchasing  a  site  bounded  by  Lexington  and 


Turlington  Avenues  and  149th  and  150th  Streets.  The  building  was  the  site 
of  an  old  Harvey  firm,  the  Koch  Machine  Shop. 

Among  Fahralloy  products  are  propellors,  chains,  parts  for  cement  mills, 
oil  stills,  conveyor  belts  and  many  other  items  which  are  subjected  to  heat,  wear 
or  corrosion.  Castings  manufactured  by  the  company  from  14  per  cent 
chromium  and  65  per  cent  nickel  are  used  in  many  food-making  machines. 

Not  one  of  Harvey's  major  employers,  Fahralloy,  nevertheless,  is  an  im- 
portant local  industry. 


The  Perfection  Gear  Company,  manufacturer  of  automobile  replacement 
parts  and  industrial  stock  gears,  was  founded  in  1919  by  David  H.  Daskal, 
George  H.  Daskal  and  David  Davis. 

Fourteen  years  later,  in  October,  1933,  because  of  a  greater  demand  for  its 
products  and  the  resultant  need  for  additional  manufacturing  space,  the 
company  moved  to  its  present  location  in  Harvey  at  152nd  Street  and  Vin- 
cennes  Road.  This  plant  had  been  the  site  of  the  old  S.  Ward  Hamilton  plant. 

Despite  the  depression  of  the  time,  the  company  prospered  and  continued 
to  widen  its  scope  of  manufacturing  to  include  the  manufacture  of  parts  used 
by  other  than  the  automobile  industry.  The  firm  added  plant  space,  bought  ad- 
ditional machinery  and  augmented  its  personnel  staff.  It  became  a  nationally 
recognized  company  in  its  field. 

Before  the  beginning  of  World  War  II,  Perfection  Gear  had  swung  into 
the  production  of  parts  for  war  needs  and  the  day  of  Pearl  Harbor  found  the 
Harvey  firm  ready  and  able  to  accept  greater  commitments  for  the  production 
of  such  needs.  It  became  one  of  the  government's  most  reliable  sources  of  pro- 
duction in  the  massive  war  effort. 

At  the  termination  of  hostilities,  Perfection  began  again  a  program  of  ex- 
pansion and  modernization  of  its  equipment.  Soon  the  company  entered  the  in- 
dustrial gear  field  with  the  purchase  in  1948  of  the  American  Stock  Gear 
Company  which  is  now  a  manufacturing  and  sales  division  of  Perfection  Gear. 

Today  the  company  employs  more  than  500  persons.  All  manufacturing 
operations  are  concentrated  in  its  Harvey  facility  which  today  encompasses  an 
entire  city  block. 

Located  strategically  throughout  the  nation  are  warehouses  to  speed  up 
customer  service  and  it  numbers  among  its  holdings  similar  warehouses  in 
Canada  and  Mexico.  Export  offices  are  located  in  New  York  City  and  San 
Francisco  from  which  company  products  are  shipped  to  Europe,  Asia,  Africa 
and  South  America. 


One  of  the  city's  newest  industrial  arrivals  is  the  Sinclair  Research  Labora- 
tories which  occupies  one  of  Harvey's  most  impressive  structures  on  a  38-acre 
site  at  147th  Street  just  east  of  the  Illinois  Central  railroad. 

Close  cooperation  between  Sinclair  Oil  Company  officials  and  the  Harvey 
city  council  during  the  administration  of  Arthur  E.  Turngren  resulted  in  the 
formal  opening  of  the  huge  facility  on  October  22,  1948. 

The  original  laboratory  consisted  of  nine  red  face  brick  buildings  with 
Indiana  limestone  trim.  Later  additions  were  nuclear  radiation  and  tracer  lab- 
oratory buildings. 


The  Sinclair  Laboratories  have  been  described  as  a  "citadel  of  science,") 
and  aptly  so,  for  here  chemists,  engineers,  physicists  and  technicians  combine  i 
their  scientific  knowledge  to  develop  the  new  products  and  processes  required  I 
to  keep  pace  with  the  rapid  changes  in  the  fuel  and  transportation  fields. 

The  skilled  scientists  who  are  gathered  by  the  company  from  the  most> 
noted  technical  colleges  and  universities  in  the  nation,  explore,  invent,  discover 
and  improve  oil  products  in  a  most  scientific  atmosphere. 

At  the  research  center  they  handle  projects  through  test  tube,  bench  scale 
and  pilot  plant  stages  until  they  are  perfected  and  made  available  to  the  com-| 
mercial  field. 

Other  buildings  include  the  latest  and  most  complete  equipment  for  work 
in  such  fields  as  radiation,  catalysis,  lubricants,  corrosion  prevention  and  fuels. ! 
Other  facets  of  the  laboratory  work  are  process  design,  process  development 
and  economic  evaluation. 

The  local  firm  maintains  a  close  liaison  with  the  top  management  of  Sin- 
clair Oil  Corporation,  the  parent  company  which  is  located  in  New  York  — 
with  research  laboratories  in  Tulsa,  Okla.,  and  with  major  production,  manu- 
facturing and  marketing  subsidiaries  throughout  the  United  States. 

Local  scientists  have  accounted  for  many  discoveries  in  the  petroleum  field. 
These  include  a  product  known  as  RD-150,  the  oil  industry's  most  widely  used 
platinum  reforming  catalyst,  and  another  called  RD-119,  a  rust  inhibitor  that 
is  conceded  to  have  saved  industry  millions  of  dollars. 

Other  developments  of  the  Harvey  Laboratories  include  synthetic  lubricants 
which  helped  blast  into  orbit  satellites  still  circling  the  globe;  an  additive  to 
gasoline  which  vastly  improved  engine  performance,  and,  a  lubrication  additive 
containing  nickel  which  plates  wear  points  in  engines. 


As  this  document  is  being  compiled  plans  are  underway  to  close  the  plant 
of  the  Allied  Steel  Castings  Company  located  at  146th  Street  and  Spaulding 
Avenue.  Plant  officials  announced  the  reason  for  closing  as  lack  of  profits. 

However,  for  many  years  the  firm  was  an  important  part  of  the  Harvey 
industrial  family. 

It  was  founded  in  June,  1918,  when  the  property  which  formerly  belonged 
to  Whiting  Corporation,  was  acquired. 

The  company  was  formed  to  produce  steel  castings  for  the  railroad  industry, 
the  original  melting  unit  being  a  Bessemer  converter. 

The  company  grew  over  the  years  and  the  melting  system  became  the  open 
hearth  type  in  1920. 

In  1939  Allied  Steel  bought  the  property  adjacent  to  its  original  plant,  prop- 
erty that  had  formerly  housed  the  Pettigrew  Foundry.  A  large  addition  was  built 
in  1944. 

Prior  to  its  closing  the  firm  was  engaged  in  the  manufacture  of  gear  hous- 
ings, coupler  yokes  and  miscellaneous  freight  car  castings  for  the  railroad 

R.  E.  NELSON,  INC. 

One  of  the  city's  smaller  but  nonetheless  important  industries  because  of  the 

nature  of  its  business  is  R.  E.  Nelson,  Inc.,  a  "remanufacturer"  of  Ford  engines. 

The  firm  was  established  in  Chicago  in   1939  and  moved  its  facilities  to 


Harvey  in  1945  when  it  opened  a  plant  on  152nd  Street,  just  east  of  the  Illinois 
Central  railroad  and  almost  across  from  the  Perfection  Gear  Company. 

The  company  works  directK  with  the  Ford  Motor  Company  and  its  dealers 
and  its  products  are  sold  on  an  exchange  basis.  Under  this  method  of  merchan- 
dising a  rebuildable  product  is  turned  over  to  Nelson  at  the  time  of  purchase. 
In  simpler  language  for  each  remanufactured  part  disposed  of,  a  used  part  has 
been  exchanged. 

The  used  part  received  is  then  completely  disassembled  and  only  those  parts 
which  pass  rieid  inspection  are  used,  the  non-usable  parts  being  replaced  with 
new  Ford  parts. 


One  of  Harvey's  industrial  pioneers,  the  American  Stove  Company  was  a 
bulwark  of  employment  for  local  workers  until  it  moved  its  facilities  from 
Harvey  to  St.  Louis  in  the  Fall  of  1948. 

Because  of  its  early  importance  to  the  economy  of  the  city,  its  years  of  suc- 
cessful operation  are  a  definite  part  of  Harvey  history. 

The  American  Stove  Company  branch  in  Chicago  was  moved  here  on 
May  3,  1897,  occupying  a  huge  plant  on  Commercial  Avenue  near  157th 

The  firm  was  a  pioneer  in  many  cooking  stove  improvements.  The  first 
oven  heat  regulator  was  developed  here  and  the  American  Stove  was  the  first 
company  to  construct  gas  stoves  of  sheet  steel.  It  later  became  a  standard  for 
the  industry. 

The  original  stove  produced  by  the  firm  was  the  result  of  a  long  process 
and  it  has  been  said  that  a  man  at  his  own  bench  assembled  the  complete 
stove.  However,  modern  production  methods  were  introduced  and  the  method 
of  manufacture  rivaled  that  of  the  "assembly  line"  process  of  the  automobile 

Immediately  prior  to  its  closing  the  firm  employed  more  than  600  workers 
and  although  a  number  of  them  moved  to  St.  Louis  when  the  operation  was 
transferred,  others  went  on  pension  and  many  others  were  absorbed  into  the 
labor  forces  of  other  industries. 

Management  being  extremely  sports-minded,  a  program  of  athletics  for 
employees  commanded  nationwide  attention  and  both  basketball  and  softball 
teams  representing  the  firm  were  found  in  national  competition. 


From  a  humble  beginning  in  1891  when  a  partnership  consisting  of  S.  E. 
Bliss  and  John  E.  Laughlin  was  formed  to  produce  cold  rolled  shafting.  Bliss 
and  Laughlin,  Inc.  has  become  one  of  the  nation's  major  producers  of  cold 
finished  bar  steels  and  shafting  in  the  United  States. 

The  original  plant,  near  the  location  of  the  present  factory,  consisted  of  a 
single  small  building  with  offices  on  the  second  floor.  The  office  force 
consisted  of  two  employees  in  addition  to  the  partners.  Its  annual  capacity  was 
about  12,000  tons,  distributed  over  a  western  area  of  about  300  miles  in  radius. 

The  founders  of  Bliss  and  Laughlin  (Mr.  Laughlin  was  not  related  to  the 
Laughlin  of  Jones  and  Laughlin)  were  among  the  pioneers  in  utilizing  and 
developing  a  then  relatively  new  process  for  greatly  improving  the  quality  of 
steel  bars  by  subjecting  them  to  high  pressure. 


The  original  process,  developed  during  the  Civil  War  period,  consisted  of 
passing  cold  steel  bars  through  a  series  of  revolving  rollers  under  pressure.  This 
method  gave  rise  to  the  term  "Cold  Rolled  Steel." 

The  rolling  process  gradually  gave  way  to  a  more  modern  technique,  de- 
veloped in  the  1890's,  in  which  steel  bars  are  produced  by  drawing  them 
through  dies  of  various  sizes  and  shapes.  The  end  product  is  called  "Cold 
Drawn  Steel." 

Cold  finished  steel  was  used  chiefly  at  the  turn  of  the  century  for  machine 
shafts.  In  fact,  Bliss  and  Laughlin's  Harvey  plant  was  locally  known  for  years 
as  the  "shafting  works." 

In  December,  1919,  the  present  company  was  organized  into  a  corporation 
of  the  same  name,  taking  over  the  physical  assets  and  good  will  of  the  original 

Early  in  the  year  1922  a  progressive  and  well-planned  expansion  and  build- 
ing program  was  inaugurated.  This  first  took  the  form  of  a  broadening  of  the 
organization  and  improvements  in  the  company's  manufacturing  facilities,  as 
well  as  additions  in  space  and  equipment  to  carry  on  the  work  economically 
and  efficiently. 

As  time  went  on,  it  became  necessary  to  increase  shipping  and  production 
facilities,  to  enlarge  the  offices,  to  increase  the  number  of  sales  offices  through- 
out the  country,  and  to  acquire  adjoining  grounds  for  further  expansion. 

The  growth  of  the  company  during  this  period  was  not  only  rapid  but 
sound,  due  to  anticipation  of  future  needs  and  careful  planning.  This  business 
policy  brought  the  company  into  personal  contact  with  thousands  of  users 
of  cold  finished  steel,  representing  a  wide  diversification  of  manufacturing 

As  a  result,  its  production  requirements  advanced  steadily  and  demands  for 
its  products  widened  constantly.  Old  departments  were  expanded.  New  depart- 
ments such  as  metallurgical,  inspection,  traffic,  mechanical  and  fabricating 
engineering  for  customer  assistance,  were  added.  Ranges  of  sizes  were  extended 
for  the  full  line  of  rounds,  squares,  hexagons,  flats  and  special  sections,  plus 
the  addition  of  drawn  and  ground,  and  turned  and  ground  steel. 

Special  attention  was  given  toward  improvement  of  finishes  and  in  achiev- 
ing closer  control  on  concentricity,  straightness  and  adherence  to  tolerance. 

Early  attention  was  paid  to  the  subject  of  machinability,  not  only  from 
the  standpoint  of  material  composition  but  also  to  physical  character  and  fabri- 
cation plan  as  well. 

The  enlargement  and  expansion  of  the  Harvey  mill  continued  and  its  suc- 
cess created  an  Eastern  interest  in  the  trade  for  the  firm's  steels.  Early  in  the 
year  1928  it  was  decided  to  erect  an  Eastern  plant  and  on  August  1  of  that 
year  ground  was  broken  for  the  new  facility  in  Buffalo,  New  York.  It  was 
formally  opened  for  operation  on  April  2,  1929. 

The  new  plant  placed  Bliss  and  Laughlin  in  the  position  of  becoming  a 
national  and  international  source  of  supply. 

Despite  general  business  conditions  in  the  depression  of  the  1930's,  the 
Eastern  plant  continued  to  show  steady  business  gains  and,  as  a  result,  in  1936 
it  became  necessary  to  double  the  manufacturing  space  and  install  additional 

In  1944  Bliss  and  Laughlin  underwent  further  expansion  through  the 
acquisition  of  the  New  England  Drawn  Steel  Company  in  Mansfield,  Massa- 
chusetts. This  plant  is  now  42,674  square  feet  in  size,  has  an  annual  production 
capacity  of  40,000  tons  and  employs  30  persons.  In  1953,  the  company  moved 
to  expand  its  sales  to  the  automotive  industry  by  building  a  mill  at  Detroit. 


The  Detroit  plant  has  since  been  doubled  in  size  to  rank  as  the  largest  cold 
finished  steel  mill  in  the  Motor  City.  The  size  and  location  of  the  Michigan 
facility  enables  Bliss  and  Laughlin  to  serve  the  auto  industry  speedily  and  at  a 
significant  saving  in  shipping  costs. 

The  Detroit  plant  covers  83,358  square  feet,  and  has  an  annual  rated  capa- 
city of  35,00.0  tons.  It  employs  about  60  persons. 

The  company  in  1960  entered  the  growing  West  Coast  market  for  its  pro- 
ducts by  acquiring  plants  in  Los  Angeles  and  Seattle.  Among  the  many  users 
of  the  firm's  products  in  the  far  West  are  the  aircraft  and  missile  industries. 

The  Los  Angeles  facility  covers  27,666  square  feet.  Its  annual  rated 
capacity  is  48,000  net  tons  and  it  employs  25  persons.  The  Seattle  plant  is 
14,400  square  feet  in  size,  has  an  annual  capacity  of  4,000  tons  and  employs 
15  persons. 

From  the  original  annual  capacity  of  12,000  tons  the  firm  in  1948  pro- 
duced 325,000  tons  and  today  the  production  figure  has  reached  more  than 
550,000  tons.  In  1961  company  sales  totaled  more  than  $50,000,000  and  its  net 
assets  were  nearly  $21,000,000. 

Bliss  and  Laughlin  customers  today  total  more  than  5,000  representing  all 
of  the  nation's  major  industries.  Its  stockholders  number  3,928  in  49  states  and 
foreign  countries.  Its  parent  plant  in  Harvey  now  occupies  a  site  of  242,305 
feet,  has  an  annual  rated  capacity  of  235,000  tons  and  employs  about  400 

Its  products  are  used  for  a  wide  variety  of  purposes  including:  the  beaters 
for  kitchen  food  mixers,  the  hex  nut  for  a  spark  plug,  the  wheel  assembly  for 
an  airplane,  the  carriage  return  bar  for  a  typewriter.  They  have  other  dramatic 
applications  in  space  vehicles  and  atomic  energy,  as  well  as  home  washing  ma- 
chines and  industrial  drill  presses. 


A  notion  to  retire  by  two  men,  Frederick  A.  Ingalls  and  Charles  G. 
Shepard,  led,  strangely,  to  the  founding  of  what  is  one  of  Harvey's  largest  and 
most  widely-known  industrial  firms. 

Founders  of  the  Buda  Company  which  moved  to  Harvey  from  Buda,  Illi- 
nois, in  1890,  the  two  men  decided  in  1906  to  sell  their  business  with  the  idea 
of  retiring.  Being  ambitious  they  suddenly  discovered  "they  were  too  much  a 
Dart  of  business  and  business  too  much  a  part  of  them,  to  enjoy  their  newly- 
found  leisure"  and  returned  to  the  industrial  field  to  found  a  small  forging 

Located  at  the  site  of  the  old  Bellaire  Stamping  Works  which  had  burned 
o  the  ground  on  New  Year's  Eve  in  1900,  the  firm,  equipped  with  two  drop 
lammers  and  three  steam  hammers  manned  by  thirteen  employees,  occupied  a 
building  about  a  hundred  feet  square.  Ground  was  broken  for  the  factory  on 
March  15,  1910  and  it  was  ready  to  go  into  operation  as  the  Ingalls-Shepard 
Forging  Company  in  June  of  the  same  year. 

Charles  Batt,  a  one-time  Harvey  alderman  of  the  Fourth  Ward,  was  the 
first  foreman  of  the  die  shop  and  George  Weiss  supervised  the  hammer  shop. 

The  first  forging  to  come  from  the  firm's  hammers  was  a  spike  used  by  the 
F.  C.  Austin  Manufacturing  Company  for  its  road  rollers,  used  to  tear  up  hard 
■oad  surfaces. 


As  time  passed  the  versatility  of  the  firm  increased  and  numbered  among 
its  products  such  items  as  railway  signals,  parts  for  tractors  and  agricultural 
implements  and,  finally,  crankshafts  for  automobiles  which  were  coming  into 
wide  usage.  Its  line  was  to  become  even  more  diversified  during  World  War  I 
when  parts  were  forged  for  trucks,  tanks,  gun  carriages  and  crankshafts  for  the 
famed  Liberty  engines  of  the  day.  By  this  time  plant  facilities  had  been  greatly 
expanded,  covering  more  than  seven  acres. 

Wyman-Gordon,  now  the  parent  company,  had  been  a  business  enterprise 
in  Worcester,  Massachusetts  from  1883,  but  by  1918,  when  war  production 
had  opened  up  vast  new  business  horizons  because  of  the  emergence  of  the 
airplane,  the  firm  found  itself  without  room  to  pioneer  in  the  new  field. 

Because  of  competition  being  afforded  by  automobile  firms  in  the  area  of 
Detroit,  Michigan,  the  management  realized  it  must  seek  facilities  in  the  Mid- 
dle West,  and  thus  the  merging  of  the  Ingalls-Shepard  Forging  Company  and 
the  Wyman-Gordon  Company  was  effected. 

By  December,  1919,  details  were  completed,  but  with  the  merger  Mr. 
Shepard  retired  once  again.  Mr.  Ingalls  became  a  vice  president  of  the  Wyman-. 
Gordon  Company,  his  son-in-law?  Samuel  M.  Havens,  became  the  assistant 
treasurer  and  manager  of  the  Harvey  plant,  and  Harold  F.  Wood  was  em- 
ployed as  chief  metallurgist  in  the  firm's  laboratory. 

Thus  was  born  the  Ingalls-Shepard  Division  of  the  Wyman-Gordon  Compa- 
ny, and  in  a  few  short  years  it  was  well  on  its  way  to  becoming  the  largest 
crankshaft  factory  in  the  world. 

There  are  several  facets  in  the  history  of  the  factory  that  are  worthy  of 

Once  the  factory  had  been  surrounded  by  a  fence  Miss  Jean  Ingalls,  daugh- 
ter of  the  founder  who  subsequently  became  the  wife  of  Samuel  M.  Havens, 
established  what  became  a  "very  famous  garden"  in  the  back  of  the  plant  in 
an  area  that  was  later  to  become  a  steel  storage  yard.  It  is  recorded  that  the 
garden  was  established  according  to  blueprint,  that  planting  techniques  de- 
pended on  the  moon  and  that  as  a  result  of  this  venture,  Miss  Ingalls  and  her 
mother  came  to  be  regarded  as  a  part  of  the  working  force. 

Records  reveal  that  one  of  the  outstanding  days  in  the  firm's  history  came 
in  the  summer  of  1916  when  the  first  annual  employee  picnic  was  held  in 
Calumet  Grove  in  Blue  Island.  Ingalls-Shepard  was  one  of  the  first  industries 
in  the  community  to  sponsor  such  an  event,  and,  significantly,  it  is  an  annual 
affair  looked  forward  to  even  today  by  employees  of  the  firm  and  their  families. 

Another  event  remembered  by  early  employees  came  in  1919  when  they 
donned  brown  aprons  to  look  like  blacksmiths  and  entered  the  Labor  Day 
parade  as  a  unit.  They  even  furnished  their  own  music,  with  Charles  C.  Shepard 
pounding  the  bass  drum.  Another  part  of  the  entry  was  a  truck  appropriately! 
decorated  and  carrying  a  remarkable  simile  of  a  furnace  in  which  could  bei 
seen  the  red  hot  metal  from  which  crankshafts  were  forged. 

Early  documents  record  that  even  before  its  merger  with  Wyman-Gordon  | 
the  firm  had  reached  a  prominent  position  in  the  manufacturing  field  "due 
largely  to  the  energy,  foresight,  unusual  sales  ability  and  personality  of  Mr. 
Ingalls  and  Mr.  Shepard." 

Among  the  executives  who  were  to  guide  the  destiny  of  the  firm  after  the  I 
merger  was  Harry  G.  Stoddard  who  was  elected  president  of  the  company  in 
1931,  twenty  years  after  he  had  bought  stock  and  become  actively  associated 
with  the  company. 

In   1932  Mr.   Ingalls  retired  from  the  active  role  he  had  played  in  the!; 
company  and  moved  to  California  where  he  died  on  December  13,  1938.  Inl 


the  same  year  Mr.  Wood  was  made  works  manager  and  Mr.  Havens  became 
the  vice  president. 

The  Harvey  plant  had  been  considerably  enlarged  in  1930,  but  because 
of  the  depression  little  use  was  found  for  the  added  space.  However,  the  con- 
clusion of  that  period  of  panic  saw  the  entire  facilities  utilized.  By  1937  an 
enlargement  of  the  heat-treating  facilities  became  necessary  and  simultaneously 
a  service  building  was  added. 

Through  the  years  Ingalls-Shepard  built  up  an  enviable  reputation  in  the 
industrial  field  for  its  understanding  of  the  work,  force  and  in  matters  of  wages, 
vacations  and  other  benefits  its  liberality  became  widely  known.  This  included 
sponsorship  of  many  employee  activities  such  as  athletic  teams,  picnics,  and 
later  a  tremendous  Christmas  party  which  is  attended  annually  by  employees 
and  their  families. 

Just  as  in  World  War  I,  the  company  played  an  important  role  in  war  pro- 
duction for  the  second  world  conflict.  It  is  especially  significant  that  it  was 
Wyman-Gordon  forgings  which  helped  make  the  two  great  airplanes  of  the 
war  —  the  Boeing  B17  Flying  Fortress  and  the  Consolidated  B24  Liberator  — 
such  potent  factors. 

The  company  kept  pace  with  the  myriad  new  aircraft  which  followed  the 
conclusion  of  hostilities  in  1945  and  today  its  research  specialists  are  thinking 
in  terms  of  the  future  as  well  as  the  present.  Presently  geared  for  the  compli- 
cated demands  of  jets,  rockets  and  missiles  its  engineers  are,  nevertheless,  think- 
ing in  terms  of  "flight  out  of  the  atmosphere  more  than  flight  in  it." 

Change  in  the  executive  department  of  the  company  transpired  in  1955 
when  Mr.  Harry  Stoddard  became  chairman  of  the  board  of  directors  and  his 
son  Robert,  who  had  joined  the  company  ranks  in  1929,  was  named  to  the 
presidency,  an  office  he  still  holds. 

Today,  with  a  total  of  almost  4,000  employees,  fine  management  and  de- 
voted employees  help  the  firm  maintain  its  place  of  pre-eminence  in  the 
forging  field. 


The  Buda  Company  was  originally  established  in  1881  in  Buda,  Illinois,  a 
small  town  about  50  miles  north  of  Peoria.  In  the  beginning  the  company 
manufactured  only  railroad  supplies.  In  1890?  the  entire  factory  was  moved  to 
Harvey,  the  site  being  chosen  because  of  its  advantageous  facilities.  By  locating 
at  the  junction  of  the  Illinois  Central,  Baltimore  and  Ohio  and  Grand  Trunk 
railroads  the  new  company  could  be  directly  served  by  these  three  railroads. 

In  the  earlier  period  of  its  existence,  those  years  antedating  the  gasoline 
engine  era,  the  products  of  the  Buda  Company  consisted  mainly  of  railroad 
supplies  of  all  kinds  and  in  this  field  the  company  maintained  a  leading  posi- 
tion for  many  years,  numbering  among  its  customers  all  of  the  large  railroads 
in  the  United  States  and  practically  all  of  the  small  lines,  in  addition  to 
thousands  of  industrial  companies. 

In  1910  the  possibilities  of  a  rapid  development  of  the  automotive  industry 
were  recognized  by  the  management,  and  it  was  decided  to  enter  this  field 
with  a  line  of  high  quality  gas  and  gasoline  engines  for  trucks,  busses,  taxicabs 
and  agricultural,  marine  and  industrial  purposes.  In  1926  the  company  began 
the  manufacture  of  its  first   Diesel   engines   for  industrial  equipment,   marine 


service,  generating  sets  and  power  units  for  various  portable  and  stationary 
requirements.  A  large  new  factory  building  with  new  equipment  throughout 
was  provided  for  this  purpose. 

An  important  step  was  taken  in  1933,  when  the  Lanova  type  of  "controlled 
turbulence"  combustion  system  was  incorporated  in  the  complete  line  of  Buda 
Diesels.  The  Lanova  system  became  recognized  as  one  of  the  outstanding 
achievements  in  diesel  history.  The  year  1933  also  saw  the  beginning  of  a  new 
line  of  Buda  automotive  type  Diesel  engines  for  trucks  and  busses. 

Many  new  Buda  products  were  added  to  the  list  in  1938.  Some  of  these  in- 
cluded the  Buda  "Chore  Boy"  —  a  small  industrial  truck;  a  complete  line  of 
quality  hydraulic  and  screw  jacks  of  all  types;  and  a  special  adaptation  of  four 
and  six  cylinder  Diesels  for  replacing  gasoline  engines  in  Ford  trucks. 

This  year  the  firm  startled  the  automotive  and  aviation  industries  by  the 
announcement  of  a  new  lightweight  Diesel  engine,  a  development  which  tech- 
nical experts  throughout  the  country  claimed  would  be  the  next  really  big  im- 
provement in  American  aviation  as  well  as  in  ground  transportation.  The  Buda 
plant  went  into  full  production  making  these  aircraft  engines  for  the  United 
States  government  to  be  used  in  tanks  as  a  part  of  an  accelerated  national  de- 
fense program. 

In  addition  to  producing  the  new  radial-type  Diesel  engine,  the  Buda 
Company  at  one  time  had  in  production  12  different  models  of  standard  type 
Diesel  engines  and  26  different  models  of  gasoline  and  natural  gas  engines. 
These  Buda  engines  were  used  in  all  types  of  applications,  principally  in  six 
major  industries,  automotive,  marine,  stationary  industrial,  portable  industrial, 
oil  fields  and  generator  sets. 

Another  development  of  Buda's  that  attracted  nation-wide  interest  was  an 
earth  boring  machine  supplied  to  the  United  States  Army.  This  drill,  a  develop- 
ment of  a  Buda  engineer,  Hugh  Brown,  was  used  extensively  by  the  Army  for 
drilling  under  roadways  and  bridge  approaches  preparatory  to  the  placing  of 
land  mines  and  anti-tank  traps,  etc.  In  other  words,  this  machine  formed  a  part 
of  the  Army's  equipment  for  defense  against  blitzkrieg  type  of  warfare. 

From  its  inception  the  Buda  Company  made  consistent  growth.  It  normal- 
ly employed  approximately  1200  men.  The  plant  in  1940  occupied  500,000 
square  feet  of  floor  space,  including  a  $300,000  addition  for  the  Guibe'rson 
airplane  division. 

In  1953,  after  a  long  and  successful  period  of  operation,  the  company  was 
sold  to  its  present  owner,  the  Allis-Chalmers  Manufacturing  Company,  Inc.,  a 
giant  in  the  modern  industrial  field,  whose  home  plant  and  offices  are  located 
in  West  Allis,  Wisconsin.  At  the  time  of  sale,  the  Buda  Company  had  grown 
to  a  plant  consisting  of  about  25  buildings  occupying  654,446  square  feet  of 
floor  space  and  encompassing  2SYi  acres  of  land.  The  new  owners  christened 
their  acquisition  as  the  Harvey  Works. 

The  Allis-Chalmers  Manufacturing  Company  presently  consists  of  17  plants 
in  the  United  States,  plus  other  plants  in  Canada,  England,  France,  Australia, 
Italy  and  Mexico.  Products  number  in  the  hundreds,  from  lift  trucks  and  en- 
gines, manufactured  in  Harvey,  to  giant  nuclear  reactors  in  other  of  its  factories. 

In  1958  an  engineering  and  development  center  was  added  to  the  Harvey 
facilities,  the  addition  consisting  of  three  buildings  for  the  design  and  develop- 
ment of  engines  and  fork  lift  trucks. 

This  structure  provides  Allis-Chalmers  engineers  with  one  of  the  most 
modern  facilities  of  its  kind  and  it  is  here  that  new  developments  in  the  firm's 
diversified  lines  are  created.  Equipment  enables  engineers  to  study  the  results 
of  their  designs  before  the  product  goes  into  production. 


In  1961  the  company  completed  an  engine  production  plant  1,100  feet  in 
length  and  440  feet  wide.  It  is  a  one-story  steel  beam  and  cement  structure 
with  penthouses  for  electricity,  heating  and  ventilation  equipment.  It  permits 
the  company  to  manufacture  a  broad  line  of  diesel,  natural  gas,  butane  and 
gasoline  engines  which  are  used  to  power  company  products  sold  in  the  con- 
struction machinery,  farm  equipment  and  material  handling  fields.  In  addition, 
sales  are  made  to  such  industries  as  construction,  marine,  oil,  irrigation,  logging 
and  many  others. 

Electrical  generator  sets  produced  in  the  new  plant  are  used  to  supply  elec- 
tric power  in  thousands  of  locations  throughout  the  world.  Generators  from  the 
Harvey  Works  supplied  power  at  "tracking  stations"  which  played  such  an  im- 
portant role  in  the  historic  orbital  flight  around  the  world  of  Colonel  John 
Glenn  in  early  1962.  These  generators  have  been  supplying  power  at  radar 
stations  in  the  nation's  defense  network  and  similar  sets  are  to  be  used  as  part 
of  America's  missile  program. 

The  new  engine  plant  almost  doubles  the  productive  capacity  of  the  old 
facilities  and  increases  the  company's  Harvey  manufacturing  area  to  1,150,000 
square  feet. 


Little  formal  history  is  obtainable  on  the  development  of  the  Illinois  Bell 
Telephone  Company  in  this  city.  The  company  itself  is  unable  to  furnish  early 
data  and  details  are  meager. 

However,  the  first  telephone  exchange  in  Harvey  was  located  in  the  drug 
store  of  J.  W.  Oliver  and  it  was  fitting  that  the  Oliver  firm  be  granted  telephone 
number  one,  which  it  retained  until  the  advent  of  the  dial  phone  system  in- 
stalled here  in  October,   1955. 

Other  early  numbers  included:  Harvey  Fire  Department,  Number  0;  Flew- 
elling's  store,  number  two;  Dr.  Walvoord  of  South  Holland,  number  four;  Wil- 
liam D.  Rogers,  number  six;  John  Alten,  number  ten;  Harvey  Police  Depart- 
ment, number  13;  W.  E.  Kerr  and  Company,  numbers  16  and  17;  G.  W. 
Roberts,  number  18,  and  the  Grand  Trunk  Railroad,  number  20. 

Originally,  the  Chicago  Telephone  Company  established  its  office  here  on 
March  10,  1891,  with  J.  W.  Oliver  serving  a  dual  role  as  telephone  exchange 
manager  and  druggist.  He  retained  the  managership  when  the  telephone  ex- 
change was  moved  on  February  10,  1904  to  the  second  floor  at  189  East  154th 

Telephone  service  was  considered  a  luxury  for  many  years  and  even  as 
late  as  December  31,  1900,  only  41  subscribers  were  listed  here.  However,  in 
the  subsequent  five  years  the  subscriber  list  had  grown  to  249. 

In  1904  A.  C.  Rhoades  was  named  manager  and  it  was  while  he  was  in 
charge  that  the  company,  on  August  22,  1914,  converted  from  the  old  "hand- 
crank"  type  of  telephone  instrument  to  a  battery-operated  system.  That  same 
year,  the  company  moved  its  facilities  to  15428  Center  Avenue,  where  it  re- 
mained until  the  construction  of  the  huge  modern  building  at  15321  Center 
Avenue.  In  the  meantime,  on  July  1,  1946,  the  plant  and  offices  were  sep- 
arated and  a  business  office  opened  at  15422  Center  Avenue. 

After  1905,  demand  for  telephone  service  increased  rapidly,  and  company 
records  reveal  that  growth  in  terms  of  subscribers  as  follows:  1910  -  526;  1915  - 
790;    1920-1152;    1925-1990;    1930-3350    1935-3662;    1940-3762. 


Twenty-one  years  later,  in  1961,  the  total  telephones  in  service  at  the 
Harvey  exchange  was  33,739.  In  that  same  year  a  total  of  27,605,000  calls  were 
routed  through  the  local  office.  Total  customers  now  being  served  is  28,400. 

Other  milestones  in  the  Illinois  Bell  history  in  Harvey  include  the  installa- 
tion of  the  dial  system  in  1954,  construction  of  a  new  accounting  center  at 
153rd  and  Main  Streets  on  June  16,  1955,  and  the  construction  in  October  of 
the  same  year  of  the  new  district  office  and  plant  facility  at  15321  Center 






Although  it  has  been  previously  recorded  that  the  first  Harvey  postmaster 
was  William  H.  Pease,  subsequent  investigation  reveals  that  the  first  postmaster 
of  South  Lawn,  as  Harvey  was  first  known,  was  Frank  O.  Young,  who  was  ap- 
pointed on  August  22,  1881,  and  served  until  March  4,  1890  when  Mr.  Pease 
received  the  appointment. 

Mr.  Pease,  whom  history  credits  with  having  named  the  city,  held  the 
postmastership  at  three  different  intervals  —  first  from  1890  to  1892,  the  sec- 
ond from  1903  to  1915,  and  third  from  1921  to  1927. 

Other  postmasters  were  Daniel  W.  Turney,  1892-1895;  J.  J.  O'Rourke, 
1895-1899;  M.  A.  Gillson,  1899-1903.  Mr.  O'Rourke  then  re-assumed  the 
postmastership  in  1915  and  served  until  1921.  After  Mr.  Pease's  third  term  the 
position  was  held  by  George  Sutton  from  1927  to  1936. 

It  was  during  the  Gillson  term  that  city  home  delivery  was  established.  Mr. 
Gillson  died  in  office  and  was  succeeded  by  Mr.  Pease,  who  served  his  first 
two  terms  during  the  administration  of  President  Roosevelt  and  his  third  during 
that  of  President  Howard  Taft. 

From  1903,  after  the  post  office  had  occupied  various  buildings,  until  1933 
it  was  located  at  153rd  Street  and  Columbia  Avenue,  the  site  now  of  the 
American  Legion  clubrooms.  On  April  1,  1933,  it  was  moved  into  the  present 
Federal  Building  at  15441  Center  Avenue. 

George  Sutton  became  the  first  Harvey  postmaster  under  Civil  Service 
when  he  assumed  the  position  on  January  17,  1928,  but  in  1936  he  was  suc- 
ceeded by  Joseph  S.  Flaherty,  who  had  previously  served  as  the  police  magistrate 
in  Harvey.  Mr.  Flaherty  held  the  post  until  he  died  in  1941  when  he  was  suc- 
ceeded by  Frank  G.  Ring,  who  for  the  period  of  1934-1936  had  served  as  a 
member  of  the  Illinois  Legislature. 

Mr.  Ring  was  succeeded  in  1954  by  Alfred  St.  Aubin  who  for  many  years 
had  served  as  the  assistant  postmaster.  Mr.  St.  Aubin's  term  as  postmaster 
culminated  with  his  retirement  on  August  31,  1960.  His  retirement  brought  to  a 
conclusion  42  years  of  service  at  the  Harvey  post  office,  the  longest  any  indi- 
vidual has  served  here,  although  Anthony  Caproni,  a  present  employee,  is  in  a 
position  to  exceed  the  St.  Aubin  record  as  this  document  is  being  written. 

Upon  Mr.  St.  Aubin's  retirement  the  postmastership  went  to  Stanley  G. 
Kay,  who  served  in  an  acting  capacity  for  a  period  of  seven  months.  In  1961 
the  appointment  went  to  Floyd  R.  Chapin,  who  is  the  present  postmaster. 

The  post  office  has  grown  and  its  services  expanded  as  the  steady  growth 
of  the  community  has  warranted  and  as  of  this  date  plans  are  nearly  complete 
for  expanding  the  present  building  on  property  purchased  adjacent  to  it  on 
155th  Street. 


Realizing  the  need  for  a  community  hospital,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  F.  A.  Ingalls 
purchased  ground  and  inaugurated  plans  for  the  erection  of  such  a  building  in 
the  early  1920's.  A  vice  president  of  the  Ingalls-Shepard  Division  of  the  Wy- 
man-Gordon  Company,  one  of  Harvey's  pioneer  industrial  firms,  Mr.  Ingalls 
shared  with  his  wife  an  intense  interest  in  community  welfare. 

However,  Mrs.  Ingalls  did  not  live  to  see  her  dream  realized  because  of  her 
death  while  plans  were  in  the  formative  stage.  Her  work  was  carried  on,  how- 
ever, by  Mr.  Ingalls  and  their  daughter,  Mrs.  Jean  Ingalls  Havens,  and  the 
institution  was  erected  as  a  memorial  to  Mrs.  Ingalls  for  her  "interest  in  her 


fellow  men  and  the  spirit  of  helpfulness  which  characterized  her  life." 

Both  the  grounds  and  the  buildings  were  personal  gifts  of  Mr.  Ingalls,  but 
much  of  the  furnishings  were  the  result  of  gifts  by  many  Harvey  industries, 
civic  and  fraternal  organizations. 

Equipment  for  the  X-Ray  Department  was  maintained  by  the  Ingalls 
family  throughout  their  lives. 

From  the  beginning,  the  highest  standards  of  hospital  care  have  been  main- 

First  of  a  long  line  of  chiefs  of  staff  was  Dr.  Thomas  A.  Noble.  Serving  on 
the  board  of  trustees  were:  Mr.  Ingalls,  Dr.  G.  A.  Stevenson,  George  H.  Gib- 
son, J.  H.  Whiting,  W.  T.  Beatty  and  L.  M.  Viles. 

Of  Georgian  design,  the  hospital  had  the  most  modern  accommodations 
possible  to  obtain  and  a  most  pleasant  atmosphere  for  patients  was  created  by 
Mrs.  Havens. 

Mr.  Ingalls  and  his  daughter  were  the  guiding  spirits  for  the  hospital  for 
many  years,  but  working  closely  with  them  was  Miss  Clara  Pound,  who  arrived 
here  several  months  before  the  building's  completion.  As  superintendent,  Miss 
Pound  discharged  the  great  responsibility  of  organizing  the  hospital  staff. 

The  depression  years  of  the  early  1930's  were  most  trying.  When  financial 
institutions  closed,  the  hospital's  funds  were  frozen.  To  complicate  the  situa- 
tion outstanding  bills  and  payrolls  totaled  $1 1,000. 

It  was  again  Mrs.  Havens  whose  efforts  enabled  the  hospital  to  weather  the 
storm.  An  appeal  to  her  father  in  California  brought  immediate  response  and 
the  obligations  were  discharged  by  him  from  personal  funds. 

However,  there  were  dark  days  yet  to  come  and  when  Mrs.  Havens  met 
with  the  board  of  trustees  it  was  decided  there  was  no  alternative  but  to  close 
the  institution. 

It  was  at  this  point  that  the  hospital  staff,  upon  suggestion  by  Mrs.  Havens, 
agreed  to  keep  the  doors  open  although  it  meant  salary  decreases  or,  possibly, 
no  salary  at  all  until  the  crisis  had  passed.  But  it  was  this  devotion  and  sacrifice 
that  enabled  Ingalls  hospital  to  overcome  the  obstacle.  Mrs.  Havens  continued 
as  a  tireless  worker  in  the  struggle  to  maintain  solvency  and  it  is  recorded  in 
hospital  annals  that  she  worked  six  days  a  week  over  many  years  to  achieve 
this  objective. 

The  financial  difficulty  hurdled,  the  hospital  was  to  face  additional  prob- 
lems as  the  nation  entered  World  War  II.  Many  new  problems  arose  —  shortage 
of  equipment  and  supplies,  primarily.  Because  the  United  States  was  girding 
for  an  all-out  war  effort,  shortages  of  vital  material  multiplied  and  it  became 
impossible  to  maintain  the  high  standards  of  hospital  care  that  had  become  a 

It  was  at  this  point  that  Mrs.  Havens  came  to  the  decision  that  the  institu- 
tion must  become  a  community  responsibility. 

Thus,  in  the  organizational  change  that  became  necessary,  John  Bardwick, 
Jr.  was  named  to  head  the  institution  as  president.  Later  he  became  chairman 
of  the  Board  of  Trustees  and  in  this  role  he  provided  the  leadership  that  culmi- 
nated in  numerous  changes  and,  subsequently,  national  recognition  of  the 

Of  Mr.  Bardwick's  administration  Mrs.  Havens  said  in  1955:  "His  leader- 
ship has  been  superb.  Having  governed  the  hospital  for  16  years  prior  to  his 
term,  I  appreciate  how  really  wonderful  his  work  has  been.  He  commands  the 
respect  and  confidence  of  all  and  as  the  only  remaining  member  of  the  Ingalls 
family  I  wish  to  convey  our  deep  appreciation.  He  has  done  something  for  the 
community  that  no  one  else  could  have  done." 


Upon  assuming  the  hospital  leadership  Mr.  Bardwick  was  faced  almost  im- 
mediately with  the  problem  of  raising  funds  for  renovation  and  re-equipping  to 
return  it  again  to  the  desired  standards. 

One  of  his  first  moves  was  to  name  an  administrator,  and  L.  C.  Mortrud 
assumed  the  position  in  1948.  His  first  task  was  one  of  reorganization  and  re- 
modeling. This  was  accomplished  during  the  next  decade  after  a  minute  study 
of  the  myriad  problems.  However,  better  allocation  of  existing  space  resulted 
in  increasing  the  hospital's  rated  bed  capacity  from  88  beds  and  25  bassinets  to 
1 15  beds  and  32  bassinets. 

A  program  of  public  education  to  create  support  and  understanding  of  the 
hospital's  needs  and  the  important  role  it  plays  in  the  welfare  of  the  community 
was  undertaken.  As  a  result,  industries,  organizations  and  individuals  responded 
with  generous  contributions  so  that  the  work  might  go  forward.  The  financial 
structure  was  studied  and  efforts  directed  toward  providing  a  business-like 
operation  which  would  result  in  a  self-sustaining  institution  and  yet  provide  for 
a  fund  to  meet  depreciation  costs. 

The  progress  toward  the  objectives  was  almost  meteoric  under  John  Bard- 
wick's  leadership,  devotion  and  inspiration. 

Patients'  rooms  were  modernized  and  decorated  in  pastel  colors,  cubical 
screens  were  installed  in  all  wards,  work  areas  in  all  nurses'  stations  were  re- 
furbished and  re-equipped.  Stainless  steel  replaced  old  enamel  utensils,  greater 
efficiency  and  cleanliness  were  achieved.  All  available  space  was  utilized  through 
re-arranging  and  remodeling. 

Another  major  portion  of  the  program  was  the  renovation  of  the  surgical 
suite.  Stainless  steel  equipment  replaced  the  original  furnishings  and  the  most 
modern  lighting  system  was  installed.  Safety  light  switches  were  added  and 
telephone  equipment  was  replaced. 

The  growth  of  the  hospital  is  evident  in  the  greater  number  of  patients 
served.  In  1949  the  census  was  4,449,  a  figure  that  increased  to  8,214  just  five 
years  later.  Emergency  room  cases  in  the  former  year  of  879  increased  to 
1,544.  Number  of  babies  born  increased  from  1,041  in  1949  to  1,835  in  1954. 

Other  important  changes  in  the  hospital  operation  during  the  period  were: 
modernization  of  the  X-Ray  Department,  employment  of  a  full-time  radiologist, 
creation  of  a  Women's  Auxiliary  to  assist  through  volunteer  services,  the  estab- 
lishment of  blood  banks,  installation  of  a  new  and  completely  equipped  phar- 
macy made  possible  by  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Leo  Sample  as  a  memorial  to  their  son, 
Leo  Sample,  Jr..  installation  of  a  new  heating  system. 

Cost  of  the  improvements  exceeded  $600,000  over  a  period  of  six  years. 

Another  significant  advance  was  the  accreditation  of  Ingalls  Memorial 
Hospital  by  the  American  Hospital  Association  after  a  survey  in  1953  by  the 
Joint  Commission  on  Accreditation  of  Hospitals. 

Ingalls  Memorial  Hospital  attained  nationwide  prominence  in  the  same 
year  when  it  was  selected  to  represent  the  voluntary  community  hospital  in  the 
United  States  as  a  model  of  modern  day  hospital  management  and  medical 
practice  control  in  hospitals  of  comparable  size.  As  a  result,  the  hospital  was 
visited  by  administrators  from  throughout  the  United  States  for  the  purpose  of 
studying  the  methods  employed.  Even  today,  Ingalls  Memorial  Hospital  serves 
as  annual  host  to  such  a  visit. 

In  1954  a  school  for  the  training  of  medical  technologists  was  opened  in 
the  clinical  laboratory,  which  the  year  prior  had  been  placed  under  the  super- 
vision of  a  full-time  pathologist. 

By  1955  the  physical  and  operational  changes  under  the  John  Bardwick 
administration  had  been  accomplished  at  a  cost  of  $1,167,000.   It  was  during 


this  period  also  that  a  dental  staff  was  created,  bylaws  and  regulations  con- 
cerning all  phases  of  the  hospital's  operation  were  established,  self-government 
of  the  medical  staff  was  granted  within  legal  limitations,  a  fire  protection  pro- 
gram inaugurated  and  Women's  Auxiliary  organized. 

Under  its  current  physical  structure,  Ingalls  by  1956  was  utilizing  its  fa- 
cilities to  the  maximum.  That  year  2,200  babies  were  born,  more  than  22,000 
patients  and  out  patients  had  been  served.  More  than  10,000  free  polio  shots 
were  administered  when  the  hospital  cooperated  in  a  mass  immunization  pro- 
gram following  the  development  of  the  Salk  vaccine. 

Organizational  changes  included  the  election  of  Herman  C.  Hoekstra  as 
president  of  the  Board  of  Trustees.  John  Bardwick  was  named  chairman  and 
Guy  T.  Avery  vice  chairman  of  the  board. 

Detailed  plans  were  made  for  hospital  expansion  when  the  demand  for 
hospital  service  reached  a  point  where  it  became  necessary  to  bed  patients  in 
the  halls.  In  1957  contracts  were  awarded  for  building  the  new  facilities  and 
in  June  ground  was  broken  for  an  addition. 

It  was  in  this  year  that  the  institution  underwent  another,  but  different  type 
of  crisis  —  a  tremendous  flood  which  necessitated  its  complete  evacuation.  Loss 
of  materials  and  income  was  estimated  at  $70,000,  but  after  a  concentrated 
cleaning-up  program  it  re-opened  a  week  later. 

The  four-story  addition,  completed  in  1959,  almost  doubled  the  bed  capacity 
of  the  hospital.  Yet,  as  this  history  is  being  written  it  is  significant  to  note  that 
despite  the  tremendous  expansion,  the  constant  growth  of  the  institution  in 
three  short  years  has  been  cause  for  considerable  discussion  by  the  Board  of 
Trustees  toward  undergoing  still  another  building  project. 


An  idea  presented  at  a  meeting  of  the  Harvey  Association  of  Commerce 
and  Industry  on  February  5,  1942  culminated  in  the  erection  of  the  imposing 
Harvey  Memorial  Young  Men's  Christian  Association  building  which  today 
occupies  the  southeast  corner  of  155th  Street  and  Center  Avenue. 

Discussions  at  that  meeting  at  which  John  Bardwick,  Jr.,  president  of  the 
ACI,  was  the  presiding  officer,  centered  around  the  need  for  a  community 
center  for  use  by  all  Harvey  residents. 

Also  present  at  the  session  were  a  number  of  community  leaders  including: 
Howard  Grant,  president  of  the  Whiting  Corporation;  A.  Myron  Lambert,  Jr., 
publisher  of  the  Harvey  Tribune;  Henry  C.  Piel,  attorney;  Leo  Sample,  partner, 
Oliver  Drug  Co.;  Paul  Soenksen,  owner,  the  Eagle  Store;  George  Tesar,  partner, 
Bastar  Jewelry  store;  Dr.  William  E.  McVey,  superintendent,  Thornton  Town- 
ship high  school  and  Junior  College;  Harry  Lillengren,  president  of  Bliss  and 
Laughlin,  Inc.;  Foss  P.  Miller,  assistant  treasurer,  Ingalls-Shepard  Division  of 
the  Wyman-Gordon  Company;  George  F.  Thies,  vice  president,  the  First  Na- 
tional Bank  in  Harvey. 

It  was  Mr.  Lillengren  who  first  suggested  the  possibility  of  establishing  a 
YMCA  branch  here  and,  after  a  series  of  meetings,  a  local  survey  by  the  Illinois 
YMCA  was  authorized. 

ACI  President  Bardwick  named  a  committee  to  explore  the  extent  to  which 
local  industry  might  participate  financially.  Members  of  that  committee  were 
Samuel  M.  Havens  of  the  Wyman-Gordon  Company;  chairman,  Mr.  Lillengren; 


David  H.  Daskal,  president  of  the  Perfection  Gear  Company;  and  J.  Stanley 
Dempesy,  president  of  the  Buda  Company,  who  was  regarded  at  that  time  as 
the  spokesman  for   Harvey   industry. 

This  committee  reported  on  January  7,  1943  that  a  branch  of  the  YMCA 
would  appear  to  fulfill  Harvey's  need  and  a  steering  committee  with  Dr.  Will- 
iam E.  McVey  as  chairman  was  named.  Other  members  were  Walter  Nagell, 
Mr.  Dempesy  and  Mr.  Soenksen,  although  shortly  thereafter  the  committee 
was  expanded  to  21  members. 

In  September  this  committee  officially  expressed  a  preference  for  the  estab- 
lishment of  a  YMCA  branch  and  on  September  10th,  A.  R.  Freeman  of  the 
Illinois  YMCA  came  to  the  community  to  discuss  the  possibilities. 

Frank  Hathaway,  general  secretary  of  the  Chicago  YMCA  later  pointed  out 
the  advantages  of  a  YMCA  on  September  21,  1943,  and  indicated  that  if  the 
city  could  raise  a  total  of  $250,000  the  Chicago  YMCA  would  double  that 
amount  for  the  erection  of  a  $750,000  building. 

In  October  of  the  same  year  the  board  of  the  Chicago  kY"  met  with  the 
local  committee  and  at  that  point  the  plans  jelled. 

A  building  committee  consisting  of  W.  H.  Hammer,  Henry  C.  Piel  and 
William  D.  O'Hara  announced  the  purchase  of  the  site  at  155th  Street  and 
Center  Avenue  in  October,  1944. 

Some  financial  difficulty  presented  itself  when  the  city  was  within  $25,000 
of  reaching  its  $250,000  quota.  In  the  interim  building  costs  had  risen  rapidly 
and  after  considerable  study  it  was  determined  that  the  original  amount  would 
not  suffice.  Harvey  found  it  necessary  to  raise  an  additional  $75,000. 

On  July  24,  1945  detailed  plans  for  the  building  and  working  drawings 
were  presented  to  the  local  YMCA  Board  of  Directors  of  which  Paul  Soenk- 
sen was  chairman.  At  this  time  it  was  reported  that  the  community  had  raised 
$267,363  in  pledges  to  the  building  fund. 

The  benefits  of  a  YMCA  program  of  activity  were  first  presented  to  the 
community  on  April  22,  1948  despite  the  fact  that  ground  had  not  yet  been 
broken  for  the  proposed  building.  A  two-story  brick  building  on  the  site  the 
"Y"  had  purchased  became  the  headquarters;  Victor  H.  Rompel  was  named 
executive  secretary  and  John  O.  Root  as  program  director.  Mr.  Rompel  had 
become  widely  acquainted  in  the  city  because  of  his  activity  during  the  fund 

First  word  that  a  building  was  in  the  offing  came  on  September  28,  1948 
when  it  was  announced  that  construction  would  get  under  way  the  following 
year.  Meantime,  the  YMCA  fund  had  grown  to  $490,500,  largely  because  of 
earnings  on  investments. 

The  Chicago  YMCA  also  had  announced  a  pledge  of  $600,000  for  the 
floors  in  the  building  that  were  to  be  used  for  residential  purposes.  Thus  the 
building  fund  went  over  $1,000,000. 

Despite  the  size  of  the  fund,  financial  problems  continued  to  present  them- 
selves because  of  the  constant  increases  in  the  cost  of  construction.  Harvey 
learned  that  it  would  be  required  to  raise  another  $128,000  but  also  that  the 
Chicago  YMCA  would  add  another  $222,000.  Meantime,  Mr.  Rompel  resigned 
his  Harvey  position  and  he  was  succeeded  by  Program  Director  Root. 

A  contract  for  what  was  to  become  a  $2,500,000  structure  was  let  on 
January  14,   1951  and  ground  was  broken  on  March  12. 

The  YMCA  program  of  activity  expanded  consistently  when  the  construc- 
tion of  the  building  was  in  progress,  setting  the  stage  for  Dedication  Week, 
April  19  through  26,  1953,  at  which  time  the  building  was  formally  opened  for 

1  11 

The  six  story  structure  has  since  served  not  only  the  residents  of  the  City 
of  Harvey  but  those  in  adjacent  communities. 

The  executive  directorship  of  Memorial  YMCA  has  gone  through  periodic 
changes.  Following  Mr.  Root  came  Ivan  H.  Smith,  who  served  from  April  1, 
1954  to  September  26,  1959;  Daniel  Schaeffer  from  September  to  December 
1959;  Robert  H.  Freitag,  December  16,  1959  to  the  present. 

Memorial  YMCA  has  had  the  benefits  of  exceptional  lay  leadership  and 
there  are  many  civically  minded  individuals  who  have  made  noteworthy  con- 
tributions, both  financial  and  moral.  Included  in  this  group  are  those  who  have 
served  as  chairmen  of  the  board  of  directors.  Each  has  provided  the  leader- 
ship that  has  made  possible  the  success  of  the  YMCA  as  a  community  center. 

Those  who  have  served  as  chairmen  are:  Paul  W.  Soenksen,  1944-1946; 
David  W.  Daskal,  1947-48;  Dr.  William  E.  McVey,  1949-50;  Henry  C.  Piel, 
1951-53;  Dr.  August  R.  Anderson,  1954-55;  Dr.  Harold  C.  Drummond, 
1956-57;  Arthur  E.  Christian,  1958-60;  Robert  H.  Reese,  1961-62. 

It  should  be  noted  also  that  Mrs.  A.  Myron  Lambert,  Jr.  who  has  been 
active  in  the  entire  area  of  YMCA  work  since  the  founding  of  the  branch  here, 
also  brought  distinction  to  the  local  association  when  she  was  elected  to  serve 
as  a  member  of  the  Chicago  Board  of  Managers,  the  first  woman  in  the  history 
of  the  Chicago  YMCA  to  be  so  honored. 


The  Harvey  Health  Center  had  its  beginning  in  1919  when  it  was  established 
here  by  the  Chicago  Tuberculosis  Institute  in  the  basement  of  the  public  library. 

Services  consisted  of  monthly  chest  clinics  administered  by  a  full-time 
nurse.  The  center  was  partly  supported  by  the  Public  Welfare  and  Health 
Association,  but  this  association  was  dissolved  in  1927. 

With  the  depression  came  the  need  for  an  increase  in  such  services  and  in 
1931  the  Harvey  Relief  organization  assumed  a  share  of  the  financial  obliga- 
tions. The  Health  Center  moved  into  the  relief  headquarters  and  the  organiza- 
tions worked  as  a  unit. 

In  1933  the  Cook  County  Public  Welfare  Department  took  over  the  entire 
task  of  administering  unemployment  relief  and  as  a  result  no  provision  was 
made  for  nursing  services.  Because  of  this  situation  a  committee  was  named  to 
raise  funds  for  the  purpose  of  conducting  health  work  in  the  city.  The  name 
was  changed  to  the  Harvey  Health  Council  and  the  office  was  moved  into  the 
city  hall. 

The  Health  council  became  an  agency  of  the  Harvey  Community  Chest  for 
the  first  time  in  1935  and  the  council  was  its  chief  financial  support  for  the  suc- 
ceeding 22  years. 

In  1936  the  need  for  dental  care  among  medically  indigent  families  first 
came  to  attention  and  the  Center's  Board  of  Directors  proceeded  to  acquire 
dental  equipment  and  arrange  for  a  clinic  and  a  dentist  with  the  cooperation  of 
the  Cook  County  Department  of  Public  Health.  Dr.  S.  N.  Gould  has  served  as 
the  dentist  for  21  years. 

In  1956  a  dental  clinic  for  high  school  students  was  inaugurated.  A  dentist 
was  employed  by  the  center  to  serve  the  clinic  through  the  school  year. 

In  1960  the  Center  became  an  agency  of  the  United  Fund  which  replaced 
the  Community  Chest.  New,  modern  dental  equipment  was  purchased,  an 
X-ray  room  was  set  up  and  other  equipment  added.  A  panel  of  seven  Harvey 
doctors  began  operating  the  high  school  clinic.  It  became  possible  to  furnish 
partial  dentures  where  necessary. 


The  Health  Center  is  governed  by  a  board  of  directors  of  21  local  people. 
Currently  it  has  a  well-equipped  office,  a  full-time  nurse,  plus  the  dental  clinic. 

The  dental  clinic  is  its  greatest  single  service.  Children  of  families,  unable 
to  pay  for  such  services,  are  sent  to  the  Center  by  appointment  of  the  school 
nurses,  although  need  is  determined  before  children  are  accepted  as  patients. 
More  than  100  had  dental  work  completed  in  1961. 

Other  services  provided  by  the  Center  include:  continued  medication  for 
clinic  out-patients  or  patients  discharged  from  hospitals,  but  only  when  no 
other  source  is  available  to  the  individual;  a  nurses'  file  of  registered  and 
practical  nurses  to  fill  requests  for  home  nursing  care;  a  referral  service  through 
which  requests  are  channeled  to  the  proper  agency;  dispensing  of  health  infor- 
mation; social  welfare  service  through  which  temporary  assistance  is  given  to 
local  families  until  the  proper  agency  assumes  the  obligation;  clearing  house 
service  for  organizations  distributing  Christmas  baskets  to  the  needy. 

The  nurse  presently  in  charge  of  the  Health  Center  is  Mrs.  Rose  Abraham. 


When  Troop  Number  One  was  organized  by  Harwell  Thompson,  member 
of  a  pioneer  Harvey  family,  at  the  First  Methodist  Church  it  marked  the  be- 
ginning of  the  Boy  Scout  movement  in  Harvey.  At  that  stage  the  Scoutmaster 
was  the  person  around  whom  activity  revolved. 

His  myriad  duties  included  providing  the  youths  with  their  basic  training, 
checking  them  out  on  advancement  tests,  serving  as  transportation  manager 
and  as  an  individual  board  of  review. 

Originally,  Scouting  was  conducted  on  more  or  less  a  haphazard  basis  and 
it  was  not  until  1923  that  its  popularity  with  the  youth  of  the  city  began  to  in- 

Troop  One  had  remained  in  existence  at  the  Methodist  church  with  Karl 
Treen  serving  as  Scoutmaster  and  Benjamin  J.  Sachs  as  his  assistant.  Members 
of  the  Troop  committee  were  George  Stevens,  Harry  W.  Baker,  William  Lahde, 
Clinton  Baker  and  Paul  Curtis. 

The  first  28  Scouts  to  be  enrolled  were  William  Andrews,  Fahne  Dante, 
Patrick  Mahin,  Robert  McKay,  Graydon  Dean,  Rayburn  Haines,  Carl  Walther, 
Lawrence  Craig,  James  Shipe,  Bernard  Wilson,  Harry  Boland,  Jr.,  Harris  Loy 
Dante,  William  Matthies,  Clarence  Lahde,  Theodore  Felgen,  Rowland  Hughes, 
Jack  and  Carroll  Lenox,  Arthur  Turngren,  Arthur  Collins,  Ralph  Shepard,  F. 
W.  Walter,  Wendell  Romine,  Harry  Sweeney,  Ralph  Petit  and  Lawrence 

Eventually,  Karl  Treen  was  succeeded  as  Scoutmaster  by  Carl  Keller  who 
passed  all  Scout  tests  and  eventually  won  Eagle  rank.  He  was  succeeded  by 
James  D.  Logsdon,  now  superintendent  of  Thornton  Township  High  School 
and  Junior  College,  who  also  won  Eagle  Scout  ranking. 

Troop  One  had  a  lasting  influence  on  the  Scout  movement  here  but  later  it 
was  divided  into  two  troops,  numbers  76  and  276.  It  contributed  heavily  to 
the  Scoutmaster  ranks,  among  those  serving  in  that  capacity  being  Clarence 
Lahde,  Graydon  Dean  and  Clifford  Shipe. 

Others  who  provided  leadership  for  the  Scouts  through  the  years  were 
Henry  Heideman,  Milton  Waterman,  Frederick  Beck,  a  Mr.  Franks,  Dclbert 
Parker,  Carl  Stouga,  Edward  Beinor,  Louis  Boudreau,  Frank  C.  Norton,  Herbert 
Pelke,  G.  C.  Showalter,  Ben  W.  Hughes,  John  Ott,  William  Ebert,  Jr. 

Scouting  has  been  made  possible  in  a  large  degree  by  the  institutions  who 


sponsor  troops.  Among  these  civic-minded  groups  are:  First  Methodist  Church, 
First  Lutheran  Church,  First  Baptist  Church,  First  Christian  Church,  the 
Church  of  God,  the  Federated  Church,  the  Academy  Methodist  Church,  the 
Harvey  Police  Department,  Elks,  Kiwanis  and  Optimist  Clubs,  Loyal  Order  of 
Moose,  the  Bryant,  Whittier  and  Washington  schools,  Ascension  Holy  Name 
Society,  the  American  Legion  and  the  West  Side  Civic  Club,  Garcia  Moreno 
Council  Knights  of  Columbus,  the  Riverside  Community  Improvement  Asso- 

In  1937  with  the  reorganization  of  Potawatomi  Trails  Council,  Harvey  be- 
came an  important  center  of  activity.  Harvey  itself  had  a  mere  100  Scouts,  a 
figure  that  is  well  over  400  at  the  present  time. 

Troops  here  have  had  a  representative  share  of  Scouts  with  the  rank  of 
Eagle,  the  highest  Scouting  can  confer.  Among  them  are:  George  Lytle,  Melvin 
Peebles,  Charles  Boysen,  William  Munro,  Jerry  Nelson,  John  Wagner,  Earl 
Bishop,  Alfred  Olson,  Robert  Sparks,  William  Edwards,  Daniel  Egan,  Edward 
Sparks,  John  Murphy,  David  Sparks,  William  Wegener,  James  Walenga,  James 
Schiltz,  Ronald  Celbuski,  Rodney  Iwema,  Jack  Schiltz,  Eugene  Peerbolte, 
Thomas  Spindler,  Philip  Carvey,  William  Elliott,  Michael  Krol,  Jr.,  Douglas 
Diggle,  Carl  Keeler,  James  D.  Logsdon. 

Rodney  Iwema  has  received  the  Silver  Award  as  has  Graydon  Dean. 


Girl  Scouts  have  been  active  in  Harvey  for  over  25  years.  The  first  Council 
was  chartered  in  June  of  1936,  with  Mrs.  Stanley  W.  Graff  serving  as  the  first 
commissioner.  That  year  the  first  Day  Camp,  Camp  Innisfree,  was  operated  in 
Jurgenson's  Grove,  Thornton,  serving  75  campers. 

In  1948,  when  Mrs.  Oscar  Coffey  was  President  of  the  Council,  Harvey 
joined  with  seven  other  suburban  communities  to  form  the  present  South  Cook 
County  Girl  Scout  Council,  Inc. 

In  1948  the  total  membership  was  just  over  1,000  girls  and  adults.  In  1962, 
the  Council  includes  over  60  communities  and  serves  10,000  girls  and  4,000 
adults.  Today  12  Day  Camps  are  operated,  serving  2,000  girls  —  a  troop  camp 
at  Camp  Thorn  Creek,  Thornton,  accommodates  better  than  6,000  yearly; 
and  the  Council  owns  and  operates  an  established  camp,  Camp  Manistee,  near 
Montague,  Michigan,  with  a  capacity  of  166  campers. 

Girl  Scouting  has  as  its  purpose  —  instilling  in  girls  the  highest  ideals  of 
character,  conduct,  patriotism  and  service. 

Council  headquarters  are  at  157  East  155th  Street. 


Perhaps  no  local  program  for  boys  has  had  greater  success  or  is  more  im- 
portant than  the  Harvey  Little  Baseball  League,  proposed  by  a  local  resident, 
James  Skamarak,  in  late  1949. 

The  idea  was  warmly  received  and  a  series  of  meetings  in  February  of  1950 
resulted  in  concrete  plans  for  organizing  a  league  here  on  the  principles  laid 
down  by  the  national  organization. 

The  first  officers  elected  were  headed  by  Anthony  Fraggos,  president. 
Others  were:  William  Turnbull,  vice  president;  Wilbur  Kuhlman,  treasurer, 
and  James  Skamarak,  secretary. 


However,  there  were  many  other  men  as  deeply  interested  in  the  program 
and  what  it  would  do  for  the  youth  of  the  community.  Their  assistance  was  of 
extreme  importance  in  laying  a  foundation  that  has  resulted  in  a  well-organized, 
smoothly  functioning  organization  that  has  provided  competition  and  a  basic 
athletic  education   for  hundreds  of  grade  school  boys. 

Among  those  who  made  major  contributions  were,  besides  the  officers: 
William  McLaren,  Gene  Des  Lauriers,  Harry  Raiman,  Roy  Hansen,  Vernon 
Johnson,  William  Bearman,  Garnett  Lybe,  Carl  Mendenhall,  Edward  Johnson, 
Albert  Boudreau,  and  many  others. 

Major  problems  were  the  obtaining  of  a  playing  site  and  the  securing  of 
sponsors  for  the  teams  to  be  organized.  The  Harvey  Park  District,  headed  by 
president  William  Hayes,  enabled  the  league  to  overcome  the  first  obstacle 
when  it  agreed  to  give  the  Little  League  exclusive  use  of  the  property  at  151st 
Street  and  Lexington  Avenue,  upon  which  was  to  rise  one  of  the  most  modern 
physical  plants  devoted  to  Little  League  baseball  in  the  Midwest. 

The  sponsor  problem  was  also  solved  with  little  difficulty  and  the  Harvey 
Optimist  Club,  Harvey  Moose  Lodge,  Harvey  Steelworkers  Club,  the  com- 
bined Harvey  industrial  firms,  the  Elks  Lodge  and  Ascension  church  made  the 
formation  of  six-team  league  possible. 

Likewise,  many  individuals  and  business  establishments  contributed  gen- 
erously to  the  erection  of  a  playing  field  on  the  Park  District  site. 

In  the  first  year  of  its  existence  the  league  made  organized  baseball  available 
to  more  than  350  boys,  a  total  that  has  expanded  greatly  through  the  years,  both 
in  participating  individuals  and  in  numbers  of  teams.  It  is  also  significant  that 
the  activity  has  provided  as  much  entertainment  and  excitement  for  thousands 
of  adults,  as  well  as  the  participants,  either  as  fans,  or  as  umpires,  managers  or 
assistant  managers. 

As  years  passed  many  more  adults  became  interested  in  the  activity,  and 
took  over  as  others  left  for  various  reasons.  These  included  such  men  as  James 
Turnbull,  Edward  Phalen,  Douglas  True,  Robert  Blonquist,  Henry  Koopman, 
Everett  Schurr,  Verle  Hudson,  Charles  Walls,  John  Blair,  Jerry  Zweifel,  Richard 
Weisbrodt,  Howard  McMorris,  Wayne  Ladewig,  I.  Behm,  Wilbur  Hallmann. 

A  program  of  continuous  improvement  in  the  facilities  resulted  in  the  erec- 
tion of  a  grand  stand  in  1954  with  all  labor  being  furnished  free  by  interested 
adults.  A  refreshment  stand  and  press  box  were  added  in  1957  and  a  lighting 
system  to  make  evening  play  possible  was  installed  in  1959. 

Expenses  of  the  league  are  met  by  sponsors'  fees,  fence  advertising,  booster 
cards,  donations  taken  at  the  games  and  profits  from  the  refreshment  stand 
which  is  operated  by  the  Little  League  Women's  auxiliary. 

Growth  of  the  league  is  noted  in  the  increase  of  the  teams  from  six  to 
twelve  between  1950  and  1961,  the  formation  of  16  "minor  league"  teams 
where  boys  receive  formal  coaching  to  prepare  them  for  a  place  in  the  bigger 
league  upon  reaching  the  proper  age,  the  construction  of  a  second  diamond  at 
161st  Street  and  Finch  Avenue.  Forty  youths  are  enrolled  in  a  training  pro- 
gram. The  entire  league  structure  involves  almost  600  boys. 

The  teams  are  now  divided  into  two  leagues  and  winners  play  each  year  for 
the  city  championship  with  the  winner  receiving  the  Whiting  Corporation 

Equally  important  in  the  successful  operation  of  the  league  is  the  Ladies' 
auxiliary  which  was  organized  in  1955  with  Mrs.  Wayne  Ladewig  as  the 
first  president.  Its  major  contribution  is  in  manning  the  refreshment  stand,  re- 
ceipts of  which  go  into  the  Little  League  treasury  at  the  conclusion  of  each 
playing  season. 


Women  who  have  given  unselfishly  of  their  time  to  the  auxiliary  are:  Mrs. 
F.  Lindsay,  Mrs.  Stanton,  Mrs.  Everett  Schurr,  Mrs.  H.  Blackstone,  Mrs.  E. 
Seiner,  Mrs.  Haun,  Mrs.  Brau,  Mrs.  Charles  Brewer,  Mrs.  Verle  Hudson,  Mrs. 
D.  Koss,  Mrs.  R.  Miller,  Mrs.  J.  Lee  and  Mrs.  Marshall. 



'Religion  is  the  basis 
for  civil  society,  and 
the  source  of  all  good 
and  all  comfort." 





In  the  successful  development  of  any  community  religion  is  fundamental 
and  the  strength  of  its  moral  fiber  has  a  direct  dependence  upon  the  number  of 
its  churches  and  the  devotion  of  their  memberships. 

Originally  a  temperance  community,  Harvey  would,  in  the  natural  course 
of  its  growth,  have  an  especial  attraction  for  those  who  wished  to  apply  their 
religious  convictions  realistically  as  well  as  fervently  to  faiths  of  their  choice. 

From  a  small  core  of  zealously  religious  pioneers  the  fine  church  community 
of  today  has  developed.  Whatever  one's  belief  there  is  a  church  house  in  which 
he  can  get  spiritual  solace  with  neighbors  of  similar  faith  —  commonly  bound 
in  the  objective  of  saving  the  soul  of  man. 

The  Harvey  of  today,  as  in  the  foundling  days,  has  a  citizenry  diversified 
in  nationality,  with  varied  backgrounds  and  philosophies.  Yet  they  traverse  the 
same  path  in  the  quest  for  spiritual  guidance  and  human  understanding  through 
the  medium  of  the  Church. 


First  services  of  the  Academy  Methodist  church  were  held  in  a  building  on 
the  city's  north  side  that  had  originally  served  as  a  school  for  pupils  from  the 
first  to  the  sixth  grades.  Meanwhile  the  membership  arranged  for  the  purchase 
of  vacant  property  nearby  and  in  1892,  with  their  own  capital,  plus  other  ob- 
tained from  officials  of  the  Columbian  Exposition  in  Chicago,  constructed  a 
$7,000  building  at  147th  and  Green  Streets.  It  was  dedicated  on  May  14,  1893. 

In  October  of  the  same  year  as  the  church  trustees  were  meeting  in  the 
parsonage,  tragedy  struck  in  the  form  of  a  fire.  All  that  was  saved  from  the 
burning  building  were  a  number  of  folding  chairs  and  two  leather-covered 
swinging  doors.  The  doors  are  still  in  use  although  they  are  now  covered  with 

Following  demolition  of  the  structure  the  congregation  met  in  the  World's 
Fair  hotel  at  146th  Street  between  Desplaines  and  Jefferson  Streets.  By  selling 
the  parsonage  it  became  possible  to  erect  a  second  church  in  1895  on  the  site 
now  occupied  by  the  educational  unit.  Long  benches  were  used  for  seats,  but 
there  was  sufficient  space  for  a  church  school  in  a  wing  of  the  building. 

Within  two  years  the  church  school  had  outgrown  the  quarters  and  a  room 
was  built  on  the  east  side  of  the  structure. 

Shortly  after  the  congregation  had  moved  into  the  church,  the  World's 
Fair  hotel,  which  it  had  occupied,  and  several  other  structures  also  burned  to  the 

In  1911  a  basement  was  dug  at  the  corner  of  146th  and  Green  Streets  and 
the  building  moved  there.  Cement  blocks  used  in  the  towers  were  made  by  hand 
by  church  members  and  their  families. 

The  next  step  forward  was  made  in  1943  when  the  home  of  James  Ward 
at  14545  Green  Street  was  bought  for  use  as  a  parsonage.  The  first  minister  to 
occupy  it  was  the  Reverend  Ellsworth  S.  Ewing  and  his  family. 

Under  the  pastorate  of  Reed  J.  Hurst,  ground  was  broken  on  October  3, 
1954,  for  an  educational  unit  comprising  five  classrooms  and  an  assembly 
room  on  the  first  floor  with  the  furnace  room  and  lavoratories  and  class  space  in 
the  basement.  The  cost  was  $22,000  when  completed.  Consecration  services 
were  held  on  June  19,  1955.  This  building,  which  was  expected  to  meet  the 
needs  of  the  church  school  for  many  years,  was  barely  finished  when  increased 
attendance  due  to  the  housing  boom  in  the  area  made  it  necessary  to  begin 


double  sessions  in  it  as  well  as  the  church  basement.  For  short  periods  classes 
were  held  in  the  parsonage  as  well  as  in  the  basement  of  a  nearby  home. 

In  the  fall  of  1958  it  became  necessary  to  either  repair  the  old  parsonage 
at  great  cost  or  build  a  new  one.  The  latter  course  was  decided  upon  and  a 
lovely  two-floor  brick  home  especially  designed  for  parsonage  living  resulted. 
It  was  built  at  14536  Harvey  Avenue  at  a  cost  of  $23,600  and  was  formally 
consecrated  by  the  district  superintendent,  the  Reverend  Frank  Countryman,  on 
December  14,  1958.  It  was  first  occupied  by  the  Ronald  Graham  family. 

Foreseeing  the  need  for  future  expansion  it  was  decided  to  purchase  the 
home  and  property  of  James  McAley  at  14539  Green  Street  in  1961  and  renting 
the  house  until  needed  by  the  congregation  for  building. 

In  April  1962  under  the  general  chairmanship  of  Charles  (Bud)  Kickert 
the  services  of  a  crusade  leader  were  secured.  The  Reverend  Dwight  Wood- 
worth  of  the  Department  of  Finance  and  Field  Service,  Division  of  National 
Missions  of  the  Methodist  church,  conducted  a  crusade  canvass  to  raise  funds 
for  the  present  budget  of  $17,725  and  a  proposed  future  building  on  the  site 
at  the  northeast  corner  of  146th  and  Green  Streets.  The  estimated  cost  of  the 
first  unit  including  the  sanctuary,  educational,  kitchen  and  fellowship  facilities 
was  $120,000. 

The  congregation,  following  destruction  of  their  first  building  was  served 
by  student  pastors  who  came  out  from  Northwestern  university.  Their  housing 
and  meal  problems  were  some  of  the  trials  of  the  church  board  in  those  days. 
One  minister  and  family  lived  in  the  east  wing  of  the  church  for  a  short  time. 
On  occasions,  the  church  sent  out  deaconesses  to  assist  in  the  work.  A  number 
of  these  are  still  remembered  for  their  valiant,  untiring  work  during  the  epi- 
demic of  the  late  '90's. 

One  student  pastor  moved  his  parents  into  the  parish  and  following  his 
graduation  remained  here  with  the  result  that  Academy  became  a  full  time 
pastorate  again.  This  pastor,  Paul  W.  Grimes,  is  still  well  remembered  by  many. 

The  ministers  who  have  served  at  Academy  Methodist  church  since  1892 
are  as  follows:  D.  McGurk  (1892),  J.  P.  Allen  (1894),  O.  C.  Baird  (1896), 
W.  C.  Scott  (1897),  James  D.  Fry  (1899),  Ernest  Lee  Thompson  (1901),  E. 
E.  Thompson  (1901),  John  H.  Williams  (1902),  H.  W.  Smith  (1903),  John  A. 
Kettle  (1904),  Charles  Edo  Anderson  (1905),  H.  S.  Witherbee  (1906),  L.  M. 
Bussey  (1907),  J.  H.  Meyer  (1908),  H.  C.  Munch  (1908),  Dr.  Hilton  (1909), 
Paul  L.  Grove  (1909),  Charles  M.  Edmondson  (1910)'  S.  B.  Edmondson 
(1910),  M.  L.  Olson  (1911),  R.  L.  Davis  (1911),  C.  P.  Gibbs  (1913),  H.  P. 
Buxton  (1915),  S.  M.  Swaney  (1915),  J.  L.  Ralston  (1916),  Charles  R.  Goff 
(1917),  F.  S.  McKnight  (1918-1922),  Roscoe  Jerril  (1922),  R.  H.  Laury 
(1923-1925),  Ray  R.  Kelley  (1925),  C.  R.  Ress  (1926),  Paul  W.  Grimes, 
(1926-1936),  Guy  Chester  Jones  (1936-1940),  A.  A.  Myers  (1940),  Ellsworth 
S.  Ewing  (1941-1945),  Julius  J.  Rankin  (1945-1949),  W.  Richard  Steffen 
(1949-1951),  Reed  J.  Hurst  (1951-1955),  Ronald  R.  Graham  (1955-1959), 
David  W.  Tracy  (1959  to  the  present). 

Organizations  within  the  church  at  present  are  seven  circles  of  the 
Woman's  Society  of  Christian  Service,  the  Junior  and  Senior  Methodist  Youth 
Fellowship  groups;  the  Couplettes,  the  Adult  Christian  Fellowship  and  the 
Prayer  Group. 


The  Harvey  Free  Methodist  Church  was  organized  in  the  early  part  of 
1892  under  a  grove  of  apple  trees  in  South  Harvey.  In  charge  of  the  meeting  was 


the  Reverend  J.  D.  Kelsey  and  forming  the  charter  membership  were  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Jarvis  Marriott.  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Allen  Linscott,  Miss  Viola  Marriott,  Mr. 
and  Mrs.  Levi  Ettinger.  Mrs.  Ella  Romine  and  Mrs.  Marvin  HeaK. 

The  society  met  for  purposes  of  incorporation  on  February  4.  1892  at  the 
home  of  John  F.  Hill  on  Myrtle  Avenue.  The  Reverend  Mr.  Kelse>  served  as 
chairman  and  Charles  Gere  as  secretary.  Named  to  serve  as  trustees  were: 
Samuel  E.  Gardiner,  John  F.  Hill,  Clayton  Van  Flack,  Joseph  Hill  and  Charles 
Gere.  Corporation  papers  were  filed  in  the  Cook  County  courthouse  on  Febru- 
ary 25,  1892. 

Religious  services  were  held  for  a  short  period  in  a  pavilion  stand  in  the 
southern  area  of  the  city  and  subsequently  the  congregation  worshipped  in  a 
vacant  store  building  at  156th  Street  and  Center  Avenue. 

The  growing  congregation  was  forced  to  move  again,  this  time  into  a 
church  building  at  153rd  Street  and  Center  Avenue. 

Under  the  pastorate  of  the  Reverend  Fred  Campbell  a  church  building 
was  erected  in  1899  at  146th  Street  and  Sangamon  Avenue.  Shortly  thereafter 
land  was  bought  at  15215  Center  Avenue  and  two  years  later  the  building  on 
the  north  side  was  moved  to  the  new  location. 

Attendance  continued  to  increase  and  by  1933  it  became  necessary- to  ex- 
pand facilities.  Under  the  leadership  of  the  Reverend  E.  E.  Eldridge  the  church 
was  enlarged  and  remodeled. 

Once  again,  in  1955,  under  the  pastorate  of  the  Reverend  W.  R.  Thompson, 
a  building  program  was  launched  and  on  September  1,  1960  the  congregation 
moved  into  its  attractive  new  edifice  at  148th  Street  and  Lexington  Avenue. 

The  structure,  consisting  of  four  levels,  is  valued  at  $100,000  and  repre- 
sents a  noteworthy  addition  to  the  physical  appearance  of  the  neighborhood  as 
well  as  a  place  of  worship.  The  building  can  accommodate  a  congregation  of 
250  and  a  Sunday  School  of  300. 

Cornerstone  laying  ceremonies  were  held  on  December  209  1959  with  the 
new  pastor,  the  Reverend  L.  H.  Seifert  in  charge,  and  actual  occupancy  took 
place  on  September  1.  1960.  Dedication  rites  were  held  on  November  6.  1960 
with  Conference  Superintendent  K.  M.  Walton  presiding.  Members  of  the 
board  of  trustees  were:  Clarence  Krantz.  Clarence  Spindler.  George  Slack, 
Gerald  Keys  and  Rapha  Barritt,  emeritus. 

Pastors  who  have  served  the  church  throughout  the  vears  are:  C.  B. 
Weatherall  (1892),  J.  H.  Hill  (1893),  E.  G.  Crver  (1894-1895),  F.  O.  Lewis 
(1895-1897),  Fred  Campbell  (1897-1899).  John  Harvey  (1899-1901),  P.  W. 
Newcomer  (1901-1903).  James  Sprague  (1903-1905).  M.  L.  Johnson  (1905- 
1907),  D.  W.  Hart  (1907-1908),  John  Will  ( 1908-1910). -J.  G.  Roctenback 
(1910-1912),  J.  R.  Kline  (1912-1915).  W.  T.  Loring  (1915-1917),  E-  A. 
Tapper  (1917-1920),  Sadie  Hill  Wilkins  (1920-1924),  E.  L.  Kline  (1924- 
1927),  A.  L.  Wright  (1927-1928),  Willis  Baker  (1928-1929),  E.  E.  Eldridge 
(1929-1935),  A.  A.  Finders  (1935-1919),  A.  H.  Fleming  ( 1939-1940)rA.  L. 
Manning  (1940-1942).  N.  C.  Martin  (1942-1943).  H.  W.  Phillips,  W.  F. 
Dick  (1945-1948).  T.  A.  Bailey  (1948-1950).  W.  D.  Mack  (1950-1955),  C. 
D.  Broyles  (1953-1955).  W.  R.  Thompson  (1955-1959),  L.  H.  Seifert  (1959 
to  the  present). 


Different  from  other  faiths,  the  Seventh  Day  Adventists  observe  the  Sabbath 
on  Saturday,  the  seventh  day  of  the  week,  according  to  the  fourth  of  the  Ten 


Commandments.  The  denominational  name  is  derived  from  the  observance 
of  that  day  and  the  second  personal  advent  of  Christ  to  the  earth. 

Organized  in  Harvey  in  August,  1891  by  a  small  group  of  about  25  mem- 
bers the  Adventists  first  worshipped  in  the  Swedish  Lutheran  Church  at  153rd 
Street  and  Lexington  Avenue,  moving  a  year  later  to  the  Swedish  Methodist 
Church  at  the  corner  of  153rd  Street  and  Loomis  Avenue. 

Membership  grew  steadily,  although  not  spectacularly,  and  it  was  decided  to 
obtain  a  church  of  its  own. 

The  German  Lutheran  Church  at  125  East  153rd  Street  was  on  the  market 
and  the  sale  transaction  for  $1,500  between  the  two  churches  was  completed  in 

For  a  time  the  group  prospered  but  there  came  a  decrease  in  the  congrega- 
tion when  several  families  moved  from  the  community. 

In  1947  consideration  was  given  to  abandoning  the  local  church  and  the 
suggestion  was  made  that  the  members  attend  churches  in  other  communities. 
Several  of  the  more  devout,  however,  were  reluctant  and  continued  to  worship 
here.  Gradually,  the  membership  began  to  grow  once  more  and  by  the  year 
1951  it  had  reached  such  proportions  that  a  new  and  larger  church  was 
necessary.  The  old  building  was  sold  for  $7,000  and  two  years  later  a  new 
building  for  the  Seventh  Day  Adventists  was  in  the  planning  stage.  The  local 
membership  worshipped  then  for  a  year  in  the  Chicago  Heights  church,  but 
arrangements  were  made  to  rent  the  Harvey  Church  of  Peace  building  at  152nd 
Street  and  Lexington  Avenue.  There  the  congregation  worshipped  for  two  and  a 
half  years. 

In  August,  1952,  four  lots  were  purchased  at  the  corner  of  150th  Street 
and  Paulina  Avenue.  Ground  was  broken  for  a  church  and  school  on  March  8, 
1954  at  an  impressive  ceremony.  Completed,  first  services  were  held  in  the 
structure  in  October,  1955. 

Only  a  devoted  membership  made  the  building  possible  by  donating  the 
labor.  It  is  a  fine  edifice,  ample  in  size  to  serve  the  needs  of  the  congregation. 

Following  are  the  pastors  who  have  served  the  Harvey  church:  Elder  Har- 
ris, Elder  Wright,  Elder  Sherrig,  Elder  Kinney,  Elder  R.  G.  Campbell,  Elder 
Bush,  Elder  Osgood,  Elder  Wyatt,  Elder  Caslow,  Elder  Kroeger,  Elder  Mc- 
Comas,  Elder  Brown. 

Members  who  have  gone  on  to  serve  the  faith  in  other  fields  are  Elder  Don- 
ald Myers,  who  is  with  the  West  Virginia  Conference,  and  Brother  Cleveland, 
who  is  now  serving  the  Quincy,  Illinois  District. 


Prior  to  the  formal  organization  of  the  Ascension  church,  between  the 
years  1891  and  1894,  those  of  the  faith  worshipped  as  a  small  group,  actually 
one  of  three  missions  that  had  been  established  at  Harvey,  West  Pullman  and 
Chicago  Heights  and  who  were  served  by  priests  assigned  by  the  Chicago 

Among  those  who  served,  according  to  a  Golden  Jubilee  booklet  compiled 
by  the  Ascension  parish  in  1944,  were  Father  Tynan,  pastor  of  Pullman's  Holy 
Rosary  church;  Monsignor  Foley,  described  as  a  young,  energetic  priest  and  as 
the  clergyman  who  established  the  three  above  missions. 

The  parish  history  records  that  Father  Foley  used  a  "spanking  team  of 
horses  to  carry  him  through  the  bottomless  mud  or  the  steep  snowdrifts"  to 


serve  his  missioners.  Among  Harvey's  early  Catholic  families  the  more  prom- 
inent were  the  Verhoevens  and  the  Finns  of  the  North  Harvey  area  on  147th 
Street,  the  Carneys  on  the  city's  west  side  and  the  Moncktons  in  the  area  to 
the  community's  southeast,  referred  to  as  "Michigan." 

There  were,  of  course,  no  church  buildings  in  which  to  conduct  the  Masses 
and  the  mission  services  were  conducted  in  store  buildings  and  even  in  the  old 
Harvey  Land  Association  building.  Assisting  in  conducting  those  services  in  the 
three  small  missions  were  the  Reverend  P.  A.  Clancy,  the  Reverend  John 
Harrington  and  the  Reverend  James  Dunn. 

The  fledging  church  had  many  benefactors  and  the  furnishings  and  linen 
were  assembled  by  such  -early  families  as  the  Ducetts,  Rogers,  Scotts,  Smiths, 
Moncktons,  Carneys,  Bradleys,  Powers,  Howlands,  Nilons,  Verhoevens  and  the 

Women  of  the  mission  organized  an  Altar  and  Rosary  Society  and  had  the 
task  of  arranging  the  locations  for  the  Masses.  They  did,  in  addition,  many  of 
the  menial  tasks  required  which  included  scrubbing,  dusting,  making  and 
laundering  linens  and  providing  flowers  for  the  altars. 

The  first  Catholic  Church  in  the  city  became  a  reality  under  the  guidance 
of  Father  Foley  in  1894  when  a  building  was  erected  at  the  corner  of  150th 
Street  and  Myrtle  Avenue.  It  was  then  that  the  name  Ascension  was  selected. 

Archbishop  Feehan  dedicated  the  church  on  September  26,  1895,  a  date 
which  marked  also  the  first  Communion  and  Confirmation  classes.  Among  those 
who  were  members  of  the  class  were  Mary  Monckton  and  Catherine  Howland, 
whose  family  names  are  today  widely  known  and  respected  here. 

The  first  resident  pastor  assigned  to  Ascension  Church  was  the  Reverend 
J.  B.  Feeley  on  June  29,  1899.  He  became  known  to  parishioners  as  "the  good 
Father"  and  church  history  records  that  he  "wisely  fostered  the  infant  parish 
and  by  his  homely  virtues  and  sympathetic  friendship  established  it  in  the 
esteem  and  good  will  of  the  whole  community  whose  interest  in  and  patronage 
of  parties^  bazaars,  entertainments  and  festivals  during  the  ensuing  years  was 
most  helpful  in  the  building  up  of  the  parish." 

There  being  no  rectory,  the  pastor  made  his  home  with  the  William  Powers 
family  and  two  nephews  of  Mr.  Powers,  James  and  John,  were  among  the 
first  altar  boys. 

Negotiations  which  resulted  in  the  erection  of  the  Ascension  Church  of 
today  began  in  1901  with  the  purchase  of  a  plot  of  ground  at  the  northwest 
corner  of  153rd  street  and  Myrtle  Avenue.  To  this  site  the  original  frame 
building  was  moved,  as  was  a  frame  house  purchased  in  West  Harvey  which 
was  to  be  used  as  a  rectory  for  many  years  until  the  construction  of  the  beauti- 
ful brick  building  occupying  the  site  today. 

It  was  shortly  thereafter  that  the  church  formed  its  first  choir  with  the 
assistance  of  Miss  Theresa  Flick,  who  was  a  teacher  in  a  Riverdale  parochial 
school.  Among  the  first  members  were  many  whose  names  are  perpetuated  in 
their  descendants  and  are  yet  widely  known.  Included  were  Tillie  Bradley  (Mrs. 
St.  Aubin),  Jeannie  Bradley  (later  Mrs.  Frank  Zanco),  Frank  Volz,  Frank 
Kramer,  John  and  Lucille  Verhoeven,  Margaret  and  Lulu  Wilson  and  several 
years  later,  James  and  John  Scully  of  a  widely  known  family  active  in  civic 

Ever  striving  to  raise  the  standards  of  the  parish.  Father  Feeley  inspired 
the  first  men's  organization,  known  as  the  Columbus  Circle.  For  his  work 
among  youth  he  was  made  an  honorary  member  of  the  Civic  and  Union  Clubs 
of  Harvey  and  it  was  with  regret  that  this  community  bid  him  adieu  when  he 
was  called  to  serve  the  Good  Council  parish  in  Chicago. 


His  departure  was  marked  by  a  huge  farewell  banquet  by  these  non-sectarian 
clubs,  which  presented  him  with  a  full  set  of  gorgeous  vestments. 

Succeeding  Father  Feeley  was  the  Reverend  George  T.  McCarthy,  young, 
vigorous,  zealous  man  dedicated  to  duty,  whose  personal  effort  resulted  in 
1919  in' the  erection  of  the  church  which  today  serves  a  greatly  expanded 

The  original  buliding  was  moved  to  the  rear  of  the  lot  along  153rd  Street, 
remodeled  by  the  parishioners  and  converted  into  a  school,  called  Columbus. 
The  second  floor  was  arranged  as  living  quarters  for  the  Dominican  nuns  who 
were  to  serve  the  school  as  teachers.  A  third  floor  contained  a  parish  hall. 

Father  McCarthy  was  the  founder  also  of  Garcia  Moreno  Council,  Knights 
of  Columbus,  as  well  as  St.  George  Court,  Women's  Catholic  Order  of 

Always  conscious  of  the  need  for  planned  activities  for  the  younger  element 
of  the  parish  membership,  he  formed  the  Lorretorian  League  which  was  to  carve 
an  important  niche  in  the  history  of  the  parish.  Members  staged  amateur 
theatricals,  climaxed  by  the  production  of  the  15th  century  morality  play, 

In  1917  Father  McCarthy,  who  had  endeared  himself  not  only  to  his  own 
people  but  to  every  resident  of  the  city,  left  with  many  of  the  young  men  with 
whom  he  had  such  a  close  feeling  of  comradeship  to  join  the  United  States 
Army  during  World  War  I  and  it  was  sadly  that  those  who  remained  here  bid 
their  highly  respected  and  greatly  loved  pastor  good-bye. 

Following  him  at  the  Ascension  altar  was  the  Reverend  William  D.  O'Brien, 
who  guided  the  parish  through  the  trying  days  of  the  war  and  who  earned  the 
respect  of  his  members  for  his  "sympathetic  understanding  and  interest." 

After  four  years  Father  O'Brien  was  succeeded  by  the  Reverend  Phillip 
Furlong,  his  tenure  marking  the  first  time  that  the  growing  parish  was  to  have 
the  added  services  of  an  assistant  priest  and  many  young  priests  have  served 
in  this  capacity  before  being  assigned  to  parishes  of  their  own. 

In  1922  Father  Furlong  organized  and  became  the  Chaplain  of  Harvey 
Court,  Catholic  Daughters  of  America.  But  of  the  greatest  importance  was  his 
interest  in  the  children  of  the  parish  which  led,  in  1926,  to  the  erection  of  the 
Ascension  school  of  today  under  the  sponsorship  of  Cardinal  Mundelein. 

Upon  Father  Furlong's  retirement  the  pastorate  was  assumed  by  Father 
Patrick  J.  Hennessey,  who  had  previously  served  at  St.  Mary's  parish  in  Joliet. 
His  pastorate  here  was  interrupted  by  his  death  and  until  the  Reverend  Edward 
Holloway  assumed  that  pastorate  the  parishioners  were  served  by  the  Reverend 
John  Kane,  Father  Hennessey's  assistant. 

Much  improvement  in  the  physical  aspects  of  the  church  property  was  ac- 
complished under  the  direction  of  Father  Holloway.  Each  building  was  com- 
pletely modernized,  old  equipment  replaced,  the  sanctuary  renovated.  Father 
Holloway  also  was  responsible  for  the  establishment  of  a  kindergarten. 

Succeeding  Father  Holloway  at  the  Ascension  altar  was  the  Reverend  James 
E.  Shevlin,  who  came  to  Harvey  in  1947.  The  parish  has  increased  substantially 
under  the  guidance  of  Father  Shevlin  and  it  was  under  his  direction  that  the 
lovely  rectory  adjacent  to  the  church  on  Myrtle  Avenue  was  erected  in  1949. 

Father  Shevlin  also  provided  the  inspiration  for  the  erection  of  a  most  at- 
tractive convent  on  Vine  Avenue  at  the  north  end  of  the  church  property  and 
for  the  sixteen  Dominican  nuns  who  serve  the  parish  as  teachers  in  its  grade 
school,  this  was  a  most  noteworthy  improvement.  It  can  be  said  that  this  struc- 
ture, completed  in  March  1957,  is  one  of  the  city's  most  gracious  and  attractive 
church  properties. 


The  growth  of  Ascension  parish  to  its  stature  of  today  is  best  indicated  in 
the  number  of  clergymen  who  serve  as  assistants  to  Father  Shevlin.  Included 
are  the  Reverend  John  Gibbons,  the  Reverend  Gerald  Fraser,  the  Reverend 
Anthony  Pleiss,  the  Reverend  John  Duffy.  Two  other  of  Father  Shevlin's  assist- 
ants who  endeared  themselves  to  the  parish,  but  who  were  transferred  to 
pastorates  of  their  own  were  the  Reverend  James  Morrissey  and  the  Reverend 
John   Powers. 


Founded  in  1890,  when  members  gathered  in  the  most  convenient  homes, 
halls,  storerooms  —  wherever  space  could  be  found,  the  First  Methodist 
Church  can  rightfully  claim  being  Harvey's  first  church  group. 

The  official  organization  of  the  church  occurred  on  December  2,  1890, 
after  the  Reverend  H.  L.  Houghton  had  been  called  by  the  members  to  serve 
as  pastor,  when  thirty-one  people  met  at  the  home  of  P.  H.  Lyster. 

Of  historical  importance  is  the  fact  that  the  first  person  received  into  mem- 
bership was  Mrs.  G.  V.  Anderson  on  January  31,  1891.  The  first  infant  bap- 
tized was  Rosewell  Barrett,  the  first  wedding  solemnized  by  the  Reverend  Mr. 
McGurk  July  27,  1892,  was  Roy  Gallagher  to  Flora  Barnes. 

The  first  Sunday  school  was  organized  on  April  19,  1891  in  the  little  Ger- 
man church  on  Center  Avenue  just  south  of  153rd  Street. 

Beginning  on  April  26,  1891,  both  church  services  and  Sunday  School 
classes  were  held  on  the  third  floor  of  the  old  French  Block  at  the  northeast 
corner  of  154th  Street  and  Columbia  Avenue. 

The  congregation  continued  to  meet  at  various  places  until  it  bought  the 
Union  chapel,  founded  by  Turlington  W.  Harvey  at  the  southeast  corner  of 
155th  Street  and  Lexington  Avenue.  It  is  now  the  home  of  the  Oddfellows 

Although  the  union  chapel  might  have  had  the  distinction  of  being  the  first 
church  in  the  young  city,  it  "never  achieved  the  purpose  for  which  it  was  in- 
tended by  Mr.  Harvey,"  the  memoirs  of  Peter  Beck  record,  and  in  November, 
1891  it  was  bought  by  the  Methodists  from  the  Harvey  Land  Association  for 

One  month  later  the  structure  was  dedicated  and  in  attendance  were  many 
whose  names  will  be  recalled  by  present  pioneer  residents.  Included  were  Mrs. 
W.  H.  Robinson,  Miss  Minnie  Stone,  A.  S.  Craver,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  L.  K.  Hins- 
dale, Mrs.  Samuel  Stinton,  Miss  Mary  Goddard,  Miss  Emily  Lytton,  Miss 
Sayde  Millison,  Mrs.  G.  C.  Carswell,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Leroy  Trumbull. 

Those  who  served  the  young  church  as  stewards  included  F.  M.  Grout,  W. 
Finley  James,  Mrs.  Ida  James,  Rufus  Ricker,  R.  B.  Smith  and  Mrs.  Anna  Mc- 
Gilvray.  Members  of  the  board  of  trustees  were  C  F.  Craver,  F.  H.  Selden, 
William  A.  Miller,  E.  Weaver,  E.  D.  Harris,  P.  H.  Lyster,  H.  M.  Hurd,  J.  C 
Bloodgood  and  Daniel  McGilvray. 

Services  in  the  church  were  held  continuously  until  1913  when,  during  the 
pastorate  of  the  Reverend  G.  C.  Carswell,  the  present  building  at  the  northwest 
corner  of  the  same  intersection  was  dedicated  after  a  one-year  period  of  con- 
struction. Previously  it  had  been  the  site  of  the  elaborate  carriage  barn  belong- 
ing to  Charles  Craver,  Austin  Company  executive. 

Closely  connected  with  the  Methodist  church  of  those  years  was  the  family 
of  Edward  Gamble  which  made  contributions  of  substantial  amounts  toward 
the  new  structure.  It  was  as  an  expression  of  appreciation  by  the  membership 


that  they  chose  to  call  the  new  church  "Zella  Gamble  Memorial  Methodist 
Church,"  honoring  the  memory  of  Mr.  Gamble's  wife.  The  building  was  dedi- 
cated on  November  29,  1914,  and  its  name  maintained  until  recent  years  when 
it  became  the  First  Methodist  church. 

Since  the  pastorate  of  the  Reverend  Mr.  Houghton,  who  served  from  1890 
to  1892,  the  church  has  been  served  by  the  following  ministers:  Daniel  Mc- 
Gurk  (June  to  September  1892),  J.  A.  Lucas  and  Frank  C.  Bruner  who  ex- 
changed pastorates  between  meetings  of  the  Rock  River  Conference,  Mr. 
Moore  (1897-1900),  Perley  Powers  (1900-1903),  W.  I.  Otjen  (1903-1906). 
Thomas  G.  Cocks  (1906-1908),  H.  G.  Warren  (1908-1919),  G.  C.  Carswell 
(1913-1917),  I.  E.  Putnam  (1917-1921),  Charles  D.  Wilson  (1921-1925), 
Frank  Anderson  (1925-1935),  W.  C.  Godden  (1935-1941),  A.  C.  Nesmith 
(1941-1948),  J.  L.  Figley  (1948-1956),  Paul  E.  Turk  (1956-1959),  and 
Joseph  E.  Keller,  who  is  the  present  pastor. 

As  membership  grew  it  created  a  demand  for  more  adequate  quarters  and 
in  1954  the  official  board  approved  the  purchase  of  the  Peter  Beck  home  adja- 
cent to  the  church  property  on  the  north.  It  became  the  location  for  the  ex- 
panding Sunday  School  and  was  named  the  Jewell  House  in  honor  of  Dr. 
Minna  Jewell,  a  professor  at  Thornton  Junior  College  who  had  "given  gener- 
ously of  her  time,  effort  and  finances." 

However,  the  new  facility  met  the  need  only  temporarily  and  a  campaign 
to  raise  funds  for  the  erection  of  a  new  building  was  launched.  It  resulted  in 
the  destruction  of  the  Jewell  House  and  erection  of  the  Christian  Education 
building  which  was  consecrated  on  March  12,  1961. 

Those  serving  presently  as  trustees  are:  George  Owen,  Norman  Seagraves, 
Ernest  Willing,  Dr.  Clarence  Simon,  T.  E.  Strum,  William  Weaver,  George 
Bennett,  Charles  Boese  and  Paul  S.  Godwin. 

Present  stewards  are:  Miss  Ruth  Brown,  Fred  Fehsel,  Richard  Foerch,  Earl 
Gossett,  Mrs.  Ernest  Hanson,  Mrs.  B.  M.  Johnson,  Lowell  Kretzer,  Mrs.  Ted 
Massey,  Ted  Massey,  Richard  Maxwell,  James  McGinness,  A.  W.  Merritt,  Mrs. 
Ressie  Millins,  Delbert  Parker,  Mrs.  Delbert  Parker,  Ervin  Reeves,  Miss  Wini- 
fred Stabenow,  Mrs,  Morris  Swieringa,  Mrs.  Stephen  Thompson,  Karl  Treen, 
Robert  Upton,  Bud  Wallace,  Bruce  Williams  and  Mrs.  C.  L.  Zehner. 

Other  major  church  positions  are  held  by:  Mrs.  Harold  Pierce,  director  of 
music;  Mrs.  Lauren  Berry,  organist;  Mrs.  E.  Paul  Frankson,  secretary;  Mrs. 
U.  M.  Balke,  financial  secretary,  and  Ralph  Silvey,  custodian. 


The  history  of  the  Federated  church  is  actually  the  combined  histories  of 
two  of  Harvey's  early  churches,  the  First  Congregational  and  the  First  Presby- 

Each  of  the  churches  flourished  until  their  federation  in  1920  and  thus 
their  individual  histories  must  be  chronicled,  until  that  year  when  their 
histories  become  one. 

It  appears  that  the  first  of  the  two  to  become  organized  was  the  Congrega- 
tional which  had  its  beginning  about  November  1,  1890  when,  early  documents 
say,  "G.  S.  K.  Anderson  of  the  Moody  Bible  Institute  began  preaching  in  a 
small  frame  schoolhouse  north  of  the  Grand  Trunk  tracks." 

It  seems  also,  that  although  this  was  later  to  become  the  Congregational 
church,  its  original  membership  included  those  of  the  Methodist  and  Baptist 


"Sometime  in  December  (1890)  the  Methodists  withdrew  and  organized 
their  own  church  and  in  January  (1891)  the  Baptists  did  likewise,"  an  old 
document  says,  and  the  histories  of  these  churches  indicate  the  authenticity  of 
that  document. 

Those  who  remained  of  the  original  congregation  concluded  that  the  time 
was  appropriate  for  organizing  their  own  church  and  on  February  8,  1891  held 
their  first  meeting  at  the  old  "bank  hall."  A  committee  was  appointed  at  that 
meeting  to  canvass  the  community  in  an  effort  to  determine  what  the  residents 
preferred  in  the  way  of  a  church. 

At  a  meeting  a  week  later  the  committee  reported  "having  obtained  103 
expressions  of  opinion."  Opinion  favored  a  Congregational  church  and  this  led 
to  its  organization. 

Specifically,  the  committee  determined  that  38  preferred  that  church,  15 
favored  a  Presbyterian  church,  10  a  Methodist  church,  eight  an  Episcopal 
church,  seven  a  Christian  church,  seven  a  United  Brethren  church,  five  a  Luth- 
eran church,  five  a  Dutch  Reformed  church,  four  a  Baptist  church,  two  an 
Unitarian  church  and  one  an  Adventist  church. 

The  survey  resulted  in  the  formation  of  a  committee  to  proceed  with  the 
drafting  of  a  constitution  and  the  preparation  of  the  articles  of  faith.  Serving 
were  Thomas  MacFarlane,  M.  Austin,  F.  W.  Gilbert,  all  Congregationalists;  A. 
W.  Campbell  and  D.  Fenton,  Presbyterians,  and  C.  E.  Howard,  an  Episco- 
palean.  Mr.  MacFarlane  served  as  chairman  and  Mrs.  Austin  as  secretary. 

It  was  the  report  of  this  committee,  on  February  22,  1891,  that  resulted  in 
the  formation  of  the  Congregational  church,  because  the  organizers  agreed 
unanimously  to  substitute  the  word  "Congregational"  for  Evangelical."  It  is  a 
matter  of  record  that  those  of  the  other  faiths  decided  to  ally  themselves  with 
the  group  which  had  been  shown  as  predominant  in  the  committee  survey.  At 
the  meeting  27  persons  signed  the  constitution  and  articles  of  faith.  Charter 
members  totaled  79. 

Details  of  the  formation  of  the  Presbyterian  church,  which  was  to  become 
the  second  part  of  the  federation,  have  been  obscured  by  time  and  there  exists 
no  documentary  evidence  of  how  this  congregation  came  into  being. 

However,  it  has  been  established  that  the  church  resulted  from  a  suggestion 
by  the  Reverend  J.  B.  McClure. 

"Some,"  unnamed  historians  say,  "seem  to  have  been  persuaded  to  with- 
draw from  the  Congregational  church  and,  together  with  other  Presbyterians 
who  arrived  in  the  community  at  a  later  date,  arranged  a  meeting  in  the  German 
Evangelical  chapel  (location  unknown)  on  March  17,  1892,  at  which  the 
Presbyterian  church  was  organized." 

Minutes  of  that  meeting  say  that  Dr.  McClure  was  aided  in  the  organiza- 
tional work  by  the  Reverend  James  Thompson  of  Oakland,  California,  who 
spoke  on  the  "right  to  the  organization  of  a  Presbyterian  church  in  Harvey." 
Twenty-six  persons  were  accepted  for  membership  and  "eight  others  were  en- 
roled on  condition  that  their  letters  would  be  received." 

Ten  elders,  including  Dr.  G.  A.  Stevenson,  A.  R.  Webber,  J.  C.  Black,  J. 
D.  Grant,  John  Beck,  Irving  Mutchler,  Thomas  Black,  C.  T.  H.  Riggs,  Theodore 
Dudgeon  and  a  second  J.  D.  Grant,  were  named. 

From  that  point  until  discussions  began  on  the  union  of  the  two  churches 
the  history  of  the  Presbyterian  church  is  blank  and  there  appears  to  be  no 
record  of  its  pastors  or  its  growth. 

The  Spring  of  1920  marked  the  beginning  of  federation  discussions  and  the 
first  joint  meeting  of  18  members  of  the  Congregational  Church  and  14  from 
the  Presbyterian  Church  was  held  prior  to  June  20  of  that  year. 


Presiding  as  chairman  was  the  Reverend  Martin  Luther  Thomas.  The  meet- 
ing resulted  in  the  appointment  of  a  joint  committee  to  study  the  feasibility  of 
federation.  Members  of  the  committee  were:  the  Reverend  Henry  S.  Brown, 
Dr.  G.  A.  Stevenson,  Thomas  J.  Phillips,  R.  C.  Mueller,  representing  the 
Presbyterians,  and  the  Reverend  Reuben  L.  Breed,  A.  W.  Campbell,  H.  H. 
Mynard  and  Peter  Beck,  representing  the  Congregationalists. 

Their  efforts  resulted  in  a  meeting  of  the  two  congregations  on  June  3, 
1920  when  the  articles  of  federation  were  presented  and  accepted  by  both. 

The  same  committee  met  on  June  15  and  arranged  for  the  Reverend  Martin 
Luther  Thomas  to  serve  as  temporary  pastor.  On  June  28  the  organization  was 
completed,  A.  W.  Campbell  being  elected  chairman  of  the  board  of  directors, 
and  R.  C.  Mueller  as  secretary. 

In  October  the  Reverend  Robert  Edward  Zeigler  was  named  pastor  and  he 
served  until  1924,  when  the  pastorate  was  assumed  by  the  Reverend  William 
F.  Vance.  Extremely  popular  with  the  church  membership,  Reverend  Mr. 
Vance  remained  at  the  position  until  1932  when  he  was  succeeded  by  the 
Reverend  Stanley  Graf. 

Reverend  Mr.  Graf  served  the  congregation  until  1940  when  he  was  suc- 
ceeded by  the  Reverend  Lawrence  Harvison.  The  Reverend  Mr.  Harvison  left 
in  1948  and  the  pastorate  was  assumed  by  the  Reverend  Thomas  Napolitan. 

When  the  Reverend  Mr.  Napolitan  left  in  1956  to  accept  a  pastorate  in 
Florida  the  present  pastor,  the  Reverend  John  Rossel,  came  to  Harvey  and  it 
has  been  under  his  direction  that  many  physical  changes  in  the  church  facilities 
have  been  effected. 

Ministers  occupied  the  parish  house  immediately  adjacent  to  the  south 
until  1941  when  property  at  15425  Lexington  Avenue  was  purchased  for  a 
parsonage.  This  served  the  pastors  until  1944  when,  under  the  terms  of  the 
will  of  Miss  Georgia  Mynard,  a  member  of  the  congregation  for  many  years, 
the  church  became  the  owner  of  the  spacious  residence  at  149  East  155th  Street. 
It  serves  today  as  the  parsonage. 

The  Original  Articles  of  Federation  remained  substantially  the  same  for 
many  years,  until  May  28,  1958  when,  upon  the  building  of  a  new  church 
adoption  of  a  new  Constitution  became  mandatory  for  legal  reasons.  As  a  result 
a  new  religious  corporation  known  as  the  "Federated  Church  of  Harvey"  was 
formed  and  property  held  by  the  two  original  churches  was  deeded  to  the  new 

A  steadily  increasing  membership  made  it  imperative  that  the  original 
church  building  be  demolished  to  make  way  for  a  more  modern,  spacious 
building  and  wheels  were  set  in  motion  to  assure  adequate  financing  for  the 
project.  It  was  under  the  inspirational  leadership  of  Robert  F.  Rice,  Arthur 
Tomlinson  and  James  Wiltshire,  who  served  as  chairman  of  the  Building, 
Financial  and  Building  Fund  committees,  respectively,  that  the  objective  was 

So,  in  1958  there  arose  on  the  site  of  the  old  church  one  of  the  community's 
most  attractive  religious  edifices,  a  $274,000  structure  the  most  warming  aspect 
of  which  is  a  huge  stained  glass  window  at  the  north  which  tells  the  story  of 
Christ  from  birth  to  Resurrection.  Each  panel  reveals  a  highlight  in  His  life 
and  those  who  erected  it,  the  Willet  Company  of  Philadelphia,  Pennsylvania, 
have  said  that  such  an  attraction  is  unique  in  church  history. 

However,  even  this  spacious,  architecturally  splendid  edifice  was  only  one 
of  a  two-part  building  program  which  resulted  in  1960  in  the  erection  of  an 
educational  unit  to  the  west  of  the  main  building.  Erected  at  a  cost  of  $100,000 
the  wing  provided  the  membership,  which  had  reached  1,100  at  this  point,  with 


adequate  space  for  use  by  the  congregation  groups.  The  site  is  beautifully  land- 
scaped and  has  added  substantially  to  community  beautification. 

Among  the  active  groups  within  the  church  are  the  Women's  Federation, 
the  Merry  Couples,  the  Church  School,  the  Federated  Men's  Club,  the  Youth 
Fellowship,  the  Crusaders  and  the  Daily  Vacation  Bible  School. 

Serving  today  as  minister  of  education  is  the  Reverend  Gilbert  Miller.  Ed- 
ward N.  Oathout  is  the  organist-director  and  Mrs.  Harry  Sailors  the  office 

Other  officers  of  the  congregation  are:  Lewis  D.  Loring,  moderator; 
Arthur  Tomlinson,  vice  moderator;  Miss  Elizabeth  Brushfield,  secretary  to  the 
board  of  directors;  Warren  Teichler,  church  treasurer;  Mrs  Henry  Mclllwaine, 
fniancial  secretary;  Mrs.  George  Stevenson,  building  and  financial  secretary; 
George  Ri-ester.  church  school  superintendent;  Mrs.  Charles  Geupel,  president, 
Women's  Federation;  George  Morse,  president  Men's  Service  Club;  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  James  Wiltshire,  president  Merry  Couples  Club;  Miss  Adriana  DeGraff, 
congregational  clerk;  Wilbur  Morrison,  clerk  of  sessions. 

Congregational  elders  are:  William  Hardlannert,  Jr.,  Clifford  Massoth, 
Clarence  Stegmeir,  J.  Robert  Day,  Howard  D.  Jehu,  Guy  Phillips,  Mrs.  Carlton 
Stute,  Donald  Trimble  and  Neil  Worcester. 

Presbyterian  elders  are:  Clifford  Satterthwaite,  Francis  Waterman,  Joseph 
Blomquist,  Mrs.  Charles  Armingtonr  George  Morse,  Carl  Peterman,  Wesley 
Churchill  and  James  White. 

Serving  as  deacons  are:  Chairman  Herbert  Bean,  Frank  Gray,  Frank 
Huson,  James  Henderson,  Sr.,  William  Stewart,  John  Melik,  Frank  Paschke, 
Edward  Moravek,  Gene  Bell,  Joseph  Massick,  Wilbur  Overman  and  Richard 
Payne.  Honorary  life  members  are  Robert  Newton,  Sr.,  and  William  Hardlan- 
nert,  Sr. 

Deaconesses  are:  Mrs.  Cedric  Casler,  chairman,  Miss  Lois  Henderson,  Mrs. 
Harvey  Goebel,  Mrs.  Ernest  Savageau,  Mrs.  Allen  Besterfield,  Mrs.  William 
Munro,  Mrs.  Wilbur  Freese,  Mrs.  Edward  Moravek,  Mrs.  John  Brown,  Mrs. 
Roy  Dennis,  Mrs.*  Carl  Johnson  and  Mrs.  Richard  Melton. 

Serving  on  the  church  board  of  trustees  are:  Mrs.  Fred  Bartlit,  chairman, 
and  J.  S.  Stanley  Ralph,  vice  chairman,  Mrs.  Fred  Miller,  Porter  Hay,  Sr., 
August  Koehler,  Robert  DuBois,  Walter  Gustafson,  Leslie  Lyon,  and  Mrs. 
Leonard  Helfrich. 

Committee  chairmen  are:  J.  Philip  Allen,  auditing;  Raymond  Krachey, 
benevolence;  Robert  F.  Rice,  building;  J.  Stanley  Ralph,  building  and  grounds; 
Mrs.  Ralph  Hale,  chancel  choir;  Raymond  Richardson,  Christian  education; 
James  T.  Wilkes,  endowment;  Arthur  Tomlinson,  finance;  Miss  Ann  Jensen, 
flowers;  Mrs.  George  Morse,  historian;  Edward  Moravek,  music;  Mrs.  John 
Melik,  publicity;  Frank  Huson,  ushers. 


Almost  from  its  inception,  Harvey  has  been  what  is  now  termed  an  "inte- 
grated community"  and  members  of  the  Negro  race  have  been  an  accepted  and 
respected  part  of  the  city  since  the  late  1890's  when  as  one  historian  recorded, 
'the  barber  shop  was  operated  by  Harvey's  only  colored  man." 

As  was  true  with  each  segment  of  the  community,  the  church  has  played  a 
prominent  part  in  the  lives  of  Harvey's  Negro  population  and  it  is  interesting  to 


note  that  there  were  enough  representatives  of  the  race  in  the  city  in  1896  to 
form  a  congregation  —  that  of  the  Shaffer  Chapel  African  Methodist  Church. 

"Back  in  1896  when  men  were  filled  with  missionary  spirit,"  church  records 
say,  "the  Chicago  Annual  Conference  was  eager  to  expand  the  bounds  of 
African   Methodists." 

It  was  at  that  conference  a  minister,  whose  name  has  been  lost  during  the 
years,  was  delegated  as  a  missionary  to  Harvey.  Once  here  "he  gathered  some 
twelve  or  fifteen  people  at  the  home  of  William  and  Hester  White  at  the 
corner  of  159th  Street  and  Vine  Avenue."  It  was  at  his  suggestion  that  the  name 
of  the  church  had  been  selected.  It  appears  that  the  first  pastor  had  an  abiding 
respect  and  love  for  the  Reverend  G.  S.  Shaffer,  son  of  Bishop  C.  T.  Shaffer 
of  the  Chicago  Conference. 

After  the  pioneering  preacher  had  served  for  one  year  he  was  succeeded  by 
the  Reverend  P.  J.  Coats,  who  conducted  services  in  the  "hose  house  at  the 
corner  of  154th  Street  and  Myrtle  Avenue."  The  building  was  later  sold  to 
the  church  by  the  City  of  Harvey,  but  the  latter  retained  the  land.  The  congrega- 
tion continued  to  meet  there  until  1898  when  two  lots  were  purchased  at  152nd 
Street  and  Ashland  Avenue. 

In  1904,  when  the  Reverend  C.  T.  Shaffer  became  bishop  of  the  Fourth 
Episcopal  District,  the  Reverend  W.  J.  Festerman  was  assigned  to  the  Harvey 
pastorate  and  it  was  he  who  inspired  the  congregation  to  complete  paying  for 
the  lots  and  erect  a  new  church  building  at  the  site,  which  had  formerly  be- 
longed to  Sam  and  Sarah  Daniels. 

Trustees  at  the  time  were  Charles  E.  Smith,  John  E.  Johnson  and  Zack 

A  devoted  congregation  of  50  members  built  the  new  church  with  their 
own  hands,  lumber  being  the  only  expense  sustained. 

It  was  under  the  leadership  of  Reverend  W.  B.  Baber  that  a  basement  was 
dug  and  the  building  moved  to  its  present  site  at  15  East  152nd  Street. 

Next  to  assume  the  pulpit  of  the  Shaffer  Chapel  was  the  Reverend  J.  N. 
Goddard,  assigned  by  Bishop  L.  J.  Coppin  during  the  Annual  Conference  at 
Quinn  Chapel  in  Chicago  on  September  24,  1919.  It  was  under  the  Reverend 
Mr.  Goddard  that  a  parsonage  was  constructed,  this  being  accomplished  by 
the  pastor,  also  a  carpenter,  and  one  assistant.  Lumber  used  was  from  the  old 
hose  house  in  which  the  congregation  had  first  worshipped. 

Among  other  clergymen  who  have  served  Shaffer  Chapel  were  Louis  Bu- 
chanon,  A.  Boyd,  J.  D.  Peterson,  B.  E.  Evans,  Reverend  Butler,  T.  C.  Devlin,  L. 
Mclnnis,  J.  H.  Ferribee,  F.  J.  Peterson,  P.  A.  McWhorter,  C.  L.  Henderson, 
Reverend  Smith,  Reverend  Shelton,  T.  J.  Merritt,  A.  J.  Irvine,  H.  H.  Thompson, 
J.  L.  Wingate,  Lindsay  Owens,  W.  H.  Thomasson,  Carrie  White,  Ira  Burton, 
David  A.  Blake,  Jr.  and  Charles  W.  Holliday. 

The  congregation  now  numbers  100  and  the  present  pastor  is  the  Reverend 
Oliver  Thigpen,  who  assumed  the  pastorate  on  October  8,  1961. 


The  history  of  the  Christian  Science  Church  of  Harvey  dates  back  to  1908 
when  a  small  group  of  students  interested  in  Christian  Science  began  meeting  in 
their  homes.  The  group  was  recognized  as  a  Christian  Science  Society  of  the 
Mother  Church,  The  First  Church  of  Christ,  Scientist,  in  Boston,  Massachu- 
setts, February  21,  1909,  and  in  March  of  that  year  the  Society  began  holding 
regular  Sunday  services  and  Wednesday  evening  meetings  in  the  Land  Associa- 


tion  building  at    15432   Park  Avenue.  A   reading  room  was  established  at  the 
same  location. 

In  February.  1912.  the  Society  sponsored  its  first  Christian  Science  lecture 
and  in  1917  began  giving  one  lecture  a  year.  Since  1945  two  free  public  lectures 
have  been  given  annually. 

As  Sunday  School  and  church  attendance  grew,  the  group  commenced  to 
look  ahead  and,  in  June,  1914.  established  a  building  fund.  By  the  end  of 
1914  the  need  for  larger  quarters  was  apparent.  The  Illinois  Bell  Telephone 
Company  building  at  15430  Center  Avenue  was  rented.  In  1916  larger  quarters 
were  again  required  and  this  time  the  Society  leased  the  first  floor  of  the 
Masonic  Temple,  154th  Street  and  Turlington  Avenue.  In  the  same  year  a  lot 
was  purchased  at  15303  Center  Avenue,  plans  were  drawn  and  by  the  end  of 
1916,  a  store-type  building  had  been  completed  at  this  site. 

In  1920  the  Society  began  to  consider  a  permanent  home.  Two  lots  were 
purchased  at  the  corner  of  155th  Street  and  Myrtle  Avenue. 

In  1926  the  Christian  Science  Society  of  Harvey  was  recognized  as  a  branch 
of  the  Mother  Church,  and  became  First  Church  of  Christ,  Scientist,  Harvey, 

The  membership  instructed  the  board  of  directors  in  November  of  1951,  to 
proceed  with  preliminary  plans  for  a  new  church  edifice  to  be  erected  on  the 
site  at  155th  Street  and  Myrtle  Avenue.  Following  this  decision  came  many 
meetings  participated  in  by  the  board  of  directors,  the  building  committee,  and 
the  church  membership.  By  the  end  of  the  year  plans  for  the  new  edifice  had 
been  approved.  On  February  28,  1957,  the  board  of  directors  was  authorized 
to  sell  the  church  and  property  at  15303  Center  Avenue.  On  Monday,  May 
30,  1957,  ground  was  broken  for  the  present  edifice.  The  first  Sunday  service  in 
the  new  church  was  held  on  January  5,  1958. 

Through  the  generous  donations  of  church  members,  friends,  and  other 
sources,  a  10  year  loan  obtained  from  a  local  bank  was  repaid  in  less  than 
four  years. 

First  Church  of  Christ,  Scientist,  Harvey,  dedicated  its  church  edifice  on 
Sunday,  January  7,  1962.  Two  services  were  held,  the  first  beginning  at  10:45 
a.m.  and  the  second  at  4:00  p.m. 

Christian  Science  churches  are  dedicated  only  when  free  of  debt. 

A  Christian  Science  reading  room  was  maintained  where  the  church  services 
vvere  held  until  January  1953  when  it  was  moved  to  its  own  quarters  at  15339 
Center  Avenue,  Harvey.  Illinois.  It  is  open  to  the  public  from  12:00  noon  to 
4:00  p.m.  daily  except  Sundays  and  holidays,  and  on  Friday  evenings.  Christian 
Science  literature,  the  Bible,  and  all  of  Mary  Baker  Eddy's  writings  may  be 
•ead,  borrowed,  or  purchased  at  the  reading  room. 

Church  services  are  held  at  10:45  a.m.  Sundays  and  7:45  p.m.  on  Wednes- 
day evenings.  Sunday  school  is  held  at  the  same  time  as  the  Sunday  church 
service,    10:45  a.m. 


I.  D.  Johnson  and  A.  M.  Guiles  are  reported  to  have  been  the  motivating 
rorces  behind  the  establishment  of  the  First  Baptist  Chuch  in  Harvey  and  it 
vas  through  their  efforts  that  a  series  of  cottage  prayer  meetings  were  held  in 
he  A.  R.  Little  home  under  the  driection  of  students  from  the  Morgan  Park 
Theological  Seminary.  First  of  the  preachers  was  W.  B.  Owen  of  that  seminary. 

The  small  group  met  between   1890  and  January   11,   1891   when  the  first 


efforts  were  made  to  organize  a  church.  Presiding  at  the  discussions  was  the 
Reverend  T.  W.  Goodspeed  of  the  University  of  Chicago,  but  it  was  students 
from  the  seminary  who  continued  to  conduct  the  meetings  until  June  4,  1891 
when  the  church  was  formally  organized. 

Charter  members  were:  Mr.  and  Mrs.  J.  D.  Johnson,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William 
Loncoy,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  I.  H.  R.  Little,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  G.  K.  Bailey,  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
W.  H.  Shannon,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  L.  Morris,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  I.  Cassel,  Mrs.  Ella 
Medley,  Miss  Mary  Little,  Miss  Florence  Norris  and  Miss  Nellie  Norris. 

First  of  the  pastors  was  the  Reverend  Joseph  Swanson  and  the  deacons  who 
guided  the  new  church  through  its  early  years  were  Samuel  G.  Holyoke  and 
Turlington  W.  Harvey. 

Within  a  year  the  membership  found  it  possible  to  proceed  with  the  building 
of  their  own  church  and  on  July  30,  1892  the  cornerstone  of  the  present  church 
at   154th  and   Lexington  Avenue  was  laid. 

A  consistent  growth  in  the  membership  necessitated  enlarging  the  church 
and  this  was  accomplished  in  November,  1925  when  dedication  services  were 

Many  members  of  the  First  Baptist  Church  have  carved  niches  in  the  field 
of  religion  and  members  who  have  gone  from  the  church  in  dedication  of 
themselves  to  Christian  service  were:  Reverend  Roger  Johnson,  Mrs.  Ruth 
Johnson,  Miss  Ida  Rhodes  (a  missionary  to  Africa),  Reverend  Arthur  Ander- 
son, Mrs.  Sara  Anderson,  Reverend  Herbert  Johnson,  Mrs.  Ruth  Johnson, 
Mrs.  Alice  Post,  Reverend  James  Luckman,  Reverend  Roy  Harrington,  Mrs. 
Thelma  Harrington,  Reverend  Porter  Barrington,  Mrs.  Ethel  Barrington,  Rev- 
erend Mr.  Hukill,  Reverend  LeRoy  Wortman,  Mrs.  LeRoy  Wortman,  Reverend 
Sidney  Speers,  Mrs.  Sidney  Speers,  Reverend  O.  Ethridge,  Mrs.  Ida  Ethridge, 
Reverend  Richard  Couwenhoven. 

In  recent  years  the  congregation  membership  has  reached  365,  with  377 
enrolled  in  Sunday  School,  and  present  facilities  have  rapidly  become  inade- 
quate. Early  in  1962  steps  were  taken  to  remedy  the  situation  with  the  erection 
of  a  parsonage  at  145th  Street  and  Loomis  Avenue  which  eventually  will  be 
the  site  of  a  handsome  new  church  edifice. 

Pastors  who  have  served  the  First  Baptist  Church  through  the  72  years 
since  its  founding  are:  Joseph  Swanson  (1891),  J.  M.  Lockhart  (1892-1895), 
W.  J.  John  (1895-1896),  A.  G.  Miller  (1897-1899),  I.  T.  Ilsey  (1899-1901), 
S.  A.  Heyworth  (1901-1902),  G.  S.  White  (1903-1904),  C.  M.  Dinsmore 
(1904-1907),  J.  W.  Rees  (1907-1909),  W.  J.  Mapelsden  (1909-1913),  A.  B. 
Marcer  (1913-1916),  E.  Everton  (1916-1917),  W.  Miller  (1917-1919),  W.  H. 
Peebles  (1919-1930),  W.  Sampson  (1930-1934),  H.  W.  Taylor  (1935-1940), 
M.  S.  Hansen  (1940-1954),  H.  Murdoch  (1956-1961),  H.  Dautel  (1962). 


Second  of  the  Harvey  churches  whose  membership  is  drawn  from  the  Negro 
race  is  the  Second  Baptist  church  founded  in  1901  under  the  leadership  of  the 
Reverend  J.  B.  Butler.  Church  history  records  that  tremendous  assistance  dur- 
ing the  formative  years  was  provided  by  the  board  of  trustees  consisting  of 
Brothers  Sam  Glenn,  Bush  and  William  Dullen.  It  was  Mr.  Glenn  who  instigated 
the  purchase  of  a  blacksmith  shop  located  at  an  unknown  site.  The  building 
was  moved  to  the  church's  lot  on  Lexington  Avenue  between  157th  and  158th 

In  1906  the  pastorate  was  assumed  by  the  Reverend  Jordan  who  carried  on 


the  work  of  his  predecessor  in  building  up  the  church  membership.  That  he 
succeeded  is  attested  to  by  the  fact  that  the  capacity  of  the  original  church  was 
exceeded  and  a  new  structure  was  started  on  the  site.  Overcoming  many  ob- 
stacles, the  church  was  completed  and  dedicated  in  1912. 

During  the  pastorate  of  the  Reverend  G.  A.  Humphrey  it  became  necessary 
once  more  in  1947  to  expand  and  property  was  purchased  at  150th  Street  and 
Robey  Avenue. 

The  following  year  ground  was  broken  and  the  church  completed  two  years 

When  the  Reverend  Mr.  Humphrey  was  transferred  to  Richmond,  Indiana, 
his  assistant,  the  Reverend  Horace  Mitchell  took  over  the  pulpit,  being  assisted 
in  his  myriad  duties  by  the  Reverend  Donald  Arthur  and  Reverend  James 
Roseborough,  Sr. 

In  1952  the  Reverend  Lucshas  Allen,  whose  previous  charge  was  the 
Union  Baptist  Church  in  Danville,  Illinois,  became  the  pastor,  at  the  same  time 
serving  as  director  of  the  Versatile  a  capella  Choir  of  Chicago. 

Under  the  Reverend  Mr.  Allen's  pastorate,  the  church  passed  another  mile- 
stone when  the  sanctuary  was  completed.  The  ceremony  of  dedication  was  held 
on  January  13,  1952.  Yet  incomplete,  another  step  forward  was  taken  under  the 
pastorate  of  the  Reverend  L.  E.  Green  —  completion  of  the  front  entrance  and 
sanctuary  balcony. 

Upon  Reverend  Green's  departure  in  1959  his  associate  pastor,  Reverend 
Hunter  assumed  his  duties,  until  the  appointment  of  the  Reverend  Napoleon 
Davis  under  whose  leadership  the  church  building  was  completed. 

Reverend  Davis,  the  present  pastor,  administers  to  a  congregation  of  ap- 
proximately eight  hundred  members. 


To  the  west  side  of  Harvey  there  came  to  live  a  fine  group  of  Catholic 
families  who  went  to  St.  Stanislaus  Church  in  Posen  and  St.  John  the  Baptist 
Church  in  Phoenix.  Soon  they  petitioned  the  Archbishop  of  Chicago  for  a 
church  of  their  own.  Due  to  the  religious  zeal  of  the  members  of  the  Citizen's 
Club  under  the  leadership  of  Joseph  Pilsudski  a  meeting  was  called  in  the 
hall  of  Joseph  Babon.  At  this  meeting  a  committee  was  chosen  to  present  a 
petition  for  the  establishment  of  a  parish.  The  members  of  this  committee 
were  Joseph  Babon,  Stanley  Janik,  Andrew  Klaczynski,  Peter  Spiewak,  Walter 
Tychewicz,  Mrs.  Sophie  Grzesik,  Mrs.  Julia  Szczerbuk  (Spiewak)  and  Mrs. 
Pauline  Zeleznik.  This  committee  went  to  Msgr.  T.  Bona  with  their  request. 
They  presented  a  list  of  125  families  as  future  parishioners  and  a  map  of  West 

The  Archbishop  appointed  the  Reverend  Thomas  Smyk  as  the  founder  and 
first  pastor  of  St.  Susanna's  Parish  on  December  2,  1927.  The  first  Mass,  in 
the  newly  established  parish,  was  said  at  5:30  a.m.  on  December  8,  1927  in 
Makarek's  Hall,  14901  Lincoln  Avenue.  The  first  ushers  were  Joseph  Babon, 
Stanley  Janik,  Peter  Spiewak  and  Albert  Sypien. 

As  a  rectory,  a  private  home  was  purchased  and  this  serves  the  purpose 
to  this  day. 

To  begin  the  construction  of  a  church  and  school  as  soon  as  possible,  the 
Citizens'  Club  purchased  nine  lots  and  donated  them  to  the  parish.  The  Arch- 
bishop purchased  an  additional  13  lots.  On  May  17,  1928  the  ground-breaking 
ceremony  took  place.  Also  on  this  day  31   children  received  their  First  Holy 


Communion.  June  10,  1928  the  blessing  of  the  corner  stone  ceremony  took 
place.  Msgr.  A.  Halgas  officiated,  assisted  by  Reverend  Theodore  Czastka  as 
Deacon  and  Reverend  Vincent  Nowicki  as  Subdeacon.  Reverend  Albert  Ols- 
zewski rendered  the  sermon. 

Beginning  September  11,  1928  classes  were  held  in  the  parish  school  with 
an  attendance  of  270  children.  The  teachers  were  the  Sisters  of  the  Holy  Family 
of  Nazareth,  Sister  M.  Laurenta,  grade  seven  and  eight,  Sister  M.  Annina, 
fifth  and  sixth,  Sister  M.  Tacjana,  Mother  Superior,  grade  three  and  four,  Sister 
M.  Fidencia,  grade  one  and  two.  Sister  M.  Sergia  was  the  cook  for  the  nuns. 

On  October  14,  1928  the  first  l\4ass  was  said  in  the  new  church.  On  October 
12,  Most  Reverend  Bishop  B.  Sheil  blessed  the  church  and  school.  Assisting 
him  were  Reverend  Leon  Sychocki  as  Deacon  and  Reverend  Valentine  Belin- 
ski  as  Subdeacon.  Reverend  Joseph  Karabasz  rendered  the  sermon.  The  first 
trustees  of  the  parish  were  Andrew  Klaczysnki  and  John  Kozik. 

In  1932  Reverend  Thomas  Smyk  was  transferred  and  in  his  place  came 
Reverend  Ignatius  Renklewski  who  was  pastor  until  1944.  During  his  pastorate, 
a  parish  hall  was  built. 

In  1945  Reverend  Ignatius  Renklewski  was  transferred  and  in  his  place 
came  Reverend  Paul  Sobota.  Under  his  pastorate  the  greater  part  of  the  parish 
debt  was  liquidated. 

In  1948  Reverend  Paul  Sobota  was  transferred  and  in  his  place  came  Rev- 
erend Steven  Kowalski.  His  stay  in  the  parish  was  a  short  one,  for  he  died 
two  years  later. 

In  1950  Reverend  John  M.  Ostrowski  accepted  the  pastorate.  First  he  liqui- 
dated the  remaining  parish  debt.  Then  he  improved  the  parish  buildings  and 
added  four  rooms  to  the  rectory.  When  his  health  began  to  fail  in  1956,  he 
applied  for  an  assistant.  His  eminence,  Samuel  Cardinal  Stritch  assigned 
Reverend  Walter  J.  Zmija. 

All  these  years,  the  sisters'  living  quarters  were  in  the  school.  Now  came 
the  time  to  build  a  convent.  Thanks  to  the  generosity  of  the  parishioners,  a 
beautiful  structure  was  built  and  in  1957  the  sisters  moved  into  their  new 
quarters.  Their  old  quarters  in  the  school  were  converted  into  two  classrooms. 

In  1958  the  heating  system  was  converted  from  coal  to  oil,  new  confession- 
als were  installed  in  the  church,  and  the  church  and  school  were  remodeled  and 
redecorated.  In  this  latter  work,  the  Holy  Name  Society  members  were  a  great 
help.  Today  all  the  classes  in  school  are  filled  to  capacity  and  in  the  parish  there 
are  450  families. 

Regarded  as  a  tragic  loss  by  the  parish  was  the  death  on  November  24,  1961 
of  the  Reverend  Father  Ostrowski  who  was  succeeded  the  following  month  by 
the  Reverend  Thaddeus  Walenga,  the  present  pastor. 


It  was  in  the  Fall  of  1891  that  parents  of  students  in  the  one-room  school  at 
147th  and  Wood  Streets  received  notice  that  on  the  following  Sunday  morning 
a  Sunday  School  class  would  have  its  first  meeting  in  the  real  estate  office  of 
Crossett  and  Deland  on  147th  Street  just  east  of  Page  Avenue  —  and  this 
marked  the  beginning  of  what  was  to  become  the  Honore  Avenue  Methodist 

For  a  time  students  met  in  one  room  of  the  structure  while  their  parents 
worshipped  in  another.  It  was  only  a  short  time  later  when  a  student  minister, 
the  Reverend  Mr.  Bretz,  was  assigned  by  the  Rock  River  Conference  of  the 


Methodist  Church,  to  help  found  a  church  in  the  area,  then  known  as  "Spauld- 
ing"  after  the  man  who  subdivided   it. 

The  organization  completed,  an  official  hoard  was  elected,  but  their  names 
have  been  lost  in  the  maze  of  time.  A  building  fund  was  inaugurated  and  the 
Honore  Avenue  Methodist  Church  as  it  exists  today  was  actually  built  in  1897 
at  149th  Street  and  Honore  Avenue  at  a  cost  of  $3,500.  One  of. the  structure's 
outstanding  features  was  its  stained  glass  windows,  which  represented  about 
$2,000  of  the  structure's  cost. 

The  windows  commanded  wide  attention  and  church  documents  record 
that  it  was  awarded  a  third  prize  during  the  Columbian  Exposition.  Significant- 
ly, the  window  was  designed  by  a  Harvey  man,  Fred  Drogula,  and  made  in  a 
Harvey  factory,  the  Wells  Glass  Company  at  147th  Street  near  Paulina  Avenue. 
Originally,  the  building  was  of  frame  construction,  known  as  the  "Taber- 
nacle." It  was  located  just  east  of  the  site  of  the  present  church,  and  used 
until  the  new  church  was  completed.  Heated  with  coal  stoves  and  illuminated 
with  kerosene  lamps  the  building  served  well  its  purpose  until  the  new  church 
was  ready  for  occupancy. 

As  time  passed  the  Honore  Avenue  Methodist  Church  grew  in  proportion 
to  the  population  although  student  ministers  continued  to  fill  the  pulpit,  coming 
to  Harvey  on  weekends. 

One  cause  of  the  church  growth  was  the  establishment  at  Page  Avenue 
north  of  the  Grand  Trunk  railroad  of  the  Bellaire  Stamping  Works,  manu- 
facturers of  enamelware.  This  created  an  influx  of  workers  and  subsequent 
growth  for  the  church.  But  the  Bellaire  Works  was  to  be  a  short-lived  factory, 
for  on  New  Year's  Eve,  1900,  it  burned  to  the  ground.  It  was  never  rebuilt  and 
the  company  moved  to  Terre  Haute,  Indiana,  where  it  is  still  located. 

Workers  were  forced  to  seek  employment  elsewhere  and  gradually  the 
membership  of  the  church  decreased.  This  marked  the  beginning  of  a  long 
program  to  build  up  the  church  membership  to  its  former  status,  and  several 
outstanding  members  were  credited  with  having  furnished  the  inspiration  for 
the  revival  which  followed.  Church  history  credits  D.  W.  Gamble,  superintend- 
ent of  schools  in  Grade  District  147,  L.  A.  Pringle,  his  successor,  and  J.  A. 
McKee  with  being  the  guiding  influences  in  keeping  the  small  congregation 

Both  Mr.  Gamble  and  Mr.  Pringle  served  as  superintendents  of  the  Sunday 
School  and  Mr.  McKee  was  a  member  of  the  official  board  of  trustees. 

The  task  of  building  has  been  a  long  and  difficult  one  and  playing  a  leading 
role  in  the  process  has  been  the  Women's  Society  of  Christian  Service. 

The  WSCS  is  the  outgrowth  of  what  was  once  the  Ladies  Aid  Society  whose 
date  of  formation  is  unknown.  It  was  organized  for  the  purpose  of  promoting 
social  and  financial  interests  of  the  church. 

It  is  this  society  which  spearheaded  in  1951  a  program  of  church  improve- 
ment which  included  re-decoration  of  the  sanctuary,  the  kitchen  and  the  base- 
ment. Through  varied  money-raising  projects  the  society  was  able  to  purchase 
cabinets,  sinks,  a  stove,  hot  water  heater,  dishes,  chairs  and  tables. 

In  1953  the  WSCS  assisted  in  underwriting  the  cost  of  constructing  an 
inside  stairway,  three  men  of  the  church,  Charles  Wolf,  Cory  Fosnaugh  and 
Lewis  Meeks  being  credited  with  major  roles  in  this  project. 

The  program  of  improvement  continued  with  the  members  furnishing  the 
labor.  Wood  paneling  was  installed  in  1958  and  new  doors,  the  gift  of  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  Charles  Nicholson,  were  installed  in  1960.  Other  improvements  were  ef- 
fected because  of  the  generosity  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Wayne  Haviland,  John  Freese 
and  Bernard  Frederick. 


Pastors  who  have  served  Honore  Avenue  Methodist  Church  through  the 
years  are:  John  Bretts  (1891-1893),  J.  J.  Hicks  (1893-1895),  F.  E.  Baldwin 
(1895-1897),  F.  C.  Lockwood  (1897-1898),  Emanuel  Harris  (1898-1900),  C. 
F.  Kleihauer  (1900-1902),  George  R.  McDowell  (1902-1903),  A.  T.  Henry 
(1903-1904),  John  A.  Ayling  (1904-1905),  R.  B.  Lippincott  (1905-1906), 
A.  M.  Ewert  (1906-1907),  William  H.  Day  (1907-1908),  Dr.  Hilton,  (1908- 
1909),  Paul  L.  Grove  (1909-1910),  Merrill  C.  Holmes  (1910-1911),  Charles 
H.  Law  (1911),  C.  M.  Wallace  (1911-1912),  Clyde  M.  Taylor  (1912-1914), 
A.  M.  Wallock  (1914-1917),  R.  W.  Maulden  (1917-1918),  Frank  S.  Mc- 
Knight  (1918-1922),  Rev.  Jerrold  (1922-1923),  H.  E.  Montague  (1923-1925), 
Edgard  A.  Flory  (1925-1926),  George  Hubbell  (1926-1927),  Raymond  H. 
Brown  (1927-1929),  Carlton  J.  Frazier  (1929-1930),  Warren  L.  Briggs  (1930- 
1932),  Rev.  Croyle  (1932-1933),  Mortimer  Dean  (1933-1934),  Howard  Buck 
(1934-1937),  Rev.  Long  (June-October  1937),  H.  D.  Dick  (1937-1942),  N.  F. 
Whittle  (1942-1943),  Robert  Stewart  (1945),  Bervie  A.  Scott  (1946),  John 
Schweikert  (1946-1949),  Aimer  M.  Pennewell  (April-September  1949),  Ar- 
mand  Bois  (1949-1953),  George  E.  Francis  (1953-1954),  James  M.  Hersh- 
berger  (1954-1955),  Eugene  D.  Beye  (1955-1957),  Lemuel  E.  Weir  (1957-  ). 


St.  Clement's  Episcopal  church  had  its  inception  at  a  meeting  held  at  the 
home  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  F.  J.  Phillips  in  Harvey,  on  December  7,  1898.  The 
names  of  record  at  the  meeting  were  Joseph  Haines,  Mrs.  Mary  Chute,  Mr.  and 
Mrs.  R.  D.  Colerick,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  E.  M.  Lay,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  H.  C.  Riordan, 
Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  Richardson,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  B.  J.  Winters,  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Andrew  Leslie,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  William  McCorkindale,  Mrs.  Mary  Condit,  Mrs. 
Amie  Bray  and  Mrs.  Stout.  In  addition,  there  were  others  who  are  not  able  to 
be  identified. 

The  first  meeting  was  presided  over  by  the  Reverend  Joseph  Rushton,  who 
had  been  sent  to  Harvey  by  Bishop  McLaren.  As  a  result,  the  Harvey  Episcopal 
Mission  was  organized.  Then  on  Sunday,  December  18,  1898  at  10:30  a.m.  the 
first  service  was  held  by  Father  Rushton  in  the  Harvey  Land  Association 
Building,  which  is  located  on  Park  Avenue  between  154th  and  155th  Streets. 
On  January  11,  1 899  the  Church  School  was  organized.  It  is  interesting  to 
note  that  Mr.  Walter  Haines,  and  Mrs.  Elsie  Labbhart  were  members  of  this 
Church  School.  They  are  still  members  of  St.  Clement's  The  first  baptisms 
were  those  of  Jessie  and  Jane  Winters.  The  date  entered  in  the  parish  register 
is  January  18,  1899.  The  earliest  baptized  members  of  the  present  congregation 
are  Mrs.  Robert  Wurtman,  Mrs.  Elsie  Labhart  and  Mr.  Alfred  Haines. 

From  June  1899  through  October  1899  services  were  held  regularly  by 
lay  readers  or  visiting  clergy.  Then  on  All  Soul's  Day,  November  2,  1899, 
Bishop  McClaren  appointed  the  Reverend  George  D.  Wright,  chaplain  of  St. 
Luke's  Hospital,  as  priest-in-charge,  and  on  June  15,  1900,  Father  Wright  pre- 
sented the  first  Confirmation  Class  of  nine  members  to  Bishop  Anderson. 

In  July  1901,  Bishop  Anderson  with  the  aid  and  cooperation  of  a  com- 
mittee of  which  R.  D.  Colerick  was  chairman,  bought  three  lots  on  the  corner 
of  153rd  Street  and  Loomis  Avenue  where  the  present  church  now  stands. 
Shortly  after  the  purchase  of  the  lots  the  Mission  went  through  a  period  of 
hard  times,  and  for  the  next  twenty  years  the  land  was  used  as  a  corn  and 
potato  patch  by  the  neighbors  and  as  a  playground  for  their  children. 

Until   1910  the  Episcopal  Church  in  Harvey  was  known  as  the  Harvey 


Episcopal  Mission.  Then  under  the  tenure  of  Frank  E.  Wilson,  who  later  be- 
came bishop  of  Eau  Claire,  the  name  was  changed  to  St.  Clement's  Mission. 

The  members  of  St.  Clement's  continued  to  worship  in  the  Harvey  Land 
Association  Building  until  1919.  Then  the  Mission  moved  to  the  Masonic 
building  which  was  located  on  the  corner  of  154th  Street  and  Turlington 

In  1921  the  conditions  at  St.  Clement's  took  a  turn  for  the  better.  Bishop 
Anderson  gave  the  Mission  $5,000  and  a  loan  of  an  additional  $5,000.  These 
amounts  coupled  with  about  $2,000  raised  by  members  of  the  Mission  enabled 
them  to  build  the  present  church.  The  building  committee  was  appointed  by 
Bishop  Anderson  with  Mr.  Walter  Haines  as  Chairman,  and  Mr.  Fred  Craver, 
Dr.  William  McVey,  Mr.  Arthur  Brookley,  Mr.  William  Ward  and  Mrs.  William 
Hawley  as  members.  The  church  was  erected  in  1922  under  the  tenure  of  Father 
Parkinson.  The  cornerstone  was  laid  on  March  19,  1922  by  Bishop  Anderson. 
Mr.  Haines'  account  of  this  event  is  as  follows.  "On  Sunday  afternoon  in  Lent, 
March  19,  1922  in  a  pouring  rain,  with  80  people  standing  in  the  freshly-dug 
clay  of  the  excavation,  Bishop  Anderson  laid  the  cornerstone."  The  church 
building  was  completed  in  September  1922,  and  on  the  first  Sunday  in  Septem- 
ber Father  Parkinson  celebrated  the  First  Eucharist  in  the  new  building. 

When  the  church  was  opened  in  September  1922  it  was  devoid  of  most  of 
the  necessary  furnishings.  According  to  one  account  a  truck  load  of  male 
parishioners  made  a  night  trip  to  a  mission  on  the  north  side  of  Chicago  which 
had  been  closed.  They  returned  with  altar,  stalls  and  pews. 

From  1922  to  1929  the  mission  made  some  growth,  but  not  enough  to  pro- 
vide for  a  resident  priest.  The  mission  had  never  had  a  resident  priest  from  its 
inception  in  1898  to  1935,  being  served  in  the  early  years  by  priests  from  the 
Diocese  or  neighboring  Chicago  Heights,  in  later  years  by  clergy  from  Blue 
Island.  Just  about  the  time  the  mission  was  ready  to  obtain  the  services  of  a 
resident  priest  the  depression  of  1929  came. 

While  the  mission  continued  to  be  affected  by  the  depression,  its  communi- 
cant strength  had  increased  so  that  in  1935  the  church  was  able  to  obtain  the 
services  of  a  full  time  resident  priest.  Bishop  Stuart  appointed  the  Reverend 
Wilford  O.  Cross  as  priest-in-charge.  Father  Cross  remainded  at  St.  Clement's 
tor  about  two  years. 

In  1937,  when  Father  Cross  resigned  to  accept  a  call  to  a  parish  in  Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio,  Bishop  Stuart  appointed  the  Reverend  Arthur  M.  McLaughlin 
as  priest-in-charge.  It  was  during  his  tenure  from  1937  to  1947  that  the  tradi- 
tions and  practices  of  St.  Clement's  were  fully  established. 

The  next  blow  began  with  the  Second  World  War  which  caused  both  an 
exodus  and  a  population  change  in  the  community.  Thus,  by  1947  the  last 
year  of  his  tenure  the  communicant  strength  had  dropped  from  184  to  113. 

In  November  1947,  Father  McLaughlin  was  forced  to  retire  because  of  ill 
health.  He  remained  in  Harvey  for  about  two  years  and  was  a  great  help  to  his 
successor  Father  Bessette. 

On  October  15,  1948  Bishop  Conkling  appointed  Father  Bessette  as  priest- 

In  1953  the  mission  had  been  able  to  set  aside  about  $8,000  for  a  combina- 
tion rectory  and  parish  hall.  With  this  amount  on  hand,  Bishop  Conkling 
promised  a  grant  of  $8,500  as  soon  as  St.  Clement's  achieved  parish  status.  As 
a  result  of  this  promise  by  the  Bishop  and  because  of  growth  in  membership 
and  better  financial  conditions  a  meeting  was  called  by  Father  Bessette  for  the 
purpose  of  organizing  a  parish.  This  meeting  was  held  on  March  16,  1953  with 


56  communicants  present.  At  this  meeting,  presided  over  by  Father  Bessette, 
Mr.  Robert  C.  Pebworth  was  elected  as  its  first  Senior  Warden,  Mr.  Henry  C. 
Edwards  as  the  first  Junior  Warden.  The  members  of  the  first  Vestry  were  Mr. 
Walter  Haines,  who  was  the  son  of  one  of  the  founders  of  St.  Clement's,  Mr. 
Clarence  Hercules,  Mr.  A.  G.  Campbell,  Mr.  Edward  Bukwa,  Mr.  E.  R.  Bacon, 
and  Mr.  Dexter  Smith.  Then  the  vestry  elected,  with  the  approval  of  Bishop 
Conkling,  Father  Bessette  as  the  first  rector.  On  May  5,  1953  St.  Clement's 
was  received  as  a  parish  in  union  with  the  Convention  of  the  Diocese  of 

A  great  deal  of  time  during  the  balance  of  1953  and  most  of  1954  was  taken 
up  by  the  Vestry  and  members  of  the  parish  for  the  building  of  the  rectory  and 
parish  hall.  By  November  1954  the  parish  hall  and  part  of  the  rectory  were 
completed  at  the  cost  of  $23,000.  Then  in  1956  upon  the  announcement  of 
Father  Bessette's  impending  marriage,  the  parish  was  in  a  position  to  complete 
the  rectory,  to  build  a  garage  to  house  the  rector's  car,  and  to  remodel  the 
kitchen  in  the  church  basement.  This  work  was  completed  in  September,  1956 
at  a  cost  of  about  $10,000.  The  contractor  who  completed  this  work  was  Mr. 
James  Haines,  the  grandson  of  one  of  the  founders  and  the  son  of  one  of  the 
first  Vestrymen. 

In  1960  the  parish  installed  a  new  heating  plant,  purchased  a  new  organ 
and  did  some  remodeling  to  the  church,  at  a  cost  of  $5,587. 

Pastors  serving  St.  Clement's  through  the  years  are:  Reverend  Joseph 
Rushton  (1898-1899),  George  D.  Wright  (1899-1902),  W.  H.  Mitchell 
(1902),  J.  M.  Johnson  (1903),  J.  O.  Ward  (1903),  C.  A.  Cummings  (1907- 
1909),  Frank  E.  Wilson  (1910-1912),  Myron  G.  Agrus  (1913-1916),  Louis 
A.  Parker  (1917),  George  D.  Barr  (1918),  Herbert  E.  Parkinson  (1918- 
1922),  Roy  H.  Fairchild  (1923-1927),  John  McKinney  (1927),  Wayne  Gar- 
rard (1928-1935),  Wilford  C.  Cross,  first  resident  priest,  (1935-1937), 
Arthur  M.  McLaughlin  (1937-1947),  William  R.  Cook  (1947-1948),  Theodore 
A.  Bessette,  First  Rector,  (1948). 


When  Harvey  was  founded  and  factories  began  to  locate  a  number  of 
German-speaking  Christians  came  to  the  community  to  establish  their  homes. 
Included  were  many  from  the  adjacent  areas  of  Grant  Park,  Beecher,  and 

There  being  no  Evangelical  church  these  people  with  mutual  religious  in- 
terests met  and  held  informal  services  in  the  home  of  Mr.  William  Pecht  every 
other  week. 

For  a  time  the  group  was  served  by  the  Reverend  H.  Kroencke  of  Ham- 
mond, Indiana  but  the  need  for  a  more  formal  place  to  worship  became  in- 
creasingly pronounced.  So,  on  February  16,  1891  the  Reverend  C.  Schaub  ofi 
Mokena,  Illinois,  the  Reverend  R.  Krueger  of  Green  Garden,  Illinois,  the  Rev- 
erend G.  Koch  of  Beecher,  Illinois  and  the  Reverend  Mr.  Kroencke  made  the 
money  available  to  the  interested  families  for  the  building  of  a  church  home. 

On  March  24,  1891  the  families  organized  themselves  into  a  congregation 
under  the  supervision  of  the  Reverend  Mr.  Kroencke,  a  site  was  purchased  at 
15300  Center  Avenue  for  $1,600  and  a  church  erected.  It  was  dedicated  on 
April  5,  1891  with  the  Reverend  H.  Wolf,  then  district  president  of  the  North 
Illinois  District  preaching  the  dedication  sermon.  First  officers  of  the  congrega- 
tion were  William  Pecht,  Klaus  Meier,  J.  Vorkaufer,  C.  Wanner  and  C.  Tordt. 


Later  the  congregation  purchased  a  building  on  Loomis  Avenue  but  this 
was  sold  and  for  short  periods  the  Swedish  Methodist  Church  at  153rd  Street 
and  Loomis  Avenue  was  rented.  After  that  the  congregation  met  for  a  time  in 
the  Swedish  Lutheran  Church  at  153rd  Street  and  Lexington  Avenue. 

On  December  1,  1926  plans  were  drawn  up  by  William  Jones  of  Chicago 
for  a  new  building  and  the  general  contract  was  subsequently  let  to  a  Harvey 
firm,  the  Hobson  Construction  Company. 

The  cornerstone  was  laid  in  an  impressive  service  on  July  17,  1927  with  the 
Reverend  C.  Shaeffer  of  Hammond,  Indiana,  delivering  the  dedicatory  sermon. 
Then,  on  October  16  of  the  same  year  the  church  was  dedicated  with  the 
Reverend  Mr.  Schick,  president  of  the  North  Illinois  District,  and  the  Reverend 
Mr.  Fruechte,  chairman  of  the  Mission  Board,  presenting  the  main  speeches. 

The  new  building,  erected  at  152nd  Street  and  Lexington  Avenue,  is  even 
today,  one  of  the  community's  most  attractive  structures. 

From  the  time  of  the  organization  until  1924  the  church  had  no  resident 
preacher.  The  duties  were  shared  by  Evangelical  clergymen  from  Dolton,  Blue 
Island.  Homewood  and  Roseland. 

However,  in  1924,  after  giving  the  church  considerable  financial  aid,  the 
Home  Mission  Board  placed  the  Reverend  E.  J.  Koch  here  as  the  resident  min- 
ister. He  remained  for  slightly  more  than  a  year  when  he  was  succeeded  by 
the  Reverend  E.  H.  Stommel,  who  served  from  December,  1926  to  February, 
1930.  It  was  during  his  pastorate  that  the  present  church  was  built. 

Succeeding  pastors  were  the  Reverend  A.  F.  Dexheimer  (1930-1933),  Rev- 
erend G.  P.  Ellerbrake  (1933-1938),  the  Reverend  Lloyd  Hegeman  (1938- 
1945),  Reverend  E.  Kleffman  (1945-1950),  Reverend  Robert  Vornholt  (1951- 
1956),  Reverend  D.  Babbitt  (1956-1957)  and  the  Reverend  L.  J.  F.  Stuck- 
wsich  (1958  to  the  present). 

Church  history  indicates  that  although  the  Evangeligal  Church  first  ad- 
ministered to  German  speaking  Christians,  its  services  were  gradually  trans- 
formed to  the  English  language.  About  1940  the  German  language  was  com- 
pletely abandoned  and  ministeries  here,  as  elsewhere  in  the  nation,  are  conduc- 
ted in  English. 


There  were  but  a  few  Lutherans  in  the  city  in  1896  and  1897  but  interest 
among  those  few  was  high  enough  to  arrange  for  services  twice  each  month  in 
members'  homes  under  the  direction  of  the  Reverend  C.  M.  Noack,  then  pastor 
of  St.  Paul's  Lutheran  Church  in  Dolton. 

It  was  in  1898  after  the  Reverend  Mr.  Noack  had  transferred  to  a  charge  in 
Iowa  that  the  Reverend  M.  H.  Fedderson  was  called  to  Harvey  to  officiate  at  a 
baptismal  from  his  church  at  Coopers  Grove.  While  here  he  met  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Henry  Tegal  and  from  this  acquaintanceship  the  idea  of  a  Harvey  Lutheran 
church  emanated. 

"When  the  roads  became  passable  in  the  Spring  of  1899  a  committee, 
formed  to  canvass  the  community,  went  to  work,"  church  documents  record. 

The  first  public  service  was  held  on  June  4,  1899  in  the  little  schoolhouse 
at  151st  and  Morgan  Streets  with  ten  adults  and  five  children  in  attendance. 
This  was  the  beginning,  and  for  the  following  two  years  and  nine  months  Ger- 
man services  were  held  twice  each  month.  The  Reverend  Mr.  Fedderson,  who 
continued  to  administer  to  the  small  group,  came  to  the  community  each  Sunday 


—  either,  history  says,  "by  horse  and  buggy  or  on  horseback  if  the  mud  was 
too  deep." 

In  the  summer  of  1902  the  Reverend  Mr.  Fedderson  turned  the  charge 
over  to  the  Reverend  Henry  Wind  of  the  Dolton  Lutheran  Church,  partially 
because  the  latter  was  able  to  make  the  trip  by  train.  It  was  under  the  guidance 
of  Pastor  Wind  that  Trinity  Lutheran  Church  was  officially  organized  on 
February  8,  1903  with  the  following  charter  members:  George  Greiner,  St., 
Henry  Tegal,  Emil  Rohrdanz,  Adolph  Lehmann,  George  Greiner,  Jr.,  Christian 
Hieber,  Edward  Schroeder,  Charles  Seams,  John  Busch  and  Carl  Staack.  The 
Messers  Rohrdanz,  Greiner,  St.,  and  Lehmann  became  the  first  elders. 

In  June,  1903  a  lot  was  purchased  at  129  East  153rd  Street  for  $115. 
Upon  it  was  erected  a  chapel  costing  $1,200  which  was  dedicated  on  September 
13,  1903.  Services  were  held  in  German  every  other  Sunday  afternoon  from 
that  point  until  1918. 

On  August  25th  of  that  year  the  Reverend  Rudolph  L.  Geffert,  newly 
graduated  from  Concordia  Seminary  in  St.  Louis,  Missouri,  was  installed  as 
Trinity's  first  resident  pastor  of  the  congregation  numbering  75.  It  is  significant, 
that  the  Reverend  Mr.  Geffert,  therefore,  is  the  only  resident  pastor  in  the 
history  of  the  Trinity  church.  It  is  significant,  also,  that  his  long  tenure  makes 
him  the  dean  of  all  members  of  the  clergy  in  this  community. 

Two  years  after  his  arrival,  the  Reverend  Mr.  Geffert  and  his  faithful  con- 
gregation bought  the  old  First  Presbyterian  Church  at  15316  Center  Avenue  for 
$18,000  and  the  old  chapel  was  sold  to  the  Seventh  Day  Adventist  Church. 

In  October,  1941,  the  church  purchased  the  home  at  15424  Loomis  Avenue 
for  use  as  a  parsonage.  Its  cost  was  $8,500. 

In  November,  1945,  the  church  bought  a  plot  of  ground  facing  150th 
Street,  extending  200  feet  south  on  Ashland  and  Paulina  A.enues  for  a  price 
of  $12,000  and  in  early  1950  an  architect,  William  Kramer  of  Forest  Park, 
Illinois,  was  retained  to  design  a  church  and  parish  hall. 

Ground-breaking  ceremonies  were  held  on  the  site  on  September  10,  1950 
and  cornerstone-laying  rites  on  a  rainy  afternoon  on  May  27,  1951.  The  dedica- 
tion of  what  is  undoubtedly  one  of  the  most  magnificent  church  structures  in 
the  community  was  held  on  March  16,  1952  at  morning  and  evening  services, 
a  total  of  1,641  attending. 

Cost  of  the  edifice  was  $171,775. 

During  the  summer  of  1959  a  seven-room  parsonage  connected  directly 
with  the  church  was  built.  A  full  basement,  fully  soundproofed,  serves  as 
classrooms  for  the  Primary  Department  of  the  Sunday  School.  This  portion  of 
the  property  was  erected  at  a  cost  of  $63,000. 

Church  history  indicates  that  between  1903  and  1961  a  total  of  849  persons 
were  baptized,  593  were  admitted  to  communicant  membership  by  the  rite  of 
confirmation,  281  couples  were  united  in  marriage  and  218  persons  were  given 

Present  roster  of  the  church  consists  of  554  baptized  members,  which  in- 
cludes 457  communicant  members. 

From  September  1,  1918  to  December  31,  1961,  Pastor  Geffert  conducted 
4,090  worship  services  with  a  total  attendance  of  468,515  worshippers.  From 
1918  to  1945  an  English  and  a  German  service  was  held  every  Sunday. 

The  present  officers  of  the  congregation  (January  1,  1962)  are  Fred 
Jurate,  president;  Gerald  Hirsch,  vice-president;  Ronald  Bark,  secretary;  Will- 
iam Spelde,  treasurer;  Henry  Blankenburg  and  Eugene  Rickstaedt,  financial 
secretaries;  Arthur  Krabbe,  Anthony  Spelde,   and  Henry  Seehausen,  Elders; 


Fred  Jurate,  Edward  Buss,  William  Schultz,  and  Glen  Kepper,  trustees;  Walter 
Schmaedeke  and  Mrs.  Dorothy  Nowak,  organists. 

Church  organizations  include:  Aid  Society,  Mrs.  Ruth  Langhout,  president; 
Evening  Guild,  Mrs.  Mary  Spelde,  president;  Walther  League,  Miss  Sheryl 
Peters,  president;  Men's  Club,  William  Schultz,  president;  Valparaiso  University 
Guild,  Mrs.  Meta  Geffert,  president;  Sewing  Circle,  Mrs.  Viola  Haderer, 


In  the  month  of  June,  1915,  the  Reverend  and  Mrs.  Warren  C.  Jones, 
pastor  of  the  Church  of  the  Nazarene  in  Chicago  Heights,  held  a  two-week  tent 
meeting  in  Harvey  on  the  present  site  of  the  United  States  postoffice. 

Prominent  at  the  meeting  were  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Otto  Siegrist,  who  continued 
to  come  to  Harvey  after  the  tent  meetings  had  concluded,  conducting  similar 
meetings  in  a  store  building  at  15326  Columbia  Avenue  for  a  period  of  18 

During  that  span  the  work  of  the  Siegrists  was  augmented  by  the  Reverend 
F.  M.  Messenger  of  Chicago  Heights  and  other  pastors  from  Chicago  First 
Church  and  the  Hammond  First  Church. 

The  members  continued  to  worship  there  until  1919  when  they  purchased 
a  small  church  at  15220  Loomis  Avenue  from  the  Evangelical  Church  of 
Peace  for  $1,500.  The  building  was  used  for  a  period  of  four  years  then  sold 
to  the  Geeding  family. 

Playing  important  roles  in  the  formal  organization  of  the  church  were, 
first,  Reverend  Harry  H.  Lee,  then  the  Reverend  C.  A.  Brown,  district  super- 
intendent of  the  Chicago  Central  district.  Eleven  persons  constituted  the  mem- 

After  selling  the  Loomis  Avenue  structure,  the  congregation  rented  the 
Swedish  Methodist  Church  at  the  corner  of  153rd  Street  and  Loomis  Avenue. 

In  1937,  while  the  Reverend  I.  G.  Young  was  pastor,  the  church  purchased 
several  lots  at  the  northwest  corner  of  153rd  Street  and  Marshfield  Avenue  and 
erected  a  basement  chapel  at  a  cost  of  $10,000.  The  first  service  was  held  there 
of  February  20,  1938.  Three  years  later,  under  the  pastorate  of  the  Reverend 
J.  J.  Gough,  the  building  was  completed  and  was  formally  dedicated  by  Gen- 
eral Superintendent  J.  B.  Chapman  on  February  8,  1942. 

In  1943  the  parsonage  at  15115  Paulina  Avenue  was  bought  and  in  1950 
the  congregation  bought  property  adjacent  to  the  church  for  use  as  a  Sunday 
School  annex.  An  educational  unit  was  built  in  1958  at  a  cost  of  $1 10,000. 

The  church  since  its  formal  organization  has  been  served  by  the  following 
pastors:  Lon  S.  McKay  (1919),  C.  A.  Condon  (1919-1922),  L.  H.  Howe 
(1922-1931),  I.  G.  Young  (1931-1938),  J.  J.  Gough  (1938-1943),  C.  I.  De- 
Board  (1943-1949),  R.  W.  Sheppard  (1949-1952),  C.  K.  Sparks  (1952-1959), 
Fred  Foster  (1959-to  the  present). 

Congregation  members  who  have  become  ministers  are  James  H.  Lyons, 
Ted  DeBolt,  Sam  McKay  and  Walter  Geeding. 

The  Harvey  church  has  helped  sponsor  Blue  Island,  Tinley  Park  and 
Dolton  churches. 


First  Christian  Church  of  Harvey  was  organized  in  the  fall  of  1892  by  C.  H. 


Knapp,  a  businessman  but  also  an  ordained  minister.  The  charter  group  was 
composed  of  Mr.  and  Mrs.  G.  H.  Kenyon,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  J.  H.  Joslyn,  Mrs. 
Maggie  Nichols,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  F.  M.  Masher,  Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Scoan, 
Mrs.  Jessie  Marr,  Mrs.  C.  R.  Palmer  and  Mrs.  W.  W.  Wood.  None  of  these 
members  is  known  to  be  living  in  1962. 

About  two  weeks  after  its  organization  the  congregation  elected  J.  C.  Figg 
as  elder  and  for  the  subsequent  two  years  worship  services  were  held  on  the 
third  floor  of  the  building  at  15333  Broadway.  Reverend  Knapp,  after  his  first 
year,  sold  his  business  and  moved  from  the  community.  He  was  succeeded  as 
pastor  by  the  Rev.  Mr.  McKay,  who  served  for  the  following  three  years. 

While  Mr.  McKay  was  pastor  in  1895  the  church  purchased  a  lot  at  the 
corner  of  153rd  Street  and  Lexington  Avenue  and  while  the  new  church  struc- 
ture was  being  built  services  were  held  in  the  city  hall. 

The  new  building  was  used  for  about  10  years  when  it  was  sold  to  the 
First  Lutheran  Church  and  part  of  the  proceeds  of  the  sale  used  to  buy  two 
lots  at  15323  Turlington  Avenue.  The  balance  of  the  proceeds  was  used  to 
construct  a  stone  block  edifice,  which  still  serves  the  congregation. 

The  Building  Committee  consisted  of  W.  G.  Morse,  Judge  C.  H.  Apple- 
gate  and  J.  C.  Figg,  who  were  trustees  from  1905  to  1910.  Under  the  guidance 
of  Mr.  Figg  construction  was  completed  and  the  church  dedicated  in  1908 
under  the  pastorate  of  the  Rev.  Sam  Buckner. 

Ministers  who  had  served  the  church  up  to  the  completion  <af  the  building 
were  W.  W.  Denham,  J.  S.  Clements,  F.  B.  Ferrall,  T.  A.  Lindenmeyer,  W.  E. 
Orr,  Robert  Wilson,  C.  W.  Dean,  L.  S.  Buckner,  J.  J.  Higgs  and  Benjamin 

From  1907  to  1919  the  church  was  served  by  the  following  ministers:  W.  D. 
Enders,  Asa  McDaniel  and  C.  M.  Smithson,  with  the  latter  serving  for  seven 
years.  Serving  as  trustees  then  were  George  Sidle,  Martin  Barkmeier  and  W. 
W.  Coale. 

The  Rev.  E.  F.  Winkler  served  the  congregation  in  1920  and  1921,  then 
was  succeeded  by  the  Rev.  James  A.  Barrett  who  served  in  1922  and  1923.  It 
was  during  the  latter  year  that  T.  W.  Simer?  a  young  man  of  the  church  who 
was  to  return  later  as  pastor,  began  his  preparation  for  the  ministry  at  Eureka 
College.  He  was  ordained  in  1924  while  the  Rev.  Lafe  Hoff  was  pastor  here. 

In  1926  the  pastorate  was  assumed  by  the  Rev.  G.  Lolin  Eaton  who  re- 
mained until  1928. 

The  Rev.  Mr.  Simer  returned  to  his  home  church  as  pastor  in  1928  after 
completing  five  years  of  study  at  Eureka  and  remained  at  the  postition  until 
March,  1952.  His  was  the  longest  tenure  of  any  pastor. 

The  year  following,  two  other  young  men  of  the  church,  George  Eylander 
and  Glenn  Armstrong,  were  ordained.  The  church  held  its  first  homecoming  on 
October  30,  1932  and  during  that  same  year  the  Dorcas  Society,  woman's 
group,  was  formed. 

Other  marks  of  progress  in  the  church  history  include  the  ordination  in 
1933  of  Nicholas  Ortman,  the  founding  of  the  first  Vacation  Bible  School  in 
1935,  the  ordination  of  Kenneth  Patton  in  the  same  year. 

In  September,  1940  ground  was  broken  at  the  rear  of  the  church  for  a  new 
educational  unit,  needed  because  of  the  increased  Sunday  School  membership. 

The  new  unit  was  dedicated  at  the  annual  homecoming  service  in  1941  and 
classes  met  there  for  the  first  time  in  November  of  that  year. 

In  1944  the  mortgage  on  the  unit  was  burned  at  the  annual  homecoming. 

In  1950  the  congregation  approved  enlarging  the  church  sanctuary  and  the 


work  was  completed  a  year  later,  being  dedicated  on  March   11. 

The  Rev.  Mr.  Simer  completed  his  long  pastorate  in  1952  when  he  accepted 
a  charge  in  Aberdeen,  South  Dakota.  He  was  succeeded  by  the  Rev.  Mr. 
Ashton  on  September  28,  1952.  The  Rev.  David  G.  Ashton  remained  for  six 

Guest  pastors  filled  the  pulpit  from  September  1,  1958,  when  the  Rev.  Mr. 
Ashton  resigned,  until  February  I,  1959  when  the  Rev.  Oral  C.  Lowe,  present 
pastor,  accepted  the  charge.  The  Rev.  Mr.  Lowe,  widely  known  in  Harvey 
church  circles,  is  currently  serving  as  president  of  the  Harvey  Ministerial 

The  church  organization  presently  consists  of  a  board  of  twelve  elders  and 
thirty  deacons.  There  are  twenty-four  deaconesses  who  assist  with  baptisms, 
communion  services  and  who  visit  ailing  members  and  shut-ins.  Chairman  of 
the  official  board  is  Carmen  Ruffalo.  Robert  Huffstutler  is  chairman  of  the 
deacons  and  Mrs.  Imo  Gibbs  of  the  deaconesses. 

A  planning  committee,  headed  by  Thomas  Riddle,  Jr.  is  presently  studying 
possible  new  building  sites. 


At  a  meeting  held  on  December  22,  1891,  the  Swedish  Lutherans  of  Harvey 
organized  the  Swedish  Evangelical  Lutheran  Tabor  Church.  The  meeting  was 
attended  by  33  charter  members  and  presided  over  by  the  Rev.  C.  Granath. 
Rev.  E.  A.  Zetterstrand  served  as  secretary. 

They  adopted  the  Augustana  Synod  constitution  and  applied  for  admission 
to  the  Illinois  Conference  and  the  Augustana  Synod. 

Those  listed  as  charter  members  were:  A.  V.  Svenson  and  family,  G.  W. 
Lundquist,  Selma  O.  Anderson,  Hilda  C.  Anderson,  O.  G.  Lundquist,  Andrew 
West  and  family,  Christina  Carlson,  Emil  Carlson,  C.  Mallstrom  and  family, 
Alfred  T.  Carlson,  Gustaf  Carslon,  C.  F.  Lindgren  and  family,  C.  G.  Ackerholm 
and  family,  Gustaf  Erickson,  F.  J.  Lindberg,  Gustaf  Johnson,  Victor  Nord- 
quist,  S.  M.  Rundquist  and  family. 

The  first  deacons  elected  were  A.  W.  West,  A.  V.  Swenson,  C.  G.  Acker- 
holm.  In  1892  the  congregation  was  received  into  the  Illinois  Conference  of 
the  Augustana  Synod. 

In  order  to  establish  itself  further  the  congregation,  at  a  meeting  held  in 
April,  1892,  decided  to  raise  funds  to  purchase  lots  at  153rd  Street  and  Myrtle 
Avenue.  The  trustees  were  given  authority  to  go  ahead  as  soon  as  $100  could 
be  raised,  and  $600  was  set  aside  as  the  top  price  which  the  congregation  would 
pay  for  the  lots. 

Pastor  Zetterstrand  served  until  1893,  when  in  September  Rev.  H.  O. 
Lindeblad  was  called  to  preach  at  least  twice  a  month  for  a  salary  of  $2.00  per 
visit.  In  1894  Rev.  Aron  Lindholm  was  given  a  similar  call  but  he  was  paid 
$2.75  per  visit. 

From  1895  to  1898  the  congregation  was  served  by  a  student,  Mr.  Person, 
and  during  1895  an  unsuccessful  attempt  was  made  to  unite  with  Siloa,  Blue 
Island,  with  Harvey  to  pay  $175  of  the  pastor's  salary.  The  congregation  made 
its  first  petition  for  aid  from  the  home  mission  fund  of  the  Augustana  Synod, 
beginning  June  1,  1895,  in  the  amount  of  $125  per  year,  and  at  the  request  of 
the  mission  district  a  vice  pastor,  Rev.  G.  Lundahl  of  South  Chicago  was  elected 


in  February,  1897.  That  same  year  it  was  decided  to  begin  a  Sunday  school. 

0.  N.  Runquist  was  elected  superintendent,  followed  in  1898  by  C.  R.  Eckman. 
There  were  15  children  enrolled. 

The  congregation  now  attempted  to  call  pastors  who  could  serve  regularly. 
Tabor,  together  with  Siloa  of  Blue  Island,  called  the  Rev.  A.  P.  Martin  of 
California  and  he  served  from  1898  to  1901. 

Because  the  depression  forced  many  families  to  move  from  the  community, 
the  family  membership  dropped  to  six  and  services  were  held  at  the  Swedish 
Methodist  Church.  Student  Ministers  E.  K.  Johnson  and  O.  O.  Eackhardt 
served  the  congregation. 

In  April,  1904,  a  committee  was  appointed  to  continue  efforts  to  obtain  a 
site  and  plan  for  a  new  building. 

Such  a  site  was  acquired  on  Lexington  Avenue  between  151st  and  152nd 
Streets,  but  the  two  lots  were  traded  off  for  others  at  153rd  Street  and  Lexing- 
ton Avenue.  A  church  building  was  bought  from  the  First  Christian  Church 
in   1905. 

From  1907  to  1909  the  Rev.  P.  O.  Bersell  of  Chicago  Heights  served  as  vice 
pastor,  although  the  congregation  continued  to  be  served  by  students. 

In  1909  the  Harvey  and  Blue  Island  churches  were  served  by  the  Rev.  V. 
Setterdahl  who  pioneered  English  services  in  two  Sunday  School  classes. 
Previously  only  Swedish  had  been  used. 

The  Rev.  Mr.  Setterdahl  died  in  1914. 

The  new  pastor,  Rev.  Carl  Lund,  was  called  from  the  seminary  and  began 
his  work  on  August  1,  1915.  During  his  tenure  a  Luther  league  of  forty  mem- 
bers and  a  choir  of  twenty  voices  were  formed. 

During  the  pastorate  of  the  Rev.  O.  O.  Eckhardt  which  began  on  October 

1,  1918  electric  lights  were  installed  and  the  church  was  renovated. 

The  next  pastor  to  be  called  was  the  Rev.  J.  A.  Hemborg,  who  preached  his 
farewell  sermon  in  1924.  He  was  succeeded  by  the  Rev.  Edward  Stark  who,  in 
turn,  was  succeeded  in  1930  by  the  Rev.  C.  A.  Tolin  under  whose  pastorate 
all  business  sessions  v/ere  conducted  in  English,  as  were  the  records. 

On  November  9,  1938  the  Rev.  Mr.  Tolin  resigned  and  was  replaced  by 
the  Rev.  Luther  Knock. 

In  1941,  year  of  the  church's  50th  anniversary f  the  congregation  bought  a 
house  at  15113  Paulina  Avenue  for  use  as  a  parsonage  and  it  was  so  dedicated 
on  October  19th. 

The  present  pastor,  the  Rev.  Earl  W.  Carlson,  began  his  service  in  1954 
and  under  his  guidance  the  church  has  made  tremendous  growth.  Anticipating 
the  need  for  a  more  adequate  church  building,  a  fund  was  started  a  year  prior 
to  the  pastor's  arrival.  Seven  years  later  a  site  was  purchased  at  150th  Street 
and  Myrtle  Avenue  and  in  1960  architects  were  retained  to  design  a  building. 
Preliminary  drawings  were  accepted  on  September  29  and  in  February  of  1961 
working  drawings  were  completed  and  bids  asked. 

Groundbreaking  ceremonies  were  held  in  a  blinding  snowstorm  on  April 
16  and  quite  the  reverse  was  true  when  the  cornerstone  was  laid  in  the  midst 
of  an  extreme  heat  wave. 

On  January  25,  1962  moving  to  the  new  structure  was  completed  and  the 
first  worship  service  was  held  on  February  4.  It  was  dedicated  in  impressive 
rites  on  April  8. 

Those  who  played  prominent  roles  in  the  church's  most  important  under- 
taking were  the  members  of  the  Building  Committee:  William  Belt,  chairman, 
James   Snow,    Leif   Larsen,    Robert   Blonquist,   Virgil   Coppock,  Roy   Freese, 


Walter  Hegstrom,  William  Nodeen,  Elmer  Olson,  Elsa  Rehberg,  James  Thor- 
stad  and  Sigfried  Wilson. 


Located  at  153rd  Street  and  Loomis  Avenue,  the  Calvary  Temple  Assembly 
of  God  had  its  origin  in  1931  in  a  tabernacle  on  Broadway  just  north  of  155th 

First  pastors  were  a  famous  team  of  twin  sisters,  Ethel  and  Mildred  Covert, 
who  were  to  become  widely  known  as  not  only  preachers  of  fervor  but  talented 

When  the  congregation  rented  the  Swedish  Methodist  Church  at  153rd 
Street  and  Loomis  Avenue  in  1937  the  pastor  became  the  Rev.  Ronald  Bayles. 
Services  were  held  at  this  location  until  1943  when  the  Swedish  congregation 
which  shared  the  building,  disbanded  and  sold  the  property  to  Calvary  Temple 

A  new  church  arose  on  the  property  in  1951  under  the  leadership  of  its 
pastor,  the  Rev.  William  J.  Sawyers  who  still  serves  the  congregation. 


St.  Nicholas  Ukranian  Orthodox  church  was  incorporated  on  August  27, 
1953  by  a  small  but  enthusiastic  group  of  parishioners. 

Services  were  conducted  first  in  the  Ukranian  National  Home  on  Page 
Avenue,  which  became  church  property  in  1954. 

Property  for  a  new  church  had  been  bought  in  1953  upon  the  arrival  of 
the  Rev.  Eustachius  Pysar  as  resident  pastor  and  on  July  22,  1956  the  Most 
Reverend  Archbishop  Hennady  officiated  at  the  laying  of  the  cornerstone  on 
the  property  at  14832  Page  Avenue. 

The  Rev.  Father  Pysar  served  the  parish  until  1960  when  the  Rev.  Boris 
Zabrodsky  became  the  pastor. 


The  First  Church  of  God  was  formed  in  1930  and  worship  services  were 
held  in  the  old  Washington  School  at  154th  Street  and  Honore  Avenue. 

The  rapidly  growing  congregation  bought  a  site  for  a  new  church  at  14701 
Myrtle  Avenue  and  groundbreaking  services  were  held  on  November  23,  1958 
with  the  cornerstone  being  laid  on  September  15.  1959.  The  building  was  dedi- 
cated on  May  14,  1961. 

The  present  pastor  is  the  Rev.  Billy  G.  Waters.  He  was  preceded  in  the 
pulpit  by  the  Rev.  George  Earnest,  the  Rev.  Charles  O.  Thrawl,  the  Rev.  John 
Kolar.  the  Rev.  Andv  Carpenter,  the  Rev.  Frederick  Wright,  and  the  Rev. 
Willie   Ray. 


On  June  20.   1943.  the  Har\e\    Missionary    Baptist  Church  was  first  estab- 
lished  as  a   mission   of   the   Black   Oak   Baptist   Church  of  Gary,   Indiana  by 


James  T.  Goin,  Lloyd  Moore,  and  Rev.  Leonard  Cole,  then  pastor  of  Black 

On  December  12,  1943,  a  Southern  Baptist  Church  was  organized,  being 
called  the  Ashland  Avenue  Baptist  Church,  with  12  charter  members:  Willie  M. 
Angel,  Harriet  Angel,  Benjamin  Angel,  Wayne  F.  Angel,  Willis  O.  Angel,  Clara 
F.  Angel,  Ara  M.  Ward,  William  Ward,  Marie  McCain,  James  T.  Goin,  Valria 
Goin,  and  Evelyn  E.  Reasons.  The  church  ordained  James  T.  Goin  to  the  min- 
istry, and  called  him  as  pastor.  In  March  of  1946,  the  church  changed  its  name 
from  Ashland  Avenue  to  Ashland  Missionary  Baptist  Church.  Rev.  Goin  re- 
signed as  pastor  on  December  31,  1947. 

The  church  called  Rev.  C.  Earl  Finney  as  pastor,  and  he  began  his  ministry 
May  16,  1948.  In  July  of  1950,  the  church  purchased  the  Lutheran  Church 
located  at  15316  Center  Avenue  and  moved  into  it.  On  August  3,  1950,  the 
church  adopted  its  present  name,  Harvey  Missionary  Baptist  Church.  Rev.  Fin- 
ney resigned  as  pastor  on  February  28,  1951. 

The  church  then  called  Rev.  Edward  Lee  on  June  10,  1951.  Rev.  Lee  re- 
signed on  September  18,  1955,  and  Rev.  John  L.  Grant  was  called.  His  pastoral 
work  began  on  December  4,  1956. 

The  church  purchased  four  lots  at  154th  Street  and  Lincoln  Avenue,  south- 
west corner,  and  on  September  23,  1956,  held  its  ground  breaking  service. 
Work  began  on  the  new  church  October  1,  1956. 

Rev.  Grant  resigned  as  pastor  in  January,  1957.  Rev.  W.  W.  Dishongh  was 
called  as  pastor,  and  began  his  ministry  on  March  4,  1957. 

The  new  building  was  under  construction  with  Rev.  Dishongh's  coming, 
being  about  one  third  completed.  On  July  7,  1957,  the  first  regular  Sunday 
services  were  held  in  the  new  building.  On  July  28,  1957,  the  church  had  its 
dedication  service.  Rev.  W.  W.  Dishongh  resigned  as  pastor  on  January  26? 
1958.  The  church  called  Rev.  Virgil  Lascelles  as  pastor  to  begin  his  work  here 
on  June  1,  1958. 

On  May  10,  1959  a  ground  breaking  service  for  the  new  educational  build- 
ing was  held.  Work  began  on  the  $96,000.00  addition  on  May  7,  1962. 


On  July  26,  1936,  a  group  of  twenty-one  people  met  in  a  store  building  in 
Phoenix  for  a  worship  service.  The  following  winter  the  group  began  to  meet 
in  the  Coolidge  School  of  Phoenix.  By  October  6,  1937  this  work  had  pro- 
gressed to  the  point  where  "The  Bethel  Reformed  Church  of  Phoenix,  Illinois" 
was  organized  with  thirty-nine  communicant  members  and  four  baptized 

In  the  spring  of  1939,  the  Rev.  John  Buteyn  became  the  first  full  time  pastor 
of  the  congregation.  Two  summers  later,  in  1941,  the  congregation  dedicated  a 
new  church  building  erected  on  property  donated  by  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph 

In  1946,  Mr.  Buteyn  accepted  a  call  to  another  church  and  shortly  after- 
wards, the  Rev.  J.  Robert  Steegstra  accepted  a  call  to  the  pastorate. 

In  1952  the  building  was  moved  from  its  South  Holland  location  on  151st 
Street  and  Riverside  Drive,  to  its  present  location  by  way  of  Wallace  Street. 
The  dedication  of  the  cornerstone  was  made  on  September  21  of  that  year. 

Pastor  Steegstra  left  in  1955  and  in  May  of  that  year  the  present  pastor, 
the  Rev.  Robert  Wildman,  assumed  the  pastorate. 



On  September  2,  1949,  the  Calvary  Missionary  Baptist  Church  was  organ- 
ized with  fourteen  charter  members.  The  newly  organized  church  met  in  the 
church  building  which  it  had  previously  purchased  at  15719  Lexington. 

Under  the  leadership  of  their  first  pastor,  Rev.  L.  G.  Novell,  the  present 
parsonage  at  15723  Paulina  was  acquired.  A  mission,  now  the  Hazelgreen 
Baptist  Church,  was  also  established  during  his  ministry. 

The  Reverend  John  Hardie  became  the  pastor  in  September  of  1951.  His 
ministry  was  marked  by  a  period  of  church  growth  along  with  several  improve- 
ments to  the  church  and  parsonage  properties. 

The  Reverend  James  George  succeeded  Pastor  Hardie.  During  his  nearly 
four  years  of  ministry,  the  church  purchased  the  property  of  its  present  build- 
ing and  facilities,  located  at  157th  and  Wood  Streets.  When  the  basement  was 
completed,  the  church  held  services  there. 

During  the  actual  construction  of  the  new  building,  the  Rev.  Clem  Morse 
served  as  pastor.  The  Reverend  David  C.  Brown  accepted  the  pastorate  in  June 
of  1960,  following  Reverend  Mr.  Morse's  resignation.  During  the  past  two 
years,  the  building  and  grounds  have  been  completed  at  a  total  cost  of 
$81,000.00.  Over  100  new  members  have  been  added  to  the  church  making  a 
total  membership  of  approximately  three  hundred. 

The  church  building  was  dedicated  on  June  4,  1961. 







Responsible  for  the  founding  of  Garcia  Moreno  Council  No.  1660  was  one 
of  Ascension  parish's  most  loved  and  honored  pastors,  the  Reverend  George  T. 

Having  established  to  the  satisfaction  of  the  order's  state  organization  that 
this  was  a  suitable  location  for  the  formation  of  a  council,  plans  were  under- 
taken for  its  institution.  Assisting  Father  McCarthy  in  the  original  planning 
were  William  E.  Powers,  St.,  John  Keys  and  William  Cairns. 

Preliminary  work  was  directed  by  Samuel  E.  Cook,  district  deputy,  and  of- 
ficers of  the  Blue  Island,  Chicago  Heights,  San  Salvador  of  Roseland  and  Santa 
Maria  councils  collaborated  in  conferring  first  degrees  to  a  charter  class  of  90 
members  on  October  6,  1912.  The  council  was  named. for  Garcia  Moreno,  a 
great  statesman  and  South  American  liberator. 

The  class  included  many  Harvey  men  who  had  previously  held  Knights  of 
Columbus  memberships  in  other  area  councils.  Selected  to  head  the  organiza- 
tion during  its  first  years  were:  William  E.  Powers,  Grand  Knight;  Howard 
Schultz,  Deputy  Grand  Knight;  James  Munro,  Chancellor;  C.  O.  Whalen,  Re- 
corder; Henry  Hilgendorf,  Financial  Secretary;  William  Horan,  Treasurer;  and 
the  Reverend  Father  McCarthy,  Chaplain. 

The  first  activity  of  the  council  was  to  raise  funds  for  the  establishment  of 
a  parochial  school,  the  members  pledging  themselves  to  provide  the  necessary 
capital  and  labor  to  rebuild  and  refurbish  the  Columbus  school  hall  on  153rd 
Street  to  the  rear  of  the  Ascension  Church. 

Since  that  time  the  council  has  remained  active  in  the  affairs  of  the  parish 
and  in  the  general  welfare  of  the  area.  In  this  direction  its  members  raised  a 
total  of  $  1 ,000  for  welfare  work  during  the  years  of  World  War  I. 

Many  charitable  and  fraternal  activities  have  been  sponsored  by  the  council 
during  its  history.  At  Christmas  time  many  baskets  were  prepared  for  distribu- 
tion by  members  to  the  area  needy  and  the  council  contributed  substantially  to 
the  order's  Cook  county  program  of  providing  food  and  entertainment  for  in- 
mates of  orphans'  homes  and  homes  for  the  aged,  and  providing  scholarships 
in  every  Catholic  high  school  and  many  colleges  in  the  state  and  nation. 

Through  the  years  the  council  has  also  underwritten  numerous  athletic 
activities  including  the  outfitting  of  teams  in  local  softball  and  baseball  leagues. 
It  was  also  active  over  many  years  in  basketball  and  for  a  long  period  of  time 
had  one  of  the  area's  outstanding  amateur  aggregations. 

For  many  years  the  council  met  at  a  home  on  Center  Avenue  between 
154th  and  155th  Streets,  but  a  growing  membership  soon  outgrew  the  facility 
and  it  was  sold  as  the  first  step  in  a  program  which  saw  the  council  erect  its 
own  home  at  15100  Page  Avenue  in  September,  1958.  Today,  the  membership 
has  grown  to  approximately  540. 

Prior  to  the  purchase  of  the  home  on  Center  Avenue  the  council  had  met 
at  various  places,  the  Knights  of  Pythias  hall  and  the  Odd  Fellows  hall. 

Grand  Knights  who  have  guided  the  council  through  its  years  of  success 
are:  W.  E.  Powers,  Sr.  (1912-1913),  James  Munro  (1914),  Joseph  Falherty 
(1915-1916),  John  Scully  (1917),  Daniel  Bradley  (1918),  J.  J.  O'Rourke 
(1919),  Arthur  Broderick  (1920-1921),  Henry  Hilgendorf  (1922-1923),  Will- 
iam Powers,  Jr.  (1926),  Leo  White  and  James  Weeks  (1927),  William  D. 
OHara  (1928),  John  Obernesser  (1929-1930),  Joseph  Reardon  (1931-1932), 
W.   J.    Gibson    (1933-1934),   Al   St.    Aubin    (1935-1936),    Romeo  Begnoche 


(1937-1938),  James  Mann  (1938-1940),  John  Mech  (1941-1942),  John  Kerk- 
hoven  (1943-1944),  Charles  Wissel  (1945-1946),  Earl  Roach  (1947-1948), 
Ralph  T.  Crean  (1949-1950),  Thomas  Yadron  (1951-1952),  Vernon  Voss 
(1953-1954),  Joseph  Doheny  (1955),  Leon  Gavin  (1956),  Walter  Septoski 
(1957-1959),  Tony  Jablonski  (1960),  John  McDonough  (1961),  Joseph 
Brosnan   (1962). 


The  movement  for  National  Suffrage  for  Women  encouraged  many  activi- 
ties. In  1913  Mrs.  Anna  Bostoph  invited  members  of  the  Twentieth  Century 
Club,  Art  and  Travel  Club,  Child  Study  Club,  Anti-Cigarette  league,  Suffrage 
Association,  and  several  reading  clubs  to  her  home  for  the  purpose  of  organiz- 
ing the  Harvey  Woman's  Club.  One  hundred  and  twenty-five  women  came  to 
the  meeting.  Of  these,  eighty  joined  immediately. 

"The  object  of  this  organization  shall  be  mutual  culture,  enlargement  of 
scoial  life,  and  united  work  for  better  civic  conditions,"  the  club's  by-laws  read. 

The  first  president,  Mrs.  Anna  Bostoph,  served  from  1913  to  1915.  The 
list  of  twenty-six  past  presidents  from  1913  to  1962  is  a  reminder  of  families 
who  have  been  closely  associated  with  the  growth  of  Harvey. 

In  the  beginning  there  were  two  departments  in  the  club,  Art  and  Litera- 
ture and  Social  Economics.  Shortly  afterward,  the  club  was  divided  into  seven 
departments,  each  department  sponsoring  one  meeting  during  the  year.  The 
latest  revision  of  department  of  work  results  in  these:  American  Citizenship 
and  International  Relations,  American  Home,  Education  and  Legislation,  Fine 
Arts,  Literature,  Radio,  Television  and  Motion  Pictures,  and  Welfare. 

The  Harvey  Woman's  Club  almost  immediately  affiliated  with  the  Illinois 
Federation  of  Women's  Clubs.  The  club  has  continuously  participated  in  the 
work  of  the  Third  District,  thus  sharing  in  state  and  national  projects  of 
women's  clubs. 

During  the  forty-eight  years  of  its  existence,  the  Woman's  Club  has  con- 
tributed in  many  ways  to  the  culture,  the  social  life,  and  the  betterment  of  civic 
conditions  in  this  city.  Among  the  accomplishments  for  civic  betterment  was 
the  first  "clean-up-day"in  Harvey,  for  which  one  hundred  dollars  was  raised 
by  a  home  talent  play.  The  erection  of  street  signs  and  the  placing  of  refuse 
cans  in  the  business  district  were  other  contributions. 

The  Club's  interest  in  parks  and  playgrounds  was  shown  in  several  practical 
ways:  the  donation  of  seats  for  a  small  park,  shrubbery  for  the  city  park  and 
later  a  four  hundred  dollar  gift  to  parks  and  play  grounds.  One  member,  Mrs. 
Gaston,  presented  a  drinking  fountain.  As  was  true  of  most  groups  during 
World  War  I,  members  of  the  club  gave  service  in  Liberty  Loans  drives  and 
Red  Cross  sewing. 

Support  of  Ingalls  Memorial  Hospital  has  been  continuously  a  part  of  the 
Club's  program.  When  the  hospital  was  organized  the  club  gave  five  hundred 
dollars  toward  furnishing  a  room  and  guaranteed  $52.50  yearly  toward  its 
maintenance,  an  amount  now  increased  to  $75  yearly.  For  the  building  fund 
for  the  1959  addition,  the  club  pledged  and  gave  one  thousand  dollars.  The 
YMCA  building  fund  also  was  given  twelve  hundred  and  fifty  dollars  by  the 
club  between  1950  and  1960. 

These  are  the  big  donations,  but  each  year's  budget  shows  interest  in  and 
financial  support  for  Girl  Scouts,  Boy  Scouts,  Glenwood  School  for  Boys,  Grade 
and  High  School  Bands  (in  their  formative  years),  as  well  as  funds  for  Heart, 


Cancer,  Tuberculosis  and  Red  Cross.  Thus,  the  budgets  show  continuous  in- 
terest in  all  civic  affairs. 

In  1932,  a  lack  of  funds  threatened  to  close  the  elementary  schools.  The 
Board  of  Education  appealed  to  the  club  for  assistance  in  the  sale  of  tax  war- 
rants and  it  responded. 

The  welfare  work  of  the  club  reflects  the  needs  of  the  times.  During  the  de- 
pression years  of  1931  and  1932  a  soup  kitchen  for  the  schools  was  sponsored. 
Needy  families  were  given  clothing  and  food  baskets;  tubercular  children 
were  assisted  and  the  Red  Cross  was  given  generous  contributions.  The  club  has 
long  shown  an  active  interest  in  the  Oak  Forest  Infirmary.  Members  regularly 
make  friendly  visits  to  residents  and  bring  little  extras  of  food  and  magazines 
as  well  as  materials  for  use  in  the  Occupational  Therapy  Shop.  For  several 
years  the  Welfare  Committee  has  been  welcomed  at  Manteno  State  Hospital, 
where  they  provide  entertainment  and  refreshments  for  selected  groups  of 

For  more  than  twenty  years  the  club,  through  the  Education  Committee, 
has  sponsored  an  Education  Loan  Fund,  available  to  a  Thornton  Township 
High  School  graduate  residing  in  Harvey  and  wishing  to  attend  Junior  College 
or  any  other  educational  institution.  Recently  as  more  scholarships  have  been 
available  and  costs  of  education  have  risen,  the  policy  has  been  changed,  to 
give  a  worthy  student  a  cash  scholarship,  renewable,  to  help  him  complete  his 
college  education. 

It  is  impossible  in  this  short  account  to  list  the  occasions  on  which  club 
representatives  have  cooperated  with  other  civic  groups  on  community  projects, 
but  they  have  been  numerous. 

Regular  meetings  of  the  club  bring  to  the  members  a  large  variety  of  enter- 
taining and  informative  programs  as  well  as  an  opportunity  for  friendly  social 

Many  of  the  city's  most  public-spirited  and  civically-conscious  women  have 
served  the  club  as  president.  Included  are:  Mrs.  Anna  Bostaph  (1913-1915), 
Mrs.  Frederic  R. 'DeYoung  (1915-1917),  Mrs.  W.  G.  Morse  (1917-1919), 
Mrs.  A.  C.  Huling  (1919-1920),  Mrs. '  W.  H.  Davis  (1920-1922),  Mrs. 
Elizabeth  McVey  (1922-1923),  Mrs.  Roy  W.  Barringer  (1923-1925),  Mrs. 
Harris  Dante  (1925-1927),  Mrs.  Homer  Benton  (1927-1929),  Mrs.  Milton 
Waterman  (1929-1931),  Mrs.  G.  A.  Stevenson  (1931-1933),  Mrs.  J.  E. 
Trieschmann  (1933-1935),  Mrs.  H.  L.  Mills  (1935-1937),  Mrs.  W.  C.  Knaub 
(1937-1939),  Mrs.  E.  W.  Gouwens  (1939-1941),  Mrs.  L.  F.  Conklin  (1941- 
1942),  Mrs.  George  P.  Fisher  (1942-1944),  Mrs.  Clifford  Maddox  (1944- 
1946),  Mrs.  John  E.  Yates  (1946-1948),  Mrs.  Kathleen  Wiseman  (1948- 
1950),  Mrs.  Carl  Mendenhall  (1950-1952),  Mrs.  A.  A.  Winterbauer  (1952- 
1954),'  Mrs.  John  C.  O'Hara  (1954-1956),  Mrs.  L.  C.  Mortrud  (1956-1958), 
Mrs.  A.  A.  Winterbauer  (1959-1960),  Mrs.  James  J.  Conlan  (1960-1961), 
Mrs.  Richard  B.  Van  Haaften  (1961-1962). 


The  Harvey  Optimist  Club,  local  branch  of  Optimist  International,  was 
chartered  on  March  24,  1938  at  a  banquet  held  in  a  Homewood  restaurant.  In 
attendance  were  representatives  of  many  of  the  community's  civic  clubs  as  well 
as  Optimist  Clubs  from  throughout  the  district. 

The  charter  was  presented  by  Emil  Bloche,  district  governor,  to  some  40 
charter  members.  Eugene  Barna  was  named  the  first  president. 


The  major  purpose  of  the  Optimist  Club  is  to  be  a  "constant  friend  of  the 
boy"  and  much  of  its  effort  is  centered  around  providing  activities  for  the 
city's  youth.  Through  the  years  Junior  Optimist  Clubs  have  been  formed  and 
the  club  has  served  the  community's  younger  generation  in  many  constructive 

The  original  boys'  program  was  organized  by  Benjamin  J.  Sachs,  a  local 
attorney,  who  was  a  club  vice  president. 

Others  who  guided  the  club  through  its  fledgling  years  were:  Don  Rexer, 
John  Van  Vorst,  Robert  E.  Blonquist,  vice  presidents;  Herbert  C.  Berggren, 
secretary-treasurer;  Gust  Melonas,  sergeant-at-arms;  and  James  E.  Henderson, 
Harold  J.  Miller,  Paul  Wible  and  E.  E.  Myrick,  members  of  the  board  of  gov- 

Originally  meetings  were  held  weekly  in  the  basement  of  the  old  fire  sta- 
tion, later  at  the  Green  Shingle  restaurant.  Periodically  meeting  places  were 
changed  and  at  different  times  in  the  club's  history  these  sessions  were  held  at 
Tompkin's  Tea  Room.  Fueher's  Restaurant,  Bob's  Restaurant,  Joe's  Thorn- 
ridge  Restaurant,  Perry's  Restaurant  and,  since  1945  continuously  at  Cavallini's 
Restaurant  in  Midlothian. 

As  a  member  of  Optimist  International,  the  Harvey  club  shares  this  phil- 
osophy: to  promote  an  active  interest  in  good  government  and  civic  affairs,  to 
inspire  respect  for  law,  to  promote  patriotism  and  work  for  international  accord 
and  friendship,  to  aid  and  encourage  the  development  of  youth."  Its  slogan  is 
"Friend  of  the  Boy." 

The  activities  of  the  club  have  expanded  greatly  through  the  years  and  it 
owns  the  distinction  of  sponsoring  more  youth  activities  than  any  single  civic 

Included  in  its  benevolences  are  sponsorships  of  Little  league,  Babe  Ruth 
league  and  minor  league  baseball  teams;  Boys  Citizenship  Camps;  Boy  Scout 
camps;  oratorical  contests,  Boy  Scout  troops  and  Cub  Scout  packs. 

Although  the  Optimists  have  used  various  methods  through  the  years  of 
raising  funds  to  underwrite  these  activities,  the  most  successful  by  far  has  been 
the  Harvey  Community  Forum  programs,  staged  each  year  during  the  winter 

The  Forum,  now  in  its  19th  year,  presents  many  features  of  wide  interest 
although  in  late  years  concentration  has  been  on  travel  film-lectures  which  the 
club  has  found,  have  the  widest  appeal  to  local  audiences.  Demand  for  tickets 
is  so  great  that  this  project  alone  provides  the  funds  necessary  to  underwrite  the 
club's  vast  boys'  program. 

Many  of  the  community's  outstanding  young  men  have  served  the  organiza- 
tion as  president  and  under  their  leadership  the  club  has  gained  wide  reputation 
as  perhaps  the  city's  most  active  civic  organization.  These  presidents  are: 
Eugene  Barna  (1938-1939),  Don  Rexer  (1939-1940),  John  Van  Horst  (1940- 
1941),  Robert  E.  Blonquist  (1940-1942),  H.  J.  Miller  (1942-1943),  Howard 
Cohenour  (1942-1944),  James  Henderson  (1944-1945),  Donald  Degenhart 
(1945-1946),  Herbert  Berggren  (1946-1947),  Clarence  Weiser  (1947-1948), 
Leonard  Helfrich  (1948-1949),  Carl  Mendenhall  (1949-1950),  Richard  Barr 
(1950-1951),  Roy  Freese  (1951-1952),  John  Abraham  (1952-1953),  Julius 
Badis  (1953-1954),  Gust  Melonas  (1954-1955),  Les  Lyon  (1955-1956),  Floyd 
Clements  (1956-1957),  Wilbur  Overman  (1957-1958),  Earl  Roeder  (1958- 
1959),  William  Gibson  (1959-1950),  Don  Myers  (1960-1961),  Ralph  Hale 
(1961-1962),  William  Graff  (1962-1963). 

The  Harvey  club  has  also  gained  wide  recogntiion  in  Optimist  circles  and 


two  of  its  members  have  gone  on  to  election  as  governors  of  District  12,  Opti- 
mist International,  which  district  includes  cities  in  the  northern  half  of  the 
state  of  Illinois.  These  members  are  Herbert  C.  Berggren  and  Robert  E. 
Blonquist.  Blonquist  also  served  as  district  secretary-treasurer  for  two  years, 
and  as  lieutenant-governor  for  two  years. 

The  club  has  produced  several  district  lieutenant  governors  including  Julius 
Badis,  Richard  Barr  and  Carl  Mendenhall.  Wilbur  Overman  served  a  year  as 
district  secretary-treasurer. 

The  extent  of  the  Optimist  International  contributions  to  the  general  wel- 
fare of  the  nation  is  indicated  in  the  organization's  1960  report.  It  shows  that 
Optimist  clubs  have  contacted  over  1,700,000  boys  during  that  year  at  an  ex- 
penditure of  $3,750,000.  On  the  community  service  level  the  report  shows  a 
total  of  55,000,000  people  reached  at  an  expenditure  of  $1,000,000.  Optimist 
owned  boys'  work  property  including  homes,  clubhouses,  etc.  are  valued  at 

From  an  original  1 1  clubs  which  attended  the  international  organization's 
convention  in  Louisville,  Kentucky  in  1919,  it  has  grown  to  a  total  of  more 
than  900  clubs  with  a  membership  of  over  75,000. 


Harvey  Post  155,  The  American  Legion,  was  founded  on  September  15, 
1919,  more  than  100  veterans  of  World  War  I  comprising  the  charter  role. 

The  initial  meeting  was  held  in  the  city  hall  and  resulted  in  the  election  of 
Louis  H.  Geiman  as  the  first  commander.  Meetings  continued  to  be  held  in 
the  city  hall  until  1922  and  for  the  subsequent  two  years  were  held  in  the 
Thompson  building  at  153rd  Street  and  Broadway.  At  other  times  meetings  were 
held  in  the  Armington  building  on  154th  Street  and  in  a  building  on  Turling- 
ton Avenue. 

In  1927  the  post  meetings  were  returned  to  the  Thompson  building  and  in 
1934  a  move  was  made  to  the  Soenksen  building  across  from  the  city  hall. 

In  1937  the  post  purchased  the  old  post  office  site  on  Broadway  at  153rd 
Street  and  after  a  number  of  years  of  operation  in  the  converted  government 
building,  an  ambitious  building  program  saw  the  modern,  attractive  structure 
of  today  evolve. 

Although  membership  originally  consisted  of  veterans  of  World  War  I 
(membership  requirements  were  that  a  veteran  must  have  served  in  the  military 
service  of  the  United  States  between  April  6,  1917  and  November  11,  1919  and 
must  have  received  an  honorable  discharge),  the  membership  was  greatly  in- 
creased when  membership  eligibility  was  extended  to  veterans  of  World  War  II. 
As  years  have  passed  and  the  original  membership  ranks  have  become  depleted 
or  inactive,  the  younger  war  veterans  have  played  increasingly  important  roles 
in  the  conduct  of  the  organization. 

The  American  Legion  has  become  a  potent  influence  in  national  affairs  and 
many  of  the  local  members  have  played  important  roles  in  the  civic  affairs  of 
the  community.  The  Legion  membership  maintains  a  close  bond  of  comrade- 
ship and  also  a  keen  interest  in  those  who  are  patients  in  government 
hospitals  as  the  result  of  illnesses  or  wounds.  This  is  in  accord  with  the  found- 
ing principles  of  the  organization  —  "to  consecrate  and  sanctify  our  comrade- 
ship by  our  devotion  to  mutual  helpfulness." 


Following  are  those  who  have  served  as  commanders  of  the  local  post  since 
its  founding: 

Louis  H.  Geiman  1919-1920 

Joseph  A.  Collins  1921 

Leo  H.  Eckler  1922 

H.  Ward  Rivers  1923 

Stanley  L.  Walton  1924 

John   Dziedzina   1925 

Ray  F.  Vincent 1926 

Gerald  P.  Scully  1927 

Rudy  J.  Linz  1928 

Walter  W.  O'Connor  1929 

Claude  W.  Gallett  1930 

Viator   Burton   1931 

Ray  Ingle  1932 

Madore  J.  Savoie  1933 

Norman  C.  Gallett  1934 

Ace  W.  Skinner  1935 

Richard  Sharman  1936 

Walter  Nagell  1937 

Walter  G.  Stansell  1938 

Ralph  T.  Patterson  1939 

Frank  Cunningham  1940 

Frank  E.   Foster  1941 

Anthony  W.  Caproni  1942 

Ireu  G.  Gedelman  1943 

Estey  W.  Gouwens  1944 

Roe  E.  Mallstrom  1945 

Joseph  M.  Cooke  1946 

Haskell  W.  Harr  1947 

Edward  F.  Powers   1948 

Harold  L.  Redding  1949 

Gerald  N.  Wakefield  1950 

Lawrence   Eagen   1951 

William   Lassen   1952 

Nelson  Van  Der  Aa  1953 

John   Roorda   1954 

Paul  R.  Jones  1955 

John  R.  Nicholson  1956 

Carmen  J.  Lendi  1957 

Lawrence  J.  Fleury  1958 

William  Wentz  1959 

Fred  Katity  1960 

Bela   Geiser   1961 

Milford  Muehring  1962 

Ralph  Patterson  1963 



The  year  following  the  founding  of  Harvey  post  155,  The  American 
legion,  wives,  mothers  and  sisters  of  post  members  organized  the  women's 
auxiliary  unit. 

Heading  the  planning  group  was  Mrs.  Hazel  Hughes  and  under  her  leader- 
ship arrangements  with  the  State  Department  of  the  Legion  and  its  ladies' 
auxiliary  were  made  for  the  organization  of  the  Harvey  unit. 

In  March,  1921  a  mass  meeting  of  all  feminine  relations  of  war  veterans 
was  held  in  the  city  hall  and  as  a  result  a  group  of  68  women  comprising  the 
charter  membership  was  presented  with  official  credentials  by  State  Legion 
Commander  McCauley  with  Mayor  George  H.  Gibson  and  Father  McCarthy, 
pastor  at  Ascension  Church,  assisting  in  the  ceremony. 

Growth  was  gradual  rather  than  spectacular  over  the  course  of  years, 
the  top  membership  before  the  conclusion  of  World  War  II  having  been 
reached  in  1938  when  142  were  included  on  the  role.  In  1940  there  was  a 
slight  dip  to  118,  but  this  set  the  stage  for  a  membership  revival  as  wives, 
mothers  and  sisters  of  World  War  II  veterans  joined  when  husbands,  fathers  and 
brothers  became  associated  with  the  men's  organization. 

The  auxiliary  carries  on  a  continual  and  effective  program  of  service  to 
veterans  and  to  the  community  itself.  It  is  active  in  veterans  rehabilitation 
not  only  in  this  city  but  in  veterans  hospitals  throughout  the  Cook  County 
area.  Child  welfare  occupies  much  of  the  group's  attention,  both  in  the  schools 
and  in  public  institutions.  In  its  program  maximum  attention  is  directed  to- 
ward the  fostering  of  Americanism  and  National  Defense.  In  general,  the 
auxiliary  has  sought  to  make  its  efforts  in  behalf  of  community  and  country 

Considerable  effort  has  been  directed  toward  making  the  lives  of  Oak 
Forest  hospital  patients  comfortable  and  many  items  provided  by  the  auxiliary 
have  helped  make  hospitalization  more  tolerable. 

The  construction  of  the  Veterans  hospital  in  Hines,  Illinois  made  it  pos- 
sible for  the  auxiliary  to  widen  its  scope  of  activity.  Its  efforts  have  been 
combined  with  those  of  auxiliary  members  of  other  posts  throughout  Illinois 
to  provide  almost  every  conceivable  type  of  comfort  for  the  hospitalized 

In  its  promotion  of  Americanism,  the  auxiliary  carries  its  program  to 
the  schools  and  youth  groups  with  continuing  effectiveness.  Each  of  the  local 
schools,  as  well  as  Girl  Scout  troops  and  other  organizations  for  girls,  have 
been  the  recipients  of  American  flags.  The  unit  has  sponsored  oratorical  and 
essay  contests,  has  given  financial  assistance  to  athletic  groups  and  even  to 
the  Boy  Scouts  during  annual  collections  for  used  toys  to  be  repaired  and 
distributed   among   the   community's   needy   children   at   Christmas. 

The  auxiliary  annually  conducts  a  Poppy  Sale,  its  only  fund  raising  project 
of  the  year.  It  is  the  profits  from  this  sale  which  make  possible  its  extensive 
philanthropic  program. 

The  unit  has  enjoyed  the  benefits  of  dedicated  leadership  provided  by  the 
following  presidents  who  have  served  throughout  the  years: 

Hazel  Hughes  1921-1922  Phoebe  Haines  1927 

Grace  Collins  1923  Lola  Wheeler  1928 

Irene    Monahan    1924  Carrie  Gallett  1929 

Ruby  Osborne   1925  Lucy  Spencer  1930 

Phoebe  Walton  1926  Laura  Jones   1931 


Vivian  Ingle  1932 

Anna  Krafcik  1933 

Nell   Shanefelt   1934 

Frieda   Eldridge  1935 

Mary  Cash  1936 

Ruth  Redding  1937 

Neva  Boyer   1938 

Eva  Hord  1939 

Ruth    Redding    1940 

Neva   Boyer   1941 

Eva  Hord  1942 

Etta  Caproni  1943 

Julia  Gelin  1944 

Hazel  Rothenberger  1945 

Hazel  Jones   1946 

Ethel  Savoie  1947 

Yvonne   Burton    1948 

Leona   Powers   1949 

Doris  Jones  1950 

Elsie  Van  Der  Aa  1951 

Cleo  Chesney  1952 

Helen  Luehrs  1953 

Carol    Raimann    1954 

Selma   O'Connor   1955 

Jeanette  Skilbeck  1956 

Estelle  Anglin  1957 

Ruth  Wakefield  1958 

Norma  Katity  1959 

Florence    Mitchell    1960 

Donna  Wentz  1961 

Betty    Grummit    1962 

Sharon  Kolb  1963 


On  July  28,  1892  the  Harvey  Woman's  Relief  Corps,  No.  210,  a  ladies' 
auxiliary  to  the  Grand  Army  Post  274  of  Harvey,  was  formed  with  28  mem- 
bers on  the  charter  list. 

The  first  president  was  Mrs.  Emma  DeVoe,  her  sister  officers  being:  Mrs. 
Leon  C.  Keifer,  senior  vice  president;  Mrs.  Belle  Nicols,  junior  vice  president; 
Mrs.  Kittie  M.  Chase,  secretary;  Mrs.  Ann  Morse,  treasurer;  Mrs.  Mary  E. 
Davison,  chaplain;  Mrs.  Betsey  K.  Brooks,  guard;  Mrs.  Mary  Bayles,  conductor; 
Mrs.  Mary  Dinmitt,  assistant  conductor;  Mrs.  Etta  Craver,  assistant  guard. 

Purpose  of  the  corps  is  to  furnish  relief  to  members  and  other  needy 
people,  present  flags  to  schools,  churches  and  other  organizations,  and  in  any 
other  way  possible  to  foster  patriotism  in  the  community. 

Throughout  their  many  years  in  Harvey,  and  the  post  is  the  oldest  active 
women's  organization  in  the  city,  they  have  made  an  annual  custom  of  deco- 
rating the  graves  of  deceased  GAR  veterans  and  corps  members  on  Memorial 
Day.  In  more  modern  times  the  corps  has  also  participated  with  American 
Legion  post  in  decorating  graves  of  the  dead  of  both  World  Wars. 

In  1923  and  1924  Mrs.  Mae  Van  Laningham  as  president  spearheaded 
a  fund  drive  which  raised  $583  which  was  presented  to  Ingalls  Memorial 
hospital  for  funrishing  a  room. 

In  1931  the  corps  erected  a  monument  in  Oak  Lawn  Cemetery  on  the  plot 
where  the  Memorial  Day  services  have  been  held. 

Since  its  inception,  the  Woman's  Relief  Corps  has  been  served  by  the 
following  presidents: 

Mrs.  Emma  De  Voe  1892-3 

Mrs.  May  Clark  1894 

Mrs.  Betsey  Brooks  1895 

Mrs.  Eunice  De  Voe  1896-8 

Mrs.  Eliz.  Millison  1899 

Mrs.  Phoebe  Hyde  1900 

Mrs.  Adeline   Gilson    1901-2 

Mrs.  Hattie    Stone    1903 

Mrs.  Sarah    Meetch    1904 

Mrs.  Laura  Martin  1905-7 

Mrs.  Frances   Bishop   1908 

Mrs.  Clarkson  1909 

Mrs.   Mary  Myers  1910-11 

Mrs.   M.  Crittendon  1912-13 

Mrs.  Lydia    Stinson    1914 

Mrs.   M.   Van   Laningham. ...1915-16 

Mrs.  Myrtle   Strode   1917 

Mrs.  Frank  Lake   1918 


Mrs.  O'Rourke    1919  Mrs. 

Mrs.   Reeser     1920  Mrs. 

Mrs.  Jennie  Jillick    1921  Mrs. 

Mrs.   Falette    1922  Mrs. 

Mrs.  M.  Van  Laningham  ...1923-24  Mrs. 

Mrs.   Ada   Davis   1925  Mrs. 

Mrs.  Wessell    and  Mrs. 

Blanche  Abbott   1926  Mrs. 

Mrs.  May  Jacobs  1927  Mrs. 

Mrs.   H.   Schiller  1928  Mrs. 

Mrs.   Lillian   Smith   1929  Mrs. 

Mrs.   Eva   Fowler   1930  Mrs. 

Mrs.   L.  Brauer  1931  Mrs. 

Mrs.   L.  Barnhisel  1932  Mrs. 

Mrs.   E.  Bergstrand  1933-34  Mrs. 

Mrs.   Hilda  Hertzog  1935-36  Mrs. 

Mrs.   Emily  Lyon   1937  Mrs. 

Mrs.    M.   Thoresen   1938  Mrs. 

Mrs.   Mayme   Meetch  1939  Mrs. 

Mrs.   E.   Latowski   1940  Mrs. 

Ona  Gibbert  1941 

Marge  Moorhouse  1942 

Rossie   Wilson    1943 

Minnie   DeGroot    1944 

Lillian   Reid   1945-46 

Mabel  Coale  1947 

Crist  Twedt    1948 

Maude  Fones  1949 

Minnie   DeGroot   1950 

Ruby   Wagner    1951 

Irene   Scran    1952 

Lorene  Johnson  1953 

Crist  Twedt   1954 

Hilda    Harrison    1955 

Cleo  Chesney  1956 

Selma   O'Connor   1957 

Hazel  Jones  1958 

Clara   Benjamin   1959 

Helen  Luehrs  1960-61 

Cleo  Chesney  1962 


Harvey  Lodge  No.  1203,  Loyal  Order  of  the  Moose,  was  officially  in- 
stituted on  December  12,   1912,  the  first  initiation  class  numbering  215. 

Many  outstanding  civic  leaders  of  the  time  were  included  in  that  class 
and  names  of  the  charter  officer  list  consists  of  men  who  were  closely  associated 
with  the  city's  early  history. 

Included  were:  William  E.  Kerr,  George  Mann,  William  Kelly,  Jack  Thiel, 
George  Koenig,  Matt  Stobbs,  Charles  E.  Ruble,  W.  C.  Dempsey,  Charles  A. 
Abaio,  Henry  I.  Heckler.  John  J.  Gard  George  E.  Sidle,  C.  M.  Bradley  and 
J.  W.  Blair. 

As  is  true  in  the  cases  of  many  such  groups,  there  were  times  when  the 
lodge  faced  extinction,  but  survival  was  assured  through  continued  qualified 
leadership  and  from  its  humble  beginning  the  Moose  Lodge  grew  to  a  member- 
ship of  over  2,000  in  the  year  1962. 

One  of  the  more  trying  periods  occurred  during  the  depression  of  the 
early  1930's  when  the  lodge  suffered  a  severe  drop  in  membership.  However, 
the  records  indicate  that  "the  hard  work  and  perseverance  of  a  few  members, 
including  Joseph  Spindler  (just  this  year  named  a  Pilgrim,  the  lodge's  highest 
honor),  Al  Wexelberg,  Ira  Hutchinson,  Marshall  Sailors,  Charles  Seagraves, 
George  Hutchinson.  Gus  Rutkowski.  Ed  Gorsuch,  and  many  others  helped  the 
lodge  weather  the  storm. 

The  lodge  suffered  a  severe  blow  in  January,  1931,  when  its  headquarters 
were  destroyed  by  fire,  but  a  special  committee  succeeded  in  raising  the 
funds  necessary  to  keep  it  alive.  Between  then  and  1957,  however,  the  mem- 
bership fell  to  an  alarming  low  of  150. 

That  same  year  space  was  rented  on  the  second  floor  of  the  Piazza  building 
on  Broadway  which,  at  the  time,  housed  the  city's  fire  department.  This  move 
presaged  a  new  era  of  success  for  the  lodge  and  the  membership  climbed 


However,  fire  struck  again  in  January,  1958  and  the  entire  building  was 
destroyed,  as  well  as  all  of  the  lodge  records  and  equipment.  Temporary  head- 
quraters  were  established  in  the  old  Veterans  of  Foreign  Wars  hall  on  Broad- 
way near   155th  Street. 

These  are  the  circumstances  which  led  to  the  realization  of  a  dream  of 
the  members  for  a  lodge  home  of  their  own.  Land  on  Dixie  Highway  near 
154th  Street  was  secured,  construction  soon  inaugurated.  The  building  which 
resulted  is  one  of  the  finest  in  the  community  and  it  was  a  huge  crowd  of 
members  and  dignitaries  from  throughout  Illinois  which  attended  the  dedica- 
tion rites  on  November  30,  1958.  From  that  point  the  lodge  has  enjoyed  un- 
qualified success  and  the  membership  has  climbed  to  a  new  peak. 

The  Harvey  lodge  is  well  represented  in  the  three  degrees  conferred  by 
the  national  organization,  there  being  more  than  200  members  of  the  "Legion" 
which  marks  the  second  degree,  more  than  50  in  the  "Fellows,"  the  third 
degree,  and  three  members  (Anton  Sterker,  Secretary  Lawrence  Raimann  and 
Joseph  Spindler),  who  hold  the  most  coveted  degree,  that  of  Pilgrim. 

Governors  who  have  served  Harvey  Lodge   1203  since  its  inception  are: 

W.  E.  Kerr 
George  Mann 
Lloyd  Hawley 
R.  A.  Creps 
Melvin  Rasmus 
Harry  Raiman 
Ernest  H.  Berry,  Jr. 
Gust  P.  Miller 
Edward  Scully 
Noah  W.  Brandenburg 
Lawrence  Raiman 
Joseph  Spindler 
William  Sons 
Willis  Sinclair 
F.  L.  Brown 
Frank  Polizzi 

Willis  Kelly 
E.  G.  Gorsuch 
Charles  Basing 
Fred  C.  Fowler 
Joseph  Spindler 
John  D.  Rossman 
Thomas  Chaffee 
Emil  Groskopf 
Ira  D.  Hutchinson 
A.  M.  Wex-elberg 
Russell  Dunham 
L.  Overman 
Doyle  Sweet 
John  W.  Hile 
Romeo  Fraser 

Lawrence  Raiman  —  Council  Action  —  August,   1950 

Bernard  Miller  —  Council  Action  —  December,    1950 

Donald   J.   Degenhart  —  Council  Action   —  December,    1959 

Elmer  Nelson  —  Council  Action  —  December,   1961 


Twelve  years  after  the  founding  of  the  Harvey  Moose  lodge  in  1912,  a 
chapter  of  the  lodge's  feminine  organization,  the  Women  of  the  Moose,  was 
founded  in  Harvey,  the  official  institution  occurring  on  July  1,  1924  with  the 
following  charter  officers:  Emma  Livers,  Lillian  Tesar,  Agnes  Rossman, 
Amelia  Hammel,  Laura  Seagraves,  Lena  Groskopf,  Eva  Biggerstaff,  Alice 
Bastar,  Dorothy  Chaffee  and  Clara  Spindler. 

Like  its  masculine  counterpart,  the  Women  of  the  Moose  chapter  here 
has  enjoyed  consistent  and  impressive  growth.  From  a  small  start  of  27  charter 
members  the  membership  has  grown  to  more  than  1,000. 


In  order  to  attain  this  mark  the  WOTM  was  required  to  survive  the  depres- 
sion when  the  membership  dipped  to  a  meager  14  in  1937,  but  as  was  true 
with  the  parent  lodge,  dedicated  officers  and  members  pulled  it  through  the 
crisis,  kept  the  charter  intact,  and  saw  the  lodge  gradually  rebuild  and  eventu- 
ally attain  the  stature  it  enjoys  today. 

There  are  also  three  degrees  in  the  Women  of  the  Moose.  They  are  the 
Academy  of  Friendship,  College  of  Regents,  and  Puritan  Honor  Degree. 
Harvey  chapter  has  more  than  150  members  of  the  Academy  of  Friendship, 
and  25  members  of  the  College  of  Regents. 

The  late  Margaret  Hutchinson  owns  the  distinction  of  being  the  first  Harvey 
member  upon  whom  both  honors  were  conferred,  that  in  1940.  One  member, 
Freeda  Cannon,  has  the  honor  of  having  served  as  a  Deputy  Grand  Regent  of 
the  State  of  Illinois. 

As  plans  progressed  for  the  new  Moose  home  the  Women  of  the  Moose 
played  prominent  roles,  working  side  by  side  with  leaders  of  the  men's  organi- 
zation. Credited  with  having  made  major  contributions  were:  Junior  Graduate 
Regent  Dorothy  Muehring,  Senior  Regent  Patsy  Dascenzi,  Junior  Regent 
Fannie  Sutherland,  Chaplain  Esther  Graff,  Recorders  Ethel  Schmidt  and 
Eleanor  Meekins,  Treasurer  Bernice  Graff,  Sentinel  Mabel  Lanham,  Arus 
Edith  Nash,  Guide  Margaret  Wells,  Assistant  Guide  Margie  Wishba  and 
Pianist   Lily  Edwards. 

Women  of  the  Moose  are  dedicated  workers  for  Mooseheart,  the  lodge's 
Child  City;  Moosehaven,  home  for  aged  and  dependent  members,  and  for  the 
iCity  of  Harvey  where  they  are  to  be  found  heading  many  charity  drives  or 
other  campaigns  for  the  community's  welfare. 

Regents  who  have  guided  the  destiny  of  the  Women  of  the  Moose  of 
Harvey  are  as  follows: 

Lillian  Tesar  1924 

Annie  Shulyer  Proten  1924 

Vlartha   Bell   * 1925 

\gnes   Rossman  1926 

Mettie  Barbell  1928-1929-1932 

Lena  Groskopf  1930-1931 

Emma  Livers  1933-1934 

Vlargaret  Hutchinson  1937 

Ellen  Timms  1938-1939 

Tharlie  Harvey  1940-1941 

^reeda  Cannon  1942 

vlarie  Barker  1943 

letty  Paulsen  1944 

\lberdeen  Hile  1945 

Doris    Raiman    1946 

ileanor   Meekins   1947 

Mary  Hopman  Kuna  1935-1936 

Virginia  Fraser  1948 

Mary   Hamilton   1949 

Louise   Glens   1950 

Ethel   Schmidt   1951 

Nellie  Yakaitis  1952 

Eileen   Neander    1953 

Kerry    Hawley    1954 

Clara  Kiersey  1955 

Dorothy  Muehring  1956 

Patsy  Dascenzi  1957 

Lena    McLaughlin    1958 

Wilma  Jones  1959 

Alma  Poulter  1960 

Doris  Corbett  1961 

Ruth  Berry  1962 


Harry  E.  Smith  Chapter  No.  211,  Military  Order  of  the  Purple  Heart, 
vas  founded  here  in  1945  and  was  chartered  by  the  National  organization  in 
August  of  that   year. 

The  chapter  was  named  in  honor  of  Harry  E.  Smith,  the  son  of  Mr.  and 


Mrs.  Herbert  Smith  of  Harvey,  who  lost  his  life  when  Pearl  Harbor  was  at- 
tacked by  the  Japanese  on  December  7,   1941. 

Membership  in  the  organization,  which  was  founded  by  George  Washing- 
ton, first  president  of  the  United  States,  is,  of  course  limited,  inasmuch  as  it  is 
restricted  to  those  who  were  wounded  or  otherwise  incapacitated  while  in  the 
service  of  their  country. 

Twenty  servicemen  comprised  the  charter  membership  role  and  Harry 
Payan,  a  resident  of  Markham,  served  as  the  first  commander. 

Since  then  the  following  have  served  in  that  capacity: 

Ireu  Gedelman  1946  Merle  Roy  1952-53-54 

Howard   Murphy   1947  James   Siddens   1955 

Paul  C.  Jones  1948  Ireu  Gedelman  1956 

George   Cash   1949  Clarence    Mulder    1957-58 

John   Blackberg    1950  James  Siddens  1959-60-61 

James   Siddens   1951 


General  John  J.  Pershing  Post  No.  39,  Polish  Legion  of  American  Veterans* 
was  founded  in  1936,  four  years  after  the  formation  of  the  national  organiza- 
tion. Its  membership  consists  of  war  veterans  who  are  American  citizens  of 
Polish  descent. 

First  commander  of  the  local  post  was  Leo  Sarnowski,  who  was  followed 
by  John  Krafcik  and  then  Michael  Czyl. 

Activities  of  the  group  declined  until  1944  when,  following  World  War  II, 
the  younger  veterans  of  that  conflict  re-activated  the  post,  transformed  it  into 
an  active  organization  dedicated  to  the  welfare  of  those  of  Polish  extraction 
who  served  in  a  common  cause. 

The  extent  of  their  mutual  interest  is  testified  to  in  the  form  of  the  im- 
posing brick  building  which  is  now  the  post  headquarters.  Dedicated  in  1952, 
it  came  as  the  result  of  the  personal  efforts  of  the  membership.  It  is  a  favorite 
location  for  many  social  activities,  both  for  the  post  and  numerous  other 
organizations.  It  is  located  at  159th  Street  and  Carse  Avenue. 

Since  World  War  II  the  following  have  served  as  its  commanders: 
John  Ortyl  Henry  Pasek 

Bruno  Zielinski  John  Olejniczak 

Carl  Szwet  Felix  A.  Mysliwiec 

Stanley  Szwet  Carl  Szwet 


South  Suburban  Post  1759,  Veterans  of  Foreign  Wars,  was  founded  on 
January  26,  1935  at  a  meeting  in  the  Whittier  school.  Tallie  C.  Brown  is 
credited  with  being  the  inspiration  behind  its  organization  and  he  served  as 
its  second  commander  in  1937  after  the  term  of  A.  J.  Caillavet,  the  charter 

Membership  is  limited  to  "any  officer,  or  any  honorably  discharged  officer 
or  enlisted  man  who  has  served  or  may  serve  in  the  Army,  Navy  or  Marine 
Corps  in  any  foreign  war,  insurrection  or  expedition." 


Objectives  of  the  VFW  are  fraternal,  patriotic,  historical  and  educational. 
It  seeks  to  preserve  comradeship  between  its  members;  to  assist  worthy  com- 
rades; to  perpetuate  the  memory  of  the  dead  and  to  assist  their  widows  and 
children;  to  maintain  true  allegiance  to  the  United  States  government  and  to 
foster  true  patriotism,  and  to  preserve  and  defend  the  United  States  from  all 

The  local  post  is  a  regular  contributor  to  the  VFW  National  Home  for 
widows  and  orphans  of  veterans  and  espouses  the  cause  of  Americanism  in 
the  grade  schools  by  presenting  each  with  American  flags. 

For  many  years  the  post  headquarters  were  located  in  the  Altier  building 
on  Broadway  near  155th  Street,  but  later  members  built  their  own  home  at 
Wood  and  151st  Street.  This  building  was  sold  later,  however,  to  the  city 
and   now  houses  the  Harvey  Street   department  equipment. 

Commanders  who  followed  A.  J.  Caillavet  and  Tallie  Brown  are:  C.  S. 
Peck,  Edmund  Boyens,  Charles  Wernicke,  Eugene  Daley,  C.  Boyer,  William 
Donahue,  Mitchell  Koteff,  James  Siddens,  Benjamin  Karwacki,  Ole  Olson, 
Merle  Roy,  V.  Johnson.  C.  Turngren,  E.  Purnell  and  N.  Wurmnest. 


Only  four  months  after  the  organization  of  South  Suburban  Post  1759, 
Veterans  of  Foreign  Wars,  its  ladies'  auxiliary  unit  was  instituted  on  April  11, 
1935  at  a  meeting  in  the  Whittier  school. 

Its  first  president  was  Mrs.  Pearl  Dillon  who  was  succeeded  by  the  fol- 
lowing: Mrs.  Bernice  Englebrecht,  1935;  Mrs.  Alice  Brown,  1937;  Mrs.  Phoebe 
Walton,  1938;  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Clark,   1938-1939;  Mrs.  Mary  Cash,  1940. 

The  auxiliary  objectives  are  closely  aligned  with  those  of  the  men's  organi- 
zation and  their  energies  are  expended  in  similar  directions. 

Membership  is  limited  to  the  mothers,  wives,  widows,  sisters,  daughters 
and  foster  daughters  of  deceased  or  honorably  discharged  officers  or  enlisted 
Tien  of  the  United  States  Army,  Navy,  and  Marine  Corps  who  have  served 
he  nation  on  foreign  soil. 

The  auxiliary's  major  project  is  an  essay  contest  sponsored  each  year  in 
he  local  schools,  with  students  writing  on  the  subject  of  "Americanism."  It 
"egularly  distributes  food  baskets  to  the  needy  on  Thanksgiving  and  Christmas, 
upervises  the  annual  Buddy  Poppy  sale,  participates  in  memorial  services, 
ind  assists  needy  veterans  and  their  dependents. 


Rebecca  Wells  Heald  Chapter,  Daughters  of  the  American  Revolution,  was 
>rganized  on  June  9,  1931  when  eleven  Harvey  women  who  filled  strict 
nembership  requirements  met  at  the  home  of  Mrs.  J.  F.  Zimmerman. 

Fifteen  women  were  enrolled  as  charter  members.  Inaddition  to  the  offi- 
cers they  were:  Mrs.  E.  T.  Osgood,  Mrs.  C.  R.  Beeman,  Mrs.  C.  A.  Randall, 
vfrs.  E.  S.  Elson,  Mrs.  Russell  Martin,  Dixie  Mason  Smith,  Mrs.  R.  M. 
Veidner.  Later  the  same  year  Mrs.  William  James,  Mrs.  J.  L.  Lease  and  Mrs. 

L.  Jerome  were  enrolled. 


Charter  officers  were:  Mrs.  Zimmerman,  organizing  regent;  Mrs.  J.  M. 
Cooke,  vice  regent;  Mrs.  Wilbur  Day,  secretary;  Mrs.  A.  Manville,  treasurer; 
Mrs.  J.  B.  Stephens,  registrar;  Miss  Georgia  Mynard,  historian;  Mrs.  R.  A. 
Mason,  chaplain;  Mrs.  L.  L.  Schilb,  librarian. 

The  local  chapter  was  officially  recognized  by  the  National  Board  of 
Directors  on  June  13,   1931. 

Rebecca  Wells  Heald,  for  whom  the  chapter  was  named,  was  a  daughter: 
of  Samuel  Wells  and  the  wife  of  Captain  Nathan  Heald,  who  was  commandant  | 
of  Fort  Dearborn  when  the  massacre  occurred  there  on  August  15,  1812.  Mrs. 
Heald  displayed  great  courage  in  defending  women  and  children  of  the  fort 
from  the  attacks  by  the  Indians. 

Many  members  of  the  local  chapter  have  served  as  division,  state  andj 
national  officers  and  on  committees  for  the  parent  groups.  These  include: 
Mrs.  Zimmerman,  state  chaplain,  state  regent,  national  vice  president  general, 
national  chaplain;  Mrs.  Russell  Martin  and  Mrs.  A.  L.  Leach,  house  committee; 
for  national  convention  in  Chicago;  Mrs.  J.  M.  Cooke,  state  chairman  of  the! 
Americanism  committee;  Mrs.  W.  P.  Fenwick,  chairman  of  the  Lineage  Re- 
search committee  of  the  Fourth  division;  Mrs.  H.  M.  Mclntyre,  House  com- 
mittee for  the  State  convention. 

Additional  honor  came  to  Mrs.  Zimmerman  when  the  boys'  dormitory  for 
orphan  children  at  a  school  founded  by  the  Illinois  D.A.R.  in  the  mountains 
of  South  Carolina  was  named  in  her  honor. 

For  many  years  a  senior  girl  student  in  Illinois  high  schools  is  elected 
as  the  "Good  Citizenship  Girl  of  the  Year."  The  Harvey  chapter  has  always 
participated  in  the  search  for  such  a  girl  and  presently  sponsors  such  searches 
in  six  area  high  schools  —  Thornton  Township,  Thornridge,  Thornton  Frac- 
tional, South  and  North,  Bremen  Township  and  Blue  Island  Community  . 

The  following  have  served  as  regents  of  Rebecca  Wells  Heald  chapter  since 
its  inception: 

Mrs.  J.  F.  Zimmerman  1931-33  Mrs.  S.  D.  Jackson 1947-48 

Mrs.  Wilbur  Day  1933-35  Mrs.  A.  F.  Heino  1949-52 

Mrs.  R.  A.  Mason 1935-37  Mrs.  C.  C.  Heron 1952-53! 

Miss  Georgia  Mynard  1937-39  Mrs.  J.  M.  Cooke 1953-551 

Mrs.  E.  J.  Doll  1939-41  Mrs.  A.  B.  Huttig 1955-56 

Mrs.  L.  L.  Schilb  1941-43  Mrs.  R.  B.  Frew  1956-59 

Mrs.  Porter  W.  Hay  1943-45  Mrs.  J.  P.  Cooper,  Sr 1959-61 

Mrs.  Wilbur  Day  1945-46  Mrs.  H.  M.  Mclntyre  1961-6: 

Mrs.  J.  B.  Stephens  1946-47 


Nineteen  members  comprised  the  charter  list  when  the  Harvey  Rotary 
club  was  founded  in  April  28,   1925. 

On  June  9th,  the  club  received  its  charter  in  ceremonies  held  in  Chicago 
Heights.  The  club,  whose  motto  is  "He  profits  most  who  serves  best,"  has 
met  each  Tuesday  at  noon  since  its  inception.  These  meetings  have  moved  from 
one  place  to  another  through  the  years  and  have  been  held  at  the  Odd  Fellows 
hall,  the  Elks  club,  the  Federated  Church  parish  house,  Homewood  Inn,  the 
Green  Shingle  and,  in  recent  years  at  the  Evangelical  Church  of  Peace. 

As  an  international  project,  the  Rotary  Clubs  of  the  world  sponsor  and 
support  more  than  130  graduate  students  who  are  provided  one  year's  study 


at  a  university  of  their  choice  in  a  foreign  country.  The  cost  to  Rotary  is 
approximately  $3,500  per  student,  and  the  Harvey  Club  contributes  to  this 
project  each  year. 

A  student  from  the  Harvey  area  was  the  son  of  Rev.  Geffert,  pastor  of  the 
Trinity  Lutheran  Church,  and  his  year  of  graduate  study  was  done  in  Germany. 
The  Harvey  Club  also  contributes  funds  for  aid  to  students  in  Thornton 
Junior  College  and  High  School,  and  recently  promoted  the  fund  drive  which 
enabled  two  of  the  students  to  attend  the  World  Trade  Fair  in  Europe  as 
representative  high  school  students  from  the  United  States.  Copies  of  The 
Rotarian,  the  international  publication  of  Rotary,  are  provided  the  high  school 
library  in  both  the  English  and  Spanish  languages.  The  frequency  with  which 
The  Rotarian  is  quoted  in  other  publications  bears  testimony  to  its  standard 
of  excellence  in  literary  value. 

The  Harvey  Rotary  Club  also  sponsors  "Youth  in  Government"  in  May 
of  each  year.  With  the  aid  of  grade  school  supervisors,  outstanding  students 
in  each  school  are  selected  from  the  eighth  grade  to  fill  the  offices  in  City 
of  Harvey  government.  They  spend  the  day  inspecting  the  various  departments 
and  conduct  a  council  meeting  in  the  evening,  making  their  reports  which 
indicate  they  have  learned  something  of  how  the  local  government  functions. 
Their  reports  are  usually  enlightening  also  to  city  officials  as  well  as  the  public 
present  at  the  meetings. 

The  principal  purpose  of  Rotary  is  to  improve  ethical  standards  and  con- 
duct of  business  and  professional  men  in  the  community.  Members  constitute 
a  cross-section  of  merchants,  contractors,  educators,  the  professions  and  in- 
dustrial leaders.  Each  member  bears  a  classification  based  upon  his  occupation 
and  he  is  expected  to  encourage  and  promote  the  tenets  of  Rotary  in  his  field. 
Since  its  beginning  the  club  has  had  the  benefit  of  excellent  leadership  and 
its  presidents  have  been  widely  known  residents.  These  are  the  men  who  have 
held  the  office: 

John  A.  Thiel  Harold  B.  Isaac 

Rev.  William  F.  Vance  Thor  Jensen 

Norman  T.  Hobson  Charles  Falkenberg 

William  J.  Ebert  Dr.  Charles  Sandberg 

Howard  B.  Phillips  Clinton  Bradshaw 

Dr.  Charles  B.  Alexander  Earl  L.  Delano 

Dean  C.  Wilkins  William  H.  Botma 

Sidney  Lee  Jack  Raphael 

Leslie  McPhee  Arthur  E.  Christian 

Harry  A.  Malone  Joseph  B.  Stephens 

Harold  Boltz  Carl  V.  Johnson 

Paul  Leleu  Dr.  Norbert  Giese 

Clyde  Thomas  Edward  Younger,  Jr. 

Walter  Baker  Lee  M.  Morris 

Vernon  T.  Johnson  George  Biederman 

George  F.  Thies  Donald  Cherry 

Robert  D.   Lincoln 


The  Harvey  Kiwanis  Club  was  officially  organized  on  July  13,  1927  when 
Daniel  Wentworth,  governor  of  the  Illinois-Eastern  Iowa  District,  presented 
its  charter. 


Following  the  ideals  of  Kiwanis  International,  the  Harvey  club  has  been 
predominant  in  the  field  of  boys'  and  girls'  work  and  community  service. 
Projects  such  as  Kiwanis  Kids'  Day,  Pancake  Day  and  the  staging  in  recent 
years  of  a  Kiwanis  stage  show  have  provided  funds  for  many  projects.  These 
include  sponsorship  of  teams  in  both  the  Little  and  Babe  Ruth  Baseball 
leagues,  participation  in  the  Spastic  Child  Foundation,  sponsorship  of  Brownie 
troops,  visual  and  dental  aid  to  underprivileged  children,  city  tree  replacement 
program,  the  J.  W.  Foraker  Teacher  Training  scholarship  program,  school 
patrol  boy  outings,  pet  parades  in  cooperation  with  the  Harvey  Recreation 
council,  providing  equipment  for  neighborhood  parks.  The  club  has  also  par- 
ticipated in  many  projects  co-sponsored  by  Harvey  Memorial  YMCA. 

Membership  of  Kiwanis  consists  of  professional  and  business  people  either 
working  in  Harvey  or  maintaining  local  residence. 

Its  meetings  are  held  on  Tuesday  evenings  in  the  Harvey  Room  at  Memo- 
rial YMCA. 

Those  who  have  served  the  club  as  presidents  since  its  founding  are:  E.  L. 
Tromley,  J.  M.  Hughes,  C.  R.  Beeman,  Frank  C.  Norton,  J.  D.  Logsdon, 
S.  R.  Marks,  Gordon  Adler,  Don  C.  Allen,  Milton  W.  Waterman,  J.  Walter 
Foraker,  George  Patterson,  H.  Charles  Jones,  Gilbert  R.  Valbert,  Charles  E. 
Boese,  Porter  W.  Hay,  John  Hoffman,  Robert  C.  Bruce,  S.  Robert  Seagle, 
Harold  S.  Renne,  R.  Stanley  Gordon,  Robert  Pruitt,  John  W.  Murghik,  Her- 
bert C.  Greiner,  Nelson  DeFord,  John  E.  Tilton,  Robert  G.  Richardson,  Wil- 
liam Gostlin,  John  A.  Blair,  Al  Jeske,  Bernard  Callender,  Arnold  F.  Koester, 
William  Summers,  and  Richard  Hague. 


In  the  spring  of  1911  the  idea  of  organizing  an  Elks  lodge  in  Harvey  was 
presented  by  Paul  A.  Dratz.  He  combined  with  four  residents  of  the  city  who 
held  Elks  memberships  in  other  cities,  to  petition  for  a  charter.  This  was 
eventually  granted  and  on  June  15,  1911,  members  of  the  Kankakee  lodge 
officiated  at  the  institution  of  Harvey  Lodge  Number  1242. 

Three  Elks  —  Mr.  Dratz,  William  L.  Voss,  Sr.  and  Frank  Trott  were  the 
original  members  and  they,  along  with  50  candidates,  became  members  on  the 
night  of  the  institution. 

First  meeting  in  the  Harvey  Land  Association  building,  the  members  later 
arranged  to  rent  the  Union  club  suite  on  the  second  floor  at  the  rear  of  the 
Bank  of  Harvey  building.  Later  the  entire  second  floor  was  taken  over  and 
partitioned  to  suit  the  club's  needs. 

Rapid  growth  of  the  membership  created  a  need  for  new  quarters  in  an 
extremely  short  time  and  the  property  upon  which  the  present  clubhouse 
stands  at  155th  Street  and  Center  Avenue  was  purchased  for  $3,300. 

On  April  26,  1916  the  club  adopted  a  resolution  to  proceed  with  the  erec- 
tion of  a  building  and  the  issuing  of  $60,000  in  bonds  for  the  purpose.  Mem- 
bers of  the  building  committee  were  William  L.  Voss,  Sr.,  Thomas  F.  Kinney, 
Elmer  Flewelling,  Edward  M.  Adams,  David  Weidemann,  Sr.,  William  Walsh, 
Floyd  J.  Page,  Jacob  Decklar  and  Theodore  Peterson. 

Ground  was  broken  for  the  building  on  June  18,  1917  with  60  members 
present.  More  than  one-third  of  these  joined  the  armed  forces  when  United 
States  entered  World  War  I. 

The  new  building  was  dedicated  on  June  15,  1918,  the  membership  totaling 


284  at  the  time.  The  mortgage  on  the  property  was  paid  off  many  years  ago, 
despite  the  interruption  of  depressions  and  recessions. 

Since,  of  course,  the  membership  has  grown  substantially,  as  have  the 
Elks'  contributions  to  the  welfare  of  the  community.  It  is  a  regular  donor  to 
every  worthy  cause,  sponsors  athletic  teams  and  Boy  Scout  troops.  For  many 
years,  public-spirited  members  gave  up  their  Christmas  Eves  to  travel  to  Hines 
hospital  to  entertain  hospitalized  war  veterans. 

At  Christmas  time,  too,  many  needy  families  have  known  the  generosity 
of  the  lodge  through  the  annual  distribution  of  food  baskets. 

The  lodge  has  had  the  benefit  of  excellent  leadership  throughout  the  years 
and  the  following  have  served  in  the  lodge's  highest  office,  that  of  Exalted 

Paul    Dratz    1911-1912 

Frank    Trott    1913-1914 

Paul  Dratz  1914-1915 

Joseph   Lynch   1915-1916 

W.  E.  Tompkins  1917-1918 

Walter    Haines    1918-1919 

Ravmond  P.  Scully  1919-1920 

John  A.  Thiel  1920-1921 

Forrest  L.  Jerome  1921-1922 

Foss  P.  Miller  1922-1923 

Roe  E.  Mallstrom  1923-1924 

George  P.   Fisher  1924-1925 

Joseph  M.  Cooke  1925-1926 

Robert  L.  Cross  1926-1927 

Norman  T.  Hobson  1927-1928 

Joseph  Chapman  1928-1929 

Jack  Owen  1930-1931 

Herman   Birkholz  1931-1932 

William  L.  Voss,  Jr 1932-1933 

Fred  T.  Ehlert   1933-1934 

D.  F.  MacDonald  1934-1935 

William    Salkeld    1936-1937 

Joseph  Flaherty  1937-1938 

Cedric  E.  Casler  1938-1939 

William  Ebert,  Jr 1939-1940 

F.  Joseph  Frasor  1940-1941 

C.  Howard  Neale  1941-1942 

W.  D.  O'Hara  1942-1943 

Charles  A.  Geupel 1943-1944 

Floyd  J.  Page  1944-1945 

J.  J.  McGlone  1945-1946 

Walter  Wurtman  1946-1947 

John  H.  Vogler  1947-1948 

William  Weaver,  Sr 1948-1949 

Roy  W.  Moyer  1949-1950 

Francis  L.  Stevens  1950-1951 

Harry  W.  Zahler  1951-1952 

Jerry  Hetfield  1952-1953 

William    Hardlannert    1953-1954 

W.  E.   Redding  1954-1955 

John  E.  Bastar 1955-1956 

William  C.  Fowler  1956-1957 

Robert  H.  King  1957-1958 

H.  B.  Horton  1958-1959 

William  F.  Donahue  1959-1960 

Warren  M.  Bielby  1960-1961 

W.    D.    O'Hara  1961-1962 

Virgil   Benenati   1962-1963 


On  September  13,  1892,  Harvey  Lodge  was  organized  by  order  of  the 
Most  Worshipful  Grand  Lodge  of  the  Ancient  Free  and  Accepted  Masons  of 
the  State  of  Illinois  under  the  leadership  of  Most  Wonderful  Grand  Master 
Monroe  C.  Crawford. 

The  original  petition  bore  the  names  of  the  following  Master  Masons: 
Irwin  A.  Miller,  James  Lawson,  S.  L.  Skinner,  E.  B.  Albright,  William  Green, 
J.  L.  Cass,  Charles  H.  Howard,  M.  L.  Clark,  D.  W.  Turney,  E.  B.  Clark, 
George  S.  Woodward,  Joseph  M.  Ellis,  Thomas  A.  Noble,  Jonathon  Mathews, 
James  Bates,  E.  G.  Osgood  and  George  R.  Kenyon. 

The  Lodge  at  this  time  was  known  as  Magic  City  Lodge,  operating  under 
dispensation,  and  its  regular  meeting  place  was  in  French  Hall  at  the  corner 


of  Broadway  and  154th  Street.  The  stated  meetings  were  held  on  the  first 
and  third  Mondays  of  each  month.  The  first  stated  meeting  was  held  on  Sep- 
tember 19,  1892,  with  the  following  officers:  James  Lawson,  Worshipful 
Master;  James  Bates,  Senior  Warden;  George  W.  Kenyon,  Junior  Warden; 
E.  B.  Albright,  Secretary;  M.  L.  Clark,  Treasurer;  E.  B.  Clark,  Senior  Deacon; 
D.  W.  Turney,  Junior  Deacon;  S.  L.  Skiner,  Tyler. 

About  six  months  later  the  lodge  was  moved  to  the  Moose  building.  By 
the  end  of  1893  twenty  seven  candidates  were  added  to  the  above  members. 
The  following  named  were  the  original  petitioners  for  the  degrees  conferred  in 
Magic  City  Lodse;  H.  A.  Starkey,  P.  H.  Lamb,  T.  D.  Hobson,  E.  L.  Stratford, 
C.  T.  McKee,  W.  J.  Baker  and  J.  W.  Lawson. 

By  the  end  of  the  year  of  1900  there  were  82  members  and  the  lodge 
moved  to  the  Oddfellows  Hall  on  1 54th  Street  across  from  the  Bank  of  Harvey 
Building.  During  the  year  1903  thirty  candidates  were  admitted  and  the 
membership  had  grown  to  ninety  four.  On  October  3,  1907,  the  name  of 
Magic  City  was  changed  to  Harvey  Lodge  No.  832,  A.F.&A.M. 

On  December  23,  1912,  several  of  Harvey  Lodge  met  to  organize  the 
Harvey  Masonic  Association,  the  purpose  of  which  would  be  to  encourage 
social  and  fraternal  relations  and  to  acquire  a  building  for  holding  the  meet- 
ings of  the  lodge.  The  association  was  incorporated  under  the  laws  of  the  State 
of  Illinois  on  December  31,  1912.  The  present  Masonic  Temple  at  the  corner 
of  154th  Street  and  Turlington  Avenue  was  built  in  1913  with  the  laying  of 
the  cornerstone  by  the  Grand  Lodge  officers  on  September  27,  1913.  At  that 
time  the  lodge  moved  into  this  Temple  and  has  since  held  all  subsequent 
meetings  there. 

The  largest  number  of  candidates  in  any  one  year  were  taken  in  during 
1919,  numbering  55,  under  Worshipful  Master  Joseph  L.  Abbott.  The  member- 
ship at  this  time  had  grown  to  456.  By  the  end  of  1931  this  had  been  in- 
creased to  674. 

The   following   men   have   served   as   Masters   of  Harvey   Lodge   since   its 
founding:  James  Lawson,  1892-93-94;  Walter  Scott,  1895;  Corydon  E.  Phelps, 
1896-97;  George  S.  Woodward,  1898-99;  Elzey  T.  Osgood,  1900-01;  Edwin  G. 
Ruthrauff,  1902-03;  Loyd  A.  Dolton,  1904;  John  J.  Gard,  1905;  W.  O.  Hunter, 
1906;  James  W.  Ewing,  1907;  James  McLaughlin,  1908;  Issac  R.  Small,  1909; 
John  S.  VanDeursen,    1910;  George  H.  Gibson,    1911;  Roderic  B.  Harwood, 
1912;  Joseph  White,  Sr.,  1913;  Harlon  P.  Bennett,  1914;  Oliver  H.  Clark,  1915; 
Karl  A.  Finley,  1916;  W.  R.  Brandt,  1917;  Edward  Anderson,  1918;  Joseph  L. 
Abbot,   1919;  Herbert  J.  Frambein,   1920;  Charles  H.  Johnson,   1921;  George 
G.  Ford,   1922;  Bert  B.  Anderson,   1923;  Emil  C.  Kasten,  1924;  W.  A.  Neill, 
1925;  Harold  Nicolai,  1926;  W.  H.  Hurson,  1927;  Arthur  C.  Sorenson,  1928; 
James  L.  Hoyt,  1929;  Charles  J.  Fleck,  1930;  Walter  J.  Fradgley,  1931;  Albert 
L.  Woody,  1932;  John  P.  Smart,  1923;  Roy  W.  Tierney,  1934;  Peter  Fleming, 
1935;  Andrew  L.  Florig,  1936;  Mack  D.  Mason,  1937;  Harold  B.  Isaac,  1938; 
Robert  Hayes,  1939;  William  A.  Defries,  1940;  Christian  J.  Miller,  1941;  Carl 
H.  Johnson,  1942;  Henry  Mulder,  1943;  Jack  H.  Millsap,  1944;  Percy  Selkirk 
1945;    Theodore     H.     Meyer,     1946;    Arthur    D.     Porter,     1947;    John    F 
Denson,     1948;    Arthur    G.     Vanderlee,     1949;     Henry    E.     Conrad,     1950 
Donald   R.    Bullard,    1951;   Glen  N.    Boswell,    1952;   Charles   Goheen,    1953 
Paul  L.  Schmehl,    1954;  Russell  Gill,    1955;  Samuel  D.  Couwenhoven,    1956 
Harry  A.  Wheeldon,   1957;  Edward  W.  Onyon,   1958;  James  Freeburn,   1959 
Earl  Ring,  1960;  Emory  O'Bryan,  1961. 



Harvey  Subordinate  Lodge,  Independent  Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  was  organ- 
ized in  November,  1891  with  20  members  comprising  the  charter  role. 

Included  were  many  of  the  city's  most  prominent  pioneer  residents  includ- 
ing William  H.  Robinson,  Thomas  D.  Hobson,  Thomas  Chaffee,  George  H. 
Lane,  F.  L.  Lee,  J.  R.  Chaffee,  John  L.  Ott,  W.  L.  Schaeffer,  G.  L.  Wilcox, 
George  Sutton,  G.  A.  Huling,  J.  H.  McLean,  J.  W.  Kerr,  W.  S.  Klock,  Charles 
Cook,  H.  L.  Eggleston,  J.  A.  Kirkpatrick,  Nathan  Vasen,  F.  L.  Miller  and  R. 
G.  Hooman. 

The  present  lodge  building  at  155th  Street  and  Lexington  Avenue,  a  Harvey 
landmark  and  built  originally  as  a  Union  church,  was  purchased  in  October 

Among  the  highlights  in  the  long  history  of  the  lodge  was  the  initiation  of  63 
candidates  in  an  impressive  ceremony  in  the  old  Coliseum  on  Center  Avenue, 
currently  the  site  of  a  bowling  alley.  An  equally  large  class  became  part  of  a 
class  of  100  candidates  who  were  initiated  in  a  statewide  ceremony  in  Spring- 
field in  October,  1919. 

Many  members  have  become  prominently  known  in  Illinois  IOOF  circles 
through  the  years.  William  H.  Pease,  Harvey  postmaster,  was  named  Grand 
Master  of  Illinois  in  1914:  H.  Frederick  Beck  served  as  Grand  Patriarch  in 
1933,  as  did  Edward  G.  Houser  in  1958. 

Records  of  the  Noble  Grands  who  served  the  lodge  from  its  founding  until 
1913  are  not  available,  but  those  who  have  served  since  are: 

Orrin  Shepard  and 

George  Meyers  1913 

William  Figg  1914 

W.  Guy  Roy  1915 

Clayton  L.  Zehner  1916 

Jacob  F.  Zimmerman  1919 

V.  G.  Bloodgood  and 

Chas.   Arner  1921 

W.  J.  Stutters,  C.  E.  McBratney  1922 
J.  W.  Gardner,  Victor  Taylor  ....1923 

E.  G.  Kerr,  H.  F.  Beck  1924 

F.  G.  Copenhauer,  J.  H.  Elliott  1925 
Fred  Reason,  Charles  Madsen  .1926 
Louis  Nantz,  George  L.  Carter  1927 
John  E.  Sober,  Leroy  Trumble  .1928 

Charles  Oft,  Paul  Moffett  1929 

Fred  Roberts,  Harry  Bassett  ...1930 
Cornelius  O'Conner, 

C.  C.  Walther  1931 

Oscar  Johnson,  C.  C.  Walther  .1932 
Morris  Cohen, 

Charles  Barnhisel  1933 

Oliver  Cox,  Pete  Fontechia  1934 

Nels  Swanson,  R.  O.  Meyer  ....1935 

T.  J.  Boulden,  John  Falete 1936 

John  Cass,  James  Burns  1937 

Charles   M.    Landis   1938 

Henry  P.  Fessler  1939 

Monk   Nicholson   1940 

Roy  W.  Baringer  1941 

Earl  E.   Lester  1942 

Victor  Culver  1943 

James   L.   Caress   1944 

Fred   Daniels    1945 

Melvin  Thompson   1946 

Edward  Houser 1947 

George  Fenwick  1948 

Verle  Hudson  1949 

Lawrence   Harris   1950 

Ralph  Shepard  1951 

Paul  J.  Schmeidl  1952 

Charles   Muller,  Jr 1953 

John  Bowerman  1954 

Gustav  Hallberg  1955 

Paul   Schmeidl    1956 

Elbert  Smock  1957 

Gustav  Hallberg  1958 

John  A.  Macari  1959 

John  A.  Macari  1960 

Donald  Tremble  1961 

William  Scott  1962 

Two  area  lodges  have  combined  with  the  Harvey  lodge  during  the  years  — 
Dolton  in  1947  and  Homewood  in  1961. 


Harvey  Encampment  203,  a  branch  of  the  lodge,  was  founded  here  in  1909 
with  23  charter  members.  This  branch  consists  of  IOOF  members  who  have 
won  the  subordinate  degrees,  and  membership  is  drawn  from  lodges  elsewhere 
in  the  area. 

During  1950  when  a  Harvey  member,  Edward  G.  Houser,  served  as  Chief 
Patriarch  of  Illinois,  the  encampment  established  a  plan  to  organize  a  Matri- 
archal branch.  In  September  of  that  year  a  charter  was  issued,  charter  mem- 
bers numbering  20. 

They  were:  Lillian  Houser,  Susan  Caress,  Jennie  Birks,  Sareta  Rilley,  Lena 
Morris,  Margaret  Riegel,  Mabel  DeCamp,  Olympe  Macari,  Ethel  Pike,  Maude 
Stobbs,  Emma  Fenwick,  Mildred  Nehrke,  June  Lester,  Beulah  Thompson,  Neva 
Baringer,  Eleanor  Falete,  Hilda  Willing,  Bonnie  Schmeidl,  Sara  Dickinson  and 
Amy  Morgan. 

The  state  auxiliary  was  not  made  an  official  branch  until  July,  1951  and 
state  officers  were  not  elected  until  October,  1952.  Lillian  Houser  of  Harvey 
served  as  Grand  Matriarch  from  1950  to  1952,  and  then  again  in  1958. 


William  H.  Day  Rebekah  Lodge  Number  328,  named  in  honor  of  the 
founder,  was  established  in  Harvey  on  March  14,  1894,  the  charter  being 
granted  on  November  22  of  the  same  year.  The  charter  role  included  38  names 
including  the  original  officers.  Serving  with  Noble  Grand  Emma  Fuller  were: 
Lillian  D.  Chaffee,  John  R.  Chaffee,  Julia  Heindel,  Sarah  Smith,  Augusta 
Wood,  H.  H.  Bergstone,  T.  A.  Chaffee,  Jacob  Ott,  Isabell  Ott,  Rilla  Pease  and 
A.  D.  Heindel. 

The  local  lodge  has  accomplished  much  over  the  years  in  the  field  of  wel- 
fare. It  is  active  in  the  affairs  of  the  lodge's  orphan's  home  in  Lincoln,  Illinois, 
and  in  the  old  folks'  home  in  Mattoon,  Illinois.  Within  the  last  three  years 
(1958-1961)  it  has  participated  in  a  project  to  add  sixteen  rooms  to  the  home's 
hospital.  Those  who  have  served  as  presiding  officers  of  the  lodge  are: 

Emma  Fuller 
Lillie  Chaffee 
Julia  Heindel 
Emma  Bennett 
Bertha  Pierce 
Mary  Klock 
Hattie  Campbell 
Sarah  Smith 
Fannie  Unruh 
Alma  Ott 
Rose  Thorp 
Irene  Beden 
Bertha  Lenox 
Etta  Ellis 
Eleanor  Falete 
Coral  Elliott 
Marvel  Thorsen 
Helen  Jones 
Emma  Gregg 
Nettie  Coleman 

Florence  Hughes 
Myrth  Haviland 
Grace  Bloodgood 
Hilda  Bassett 
Mabel  Fiebig 
Olympe  Macari 
Susan  Caress 
June  Lester 
Laura  Barnheisel 
Maude  Fones 
Hazel  Plante 
Mary  Harris 
Hattie  Lundmark 
Minnie  Hobson 
Ida  Applegate 
T.  Brown 
Mary  Williams 
Elizabeth  Pettigrew 
Minnie  Hughes 
Josie  Laughton 

Florence  Rewald 
Margaret  Wood 
Clara  Shubbee 
Floy  Isaac 
Lida  McBratney 
Lida  Dickinson 
Hazel  Nantz 
Edna  Ellis 
Revah  Bastar 
Alice  Mills 
Mary  Figg 
Lotta  King 
Ethel  Bennett 
Neva  E.  Beck 
Birdie  Flewelling 
Lenore  Wiseman 
Eva  Aiken 
Doris  Hawkins 
Margery  Gordon 
Elizabeth  Cooper 


Edith  Smock 
Helen  Black 
Lillian  Tracy 
Etta  Irwin 
Dora  Lambert 
Mary  Trumble 
Florence  Walker 
Sarah  Smith 
Augusta  Wood 
Sadie  Bennett 
Effa  Templin 

Clara  Boyce 
Fern  Hughes 
Mabel  Elliott 
Margaret  Arner 
Eva  Davison 
Emma  Buehler 
Mina  Dykstra 
Bessie  Stamper 
Elizabeth  Templin 
Annette  Huling 
Maude  Stobbs 

Mary  Whitney 
Cellia  Christian 
Mary  O'Connor 
Margaret  Mitchell 
Martha  Rouse 
Lillian  Houser 
Pearl  Faretti 
Emma  Fenwick 
Audra  Frew 
Clara  Flannigan 
Margaret  Riegel 


The  Harvey  Lions  Club  was  organized  and  chartered  in  1946  and  its  first 
president  was  Wilbur  Morrison. 

Throughout  the  years  the  Lions  Club  has  engaged  in  many  types  of  fund 
raising  activities  in  order  to  serve  the  Community  and  help  the  less  fortunate. 
Each  year  the  Lions  have  sent  at  least  two  children  to  summer  camp,  children 
who  could  not  otherwise  have  participated  in  an  activity  of  this  kind.  Eye 
examinations  and  glasses  have  been  provided  to  many  needy  youngsters;  base- 
ball teams  have  been  sponsored,  an  oxygen  tent  donated  to  Ingalls  Memorial 
Hospital,  a  speedometer  purchased  for  the  City  to  protect  children  from  speedy 
law  breakers,  talking  books  supplied  to  blind  persons.  Leadership  in  school 
safety  programs  has  helped  provide  crossing  guards  and  safety  devices  to  pro- 
tect children  on  the  way  to  and  from  school.  Many  dollars  of  the  funds  raised 
here  have  been  spent  helping  the  blind  obtain  equipment  and  leader  dogs.  All 
worthwhile  community  activities  have  been  actively  and  enthusiastically  sup- 
ported by  the  Lions  Club. 

Following  the  expiration  of  the  term  of  Wilbur  Morrison  the  following  have 
served  as  president  of  the  organization: 

Dr.  Harry  Lees  1947 

William  Hercules  1948 

Elmer  Turngren  1949 

James  R.  Cushing  1950 

Jack  McPherrin  1951 

Martin  Chadwick  1952 

Ralph  Rowe  1953 

Loren  Pollet  1954 

Lester  Rowe  1955 

Ernest  Savageau  1956 

Herman  Kaufman  1957 

Dr.  Gerard  Achilly 1958 

Kenneth   Schlaudraff  1959 

Raymond  Hickey  1960 

Stanley  Slack   1961 

William  McGushin  1962 




'A  people  is  but  the  attempt 
of  many 

To  rise  to  the  completer  life 
of  one  — 

A  nd  those  who  live  as  models 
for  the  mass 

Are  singly  of  more  value  than 
they  all." 

Robert  Browning 




The  fervently  religious  character  of  the  community,  although  it  has  sub- 
sided but  little  throughout  the  years,  was  a  marked  characteristic  of  the  com- 
munity's early  population. 

As  the  Gaston  family  crusaded  for  abstinence  of  demoralizing  habits,  so 
did  the  famed  evangelist  of  the  1890's,  Billy  Sunday,  crusade  for  the  souls  of 
the  people.  Although  he  is  reported  unofficially  to  have  put  his  baseball  talents 
on  exhibition  here  on  more  than  one  occasion,  he  is  remembered  more  for  his 
evangelistic  campaign  in  1904  —  recorded  as  a  huge  success. 

On  the  occasion  of  his  visit  of  more  than  a  month's  duration  he  is  reported 
by  the  Tribune  of  those  days  to  have  made  at  least  400  converts. 

His  meetings  opened  on  May  22  in  the  tabernacle  at  the  corner  of  154th 
Street  and  Lexington  Avenue  under  the  sponsorship  of  the  pastors  of  the  city's 
Congregational,  Presbyterian,  Christian,  Methodist  and  Baptist  churches.  The 
dynamic  Sunday,  in  his  finest  oratorical  form,  was  a  magnet  which  drew  nightly 
audiences  of  between  1000  and  2000  persons. 

Led  by  Prof.  F.  L.  Miller,  the  town's  first  educator,  a  united  choir  of  200 
voices  provided  the  background  for  the  vitriolic  messages  of  Sunday,  one  of 
America's  most  prominent  evangelists. 


Perhaps  it  is  incongruous  and  not  in  the  best  journalistic  taste  to  follow  the 
gloriousness  of  the  Gaston  and  Sunday  crusades  with  a  disseration  on  the 
bawdier  side  of  life  in  Harvey. 

Yet,  the  fact  that  saloons  were  established,  allowed  to  operate,  and  grew  in 
numbers  is  also  a  part  of  the  Harvey  story.  The  career  of  Billy  McClatchey,  a 
pioneer  carpenter  who  lived  in  the  first  house  built  in  the  town  and  who 
helped  construct  many  of  its  early  structures,  sought  other  means  to  make  a 
livelihood,  because  of  the  "Panic  of  1893,"  and  opened  a  whiskey-dispensing 
establishment  on  159'h  Street  east  of  the  Illinois  Central  tracks,  later  moving 
to  155th  and  Halsted  Streets. 

The  historical  significance  of  McClatchey's  saloon  arises  from  the  fact  that 
it  was  the  "birthplace  of  boxing"  in  the  south  suburban  area.  It  also  became  the 
scene  of  the  early  exploits  of  Battling  Nelson,  who  went  on  to  become  one  of 
the  most  famous  pugilists  in  the  annals  of  American  sport. 

Hugh  MacMillan,  editor  of  the  Harvey  Tribune  until  1942.  recalled  for  the 
50th  anniversary  edition  of  that  publication  the  Battling  Nelson-Billy  Mc- 
Clatchey era. 

'in  those  days,"  MacMillan  reported,  "there  were  no  big  purses,  seats  at 
the  fights  did  not  go  at  $10  apiece.  There  were  mostly  barroom  brawls,  a  case 
of  guys  against  the  purse,  a  few  bucks  for  a  hammering." 

It  was  at  McClatchey's  155th  and  Halsted  St.  spot  that  Battling  Nelson, 
the  barefoot  kid  from  Hegewisch,  got  his  chance. 

On  a  spring  day  in  1900  the  lad  who  was  to  become  the  world's  greatest 
lightweight  fighter  approached  Bill,  asked  to  "get  on  the  card."  He  had  walked 
to  Harvey  from  his  home  town,  barefoot.  He  was  one  of  many  kids  in  the 
Nelson  family  which  lived  in  a  two-room  shack.  They  were  "hard  up." 

McClatchey  found  the  chance  several  weeks  later  to  get  "Bat"  on  the  card 


and  it  was  to  be  the  beginning  of  a  fabulous  career.  He  beat  his  opponent  in 
two  rounds. 

His  first  really  important  triumph  came  in  his  second  start  for  McClatchey, 
against  one  Billy  Rosser  from  Roseland,  who  had  compiled  an  impressive  list 
of  victories  and  who  was  considered  a  real  "comer."  Betting  was  $40  to  $4 
against  Nelson,  but  the  tough  lad  came  out  of  his  corner,  landed  two  punches, 
a  right  and  a  left,  and  the  fight  was  over,  the  quickest  knockout  in  ring  history 
and  a  record  that  is  reported  to  yet  stand. 

The  McClatchey-Nelson  association  was  interrupted  when  the  former 
bought  a  horse,  Patroon,  and  went  to  New  Orleans  to  watch  it  perform.  Nelson 
was  left  under  the  management  of  Ted  Murphy,  who  gave  McClatchey  the 
"double  cross"  and  signed  Nelson  to  an  "iron-bound  contract." 

However,  the  friendship  of  Nelson  and  McClatchey  survived  and  the 
Harvey  saloon-keeper  spent  a  full  month  with  his  former  protege  when  Nelson 
trained  for  one  of  his  biggest  fights. 

The  Bat  had  captured  national  attention  when,  after  fighting  a  draw  with 
the  then  lightweight  champion,  Tommy  Neary,  he  came  back  just  10  days 
later  to  score  a  knockout  over  the  champion  in  six  rounds  at  Milwaukee, 

After  a  brilliant  career,  during  which  boxing  writers  were  wont  to  write 
their  headlines  before  the  fight  even  started,  Nelson  met  his  Waterloo  in  1909 
in  the  person  of  Joe  Gans,  a  lightning-fast  Negro,  who  battered  Nelson  in  42 
rounds  but  eventually  won  the  decision  on  a  foul. 

Although  Bat  came  back  to  whip  Gans  in  seven  rounds,  the  sun  was 
setting  on  his  career.  It  was  to  be  brought  to  a  conclusion  when  he  was  badly 
beaten  by  Samuel  Wolgast  in  the  same  year. 

For  Bill  McClatchey,  handling  Battling  Nelson  was  the  highlight  of  a  long 
life.  Always  he  treasured  a  cabinet  photo  of  his  boy,  "resplendent  in  the 
handkerchief  pants  in  crouching  fighting  pose  and  the  belt  of  a  titleholder." 

McClatchey  picked  up  extra  money  by  selling  photos  of  his  favorite  at 
$5.00  apiece. 


People  came  to  Harvey  and  stayed.  Included  were  merchants,  industrialists, 
men  of  the  world  of  medicine,  working  men  seeking  employment.  It  was  the 
combined  qualities  of  those  people,  representing  a  wide  range  of  interests,  that 
formed  the  firm  foundation  upon  which  the  Harvey  of  the  1960's  stands. 

Some  helped  who  will  never  receive  deserved  credit,  but  records  are  com- 
plete enough  to  provide  backgrounds  of  many  who  played  prominent  roles  in 
the  city's  development. 


Born  at  Maple,  Toronto,  Canada,  on  November  3,  1858,  and  lived  there 
through  his  early  years.  Won  his  degree  as  Doctor  of  Medicine  from  the  Uni- 
versity of  Toronto  in  1888  and  after  four  years  of  additional  study  and  re- 
search in  Scotland,  he  established  himself  as  not  only  Harvey's  first  doctor,  but 
one  who  won  acclaim  throughout  his  long  life  as  one  of  the  real  stalwart  citizens 
with  an  interest  that  extended  far  beyond  that  of  his  profession. 


Married  on  January  18,  1910,  to  Lydia  King,  daughter  of  the  Theodore 
Kings  of  Harvey,  he  became  the  city's  most  highly  respected  man  of  medicine. 
He  served  as  physician  for  most  of  the  city's  early  industrial  plants,  for  the 
Illinois  Central  railroad  and,  upon  the  founding  of  Ingalls  Memorial  Hospital, 
he  served  as  chief  of  staff. 

Dr.  Noble  enjoyed  a  wide  range  of  interests,  each  of  which  contributed 
richly  to  his  adopted  community.  He  served  as  a  member  of  the  board  of  direc- 
tors of  the  Bank  of  Harvey.  He  was  a  member  of  the  board  of  education  of 
Thornton  Township  high  school  for  20  years,  a  portion  of  the  period  as  presi- 
dent. He  is  credited  with  having  been  instrumental  in  the  founding  of  the 

After  more  than  three  and  a  half  decades  of  dedicated  public  service,  Dr. 
Noble  died  on  September  12,  1927,  biographed  as  "one  of  the  most  able  and 
unselfish  men  that  Harvey  has  ever  known." 

But  Dr.  Noble's  fine  contributions  still  live  in  the  person  of  his  only  son, 
Thomas,  who  is  widely  regarded  as  one  of  the  area's  most  accomplished 
physician-surgeons.  He  practices  from  the  same  office  as  did  his  father,  at  168 
East    155th  Street. 


A  typical  pioneer  who  had  virtually  "lived  a  lifetime"  before  he  con- 
quered the  desire  to  roam,  R.  C.  Riordan  came  to  Harvey  in  1891,  erected  a 
building  and  conducted  a  profitable  hardware  business  for  many  years. 

Prior  to  his  arrival  here  Mr.  Riordan  was  one  of  the  historically  important 
"49'ers"  who  journeyed  to  California  in  search  of  gold.  His  biographers  record 
that  in  the  West  he  "engaged  in  mining  and  the  hotel  business  for  five  years." 

He  was  elected  mayor  when  Harvey's  status  was  changed  from  a  village  to 
a  city  in  1894.  He  served  also  as  president  of  the  city's  board  of  education. 

"He  is  one  of  the.most  genial  men  in  the  city,  though  rough  going,  upright, 
successful,  an  accomplished  extemporaneous  speaker  and  a  deeply  devout 
Episcopalean,"  his  biographers  declared. 


A  native  of  Italy  where  he  was  born  on  July  7,  1870,  Frank  Piazza  came 
to  Harvey  in  1897  and  became  one  of  the  city's  most  successful  businessmen. 

A  graduate  of  the  University  of  Palermo  he  was  employed  as  a  legal  secre- 
tary in  his  native  Italy  before  coming  to  the  United  States  in  1890. 

Because  of  a  language  barrier  it  was  impossible  for  him  to  continue  his 
secretarial  career  here  and  he  entered  the  fruit  and  grocery  business.  A  green- 
house he  constructed  at  148th  Street  and  Ashland  Avenue  stood  for  many 

During  the  early  years  of  his  merchant  career  he  covered  the  community 
residential  areas  carrying  a  basket  from  which  he  sold  fresh  fruit  and  vegetables. 
His  enterprises  and  fine  business  acumen  resulted  in  the  purchase  of  a  horse  and 
wagon  from  which  he  later  sold  his  merchandise. 

Mr.  Piazza  built  up  a  huge  wholesale  business  and  at  one  period  was 
recognized  as  the  largest  wholesaler  of  fruits  and  vegetables  on  the  south  side 
of  Chicago.  His  success  led  to  his  associating  with  the  South  Water  Street 
Merchandising  Association. 

Mr.  and  Mrs.  Piazza  (Catherine)  were  the  parents  of  five  children  and  one 
son,  James,  is  still  in  the  fruit  and  grocery  business  in  the  community. 


One  of  his  contributions  to  the  business  area  was  the  construction  of  the 
Piazza  building  on  Broadway,  later  sold  to  the  city.  The  building  now  houses  the 
Harvey  Police  department. 

Mr.  Piazza  died  on  May  3,  1938. 


Matthew  Stobbs,  Sr.,  and  his  wife  Dena  arrived  in  Harvey  from  South 
Dakota  in  1893,  bringing  with  them  a  family  of  eight  children,  Frank,  Matthew, 
Jr.,  William,  John,  Ellen,  Etta,  Emma  and  Thomas. 

The  family  attained  considerable  community  prominence.  Frank  served  as 
the  first  attorney  for  the  city,  Matthew  entered  the  real  estate  business  and  later 
operated  a  cigar  store.  He  also  became  the  Harvey  mayor,  succeeding  George 
H.  Gibson. 

Thomas  was  married  to  Maude  Green,  a  daughter  of  the  James  N.  Greens 
who  came  to  Harvey  in  1891  from  Michigan.  Prior  to  his  marriage  he  was  en- 
rolled in  law  school  by  his  father  and  subsequently  he  became  one  of  the  most 
capable  of  Harvey  lawyers.  He  founded  the  firm  of  Stobbs,  Yates  and  Wiseman. 

Thomas  had  two  children,  Leona,  who  was  married  to  the  late  John  Yates, 
also  an  attorney,  and  Robert,  now  a  California  resident. 

A.  J.  SWETT 

Born  in  Ogle  County,  Illinois  became,  at  an  early  age,  a  telegrapher  for  the 
Chicago,  Burlington  and  Quincy  railroad.  Promoted  to  train  dispatcher  in  Chi- 
cago, his  health  failed  and  in  1890  he  came  to  Harvey  as  an  agent  for  the 
Illinois  Central  railroad  and  the  American  Express  Company. 

In  1892  he  was  placed  in  charge  of  the  local  interests  for  the  Chicago 
Terminal  Transfer  Railroad  and,  it  was  recorded,  "it  was  because  of  his  efforts 
that  his  road  became  a  formidable  competitor  of  the  regular  trunk  lines." 

Mr.  Swett  became  active  politically  and  served  as  alderman  of  the  town's 
Third  Ward  for  three  terms,  six  years,  retiring  undefeated. 


Mr.  Stevens  probably  left  a  more  permanent  mark  in  Harvey  than  any 
single  individual  —  he  was  an  expert  in  building  stone  and  much  of  the  stone 
that  he  produced  is  still  visible  in  the  buildings  of  yesteryear  that  remain. 

Arriving  in  Harvey  in  1893,  he  was  heralded  as  "the  inventor  of  the  first 
perfect  manufactured  stone,  a  stone  so  perfect  that  Uriah  Cummings,  an 
authority  on  cement,  said  "it  is  in  fact,  an  improvement  on  most  natural  stones, 
not  only  in  appearance  but  in  strength  and  uniformity  in  texture." 

His  was  a  lifetime  of  experiments  in  the  manufacture  of  stone  which  had 
questionable  success,  being  made  of  cement  and  chemical  solutions.  High  costs 
of  manufacture  had  led  most  manufacturers  to  abandon  the  business. 

Mr.  Stevens,  however,  remained  doggedly  at  his  research  and  experiments, 
and  although  he  followed  accepted  methods  until  1899,  he  could  sense  success 
only  by  new  techniques.  These  resulted  in  complete  triumph,  led  to  his  winning 
patents  in  22  countries  and  to  a  virtual  monopoly  because  of  the  absence  of 
conflicting  patents. 


Born  in  Mexico,  N.  Y.  on  August  14,  1858,  Dr.  McRome  Morse  graduated 


from  the  University  of  Michigan  Medical  School  in  1883  when  a  fellow  class 
member  was  the  celebrated  Dr.  Charles  Mayo,  founder  of  the  famed  Mayo 
clinic  in  Rochester,  Minnesota. 

Coming  with  his  parents  to  Harvey  in  1891,  he  was  married  here  to  Ala 
Brown  and  the  family  spent  their  entire  married  life  here. 

Twenty  years  of  the  total  52  years  he  was  in  active  practice,  he  served  as 
Harvey's  health  officer  and  for  23  years  he  was  the  medical  examiner  of  one 
of  the  nation's  largest  insurance  companies.  The  family  home  from  which  Dr. 
Morse  conducted  his  medical  practice  through  his  long  stay  here,  still  stands  at 
15412  Center  Avenue. 

Dr.  Morse  died  in  that  home  on  Sunday,  March  11,  1935.  A  son,  Dayton, 
a  registered  pharmacist  is,  significantly,  employed  by  the  J.  W.  Oliver  store,  the 
first  pharmacy  in  Harvey. 


Mr.  and  Mrs.  Joseph  C.  Black  migrated  to  Harvey  from  Grove  City. 
Pennsylvania  with  their  four  children,  Eva  L.,  Frances  E.,  Thomas  and  Clint, 
in  1891.  Another  son,  Horace,  remained  in  Grove  City. 

Mr.  Black,  a  contractor  and  builder,  erected  a  large  home  at  151st  Street  and 
Center  Avenue  which  was  later  moved  to  its  present  location  at  15233  Center 

The  Blacks  were  among  the  families  which  founded  the  First  Congregational 
Church  in    1892. 


Mr.  and  Mrs.  John  Jacob  Madory  migrated  to  Harvey  from  Kenton.  Ohio 
in  1892,  bringing  with  them  three  sons,  Fred,  Louis  and  Carl;  and  two  daugh- 
ters. Maude  and  Phoebe.  Mr.  Madory  was  a  carpenter  and  well-driller. 

Delia  Pelletier,  wife  of  Louis,  came  to  Harvey  with  her  parents.  Joseph  and 
Mary,  in  1897.  and  Mabel  Burt,  who  became  the  wife  of  Carl  came  here  with 
her  parents,  George  and  Sarah,  in  1895  from  Chicago. 

A  son  of  the  Carl  Madorys,  George,  is  a  dentist  in  Harvey  and  another 
son,  Carl,  Jr.,  was  killed  in  Germany  during  World  War  II. 

Maude  Madory  became  Mrs.  Jordan  and  Phoebe  became  Mrs.  Moorehouse. 


Mr.  Wilder  B.  Thompson,  a  Virginian  by  birth,  grew  up  on  a  farm  and 
attended  school  in  Mt.  Morris,  111.  Moving  east  to  Philadelphia,  he  engaged  in 
the  crockery  business.  After  three  years,  he  married,  returned  to  Illinois  and  in 
1892  settled  in  Harvey. 

Thereafter,  he  was  to  become  one  of  Harvey's  leading  businessmen,  and  it 
is  reported,  one  of  its  wealthiest. 

Displaying  undivided  confidence  in  his  adopted  community.  Wilder  Thomp- 
son is  reported  to  have  '"invested  every  dollar  he  had  in  Harvey  business 


Natives  of  Owensboro,  Kentucky,  the  Lostetter  family  moved  to  Harvey  in 
1892,  to  be  joined  later  by  a  niece,  Lida  Norris,  of  Rising  Sun,  Indiana,  who 


married  Clint  Black  in  1898.  In  Kentucky  Mr.  Black  was  a  member  of  the 
State  Legislature. 

Mr.  Lostetter  owned  and  operated  a  furniture  store  on  154th  Street,  now 
the  site  of  the  J.  C.  Penney  Company. 

The  family's  first  home  was  on  Loomis  Avenue  just  south  of  154th  Street. 


Elihu  Hall  Bartlit,  his  wife  Jennie,  and  their  three  children,  Nan,  Richard 
and  Virginia,  came  to  Harvey  in  1893  from  the  community  of  Jay,  New  York. 

Mr.  Bartlit  had  been  employed  as  a  general  clerk  in  a  dry  goods  store  in  his 
home  community  and  founded  such  a  store  immediately  upon  his  arrival  here. 
The  family  remained  in  business  until  Mr.  Bartlit's  health  failed. 

Fred  Bartlit,  another  son,  was  born  in  Harvey,  is  an  attorney,  and  still 
makes  his  home  in  this  city,  as  do  Richard  and  Nan,  who  reside  in  the  old 
family  home  on  Center  Avenue. 

Virginia  was  married  to  the  late  Fred  Craver.  Their  daughter,  also  named 
Virginia,  is  married  to  Harold  N.  Savage  and  is  a  resident  of  Chicago. 


Thomas  D.  Hobson  was  born  on  May  7,  1858  and  with  his  wife  Minnie  and 
their  two  children,  Edith  and  Norman,  came  to  Harvey  in  March,  1891. 

A  contractor,  he  built  many  of  the  city's  early  buildings,  most  of  which  are 
still  standing  and  serving  as  landmarks.  Shortly  after  his  arrival  he  built  the 
French  Block  which  has  played  such  a  prominent  part  in  Harvey  history. 

He  was  the  contractor  for  some  22  buildings  on  154th  Street,  as  well  as 
for  many  of  the  city's  educational  institutions.  The  original  Thornton  Town- 
ship high  school  building,  and  several  later  additions,  were  among  them.  He 
also  was  the  builder  of  five  Harvey  grade  schools,  five  of  its  churches  and  many 
of  the  industrial  plants. 

His  business  activities  were  not  confined  to  the  local  area,  however,  and  he 
was  the  builder  of  135  school  buildings  throughout  Illinois. 

An  avid  prohibitionist,  he  was  twice  defeated  for  the  office  of  mayor  in 
Harvey  —  first  by  Joshua  Mathews  and  again  by  Edward  M.  Adams. 

He  was  once  the  city  engineer  and  he  served  several  terms  on  the  Thornton 
Township  High  School  Board  of  Education. 

Mr.  Hobson  was  a  charter  and  life  member  of  the  Harvey  Elks  Lodge  and 
both  he  and  Mrs.  Hobson  were  active  in  the  Masonic  Lodge,  his  wife  having 
been  elected  twice  as  Worthy  Matron  of  the  Eastern  Star. 

Thomas  Hobson  died  in  Harvey  on  February  12,  1928. 

Their  son,  Norman,  is  presently  engaged  in  the  building  construction 


An  attorney  born  in  Greenville,  Illinois  on  October  15,  1886,  Frank  E. 
Foster  became  a  well-known  political  figure  after  his  arrival  in  Harvey,  which 
is  believed  to  have  been  about  1919. 

A  graduate  of  Kent  School  of  Law,  he  served  as  Harvey  city  attorney  from 
1927  to  1931.  His  political  interest  widened  and  as  a  member  of  the  Republican 
party  he  became  active  first  on  a  township,  then  on  a  statewide  basis.  He  was 
elected  to  the  Illinois  legislature  as  a  state  representative  in  the  late  1930's  and 
served  five  consecutive  terms. 


He  retired  from  active  practice  in  January,  1949,  and  went  to  New  Smyrna 
Beach,  Florida,  where  he  engaged  in  stock  farming,  one  of  the  first  Floridians 
to  pursue  this  vocation  which  has  since  become  one  of  that  state's  most  im- 
portant industries. 

Fire  destroyed  the  ranch  property  and,  selling  what  was  left,  he  moved  to 
Orlando,  Florida,  where  he  died  before  plans  to  begin  a  real  estate  and  loan 
business  materialized. 

Before  leaving  Harvey  he  was  an  active  members  of  the  local  American 
Legion  post  which  he  served  as  a  commander.  He  was  also  affiliated  with  the 
Chicago  and  Illinois  Bar  Associations,  the  Elks  Lodge  and  the  Federated 

Mr.  Foster  died  in  Orlando  in  1951. 


Born  in  Pennsylvania,  W.  L.  A.  Weidemann  was  taken  by  his  parents  as  an 
infant  to  Harrisburg,  Illinois  where  he  finished  grade  school,  matriculating 
later  at  Indiana  State  Normal  College.  He  completed  his  education  by  taking 
a  business  course  at  Terre  Haute  Commercial  College. 

Upon  his  arrival  in  Harvey  in  1894  he  opened  a  book  and  stationery  store. 
Later  he  erected  the  building  at  180  East  154th  Street  where  he  expanded  the 
business  to  include  sporting  goods,  ice  cream  and  confections.  Included  also 
were  a  rental  library  and  a  laundry  agency. 

Mr.  Weidemann  had  the  reputation  of  being  one  of  the  city's  most  public- 
spirited  residents  and  he  was  one  of  the  founders  and  charter  members  of  the 
Harvey  Civic  club.  He  also  served  as  the  first  president  of  the  Whittier  School 
Parent-Teacher  Association  in  1914. 

Mr.  Weidemann  died  on  July  5,  1915. 


Born  in  Hillsdale,  Michigan  on  January  26,  1865,  Orlando  Jeremiah  Bowen 
came  to  Harvey  in  1892  and  over  the  course  of  many  years  until  his  death  in 
1958  participated  actively  in  the  development  of  the  city. 

A  contractor,  he  played  a  major  role  in  the  construction  of  many  buildings 
in  Harvey  prior  to  the  opening  of  the  Columbian  Exposition  in  1893.  One  of 
these  was  a  hotel  on  the  site  now  occupied  by  the  Perfection  Gear  Company. 

A  huge  structure  with  several  hundred  rooms,  the  hotel  burned  to  the 
ground  before  it  had  registered  its  first  guest. 

During  the  Exposition,  Mr.  Bowen  became  a  fair  guide  and  often  in  later 
life  he  donned  his  official  uniform  to  attend  an  annual  reunion  staged  by  his 
fellow  guides. 

When  North  Harvey  became  a  governmental  unit  within  itself,  Mr.  Bowen 
served  on  the  first  board  of  trustees. 

Later  he  served  as  a  guard  at  the  Cook  County  jail  where  one  of  his  duties 
was  talking  with  prisoners  condemned  to  the  gallows.  Subsequently,  he  operated 
a  real  estate  and  insurance  business. 

Referred  to  affectionately  as  "the  last  of  the  first  generation  Harveyites" 
late  in  life,  Mr.  Bowen  was  the  father  of  four  daughters,  Mrs.  Elsie  Lehman, 
Mrs.  Alma  McCormick,  Miss  Nellie  Bowen  and  Mrs.  Jean  Coutchie. 



James  A.  Bates,  who  was  to  play  a  prominent  role  in  Harvey  affairs,  was 
born  June  12,  1861  in  Tazewell  County,  Illinois.  As  a  small  child  he  accom- 
panied his  parents  to  Dodge  City,  Kansas  in  a  covered  wagon. 

In  September,  1890  he  came  to  Harvey  and  that  same  year  was  married  in 
Hopedale,  Illinois  to  Lucy  Marion  Blayney  and  the  couple  moved  into  a  home 
Mr.  Bates  built  at  15128  Turlington  Avenue. 

They  became  the  parents  of  four  children,  two  of  them  dying  in  infancy. 
Two  daughters,  Ruby  Bates  and  Mary  Kelley,  are  still  Harvey  residents. 

An  extremely  rugged  character,  Mr.  Bates  was  closely  associated  with 
many  facets  of  local  life  during  the  early  days.  He  was  a  carpenter  and  builder 
and  worked  on  many  of  the  early  buildings  —  residential,  business  and  in- 
dustrial. He  also  worked  on  structures  erected  for  the  Columbian  Exposition. 
During  the  fair  he  worked  as  a  watchman  at  the  Pennsylvania  State  building 
and  upon  its  conclusion  he  worked  with  crews  which  razed  the  buildings. 

When  Clark  Ranger  was  the  city's  mayor  he  appointed  Mr.  Bates  the  chief 
of  police,  the  first  in  the  city,  and  his  name  is  one  of  those  inscribed  in  the 
cornerstone  of  the  city  hall. 

There  are  many  stories  of  the  exploits  of  Mr.  Bates.  During  his  regime  as 
police  chief  he  is  credited  with  having  exposed  and  captured  a  large  ring  of 
counterfeiters  who  specialized  in  making  "silver  dollars"  and  coins  of  smaller 
denomination.  They  were  later  successfully  prosecuted  and  then  imprisoned. 

On  another  occasion  he  was  the  objective  of  a  hoodlum's  bullet  which 
passed  through  his  chief's  hat.  He  was  the  recipient  of  a  special  commendation 
by   the   Illinois   Central   Railroad   for   having   taken   into   custody   a   gang   of 


thieves  who  raided  and  burglarized  the  railroad's  box  cars  of  huge  amounts  of 
copper  and  brass  over  a  long  period  of  time. 

Mr.  Bates'  fame  and  ability  became  widely  known  and  once  he  was 
presented  with  a  jewel-studded  gold  star  by  merchants  of  the  Roseland-Blue 
Island  area  for  having  captured  a  thief  who  had  preyed  on  their  stores.  It  is 
legend  that  when  he  captured  one  of  the  thieves,  the  latter  pulled  the  trigger  of 
his  revolver  five  times  and  Bates  lived  only  bcause  the  gun  failed  to  fire.  The 
Harvey  chief  then  shot  the  thief  in  the  leg. 

It  is  interesting  to  note  that  the  thief  was  administered  to  in  an  emergency 
room  in  the  old  Harvey  Land  Association  building  by  Mrs.  Bates  and  Dr. 
Thomas  Noble.  It  was  Mrs.  Bates  who  learned  from  the  thief  where  he  had 
hidden  the  loot  from  his  robberies  and  it  was  to  her  that  he  confessed  many  of 
his  crimes.  He  was  found  guilty  and  served  a  term  in  Joli-et  penitentiary. 

On  another  occasion  Chief  Bates  is  credited  with  having  prevented  the 
'lynching"  of  a  man  accused  of  having  raped  an  elderly  Harvey  woman.  To 
prevent  mob  action,  Chief  Bates  spirited  the  prisoner  out  of  the  local  jail  and 
took  him  to  Blue  Island.  The  man  was  later  convicted  of  the  crime  and  sent  to 
Joliet  prison. 

Mr.  Bates  served  in  many  other  capacities,  these  including:  superintendent 
of  mechanics  for  Cook  County  (1909-1911);  Cook  County  Constable  (1908- 
1912);  Harvey  Police  Magistrate  (1909-1919);  City  Commissioner  (1927- 

In  later  years  he  was  a  maintenance  man  at  Thornton  Township  High 

Other  activities  of  historical  interest  in  which  he  participated  included  the 
ownership  of  the  first  automobile  sales  agency  in  the  community,  which  he 
operated  from  1912  to  1932;  last  charter  member  of  the  Harvey  Masonic 
Lodge  to  die  (he  was  a  32nd  Degree  Mason). 

Mr.  Bates  died  here  on  February  15,  1951. 


A  native  of  Indiana,  Dr.  G.  A.  Stevenson,  was  a  graduate  of  the  high 
school  in  Rising  Sun.  where  he  was  born  on  April  15,  1866.  He  won  his  degree 
in  dental  surgery  at  Northwestern  University  in  Evanston,  Illinois  from 
whence  he  came  directly  to  Harvey  in  1891  to  become  the  young  community's 
first  dentist. 

The  years  to  pass  stamped  Dr.  Stevenson  not  only  as  a  professional  man  of 
medicine,  but  as  one  of  the  town's  most  able  financiers,  one  of  its  leaders  in 
the  field  of  education  and  a  man  who  was  to  play  a  key  role  in  the  upgrading  of 
his  community. 

Prior  to  winning  his  dental  degree  at  Northwestern  Dr.  Stevenson  gradu- 
ated from  Wabash  University  in  Indiana.  He  also  took  a  teacher's  course  at 
Lebanon,  Ohio,  Normal  college  and  followed  the  teaching  profession  for  an 
unknown  number  of  years. 

It  was  natural  that  Dr.  Stevenson  was  to  serve  on  the  board  of  education 
of  what  was  later  to  become  Grade  School  District  #152  and  his  efforts  were 
crowned  when  he  was  elected  to  the  presidency  of  that  board  in  1901. 

He  is  reported  by  biographers  to  have  put  the  schools  on  a  "sound  financial 
basis,"  which  probably  led  to  his  being  elected  as  the  Thornton  Township  school 
treasurer  in  1902,  a  post  which  he  held  for  36  years,  after  his  resignation  from 
the  board  of  education.  As  treasurer  he  handled  about  $150,000  annually  and 
although  that  was  regarded  as  an  astronomical  sum  in  terms  of  the  times,  this 


same  educational  system  now  expends  in  excess  of  $11,592,000  each  year. 

He  became  identified  with  the  Bank  of  Harvey  in  1922  and  when  he  was 
named  to  the  presidency  of  the  institution  he  gave  up  his  dental  practice. 

Other  positions  of  importance  filled  by  Dr.  Stevenson  were  the  presidencies 
of  the  Harvey  Chamber  of  Commerce,  of  the  Harvey  Real  Estate  Board  and  of 
the  Harvey  Finance  and  Thrift  Company. 

He  died  of  a  heart  attack  in  Harvey  on  January  4,  1938. 


Edward  Vance  arrived  in  Harvey  in  the  fall  of  1892  and  established  the 
Wausau  Lumber  and  Coal  Company  in  Harvey.  His  wife,  Margaret  and 
daughter,  Ruth,  arrived  the  following  June  and  the  family  home  was  established 
at  157  East  155th  Street,  where  a  son,  George,  was  born  in  July,  1896. 

Mr.  Vance,  a  deeply  religious  man,  was  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Presby- 
terian church  on  Center  Avenue,  served  on  its  board  of  trustees  for  a  number 
of  years,  as  well  as  superintendent  of  the  Sunday  school.  He  was  also  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Harvey  Union  Club. 

In  1907  he  disposed  of  his  lumber  company  and  bought  the  Riordan  Hard- 
ware Store,  moving  it  from  a  Columbia  Avenue  location  to  177  East  154th 

Mrs.  Vance  died  in  March  1911  and  Mr.  Vance  in  September  1935. 


William  H.  Day,  having  been  hired  by  a  wholesale  plumbing  concern  in 
Chicago  to  install  sewers  and  water  mains  in  Harvey,  arrived  here  in  1890  with 
his  wife  and  three  sons,  Stephen,  William  G.  and  Harold. 

Establishing  their  residence  on  Turlington  Avenue  between  154th  and 
155th  Streets,  the  senior  Day  and  Stephen  opened  a  plumbing  shop  on  the 
west  side  of  Columbia  Avenue  between  154th  and  155th  Streets. 

Almost  immediately  they  contracted  to  build  a  three  story  business  structure 
(the  Day  block)  on  154th  Street  east  of  Columbia  Avenue  where  the  South 
Suburban  Safeway  Lines  depot  now  stands.  The  Days  used  the  west  side  of  the 
first  floor  for  their  plumbing  shop.  Another  portion  of  the  structure  housed  the 
mortuary  of  William  E.  Kerr  and  the  second  floor  was  divided  into  apartments. 
The  third  floor  was  a  spacious  meeting  hall,  used  by  the  Odd  Fellows  and 
Rebekah  lodges  —  the  latter  lodge  having  been  named  in  honor  of  Mr.  Day. 
It  remains  so  named  even  today. 

After  installing  much  of  the  plumbing  in  the  structures  being  built  in  antici- 
pation of  the  Columbian  Exposition  in  Chicago,  Mr.  Day  died  during  the 
exposition  in  1893.  His  wife  did  not  succumb  until  1917. 


Born  in  Burns,  Wisconsin,  Charles  S.  Armington  migrated  to  Vermillion, 
South  Dakota,  where  he  is  said  to  have  taught  in  the  "first  small  schoolhouse" 
in  the  state. 

He  moved  later  to  Milwaukee,  Wisconsin,  where  he  learned  the  plumbing 
trade  and  then,  in  1899,  he  came  to  Harvey  where  he  established  a  plumbing 
business  that  continues  to  flourish  under  the  ownership  of  his  son,  Paul.  His 
first  place  of  business  was  on  Center  Avenue  near  154th  Street,  his  next  at  the 
northwest  corner  of  the  same  intersection.  Later  he  purchased  and  moved  the 
business  to  its  present  location  at  15339  Center  Avenue. 


After  42  years  as  a  Harvey  businessman  he  died  at  Ingalls  Memorial  hos- 
pital following  an  operation  in  November,   1941. 

Another  son,  Henry,  is  a  resident  of  San  Diego,  California. 


A  pioneer  resident  of  Harvey  was  John  D.  McLarty  who  came  from  Michi- 
gan in  1893  to  attend  the  Columbian  Exposition  and  remained  here  for  66 
years  until  his  death  in  May  1959  when  he  was  91  years  old.  Lucy  Gardiner 
also  came  to  the  Exposition  and  was  working  at  Mrs.  Millison's  boarding 
house  when  she  met  John  McLarty.  They  were  married  in  1898,  and  became 
the  parents  of  six  children,  four  of  whom  are  still  living.  They  are  Alfred  of 
Urbana,  Illinois;  Helen  of  Harvey;  Edith  McLarty  Halverson  of  Glenview,  Illi- 
nois; and  John  of  East  Lansing,  Michigan. 

Mrs.  McLarty  died  in  1915  and  "Dad",  as  he  was  affectionately  called, 
saw  that  his  family  had  college  educations  although  he  worked  many  days  and 
nights  at  the  Buda  Company  to  make  it  possible.  McLarty's  corner  store  at 
Myrtle  Avenue  and  154th  Street  will  be  remembered  by  many  older  citizens  as 
the  place  they  bought  ice  cream  and  penny  candy  when  they  were  children. 
Philosophy  and  good  advice  were  offered  free  of  charge. 

Mr.  McLarty  had  a  life  long  interest  in  civic  affairs.  As  a  young  man  he 
served  as  an  alderman  (1907-1909),  member  of  the  Board  of  Education  of 
District  147  and  later  as  a  member  of  the  Calumet  Union  Drainage  District 
board  for  many  years. 

His  real  contribution  to  Harvey  was  not  as  an  official  but  simply  as  a  good 
citizen,  who  was  always  willing  to  work  on  committees  or  in  political  campaigns, 
or  promoting  the  drive  to  get  a  high  school  for  Harvey.  He  worked  diligently  on 
bond  issues  to  improve  the  schools,  was  active  as  a  member  of  the  P.T.A.  of 
the  Whittier  school,  the  Odd  Fellows  and  the  First  Methodist  Church. 


Born  in  Chesterfield,  Ohio,  Clark  W.  Ranger  became  a  resident  of  the 
State  of  Michigan  where  he  taught  school  for  several  years  before  coming  to 
Harvey  in  1891. 

In  Harvey  he  became  prominent  in  the  building  field  and  a  partner  of 
Thomas  Hobson.  The  firm  built  many  of  the  community's  finer  structures,  in- 
cluding Thornton  Township  High  School.  It  also  served  as  general  contractor 
for  schools  in  Homewood  and  Chicago  Heights  and  many  of  the  area's  most 
attractive  residences. 

Active  civically,  Mr.  Ranger  served  two  terms  as  Harvey's  mayor,  from 
1897  to  1899,  and  again  from  1903  to  1904. 


Born  October  16,  1876  in  Metamora,  Illinois,  James  B.  Ellis  came  to 
Harvey  with  his  parents  in  1890.  Upon  reaching  adulthood,  he  became  widely 
known  throughout  the  south  suburban  area.  An  accomplished  musician,  he 
played  the  cornet  with  some  outstanding  orchestras. 

Entering  the  political  field  he  served  for  24  years  as  clerk  for  Thornton 
Township,  a  career  that  was  interrupted  by  his  death  on  March  25,  1933.  A 
veteran  of  the  Spanish-American  War,  he  served  for  a  period  in  Cuba. 

He  was  elected  as  a  delegate  to  the  Republican  National  Convention  in 
Chicago  in  1932. 



The  family  of  George  and  Ellen  Monckton,  which  included  four  daughters, 
Anna,  Ellen,  Mary  and  Jennie,  arrived  in  Harvey  in  1890  from  Grinnell,  Iowa. 

Mr.  Monckton  went  to  work  first  for  the  Craver  Steel  Company  and  later 
for  the  Austin  Company.  Their  residence  was  in  the  "north  flats"  on  Columbia 
Avenue  (now  Broadway). 

The  Monckton  family  played  an  extremely  active  role  in  the  life  of  the 
community.  Mr.  Monckton  was  elected  to  public  office  in  the  community  more 
times  than  any  other  individual  in  history. 

Named  an  alderman  for  the  first  time  on  May  1,  1898,  he  was  re-elected  in 
1899,  1900,  1901,  1902,  1903,  1904,  1907,  1908,  1911  and  1913.  Thus  he 
served  1 1  terms  in  public  office. 

The  family  also  played  an  active  part  in  the  religious  life  of  the  community 
and  they  contributed  much  of  the  effort  that  resulted  in  the  founding  of  the 
Ascension  parish  in  Harvey. 


A  leading  furniture  dealer  of  Harvey's  early  days  and  extending  into  the 
1920's  was  A.  Wait  Werner.  A  Virginian  by  birth  he  left  that  state  at  the  age 
of  five  and  his  background  has  been  lost  in  the  passing  of  time.  However,  he 
established  himself  in  the  furniture  business  in  Harvey  in  1896,  coming  here 
from  Chicago  Heights  where  he  conducted  a  similar  business.  Much  of  the 
furniture  which  graced  the  homes  of  Harvey's  early  residents  was  purchased 
from  Mr.  Werner. 


An  arrival  in  Harvey  in  1895,  William  L.  Voss,  Sr.  has  been  hailed  by  his 
biographers  as  "one  of  the  city's  outstanding  men." 

As  a  young  man  of  26  he  went  to  work  for  the  Whiting  Foundry  and 
Equipment  Company  upon  his  arrival  here,  and  shortly  thereafter  was  pro- 
moted to  general  foreman  of  the  foundry  and  machine  shop. 

Walter  Haines,  who  had  served  his  apprenticeship  at  the  Whiting  with  Bill 
Voss,  recalls  that  the  latter  "taught  many  of  the  community's  young  men  to 
become  expert  mechanics." 

After  long  years  of  service  with  Whiting  he  joined  the  staff  at  Calumet 
Engineering  Works  which  was  later  to  become  Allied  Steel  Casting  Co. 

But  Bill  Voss  really  came  into  his  own  as  owner  of  a  grocery  store,  a 
business  he  piloted  for  more  than  30  years  during  which  he  is  credited  with 
"never  having  refused  credit  to  anyone,  even  throughout  periods  of  depression." 

Mr.  Voss  did  not  restrict  himself  to  his  business  and  beginning  in  1910 
he  began  a  career  as  one  of  the  leading  government  officials  in  both  Thornton 
township  and  the  City  of  Harvey.  It  was  in  that  year  he  was  elected  township 
assessor.  Four  years  before  he  had  been  elected  as  a  member  of  the  board  of 
education  of  Grade  School  District  152  and  it  was  upon  his  insistence  that  the 
board  purchased  the  plot  of  ground  upon  which  the  Whittier  school  of  today 

On  the  city  level,  Mr.  Voss  became  Commissioner  of  Public  Improvements 
when  Matt  Stobbs  was  elected  Mayor.  His  colleagues  on  the  council  were  J. 
Clyde  Ellis,  George  Mahan  and  Harry  Foltz.  In  1924  Mr.  Stobbs  was  re-elected 
along  with  Mr.  Voss,  Fred  Fowler,  Harry  Foltz  and  Walter  Haines,  who  were 
to  become  widely  known  as  the  "Four  Horsemen." 


History  reveals  that  the  City's  water  was  then  supplied  by  a  public  utility 
compan)  and  that  new  homes  found  it  difficult  to  obtain  water  because  the 
supply  came  from  two  small  wells  at  148th  Street  and  Paulina  Avenue  on  the 
site  now  occupied  by  the  city's  water  reservoir  and  pumping  station. 

Under  the  succeeding  administration  of  George  H.  Gibson  relief  of  the 
small  supply  was  negotiated,  but  it  required  the  assistance  of  the  Hon.  Fred- 
erick R.  DeYoung,  who  introduced  into  the  Illinois  Legislature  a  bill  which 
would  permit  the  City  of  Chicago  to  supply  water  to  communities  outside  the 
jurisdiction  of  the  Chicago  Sanitary  District. 

In  the  wake  of  this  development,  Bill  Voss  proposed  to  the  council  that  the 
city  purchase  the  water  works  from  a  public  utility  company.  After  long  dis- 
cussion and  many  public  meetings,  the  purchase  was  consummated  and  paid 
for  by  special  assessment.  Mains  were  extended  to  all  areas  of  the  community 
and  the  basis  for  the  fine  water  system  of  today  was  formed. 

Bill  Voss  was  a  charter  member  of  the  Harvey  Elks  Lodge  1242  and  as 
exalted  ruler  serving  with  Trustees  Elmer  Flewelling  and  Edward  Adams,  the 
present  site  of  the  Elks  home  was  purchased. 

No  longer  a  member  of  the  city  council,  Mr.  Voss  nevertheless  continued 
to  work  for  the  government  serving  as  city  treasurer  for  two  terms,  1927-1935, 
under  the  administration  of  Frank  W.  Bruggemann.  Later  he  served  on  the 
Cook  County  Zoning  Board  and  his  public  life  neared  its  close  when  he  was 
named  by  the  Thornton  Township  board  of  education  to  serve  as  inspector 
when  the  new  Thornton  High  gymnasium  was  erected  in  1950. 

Mr.  Voss  spent  his  declining  years  at  the  home  of  his  sister,  Mrs.  William 
Woodward  in  Latonia,  Ohio  and  he  died  in  that  city  on  March  24,  1960. 


Another  of  the  city's  pioneers  whose  name  was  closely  associated  with  the 
business  life  of  the  community  throughout  the  years  was  James  A.  Bastar,  who 
arrived  here  on  September  9,  1901  and  immediately  opened  a  jewelry  store 
several  doors  east  of  what  is  known  as  the  Security  building,  now  occupied  by 
the  Harvey  Federal  Savings  and  Loan  Association. 

Four  years  later  Mr.  Bastar  moved  his  shop  to  the  building  at  the  northeast 
corner  of  154th  Street  and  Center  Avenue,  now  occupied  by  Breeden's  Gift 

In  1911  the  shop  was  moved  to  171  East  154th  Street,  where  the  successful 
business  is  still  being  carried  on  by  Mr.  Bastar's  descendants. 

During  Mr.  Bastar's  later  life  active  management  of  the  business  was  under- 
taken by  a  son,  Edward,  and  a  son-in-law,  George  Tesar,  the  latter  now  being 
the  active  head  of  the  business  in  conjunction  with  Miss  Alice  Bastar,  daughter 
of  the  founder,  John  Bastar,  the  son  of  Edward,  and  George  Tesar,  Jr. 

In  his  memoirs  Mr.  Bastar  recalls  the  inconveniences  of  the  day,  most  dis- 
turbing being  the  lack  of  water  supply. 

"There  was  no  water  line  to  our  home  at  157th  Street  and  Myrtle  Avenue 
so  it  was  necessary  for  us  to  carry  water  from  Vine  Avenue." 

Mr.  Bastar  records  the  "big  flood"  which  engulfed  the  town  in  the  Spring 
of  1902.  "The  street  was  knee  high  in  dirty  liquid  and  one  of  the  Lau  boys  was 
running  a  ferry  boat  across  154th  Street.  There  was  no  business  that  day." 

"Rents  in  those  days  were  low,"  Mr.  Bastar  said,  "and  I  paid  $7.50  per 
month  for  my  first  store.  The  Stevenson  Building  (southwest  corner  of  154th 
Street  and  Center  Avenue)  was  up  for  rent  for  $15  per  month." 



Another  of  the  second  (actually  the  third)  generation  retail  stores  in  the 
Harvey  of  today  is  the  Eagle  Department  Store  located  at  181  East  154th 

The  store  was  founded  on  November  1,  1900  by  William  B.  Soenksen  who 
came  to  Harvey  from  Chicago  after  an  unusually  eventful  life. 

Born  in  Flensburg,  Germany  on  August  22,  1861,  he  came  to  the  United 
States  at  the  age  of  21  after  having  served  in  the  German  Army.  It  was  in  his 
native  country  that  he  learned  the  dry  goods  business  which  he  and  his  descend- 
ants were  to  follow  for  more  than  60  years. 

An  apprenticeship  in  Germany  was  followed  by  two  years  as  a  clerk  in  a 
Chicago  store,  after  which  he  toured  the  Western  part  of  the  country  as  a 
representative  for  a  wholesale  house.  Eventually,  he  opened  a  department 
store  with  a  partner,  later  establishing  his  own  business,  before  his  final  move 
to  Harvey  where  his  store  was  acclaimed  as  "the  community's  largest  mercan- 
tile establishment." 

Records  of  those  days  reveal  that  "Mr.  Soenksen  is  evidently  a  self-made 
man  and  he  has  proven  beyond  doubt  that  a  large  department  store  pays  in 
Harvey,  close  as  it  is  to  the  center  of  things.  He  has  probably  done  more  than 
any  other  man  to  induce  farmers  of  the  area  to  make  Harvey  their  trading 

Active  management  of  the  Eagle  Store  eventually  was  assumed  by  his  son 
Paul,  who  preserved  its  status  as  one  of  the  city's  most  successful  retail  enter- 
prises until  today.  Although  Paul  still  remains  active  in  the  operation  actual 
management  is  vested  now  in  his  son,  William. 


Many  men  are  conceded  to  have  made  tremendous  impact  on  the  City  of 
Harvey  during  its  formative  years,  but  none  is  credited  with  a  more  important 
contribution  to  the  city's  perpetuity  than  William  H.  Miller,  founder  of  its  first 
financial  institution. 

Moving  west  from  his  native  New  York  State,  William  Miller  settled  in  the 
city  of  Aurora  in  1842,  a  youthful  member  of  a  family  of  hardy  pioneers.  This 
youth  was  destined  to  become  "one  of  the  leading  men  of  affairs  in  Harvey." 

After  five  months  here  he  founded  the  Bank  of  Harvey,  destined  to  close 
during  the  tremendous  depression  of  the  early  1930's,  not  because  of  the  in- 
solvency but  because  of  the  impossibility  of  converting  assets  into  cash.  De- 
positors are  reported  to  have  later  received  "100  cents  on  the  dollar." 

Among  other  civic  activities  Mr.  Miller  served  as  City  Treasurer,  also  as 
president  of  the  Thornton  Township  Board  of  Education  (1898-1912).  As  a 
school  board  member  he  is  credited  with  "having  done  more  than  any  other 
single  man  for  the  successful  financing  of  the  high  school  and  elevating  it  to 
its  present  status  as  one  of  Cook  County's  finest." 

"I  am  proud,"  Mr.  Miller  told  a  writer  of  the  early  days,  "of  the  business  I 
have  built  and  what  little  I  have  done  to  establish  the  high  school.  I  intend  to 
remain  in  Harvey  the  rest  of  my  life." 


Reportedly  one  of  the  better  known  residents  in  the  city's  early  days  was 
S.  B.  McEldowney,  an  industrialist,  who  was  born  in  the  area  which  is  now 
Chicago  Heights,  where  his  family  settled  in  1832. 


Owner  of  a  common  school  education,  his  first  occupation  was  that  of  travel- 
ing representative  for  a  dry  goods  company. 

In  1893  he  and  a  brother  bought  the  Harvey  Boiler  Works  at  157th  and 
Halsted  from  its  founder,  Jonathan  Matthews.  Shortly  thereafter  a  reorganiza- 
tion paved  the  way  for  expansion  of  the  company's  activities  and  it  was  re- 
named the  Great  Northern  Construction  Company.  Manufacture  of  boilers 
was  discontinued  and  the  firm  devoted  its  activity  to  the  construction  of  steel 
girders,  grain  elevators  and  kindred  products. 


William  Nicholson  became  a  resident  of  Harvey  in  1893  after  spending  his 
early  years  in  New  York  state.  Educated  at  Troy,  N.  Y.  University,  he  spent  15 
years  in  the  hardware  business  in  Elwood,  Illinois.  As  a  Harveyite  he  pur- 
chased an  established  flour  and  feed  business  here,  built  his  own  home  and 
became  a  leading  member  of  the  First  Methodist  Episcopal  Church. 


An  arrival  here  in  1892  S.  A.  Carpenter  is  recorded  as  having  "invested  all 
his  savings  in  a  shop  where  he  followed  the  professions  of  optician  and  jeweler. 
He  studied  at  Dunham  Medical  School  and  North  Illinois  Optical  College, 
specializing  in  eye,  ear  and  nose  work. 


"Mature  judgment  and  conscientiousness"  are  reported  as  the  qualities 
possessed  by  Thomas  McFarlane,  an  arrival  in  Harvey  from  Iowa  City,  Iowa, 
on  New  Year's  Day  in  1891. 

A  native  of  the  State  of  Rhode  Island,  he  was  of  Scottish  ancestry  which 
probably  provided  the  background  for  his  activity  in  the  cattle  business. 

In  Iowa  he  engaged  in  farming  and  the  breeding  of  Angus  cattle.  Seeing 
the  tremendous  possibilities  of  the  breed,  his  studies  qualified  him  as  an 
authority  and  he  became  national  secretary  of  the  American  Aberdeen-Angus 
Breeders'  Association.  It  was  in  this  role  that  he  came  to  Harvey  which  became 
the  national  headquarters  of  the  association. 

Biographers  of  the  time  report  him  as  the  editor  of  11  out  of  12  herd 
books  published  by  that  association. 

Obviously  well-off  financially,  Mr.  Farlane  erected  one  of  the  city's  finest 
residences  of  the  era  at  15440  Turlington  Avenue,  now  owned  and  occupied 
by  Sam  R.  Ruble.  It  became  an  item  of  interest  and  "all  comers  were  invited 
to  view  its  elegance." 

An  intelligent,  learned  man,  his  counsel  was  sought  on  many  community 
problems  and  in  1892  he  was  elected  president  of  the  young  village.  Although 
he  served  for  only  one  year,  it  was  replete  with  action  and  accomplishment. 
Plans  were  formulated  which  culminated  in  the  installation  of  "an  outlet  sewer 
of  brick  to  replace  a  decayed  wooden  one."  His  "energetic  examination  of  the 
city  water  system  resulted  in  many  improvements  both  in  the  quality  of  the 
water  and  the  manner  of  distributing  it." 

Although  Mr.  McFarlane  had  endeared  himself  to  his  townsmen  because 
of  his  intelligence  and  ability  he  "persistently  declined  election  to  any  public 
office  after  his  term  as  president.  Yet  he  remained  active  as  an  advisor  and  was 
consulted  in  every  proposition  that  gave  the  community  breadth  and  perm- 



At  the  age  of  eight,  Mr.  H.  H.  Mynard  moved  to  Harvey  with  his  family 
from  Crete,  Illinois  in  1891.  A  farmer  in  his  youth  he  later  turned  to  the  real 
estate  business  and  he  became  one  of  young  Harvey's  most  successful  dealers. 

His  small  frame  office  at  the  southwest  corner  of  154th  Street  and  Turling- 
ton Avenue  stood  for  many  years  and  in  its  early  years  was  referred  to  as 
"handsomely  fitted." 

V.  C.  LENOX 

Coming  to  Harvey  in  1892,  V.  C.  Lenox  purchased  an  interest  in  the  coal 
firm  of  Hoag  and  Webber,  assuming  the  Hoag  share  of  the  enterprise.  A  native 
of  Ohio,  he  earned  the  rank  of  sergeant  major  for  bravery  in  action  during  the 
Civil  War. 

He  became  the  sole  owner  of  the  coal  business  and  changed  its  name  to 
Harvey  Coal  Co. 


Born  in  the  electrical  business,  his  father  having  been  chief  engineer  for 
the  Edison  Company  in  New  Orleans,  Louisiana,  William  J.  McCorkindale 
came  to  Harvey  in  1892  as  a  cashier  for  the  Harvey  Steel  Car  Company  at 
157th  and  Halsted  Streets. 

After  a  short  time  with  the  steel  car  firm  he  was  transferred  to  the  office 
of  the  Calumet  Lighting  Co.  by  Turlington  W.  Harvey. 

In  addition  to  his  business  activity,  he  became  a  public  figure  as  a  trustee 
of  the  Thornton  Township  school  system,  as  the  Thornton  Township  clerk  for 
two  terms,  and  as  a  leading  member  of  St.  Clement's  Episcopal  Church. 


A  native  of  Wisconsin,  Mr.  A.  D.  Heindel  conducted  a  grocery  business  in 
Warren,  Illinois  until  his  arrival  in  Harvey  in  the  Spring  of  1893. 

He  pursued  the  same  vocation  here,  establishing  a  store,  first  at  15412 
Columbia  Avenue  (Broadway),  later  at  the  southeast  corner  of  153rd  Street 
and  Center  Avenue.  His  will  be  remembered  by  many  of  the  middle-aged  of 
the  present  era  as  the  shop  where  students  at  the  old  Cary  school,  one-half 
block  west,  purchased  their  daily  allotment  of  "penny"  candy.  The  building  he 
occupied  still  stands,  remodeled  and  divided  into  apartments. 

Historians  hailed  him  as  an  "exemplification  of  what  a  man  can  do  who 
thoroughly  understands  his  business."  He  was  a  member  of  several  "secret" 
societies  and  served  as  treasurer  of  the  Harvey  Businessmen's  Club  for  two 


Born  in  Germany,  William  Buehler  came  to  the  United  States  at  an  early 
age,  learned  the  bakery  business  as  an  apprentice  in  New  York  City,  and  en- 
gaged in  that  business  there  until  his  arrival  in  Harvey  in   1894. 

Opening  a  bakery  business  in  the  Ott  Building  at  15406  Columbia  Ave.  he 
later  bought  a  building  on  154th  Street  near  Loomis  Avenue  which  he  occupied 
for  many  years.  His  wife,  too,  as  well  as  his  sons,  William  and  Joseph,  were 
active  in  the  business  until  the  mid-1920's. 



Born  in  Vermont,  Fred  A.  Brale)  arrived  in  Harvey  in  1X92,  promptly 
entering  the  real  estate  business,  later  he  formed  a  partnership  with  (ieorge 
Bosworth,  in  the  grocery  business,  in  the  building  just  east  of  the  city  hall.  For 
seven  years  the  business  flourished  and  during  the  period  Mr.  Braley  found 
time  to  serve  his  townsmen  as  a  member  of  the  Thornton  Township  High 
Sehool  Board  o\  Education  for  a  term  and  as  Mayor  of  the  community  in 
1898-1890.  He  was  the  owner  of  extensive  real  estate,  recorded  as  "improved" 
at  that  time. 

A  brother,  Frank,  bought  out  Fred's  interest  in  the  grocery  firm  and  be- 
came a  partner  of  Mr.  Bosworth.  Frank  was  a  later  arrival  in  the  community 
than  was  his  brother,  coming  here  in  1896  after  a  period  of  residence  in  Iowa. 


Harvey  appeared,  in  its  early  days  to  be  well  supplied  with  butchers  and  A. 
Wait  was  a  part  of  that  group  which  plied  the  trade  here. 


A  native  of  Ayrshire,  Scotland,  James  Pettigrew,  an  iron  moulder,  came  to 
Harvey  in  1890  from  the  State  of  Iowa  to  where  he  had  migrated  from  his 
native  land  at  the  age  of  27.  It  was  in  the  state  of  the  tall  corn  that  he  served 
his  apprenticeship  and  where  he  remained  for  nine  years. 

An  astute  businessman  as  well  as  an  accomplished  tradesman,  Mr.  Petti- 
grew founded  the  Enterprise  Foundry,  located  at  157th  and  Halsted  Streets. 
From  a  modest  start  that  saw  his  monthly  gross  earnings  about  $400  his  busi- 
ness grew  and  the  biographers  of  the  early  1900's  record  that  in  just  a  few 
years  that  gross  had  increased  to  more  than  $8,000  monthly. 

"Mr.  Pettigrew's  career  in  Harvey  shows  that  'opportunity'  did  not  cease 
to  exist  somewhere  in  the  last  century,  but  in  spite  of  the  trusts,  in  spite  of 
sharp  competition,  a  hustling,  energetic,  tactful  man  who  knows  his  business 
thoroughly  is  bound  to  make  it  win,"  a  sage  of  yesteryear  recalls  in  describing 
Mr.  Pettigrew. 

In  addition  to  his  business  activities,  Mr.  Pettigrew  was  active  in  the  political 
field  and  served  three  terms  in  the  early  1900's  as  assessor  of  Thornton  Town- 
ship and  for  three  years  as  president  of  the  District  152  Board  of  Education. 


George  F.  Bosworth  was  an  arrival  in  Harvey  in  1891  and  entered  the 
grocery  business  with  Mr.  Braley,  whose  biography  precedes.  He  had  previ- 
ously engaged  in  the  same  business  in  Seneca  and  Ottawa,  Illinois.  Upon  his 
arrival  here  he  worked  as  a  grocery  clerk,  soon  after  forming  the  Braley-Bos- 
worth   partnership. 

Born  in  New  York  State  he  came  to  Harvey  in  March,  1891  and  became  a 
dealer  in  meats.  A  civic  minded  individual  he  served  as  an  alderman  of  the 
second  ward  in  1896-97  and  was  president  of  the  Harvey  Businessmen's  Club 
for  two  years. 


A  native  of  Arthur.  Ontario,  Canada.  Thomas  J.  Phillips  came  to  Harvey 


in  1907  with  his  wife  and  sons,  L.  Arthur  and  Howard  B.  The  family  lived  for 
many  years  at  15419  Loomis  Avenue. 

Active  in  the  Presbyterian  church,  he  served  as  an  elder  and,  as  one  of  a 
committee  of  two,  he  helped  solidify  the  plans  for  combining  the  Presbyterian 
and  the  First  Congregational  to  form  what  is  now  the  Federated  church. 

Mr.  Phillips,  who  was  employed  by  the  Austin  Manufacturing  Company  un- 
til his  retirement,  died  in  March  1930  and  Mrs.  Phillips  in  May  1948. 

One  son,  L.  Arthur,  was  a  pharmacist  by  profession  and  worked  for 
Harvey's  first  drug  store,  Oliver's  for  many  years,  later  taking  charge  of  the 
pharmacy  at  Ingalls  Memorial  hospital,  after  spending  a  period  between  in  the 
insurance  business.  He  died  in  1955. 

The  other  son,  Howard,  was  widely  acclaimed  throughout  the  Chicago 
metropolitan  area  as  a  vocalist  and  choir  director,  charges  he  assumed  at  a 
number  of  churches,  including  the  Presbyterian,  and  later  the  Federated.  He 
still  resides  in  the  family's  Loomis  Avenue  residence. 

Mrs.  Phillips  is  the  former  Ruth  Vance. 


Dr.  William  E.  McVey,  one  of  the  most  widely  known  and  respected  per- 
sonalities in  the  educational  and  political  areas  of  Harvey,  was  born  on  De- 
cember 13,  1885  in  Clinton  County,  Ohio.  He  came  to  Harvey  to  assume  the 
superintendency  of  Thornton  Township  High  School  in  1920,  a  position  he 
held  until  1947  when  he  resigned  to  accept  a  position  as  personnel  manager 
for  a  cosmetics  firm. 

Education  being  his  major  interest  in  life  he  returned  to  that  profession  to 
become  a  professor  at  Roosevelt  College  in  Chicago,  transferring  later  to 
DePaul  University  as  a  professor  of  education. 

During  Mr.  McVey's  tenure  at  Thornton  high,  which  began  after  he  had 
served  first  in  the  Philippine  Islands  and  then  as  a  member  of  the  faculty  at 
Ohio  State  University  in  Columbus,  he  became  recognized  as  one  of  the  nation's 
leading  educators.  He  was  awarded  his  bachelor's  degree  by  Ohio  university  in 
1916  when  he  was  valedictorian  of  his  class.  The  University  of  Chicago 
awarded  his  master's  and  doctor's  degrees. 

During  his  27  years  at  Thornton  the  institution  grew  from  400  students 
to  4,000.  In  1927  he  was  instrumental  in  founding  Thornton  Junior  College. 
From  a  student  body  of  60  for  the  first  year,  it  had  grown  to  550  at  the  time 
of  his  death  on  August  10,  1958. 

In  1950,  Dr.  McVey  once  more  left  the  educational  field  and  because  close 
friends  sensed  in  him  the  qualities  of  leadership  and  knew  his  wide  popularity, 
he  was  prevailed  upon  to  enter  the  political  field  in  which  he  was  to  become 
eminently  successful. 

He  was  first  presented  to  the  -electorate  as  Republican  candidate  for  town- 
ship assessor  in  1950.  Elected,  he  served  only  for  a  year  when  he  was  pre- 
vailed upon  once  again  by  friends  to  seek  higher  office.  Resigning  his  township 
office,  he  entered  the  campaign  for  United  States  Representative  in  1951  and  in 
November  of  that  year  he  defeated  the  Democratic  incumbent,  James  V.  Buck- 
ley for  Congressman  from  the  Fourth  Congressional  District. 

Applying  the  same  principles  to  politics  that  he  had  to  the  educational  pro- 
fession, Dr.  McVey  was  re-elected  to  the  United  States  Congress  for  three 
successive  terms,  only  death  cutting  short  his  career. 

As  he  entered  his  first  national  campaign,  he  was  quoted  as  saying,  "My 
goal  as  an  educator  was  to  help  the  youth  of  America  achieve  for  themselves 


a  fuller,  freer  and  a  richer  life.  This  will  be  my  goal  as  your  Congressman." 

Those  who  pressed  for  him  to  seek  the  office  and  who  successfully  guided 
his  campaigns  recognized  Dr.  McVey  as  a  man  with  unlimited  respect  for 
those  he  represented. 

"He  was  a  man  of  vision  and  sound  thinking  and  believes  our  country's 
first  obligation  is  to  its  youth,"  they  said  of  him. 

As  a  Congressman  he  fought  deficit  spending  by  the  Federal  government. 
He  expressed  concern  over  what  he  termed  the  "drift  toward  socialism,"  and 
he  pledged  himself  to  espouse  the  cause  of  a  sound  foreign  policy  in  the  world- 
wide complications  that  became  characteristic  of  the  era.  He  spoke  often  on 
the  protection  of  individual  liberty,  the  right  to  work  and  save  and  to  achieve 
security  through  individual  effort.  With  full  knowledge  of  the  ravages  of  three 
great  wars  that  transpired  during  his  lifetime,  he  dedicated  himself  to  helping 
achieve  a  lasting  peace. 

Although  he  did  not  seek  them,  honors  that  came  to  him  were  innumerable. 
His  active  part  in  civic  life  came  as  a  natural  development  of  his  love  for 
people.  He  was  active  in  the  Harvey  Memorial  YMCA  from  its  formation  and 
served  as  chairman  of  its  Executive  Committee  in  1944.  He  became  chairman 
of  its  Board  of  Directors  in  1949  and  upon  the  expiration  of  his  term  he  was 
voted  a  lifetime  honorary  membership. 

Dr.  McVey  served  as  a  president  of  the  Harvey  Rotary  International  Club 
and  was  voted  an  honorary  life  membership.  He  was  a  member  of  and 
an  active  worker  for  the  American  Red  Cross,  the  Community  Chest,  the 
Veterans  Information  center  and  the  Harvey  Association  of  Commerce  and 
Industry.  In  addition,  he  served  on  the  board  of  directors  of  each  of  those 
groups  for  varying  lengths  of  time. 

In  attendance  at  his  funeral  services  in  Harvey  on  April  13  were  many  of 
his  colleagues  in  the  educational  field,  and  those  in  the  United  States  Con- 
gress as  well  as  hundreds  of  his  former  students,  many  of  whom  he  saw  rise  to 
responsible  positions  in  the  business,  educational  and  political  fields. 


Born  in  LaSalle  County,  Illinois  in  August,  1857,  James  L.  Broderick,  Sr., 
spent  his  early  years  as  a  farmer.  Later  he  toured  the  Middlewest  by  wagon, 
selling  groceries  and  dry  goods  for  a  mail  order  house. 

In  May,  1898  he  brought  his  wife  and  family  of  nine  children  to  Harvey 
and  was  employed  by  the  Harvey  Transit  Company.  He  was  to  become,  how- 
ever, a  "jack-of-all-trades"  and  successively  he  became  a  worker  for  the  Whit- 
ing Corporation,  a  self-employed  tavern  keeper,  an  employee  of  George  M. 
Clarke  Company. 

Intensely  interested  in  politics  he  became  a  Clerk  for  Judge  Henry  Horner 
in  Probate  Court  and  remained  in  that  position  when  Judge  Horner  became 
Governor  of  Illinois.  His  last  employment  in  the  political  field  was  as  a  clerk 
in  the  Cook  County  Clerk's  office.  He  is  reported  to  have  been  one  of  the 
original  corps  of  Harvey  Democrats  along  with  Jerry  O'Rourke.  Henry  Ansorg 
and  Paul  Dratz. 

Mr.  Broderick  retired  at  74  in  1931  and  died  at  82  in  June,  1939. 

A  son,  James  Jr.,  and  a  grandson,  James  III,  are  members  of  the  Broderick 
and  Kane  Real  Estate  firm  along  with  Robert  Kane  and  have  been  the  agents 
for  many  recent  and  large  real  estate  transactions. 



Born  on  September  3,  1846  in  Sewosa,  Michigan,  Lucien  M.  Davidson  lived 
successively  in  Coldwater,  Michigan,  Michigan  City,  Indiana,  and  Chicago, 
Illinois  before  arriving  in  Harvey  in  1891,  where  he  made  his  home  until  his 
death  at  84  on  June  10,  1931. 

Mr.  Davidson  did  much  of  the  early  work  of  laying  out  and  grading  the 
first  streets,  as  well  as  planting  the  first  trees  and  acquitting  other  duties  for 
Turlington  W.  Harvey.  Later,  he  owned  and  operated  a  livery  stable  on  153rd 
Street  between  Columbia  Avenue  and  Main  Street. 


Charles  Davidson,  son  of  Lucien,  was  born  in  Hillside,  Michigan,  on 
September  12,  1867.  With  his  father,  he  worked  on  the  city's  early  streets  and 
later  became  associated  with  his  father  in  the  livery  business.  He  also  served  as 
a  city  fireman  from  1897  through  1901  and  as  a  city  policeman  for  an  unknown 

A  daughter,  Ruth  (Mrs.  E.  F.  Delano)  was  the  second  baby  born  in  Harvey. 


Julian  Vincent,  the  city's  first  blacksmith,  was  born  in  Canada  in  1860  and 
when  eight  years  old  came  to  the  United  States  with  his  parents. 

Coming  to  Harvey  in  1892,  Mr.  Vincent  established  a  blacksmith  and  wagon 
business  on  the  north  side  of  153rd  Street  between  Columbia  Avenue  and  Main 
Street  and  he  continued  in  this  business  until  just  prior  to  his  death  on  Decem- 
ber 20,  1928. 

Early  documents  record  that  Mr.  Vincent  was  a  master  craftsman  belong- 
ing to  the  "old  order  of  blacksmiths",  a  tradesman  who  could  build  a  carriage 
from  the  fashioning  of  the  wheels  themselves,  through  the  construction  of  the 
body,  upholstering  and  striping,  including  the  iron  work,  all  hand-crafted. 

A  son,  Raymond,  still  a  resident  of  Harvey  and  recently  retired  from  Bliss 
and  Laughlin,  Inc.,  recalls  that  the  Davidson  livery  across  the  street  from  his 
father's  blacksmith  shop,  was  often  a  scene  of  great  excitement. 

"The  Schultz  Baking  Company,"  he  says,  "kept  their  wagon  and  a  team  of 
mules  at  Davidson's  and  each  month  when  the  mules  were  shoed,  it  formed 
one  of  the  city's  spectaculars,  because  of  the  mean  temperament  possessed  by 
the  animals.  The  resultant  show  always  commanded  a  big  audience." 

As  a  youth,  Ray  recalls,  he  remembers  some  of  the  weekly  spectators  as 
Sandy  Brown,  Peter  Beck,  Dan  Bradley,  William  E.  Kerr,  Jim  Bates,  Lonnie 
Kraay,  Jim  Pettigrew,  Henry  Becker  and  Charles  Applegate. 

"All,"  he  says,  "sat  on  old  nail  kegs,  waiting  for  my  dad  and  brother,  the 
late  Fred  who  served  for  many  years  as  a  city  policeman,  to  put  the  shoes  on 
the  mules." 


Few  in  the  history  of  Harvey  have  served  their  community  with  greater 
distinction  or  left  a  more  lasting  impression  on  the  community  than  George  H. 

A  native  of  Peoria,  Illinois,  he  came  to  Harvey  in  1901  and  from  that  point 
until  his  death  on  July  22,  1955  he  made  innumerable  contributions  to  his 
adopted  community.  A  public  servant  of  scrupulous  honesty,  a  man  of  vision 


dedicated  to  the  city's  industrial,  educational  and  moral  improvement,  he  was 
sagacious,  friendly  and  a   talented  businessman. 

*i  found  Harvey  a  cordial,  friendly  place,  a  good  city  in  which  to  live;  en- 
joying the  advantages  of  proximity  to  Chicago,  our  large  neighbor  to  the  north, 
but  yet  with  the  coziness  and  friendships  of  a  small  community,"  he  wrote 
when  the  city  observed  its  50th  anniversary  in  1940. 

Upon  his  arrival  here  he  assumed  the  presidency  of  the  E.  A.  Brayn 
Company,  manufacturers  of  tanks  and  structural  equipment. 

Elected  as  mayor  when  the  commissioner  form  of  government  was  adopted 
in  1913,  he  served  until  1919.  His  accomplishments  during  that  tenure  will  be 
found  in  detail  in  the  section  on  government  in  this  history. 

Mr.  Gibson  was  one  of  the  founders  of  the  First  National  Bank  in  Harvey 
in  1937  when  he  was  elected  chairman  of  the  board  of  directors.  He  served 
continuously  as  chairman  until  he  died. 

Elected  to  the  Thornton  Township  High  School  Board  of  Education  in 
1912,  he  was  re-elected  for  13  consecutive  terms  before  his  retirement  in  1951. 
For  the  last  four  years  as  a  member  of  that  board  he  served  as  its  president. 

Records  indicate  that  the  high  school  grew  from  15  members  of  the  faculty 
to  135,  and  the  student  body  from  350  to  more  than  3,000,  during  his  years 
on  the  board. 


Born  at  Kerr's  Corner,  Ohio,  on  December  27,  1860  to  William  and  Sarah, 
William  E.  Kerr  came  to  Harvey  in  1889,  early  documents  revealing  that  he 
was  the  second  man  to  locate  in  the  city. 

As  a  young  man  he  left  Ohio  and  went  to  South  Dakota  where  he  became 
a  buffalo  hunter  supplying  meat  to  the  United  States  Army  for  their  troops  at 
Fort  Pierre. 

He  was  married  at  Pierre,  South  Dakota  to  Addie  E.  Boughton,  brought  his 
bride  of  four  years  to  Harvey  where  he  was  to  play  an  important  role  in  the 
community's  early  civic  life. 

Entering  first  the  coal  and  lumber  business  he  later  became  the  commu- 
nity's first  undertaker,  establishing  a  business  that  continues  to  flourish  and 
is  recognized  as  one  of  the  outstanding  mortuaries  in  the  South  Suburban 
area.  The  firm,  still  conducted  by  William  Kerr's  descendents,  recently  under- 
went a  building  program  that  added  to  the  community  one  of  its  outstanding 
structures  at  26  West  154th  Street. 

Mrs.  Frank  Bruggemann,  daughter  of  Mr.  Kerr,  Verne  V.  Vedder  and 
Norma  Bruggemann,  grandchildren,  still  conduct  the  business,  Harvey's  oldest 
in  the  point  of  continuous  operation,  since  the  death  of  Frank  W.  Bruggemann, 
a  son-in-law,  who  died  when  he  was  serving  as  mayor  in   1942. 

Mr.  Kerr  compiled  an  enviable  record  of  service  to  the  community  prior 
to  his  death  in  1931.  He  was  elected  mayor  in  1905  when  the  office  carried 
a  term  of  only  a  single  year.  In  1906  he  was  an  opponent  of  E.  N.  Flewelling 
for  mayor.  Mr.  Flewelling  won  by  two  votes  and  Mr.  Kerr  contested  the  elec- 
tion. His  protest  ended  eventually  in  the  Illinois  Supreme  Court  which  found 
three  defective  votes  in  a  west  side  precinct.  When  they  were  thrown  out  Mr. 
Kerr  was  the  victor  by  one  vote.  Mr.  Kerr  became  mayor  again  on  an  acting 
basis  in  1908  serving  out  the  year's  term  of  his  predecessor. 

Early  documents  refer  to  Mr.  Kerr  has  "a  born  organizer  and  leader  who 
has  occupied   many   positions  of  honor  and   trust." 

He  served  as  president  of  the  Harvey  drainage  board  from   1899  to   1903, 



Perhaps  no  individual  has  cast  a  greater  influence  over  a  greater  number 
of  years  in  the  affairs  of  the  City  of  Harvey  than  did  Albert  Myron  Lambert, 
Sr.,  who  came  h^re  as  an  ambitious  young  newspaper  man  and  remained  as 
publisher  of  the  Harvey  Tribune  until  his  death  on  April  9,  1936  at  the  age 
of  64. 

Born  in  Iowa  on  February  2,  1862,  Mr.  Lambert  was  to  be  indoctrinated 
as  a  newspaperman  at  an  early  age  because  his  father,  John  Y.  Lambert,  was 
the  publisher  of  the  State  of  Nebraska's  first  newspaper. 

In  the  early  1890's  father  and  son  became  associates  in  publishing  the 
Jacksonville,   Illinois  Star. 

Mr.  Lambert  came  here  to  first  become  an  employee  of  the  old  Tribune- 
Citizen  and  then  its  owner.  He  founded  a  business  that  has  survived  throughout 
the  years  and  has  become,  perhaps,  one  of  the  most  potent  influences  in 
the  city's  development. 

After  his  death  in  1936  his  position  was  assumed  by  his  eldest  son,  A.  M. 
Lambert,  Jr.,  who  is  still  actively  engaged  in  the  newspaper's  affairs  although 
the  actual  management  of  the  firm  is  now  vested  in  his  son  Charles. 

But  to  understand  the  development  of  the  Harvey  Tribune  under  the  leader- 
ship of  Mr.  Lambert  there  is  certain  historically-important  background  mate- 
rial that  should  be  recorded. 

Harvey's  first  newspaper  was  the  "Headlight"  owned  by  Turlington  W. 
Harvey  and  published  as  a  daily  newspaper  by  Frank  Cross.  The  plant  was 
located  between  Park  and  Main  Streets  near  the  Grand  Trunk  railroad  and 
the  paper  was  published  there  until  its  purchase  in  1895  by  Alec  Majors  and 
Frank  Just  who  moved  operations  to  154th  Street  and  changed  the  name  of 
the  publication  to  the  "Harvey  Tribune." 

Another  newspaper,  The  Harvey  Citizen,  was  being  published  by  Levi 
and  Jennie  Beers  who  were  later  joined  by  Lucy  Page  Gaston  who  became 
internationally  known  as  a  reformer.  Together  these  three  fought  bitterly  to 
prevent  the  encroachment  of  saloons  in  this  temperance  community,  and  to 
fight  the  use  of  cigarettes  for  which  Miss  Gaston  coined  the  name  "coffin  nails." 

The  Majors  and  Just  partnership  bought  out  the  Citizen  and  functioned 
during  the  Columbian  Exposition  in  Chicago.  In  1896  Just  sold  his  interest 
to  Earl  Lennox,  who  had  been  employed  by  the  firm  as  a  foreman  in  the 
commercial  printing  department  and  whose  father  operated  a  coal  business  here. 

A.  M.  Lambert,  Sr.,  arrived  in  the  community  with  his  wife,  Dora,  in  1902 
to  become  foreman  of  the  Tribune-Citizen. 

About  two  years  later  Mr.  Lambert  bought  the  publication  and  imme- 
diately dropped  Citizen  from  its  masthead.  It  has  since  been  known  as  the 
Harvey  Tribune. 

For  many  years  Mr.  Lambert  filled  the  dual  role  of  publisher-editor.  He 
was  militant  in  exposing  questionable  motives  of  some  of  his  contemporaries, 
was  a  major  influence  in  all  elections. 

He  was  one  of  the  organizers  of  the  Harvey  Civic  Club,  the  Chamber  of 
Commerce  of  its  day,  and  served  as  its  president  and  secretary. 

The  trying  times  of  the  depression  of  the  early  1930's  found  him  struggling 
both  journalistically  and  physically  to  maintain  the  morale  of  the  panic-stricken 
community.  He  was  one  of  three  trustees  who  administered  the  bank  script 
program,  the  medium  of  exchange  that  substituted  for  currency  during  the 
grave  period.  He  also  served  until  his  death  as  a  member  of  the  Bank  of 
Harvey  Depositors'  Committee. 


Mr.  Lambert  was  one  of  the  founders  of  the  Harvey  Building  and  Loan 
Association  in  1911  and  served  it  in  several  official  capacities. 

During  World  War  I  he  served  as  a  lieutenant  in  the  southern  part  of 
Cook  County  for  the  United  States  Secret  Service  and  was  a  tireless  worker 
in   behalf  of  Liberty   Loan   fund  campaigns. 

Mr.  Lambert  was  an  advocate  of  clean  streams  and  he  fought  for  many 
years  the  plan  which  saw  the  installation  of  Burns'  Ditch  near  Gary,  Indiana. 
As  he  predicted  this  project  transformed  the  Calumet  River,  one  of  Harvey's 
most  precious  assets,  into  the  sluggish,  polluted  stream  that  it  is  today. 

During  the  years  the  Tribune's  facilities  have  moved  periodically  —  from 
15240  Broadway  to  15337  Center  Avenue,  to  143  East  154th  Street,  to  150 
East  154th  Street,  and  finally  to  its  present  location,   15330  Center  Avenue. 

There  have  been  several  comparatively  recent  changes  in  the  Tribune's 
operations,  most  significant  being  that  which  resulted  in  the  newspaper  being 
published  twice  weekly,  on  Tuesdays  and  Thursdays.  In  1961  the  Tuesday 
edition  was  discontinued  in  favor  of  a  Sunday  edition. 


Frederic  R.  De  Young  was  born  on  September  12,  1875  at  359  West 
Fifteenth  Street,  near  Blue  Island  Avenue,  Chicago,  Illinois.  When  he  was  five 
years  old  his  parents  moved  to  Roseland  on  the  south  side  of  Chicago.  A  few 
years  later  they  moved  to  South  Holland. 

In  1887  the  De  Youngs  moved  back  to  the  west  side  of  Chicago.  Judge  De 
Young  then  left  school  and  went  to  work  for  a  jeweler  on  the  west  side  at 
a  salary  of  $2  a  week.  His  employer  entrusted  money  and  valuable  jewelry 
to  his  care,  and  he  often  carried  such  valuables  to  the  loop  by  streetcar.  Later 
he  worked  as  a  water  boy  for  sewer  contractors.  In  1890  his  family  returned 
to  South  Holland,  and  at  that  time,  Judge  De  Young  secured  employment  with 
the  Pullman  Company  as  errand  boy  and  timekeeper  at  a  salary  of  $45  a 
month.  In  1891  he  was  offered  an  increase  of  $15  a  month  if  he  would 
remain  with  Pullman,  but  he  decided  to  continue  his  education  and  entered 
the  Bryant  and  Stratton  Business  College.  In  1892  his  father  sent  him  to  Europe. 

In  1893  he  entered  Valparaiso  University,  graduating  therefrom  in  1895 
with  a  B.S.  degree.  He  next  entered  Northwestern  University  School  of  Law, 
and  graduated  from  that  institution  in  1897  with  an  LL.D.  degree. 

While  attending  Valparaiso  University,  he  met  Miriam  Cornell  of  Boone 
Grove,  Indiana.  In  1901,  on  the  occasion  of  his  twenty-sixth  birthday,  he 
married  her,  and  thereafter  they  resided  at  50  East  155th  Street,  Harvey, 
Illinois  until  1925  when  Judge  De  Young  and  his  family  moved  to  the  Hyde 
Park  area  of  Chicago. 

Judge  De  Young's  parents  were  Mr.  and  Mrs.  Peter  De  Young,  his  father 
having  been  a  Justice  of  the  Peace  of  Thornton  Township  for  a  number  of 
years.  Judge  De  Young  had  three  sisters,  two  of  whom  pre-d-eceased  him.  His 
other  sister.  Kathryn  De  Young,  still  resides  in  South  Holland. 

Judge  and  Mrs.  De  Young  had  two  children,  a  daughter,  Ruth,  formerly 
Women's  Editor  of  the  Chicago  Tribune,  and  at  the  time  of  her  death  in 
1953  the  wife  of  Herbert  V.  Kohler,  now  a  practicing  attorney  in  Chicago, 
and  a  member  of  the  firm  of  Miller,  Gorham,  Wescott  and  Adams. 

Judge  De  Young  was  named  City  Attorney  for  the  City  of  Harvey  in 
1907  and  was  re-named  to  two  additional  terms  ending  that  service  in  1919. 
In  1914  he  was  elected  a  member  of  the  Illinois  General  Assembly  from  the 
Seventh  Senatorial   District  and  re-elected  in    1916.   In    1918   he  was  the  Re- 


publican  nominee  for  the  Judge  of  Probate  Court  of  Cook  County,  being  de- 
feated in  the  election  by  the  incumbent,  Judge  Henry  Horner.  Both  Judge  De 
Young  and  Judge  Horner,  however,  were  later  elevated  to  the  highest  State 
offices  in  the  judicial  and  executive  departments,  respectively. 

In  1921  he  was  appointed  Judge  of  the  Circuit  Court  of  Cook  County  by 
Governor  Frank  O.  Lowden,  to  fill  the  vacancy  caused  by  the  resignation  of 
Judge  John  P.  McGoorty.  In  1922  he  was  elected  a  delegate  to  the  con- 
stitutional convention  from  the  Seventh  Senatorial  District.  In  the  same  year, 
he  was  elected  a  Justice  of  the  Supreme  Court  to  fill  one  of  the  places  created 
by  the  new  constitution.  The  election  was  of  no  effect  because  the  constitution 
failed  of  adoption  by  the  voters.  On  November  6,  1923,  he  was  elected  a  Judge 
of  the  Superior  Court  of  Cook  County  and  served  in  that  capacity  until  his 
election  to  the  Supreme  Court  of  Illinois  on  June  2,  1924. 

On  October  11,  1928,  when  Judge  De  Young  was  Chief  Justice,  his  son, 
Herbert,  was  admitted  to  practice.  It  was  the  first  time  in  the  history  of  the 
Supreme  Court  that  a  son  of  a  sitting  justice  had  been  admitted  to  practice 
when  the  father  was  Chief  Justice. 

In  June  1933  at  the  conclusion  of  his  first  term,  he  was  re-elected  to  the 
Supreme  Court  for  another  nine-year  term,  receiving  the  endorsement  of  both 
major  political  parties. 

While  residing  in  Harvey,  Justice  De  Young  maintained  for  a  number  of 
years  a  law  office  at  his  residence,  in  addition  to  his  loop  law  office.  He  later 
had  an  office  on  certain  evenings  of  the  week,  in  the  First  National  Bank  of 
Harvey,  of  which  he  was  president  for  some  period  of  time,  before  his  judicial 
service.  Since  he  commuted  to  the  Loop,  he  was  well-known  to  many  of  the 
Illinois  Central  conductors  and  trainmen  in  the  days  before  electrification. 
Judge  De  Young  took  an  active  part  in  the  civic  and  community  life  of  Harvey 
during  his  residence. 

He  died  in  Chicago  on  November  16,  1934. 

During  his  tenure  as  city  attorney,  then  throughout  his  term  as  a  member 
of  the  Illinois  House  of  Representatives,  Mr.  De  Young  demonstrated  his 
desire  to  improve  the  community  he  adopted  as  his  home. 

The  extent  of  these  contributions  will  be  found  elsewhere  in  this  history. 


One  of  Harvey's  outstanding  public  servants,  Arthur  E.  Turngren  was 
brought  to  the  community  in  1891  by  his  parents,  Rienhold  and  Louise,  at  the 
age  of  two,  from  the  Englewood  district  in  Chicago  where  they  had  migrated 
from  Sweden  and  where  they  were  married. 

Arthur  went  to  work  for  the  Buda  Company  as  a  steam  hammer  operator 
at  the  age  of  14,  making  $1.25  per  day. 

In  1906  he  entered  the  employ  of  the  Reliable  Stove  Company,  a  division 
of  the  American  Stove  Company,  where  he  arose  to  become  warehouse  super- 
visor and  traffic  manager  until  1945  when  the  company  moved  its  operations 
to  St.  Louis  and  Mr.  Turngren  retired. 

Thereafter  he  operated  his  own  paint  and  appliance  store  in  Harvey  for 
10  years. 

Married  to  the  former  Helen  C.  Hesser  of  Chicago  on  November  11,  1909, 
the  Turngrens  became  the  parents  of  three  sons  and  three  daughters.  One  son, 
Harold,  died  in  1950.  They  have  11  grandchildren  and  six  great-grandchildren. 

Mr.  Turngren  has  maintained  throughout  his  life  an  active  interest  in 
civic   affairs   and   his   townsmen   expressed   confidence   in   his   ability   to   the 


extent  that  they  elected  him  to  public  office  for  24  consecutive  years.  He 
served  eight  years  as  Commissioner  of  Public  Health  and  Safety  before  ascend- 
ing to  the  mayoralty,  an  office  to  which  he  was  re-elected  three  times.  No  other 
person  in  Harvey  history  is  able  to  match  Mr.  Turngren's  length  of  public 

Widely  known  throughout  the  State  of  Illinois,  Mr.  Turngren  was  honored 
by  municipal  authorities  when  he  was  named  president  of  the  Illinois  Municipal 
league,  in  which  almost  every  community  in  the  state  has  membership.  Prior 
to  serving  as  president,  he  was  a  member  of  its  executive  committee  from 
1952   to    1959. 

The  family  residence  at  15627  Vine  Avenue  was  built  by  the  Turngrens 
in   1924. 

Mr.  Turngren's  record  as  mayor  is  recorded  under  the  chapter  of  govern- 
ment in  this  history. 

Editor's  Note:  Mr.  Turngren  died  on  December  3,  just  as  this  history  was 
going  to  press. 


John  Carney,  his  wife  and  their  two  children,  Dorothy  and  Edward,  ar- 
rived in  Harvey  in  1890  and  subsequently  built  two  large  houses  in  West 
Harvey,  one  on  Winchester  Avenue  between  147th  and  148th  Streets  and  the 
other  on  Lincoln  Avenue  between  147th  and  148th  Streets.  Significantly, 
both  houses  are  still  standing  and  occupied. 

Dorothy  Carney  became  the  bride  in  1893  of  Michael  Ryan  who  had 
come  to  Harvey  the  year  before  from  Urbana,  Ohio. 

Mr.  Ryan  was  to  become  one  of  the  area's  most  talented  and  widely 
known  athletes  as  a  semi-professional  and  professional  baseball  player.  Giving 
up  his  career  in  baseball  he  worked  thereafter  for  many  years  for  the  Rock 
Island  Railroad. 

Five  of  the  seven  Ryan  children  survive,  all  of  them  living  in  the  Chicago 
area.  Seven  grandchildren  and  seven  great  grandchildren  represent  the  genera- 
tions which  follow-ed. 

Mr.  Ryan  died  on  May  14,   1941   and  Mrs.  Ryan  on  August  5,   1950. 

On  the  male  side  of  the  Carney  family,  Edward  Carney  and  Miss  Anna 
Trottner,  who  came  to  Harvey  in  1900  with  her  parents  from  St.  Louis,  were 
married.  Mrs.  Carney  and  a  son,  Edward,  are  still  residents  here. 


A  native  of  LaSalle,  111.,  Henry  J.  Stein  arrived  in  Harvey  in  1889,  left 
the  same  year  and  returned  again  as  a  permanent  resident  in  1906. 

Active  civically  throughout  his  long  residency,  Mr.  Stein  has  been  promi- 
nent in  the  affairs  of  the  Ascension  Church  and  of  Garcia  Moreno  Council, 
Knights  of  Columbus.  He  has  also  been  active  in  the  Harvey  Moose  Lodge  and 
the  Ascension  Holy  Name  Society.  Interested  in  politics  he  served  for  40  years 
as  a  Democratic  precinct  captain  in  the  days  when  such  officials  were  elected 
by  the  people. 

Mr.  Stein  has  been  a  most  avid  worker  in  compiling  background  material 
for  this  city  history  and  has  spent  many  hours  in  consulting  with  pioneers 
and  with  officers  of  numerous  civic  organizations.  His  contributions  to  the 
finished  product  have  been  invaluable. 



Perhaps  no  person,  past  or  present,  has  brought  more  widespread  recog- 
nition to  the  City  of  Harvey  than  Louis  Boudreau,  an  outstanding  figure  in  the 
field  of  sports  almost  from  his  days  as  a  boy  at  the  Whittier  grade  school. 

Lou  was  born  in  Harvey  on  July  17,  1917  and  from  the  date  of  his  birth 
was  destined  for  a  lofty  position  in  the  world  of  sports.  His  father  had  attained 
a  wide  reputation  as  a  baseball  player,  part  of  his  playing  career  being  spent 
in  professional  circles.  He  hoped  for  great  things  from  his  son  and  almost 
as  soon  as  Lou  was  able  to  walk  he  was  equipped  with  glove,  bat  and  ball. 

Whenever  possible  Mr.  Boudreau  took  his  boy  to  major  league  baseball 
games  and  as  each  defensive  play  materialized,  the  rights  and  wrongs  of  the 
maneuver  was  explained  by  father  to  son.  Likewise,  he  gave  Lou  a  basic 
knowledge  of  batting  techniques  —  and  this  was  to  stand  him  in  good  stead 
over  one  of  the  most  spectacular  careers  in  baseball  history. 

Strangely,  it  was  not  in  the  game  of  baseball  that  Lou  first  captured  the  at- 
tention of  the  athletic  world — it  was  as  a  basketball  player,  first  in  grade  school, 
then  at  Thornton  Township  high  school  where  he  guided  the  Wildcat  team  to 
an  unprecedented  success,  and  finally  at  the  University  of  Illinois. 

Through  three  straight  seasons  Lou  captained  what  became  known  through- 
out Illinois  as  the  "Flying  Clouds,"  a  group  of  sleight-of-hand  performers 
who  completely  revolutionized  the  high  school  style  of  play  with  their  "fast 
break"  offense.  They  were  conceded  to  be  far  ahead  of  their  time  and  be- 
hind Capt.  Boudreau  compiled  a  record  that  few  had  matched  before  or  have 
since.  They  toured  Illinois  each  of  the  three  years  from  1933  to  1935,  meeting 
the  state's  best,  and  rolling  up  victory  after  victory. 

Their  exploits  and  achievements  are  probably  best  illustrated  by  their 
record  in  state  tournament  competition. 

Their  first  trip  to  Huff  gymnasium  on  the  University  of  Illinois  campus 
ended  in  a  state  championship,  the  first  ever  won  by  Thornton  High.  For  the 
two  succeeding  years  they  played  their  way  through  the  best  in  Illinois,  ending 
up  in  the  final  game.  The  fortunes  of  competition  decreed,  however,  that 
only  one  championship  was  to  be  theirs  —  they  finished  as  runnerup  in  1934 
and  1935,  though  there  were  few  who  would  not  concede  they  were  still  the 
state's  best. 

Lou's  high  school  days  over,  he  enrolled  at  the  University  of  Illinois  where 
he  starred  in  both  basketball  and  baseball  for  three  years.  It  was  at  this  point 
that  he  decided  to  accept  an  offer  to  enter  the  professional  baseball  field  and 
he  left  school  in  his  senior  year  to  sign  a  contract  with  the  Cleveland  Indians. 
It  should  be  mentioned  that  the  basketball  captaincy  he  resigned  was  assumed 
by  his  most  capable  teammate  during  his  Thornton  high  days  —  Tom  Nisbet. 

As  is  the  fate  of  all  "rookies,"  Boudreau  was  sent  to  the  Cleveland  farm 
club  in  Cedar  Rapids,  Iowa  after  he  joined  the  Indians  in  1938.  A  year  later 
found  him  assigned  to  the  club  in  Buffalo,  N.  Y.  In  midseason  the  parent  club 
called  him  up,  ending  a  short  term  as  a  minor  league  player. 

He  was  an  immediate  success  and  remained  in  Cleveland  as  a  player  and 
later  a  player-manager  until   1951. 

Boudreau's  baseball  records  are  legend  and  the  game  has  bestowed  upon 
him  many  honors. 

He  led  the  American  league  hitters  in  1944  and  led  American  league  short- 
stops in  fielding  percentage  for  eight  straight  years.  He  still  holds  the  league 
fielding  record  for  any  shortstop  participating  in  more  than  100  games  a  year 
—  a  mark  of  .9823. 


Boudrcau  participated  in  the  record  for  the  most  double  plays  in  a  season 
at  his  shortstop  position,  134.  He  also  holds  the  record  for  most  years  leading 
in  double  plays,  five  straight. 

He  played  in  seven  all-star  games  and  was  the  all-star  team's  manager 
in  1949,  just  a  year  after  he  had  been  named  as  the  American  League's  most 
valuable  player. 

At  the  age  of  24  he  was  named  the  Cleveland  manager,  the  youngest  the 
team   had   ever  had. 

As  player-manager  for  nine  years,  Boudreau  reached  the  pinnacle  of  his 
fame  in  1948  when  Cleveland  won  the  American  league  championship  after 
a  historic  playoff  game  against  the  Boston  Red  Sox  —  the  only  playoff  in 
American  league  history.  On  the  crest  of  their  playoff  win,  Cleveland  went  on 
to  take  the  world's  championship  by  beating  the  Boston  Braves  four  times 
in  a  six-game  series. 

His  days  at  Cleveland  ended,  Boudreau  joined  the  Boston  Red  Sox  as  a 
player  in  1951  and  the  following  year  was  named  manager,  a  position  he  held 
until  1955  when  he  became  the  first  manager  of  the  Kansas  City  Athletics. 
After  three  years  at  that  post  he  retired  from  active  participation  in  the  game 
and  in  1958  joined  the  staff  of  WGN  radio  station  (Chicago)  as  a  sports- 
caster.  He  is  still  engaged  in  that  capacity. 


William  R.  Brandt  was  born  in  Chicago  on  October  24,  1872  and  came 
to  Harvey   in    1904. 

Involved  in  the  grain  business  during  his  youth,  he  carried  on  the  same 
profession  when  he  purchased  the  Holmes  Feed  Store  on  the  south  side  of 
154th  Street  between  Turlington  and  Lexington  Avenues. 

Subsequently  he  bought  property  across  the  street  and  moved  his  business 
there.  This  property  is  now  the  site  of  the  Brandt  Theatre  which  was  named  in 
his  honor.   * 

Later  he  purchased  the  property  and  conducted  his  grain  business  on  the 
land  presently  occupied  by  the  F.  W.  Woolworth  Company. 

Mr.  Brandt  was  elected  a  member  of  the  First  National  Bank  in  Harvey 
board  of  directors  in  1937,  a  position  he  held  until  his  death  on  September  20, 
1954  at  the  age  of  82.  He  was  also  a  member  of  the  Thornton  Township  High 
School  board  of  education  for  nine  years. 


Many  of  the  city's  pioneers  have  died  through  the  years  but  in  innumerable 
instances  their  names  have  been  carried  through  the  years  by  second  and  third 
generations.  North  Harvey  had  its  share  of  these  early  residents,  and  in  many 
cases  their  descendents  are  still  residing  here.  Perhaps  some  of  these  names 
will   be   recalled: 

Mrs.  Jennie  Burgess  Harry  Wurtman 

Benjamin   Kellogg  William  Coleman 

G.  Evers  Fred  Hock 

D.  W.   Longbrake  M.   Lenke 

Charles  Cornell  Joseph  Haines 

W.   P.  Cadmus  B.   L.  Wooten 

Henry  Hart  William   Rodenburg 

William   Hawkins  Levi  Beers 


A.  F.   Reynolds 
John  De  Graff 
R.  C.  Schreiber 
Charles  Rewald 
Anna  Schroeder 
Frank  Halos 
Theodore  King 
George  Ducett 
Arie  DeRuiter 
C.  J.  Cowan 
James  Hayes 

Likewise  there  were  many  prominent  famil 
in  what  is  commonly  known  as  West  Harvey. 
J.  H.  McKee 
William  Rickhoff 
Louis  Martin 
Frank  Evely 
George  Swanson 
Charles  Reid 
Mathias  Zilligen 
Henry  C.  Austin 
J.  L.  Kitchen 
John  Kraay 
Robert  Livers 
Thomas  Nicholson 
Charles  Frederick 
Charles  Moran 
Judge  Caldwell 
David  Reeser 

Walter  Flewelling 
William  Jewell 
John  H.  Blair 
Orlando  J.  Bowen 
M.  M.  Green 
H.  S.  Bloodgood 
Fulton  L.  Casler 

B.  W.  Onyon 
The  Casebeers 
August  Schneider 
Isaac  N.  Shumard 

ies  who  established  themselves 
They  were: 

The  Pringle  family 

Michael  Brink 

John  Carney 

M.  J.  Ryan 

Louis  Buehlow 

George  Salkeld 

Joseph  Haviland 

S.  P.  Rich 

Joseph  Para 

Robert  Gifford 

George  J.   Messinger 

Charles  Batt 

C.  B.  Schabbel 
Emil  Dathan 
Fred  W.  Drogula 



This  final  page  marks  the  conclusion  of  months  of  painstaking  effort 
during  which  there  have  been  many  discouragements  but  which  have  con- 
tained, nevertheless,  many  interesting  hours.  The  task  has  been  tedious  at 
times,  at  other  times  rewarding. 

With  the  passing  of  years,  memories  are  sometimes  dimmed  and  in  many 
instances,  although  every  effort  was  made  to  obtain  vital  information,  there 
was  no  source  which  could  produce  it. 

There  will  be  those  who  find  important  things  not  contained  in  this  volume 
but  time  and  inadequate  assistance  made  further  pursuit  of  such  information 
both  impossible  and  impractical. 

We  who  worked  so  hard  to  produce  this  document  feel,  however,  that  its 
contents  have  the  necessary  ingredients  of  a  community  history  and  leave  it 
now  up  to  someone  in  the  future  to  record  what  is  not  here  and  add  that 
which  transpires  between  today  and  some  day  in  the  distant  future. 

Many  members  of  the  Historical  Society  committee  named  to  assist  in  its 
production  were  unable  to  do  so  for  one  reason  or  another  and  the  responsi- 
bility fell  on  the  shoulders  of  two  men,  Walter  Haines  and  Henry  Stein.  The 
editor  would  be  remiss,  indeed,  if  the  last  tap  of  his  typewriter  did  not  include 
a  sincere  expression  of  gratitude  for  the  unselfish,  tireless  efforts  of  these 
two  men.  It  can  be  truly  said  that  without  them  this  volume  would  never  have 
passed  the  talking  stage. 

Alec  C.  Kerr 

Note:  This  history  had  gone  to  press  when  the  city's  second  banking  institu- 
tion, the  First  State  Bank  of  Harvey,  opened  to  the  public  on  December  15, 
1962.  The  First  National  takes  this  means  of  welcoming  a  sister  institution  and 
its  officers  and  board  of  directors  extend  a  most  cordial  welcome.  We  regret 
that  time  precludes  a  more  extensive  resume  of  the  First  State's  organizational 





Beuhler,  Wm,  98  E.   154th 
Breyer,  Henry,  169  E.  147th 
Craver,  E.  E.,  179  E.  154th 
Rowe,  H.  J.,   15721  Finch 
Ladies'  Exchange,    15342  Center 

Bank  of  Harvey,  194  E.  154th 

Barbee,  Thos.,  15418  Columbia 
Dawson,  M.  H.,  186  E.  154th 
DeLaMater,  F.,   199  E.   154th 
Dolan,  Peter  B.,   15408  Park 
Houck,  Philip,  117  E.  154th 
Irwin,  Chas.  H.,  207  E.  154th 
Scott.  M.  J.,  Denham  Bldg., 
Page  and  147th 

Hickman,  F.  B.  and  C.  G., 

15328   Main 
Reeder,  J.  C,  15334  Columbia 

Fox,  J.  B.,  16344  Park 
Low,  C.  M.,  203  E.  154th 

Greenwell,  John,  15334  Park  Ct. 
Vincent,  J.,  211  E.  153rd 


American  Aberdeen-Angus  —  Secre- 
tary's Office,  15438  Turlington 

Hobson,  T.  D.,  City  Hall 

Becker,  H.,  200  E.  154th 
DeVoe,  J.  H.,   175  E.   154th 

(shoes  only) 
Ewing  &  Orser,   191   E.   154th 
Eagle  Store,    185-7  E.    154th 
Howland,  F.  G.,  195  E.   154th 
Mayer,  Rosenthal  &  Co.,   154th  and 


Roeder  Bros.,  205  E.  154th  St. 

Cranson,  Ervin,   154th  and  Park 
Fowler,  Fred,   193  E.   154th 
Pierce,  A.  G.,  Park  Ct.  and  154th 

Low,  C.  M.,  203  E.   154th 
O'Shaughnessy,  R.,  15711  Lexington 

Beck,  John,   15201  Columbia 
Harvey  Coal  Co.,  167  E.  154th 
Kelly,  D.  S.,  Park  Ct.  and  154th 
Wausau  Lumber  Co.,  Commercial 
and  154th 

Bell  &  Co.,  15339  Center 
Southwick,  T.  A.  15810  Myrtle 
Piazza,   Frank,    15330  Columbia 

Bereolos  Bros.  &  Co.,   196  E.   154th 
Frazer,  John,  Denham  Bldg., 

147th  and  Page 
Manny,  O.  P.,   147th  and  Page 
Waterfield  &  Waterfield, 

149  E.  154th 
Wiedemann,  W.  L.  A.,  169  E  154th 

Bloodgood,  J.  C,  15418  Myrtle 
Hobson,  T.  D.,  City  Hall 
Simmons,  J.  R.,   15546  Turlington 

Bloodgood  &  Stout,  City  Hall 

Wilson,  F.  A.,   15336  Center 

Braley,  J.  C,   192  E.    154th 
Craver,  A.  S.,    186  E.    154th 
Stevenson,  G.  A.,  168  E.   154th 


The  Eagle,   185-187  E.    154th 

Clark,  C.  W„    15214  Turlington 
Fairchild,  G.  A.,   15703   Loomis 
Goostry,  W.  B.,  15614  Myrtle 
Schoeler,  Chas.,  15910  Lexington 
Stevenson,  Frank,   15517  Center 
Webster,  J.  E.,  15312  Columbia 
Young,  Frank,  14518  Halsted 


Beichner,  Josephine,  211  E.  154th 
Culp,  Mrs.  Mary,  91  E.  154th 
Day,  Mrs.  L.  E.,  15225  Center 
Davis,  Mrs.   Ida, 

15212  Lexington 
King,  Sarah,   147th  and  Page 
Martin,  L.  Pearl,   14926  Paulina 
Snediker,  Addie  B.,  125  E.  155th 
Welch,  Mrs.  Anna  R., 

15337  Turlington 


Healy,  Frances,  201   E.   154th 
Oliver,  J.  W.  &  Co.,  189  E.  154th 


Eagle  Store,    185-7  E.    154th 
Howland,  F.  G.,   195  E.   154th 

Harvey  Water  &  Light  Co., 
15430  Park 

Nicholson,  W.  M.,  128  E.   154th 
Thompson,  W.  B.,   187-9  E.   153rd 

Eagle  Store,  185-7  E.   154th 
Langley,  E.  N.,  15327  Columbia 
Werner,  A.,  15307  Center 

Braley  &  Bosworth,   153  E.   154th 
Craver,  E.  E.,  179  E.  154th 
Crossman,  Wm,   188  E.    157th 
Frank,  Will,  183  E.  154th 
Heindel,  A.  D.,  15412  Columbia 
Holman,  A.  B„   15204  Center 
Husband,  Mrs.  T.  D.,  158  W.  147th 

Kehew,  J.  H.,  15602  Myrtle 
Lyster,  P.  H.,  183  E.  153rd 
Martin,  T.  C,  177  E.  153rd 
Nichols,  F.  H.,  15332  Columbia 
Truax,   Mrs.  Edith  M.,   15700  Park 
VanDreal  G.,  15912  Park 
Ward  &  Rank,  283  E.  147th 
Werner,  Mrs.  D.,  15301  Center 

Adsley,  E.,   181   E.   154th 
Brink,  E.,  14832  Page 
Bullock,  J.  W.,  179  E.  154th  St. 
Flewelling,  E.  N.,   198  E.   154th 
Rack,  Theo.,   599  E.    147 
Schmidt,  Joseph  H.,  74  E.  147th 
Veerhusen,  H.  B.,  155  E.   154th 
Weeks,  R.  H.,   15324  Columbia 

Hilbish,  D.  H.,  15336  Columbia 
Riordan,  H.  C,  15319  Columbia 
West,  C.  H.,  15326  Columbia 

Keith,  B.  W.,  166  E.  154th 

Lane  Ralph,  15426  Park 

Beck,  John,   15201  Columbia 


Carpenter,  S.  A.,  178  E.   154th 

Mills,  J.  S.,   15514  Lexington 
Harvey  Oil  Co.,  15304  Loomis 

Beebe,  A.  E.,  202  E.  154th 
Harvey  Steam  Laundry, 

199  E.  154th 
Park  Avenue  Laundry,  15334  Park 
Van's  Hand  Laundry,   190  E.   154th 

Bloodgood,  J.  C,  Police  Magistrate, 

City  Hall 
De Young,  Frederic,  R.,  151  E.  155th 
Dunning,  A.  B.,   15026  Columbia 


Mouser,  I.  J.,  Justice, 

15338   Columbia 
Scott,  H.   M.,  Justice, 

Park  Ct   near    154th 
Stobbs,  F.  L.,  97  E.   152nd 
Stowe,  Geo.  E.,  211   E.    154th 

Davidson  &  Durst,   212  E.    153rd 

Evving  &  Orser,   191   E.   154th 
Mayer,  Rosenthal  &  Co., 
154th  and  Park 


Andrew,  John,   15337  Center 
Cassell  &  Coddington, 

15340  Columbia 
Wait,  A.,    171    E.    154th 

Carney,   John,    14717   Lincoln 
Dockweiler,  C.    15218  Columbia 
Van  Lanningham,   P.   B., 
15310  Turlington 

Drake,  C.  G.,   15308  Center 
Gilbert,  Nettie,   15803  Lexington 
Hill,  Mrs.  H.  D.,  209  E.   154th 
I  Mathews,  Emma,   190  E.   154th 
[Swett,  Mrs.  J.  A.,  15318  Loomis 

Hutton,  Lizzie,  15726  Turlington 

lEllis,  Joseph,  M.,  15315  Columbia 

\manda  Smith  Orphan  Home  Helper 

147th  and  Desplaines 
Tommercial  Journal, 

15232  Columbia 
jospel  Farmer,    15340  Center 
3raybill,  J.  K.,  14614  Jefferson 
ierald,    15340  Center 
Tribune-Citizen,    15232   Columbia 

^Fevre,  R.  B.,  15711  Carse 
vtosher,  C.  J.,    14908  Page 

Bailey  &  Carter,    15406  Columbia 

Besemer,  A.  A.,    15138  Vine 
Colby,  Fred  Sr.,   15344  Park 
Cranson,  Ervin,  14613  Green 
Ellis,  E.  D.,   14764  Spaulding 
Ellis,  D.  W.,   15419  Lexington 
Myers,   M.  H.,    15845   Loomis 
Nichols,  J.  D.,   15330  Turlington 
Woodward,  Geo.  S.,  15342  Center 

Chenoweth,  Geo.  D.,  182  E.  154th 
Walton,  J.  N.,   167  E.    154th 

Franklin,  W.  A.,    15334  Center 
Keifer,  E.  G.,   125  E.   155th 
Kitchen,  J.   L.,   14808  Page 
Morse,  M.  R.,   15412  Center 
Noble,  T.  A.,   15310  Columbia 
Rose,  Marie  F.,   189  E.   154th 
Stevenson,  B.  T.,   168  E.   154th 

Armington,  C.  S.,   167  E.    154th 
Cassell,   I.,    130  E.    154th 
Chamers  &  Weiser,   188  E.   154th 
Hill,  David,   192  E.    154th 


Chicago,  Cincinnati,  Cleveland  &  St. 
Louis  (Big  Four)  Pass.  Sta.,  Illi- 
nois Central  Station,  Park  Ave. 

Chicago  Electric  Traction  Co.  (street 
electric)  Offices,  88th  and  Vin- 
cennes,   Chicago 

Chicago  Terminal  Transfer  (belt 
freight  line),  Pass.  Sta.,  Columbia, 
North  of  152nd;  freight  depot,  E. 

155th   near  Halsted 

Grand  Trunk  System  —  Pass.  Sta., 
Columbia,  N.  of  152nd;  freight 
depot.  Commercial  near   153rd 

Illinois  Central  —  Pass.  Sta.,  Park, 
S.  of  154th;  freight  depot,  Com- 
mercial and  154th 


Applegate,  C,  194  E.  154th 
Beck  J.  Oscar,  15201  Columbia 
Brown,  James,  M.,  14836  Hoyne 
Cranker,  J.  W.,   14620  Jefferson 
Delamater,  Frank  L.,   154th  near 

Dunavan,  A.  F.,   15342  Center 
Gardner,  B.  O.,  167  E.  154th 
Harvey  Land  Association, 

15432  Park 
Hutton,  J.  G.,  189%  E.  154th 
Mouser,  I.  J.,  15338  Center 
Mynard,  H.  H.,  141  E.  154th 
Rogers,  W.  D.,  15432  Park 
Scott  &  Lostetter,  Park  Ct.  near  1 54th 
Stillman,  J.  R.,   178  E.   154th 
Utley  &  Daniels,  188  E.  154th 

Duck,  W.  F.,  15414  Park 
Goddard,  L.  S.,  15420  Park 
Kirk,  Mrs.  J.  B.,  15426  Columbia 
King,  Mrs.  S.  W.  15404  Columbia 
Millison  Hotel,    197   E.    154th 
New  York  House,   15408  Columbia 
Paulsen  H.  15247  Columbia 
Rood,  F.  A.,    15412  Park 
Seasongood,   Mae,    15404  Park 

Freeman,  G.  S.,  195  E.  152nd 
Garney,  Joseph,  254  E.  147th 
Mann,  John,  15218  Park 

Maxwell,  Thos.,  L.,  179  E.  152nd 
McLatchy,  Wm.,   189  E.   152nd 
Lussen,  H.  J.,   191  E.   152nd 

Little,   Geo.,    15406  Columbia 
Werner,   A.,    15307  Center 

Lindberg,  Frank,  J.  P.,  179  E.  153rd 

Chicago    Telephone    Co.    Exchange, 

189  E.   154th 
Postal  Telegraph  Co.,  15430  Park 
Western   Union  Telegraph  Co.,   Illi- 
nois  Central    depot,    Park,    South 
of  154th 

Cassell,  L,   130  E.  154th 
Green,  Wm.,  Park  Ct.,  S.  of  153rd 

Lawrence,  Mrs.  J.  C,  46  E.  154th 
Ratcliff,  Annie,   15638  Myrtle 
Rounthwaite,  Dora  I.,  15214  Center 

Harvey  Novelty  Works,   152nd  PI. 
Kraysher,  Louis,  Halsted  and  152nd 

Barnes  and  Barnett,  151  E.  154th 
Kerr,  W.  E.,  211  E.  154th